Mummies in Australia?

ozziemummie,

I understand your situation. My parents has retired n I only got one other elder sis. Currently, my sis moved her whole family back to my parents' place so that she can keep an eye on them. I do feel bad leaving my parents to her alone. So, I'm worried that I can't get RRV to come back when there's emergency. Me n hubby still working out how how how...

hen,

fortunately my parents are very supportive of our migration plans - at least our 2 yr stay to pursue Oz citizenship. esp my mom. i got her to see the pros of being part of Oz. She urged us to get it done while she's still quite healthy and able on her own. Then we can decide later on whether to stay put or return to Sgp.

As for my hubby, it's rather stressful for him 'cos his folks r in their 70's and not that well. it's really hard for him sometimes, on one hand he's obliged to honor his parents in Sgp, on the other, i need his support in every way too, esp now that i'm preggy with number 2 plus having to handle my 15mth old rascal who seems to be having accelerated terrible two's! Hidora will understand! hahaha....

By the way, Happy Mummy's day to all on this thread

what a mum's day for me, celebrating alone with my son. hubby just went back to Sgp today

Good thing got Hidora

ozziemummie,

I just broke news to my mum that I intend to go over to Aus for couple of years (din tell her its for good but she knows me too well, so I think she already know the fact). She took it pretty cool. The challenge is going to tell my dad whom we having difficulty communicating wz him cos he's quite negative these days (who says men don't suffer from menopause!!). I know my mum will have no issue to come over to stay wz us short term every now n then when we settle down over there, but not sure abt my dad.

As for my in-laws, they knew it years back. My MIL went to tell all the relatives abt our migration (whatever for, I don't know). Lately, she has been asking why we want to give up everything here to go over. She said over there got racism (must be her other son told her) n got to start from scratch. She's probably thinking that I'm the one who influenced her son to leave wz me. Anyway, I'm not her fav DIL, so I don't bother lor. But I still respect them as ILs, so if anything happens, I hope we can travel freely back here.

I kinda glad that my #1 is already 6 when #2 comes along. I think I'll break down if the gap is any smaller. At least now, I can explain to my #1 when I'm overwhelm by everything n hope she can forgive mummy if I go berzurk.

Talking abt Mothers' Day, it was more like Children Day. #1 wanted to stay home to play wz her toys, so we stayed home most part of the day. I had to cook lunch. In the evening, we went to hawker centre downstairs to eat. Then we brought the kids to Night Safari. My #1 was super happy while I was so tired, cos while hb took #1 to watch the show, I was carrying #2 (who wanted to sleep, so was super cranky) at the entrance n waited for them.

hen
My mum is supportive but PILs a little sad cos hb is only son n currently they staying over my place. So if intend 2 move over, i'll prefer 2 rent out the whole house and i guess they have to stay with their only dotter. My sil is not close to us so me n hubby dun bother but i guess other relatives fr my hubby side sure will not be heppi with ur decision cos MIL always fall sick..anyway my hub is very serious abt going over cos he likes to spend time with me n kids...n always dun like to attend weddings....he say very ma-fan...moreover with his jobscope now it's killin him...no time 4 family....weekend/ holiday also werk....so cialak

ozziemum
i guess i must learn from my mum ..how to make roti prata...for fish curry my hub can teach me...cos both my doter loves this dish

Hey, those who love curry, I recommend Action One A1 (not A1 brand which is red colour packaging) Instant Curry Paste. I found this in Perth few years back, I bought it at my fren's grocery shop in Fremantle n since then I fell in love wz it. Its easy to cook, just fry the paste, add chicken pieces n potato, n there u got it, very spicy chicken curry.

Happy Belated Mother's Day to all mummies here.

hentang,

Mother's day for me and ozziemummie is more like serve the kids and clean the house day. We were busy running after the kids and cleaning up the kitchen last night. :p

Yup, the Action One curry paste is really nice. But after eating it for so many times, a bit sick of it already.. Need other forms of curry!! I miss roti prata too. Esp the egg and onion ones... and I miss durians so much..

Happy belated Mummies Day to all!

Mngo: I love Indian food, you can get rather good indian food at the food court in Carousal. This is a franchise indian stall, but the food is good and quite authentic.

Hen, Ozzie, ryatie : Our parents can come visit in Aus, think most of them will like it here. I am hoping to entice mine to come here on a more permanant basis too.

hidora,

Once in Perth, my HKG friend bought some Thai durians (not sure where they got it from), it was big but not that nice, found it a bit dry. Haahaa... my hb gonna miss durian too, me not so bad cos I'm not a fan of durian.

I'll definitely miss roti prata, teh tarik, etc... I like Indian n Malay food more than Chinese food. My hb likes Chinese food n doesn't fancy Indian or Malay. These days, he crazy over Korean (think under my influence). My #1 loves Japanese (takes after me cos I love Japanese food, miss those days when I used to live in Japan).

I'm looking at cooking classes in CC. Gonna try find time to go attend some of them (like kueh lapis, kaya, yam muffin, etc). Must learn before I go over.

mngo,

Dunno leh... I think the more famous Indian restaurant is Maya Masala at North Bridge. But it recently got convicted for serving unclean food and etc...

hen,
Ya, they sell Thai durian here. But Thai durian taste awful! I want D24...

Wow, you used to live in Japan!! Do you have any Jap recipe to share with us? Love Jap food! :D

Teh Tarik
From this website http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/8773f/1c8d7f/2/

Restaurant Name: Makan Makan Cafe

Great restaurant serving typical Malay fare.

I enjoy going here quite often as it is open late most nights (something we don't have much of over here), the prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is friendly and casual. Also the food is quite good.

The interior is painted in rich colours, with wooden flooring and leather couches which gives it a warmth all year round.

Favorite Dish: You must order a Teh Tarik (AU$3). For something sweet I suggest the roti plain with condensed milk on the side otherwise with curry (AU$3.50).

Leave a Comment

Theme: Kosher/Halal
Comparison: least expensive
Prices: less than US$10 » Currency Converter
Phone: 08 9470 2333
Address: 357 Albany Highway, Victoria Park, WA, 6100

mngo,

Wow, u hv been very hardworking doing yr homework!!!

I still haven't done a single bit of work at all, going there to eat grass :p

<font face="tahoma"> mngo,
WOW... those makan places really brings back lots of sweet memories!!!!

I LOVE George’s Kebabs at the Curtin Uni Tavern.. their fish kebabs is SOOOO YUM!

And Conca's chili mussels.... drooling already!

And yes... the one that we are surviving on during exams... the CHICK RICE store! We always tabao when we have no time to cook.

Last May we went back to Curtin with my son... just to go makan the chick rice. YUMMMMMmmmmmmmsssss!</font>

mspiggy,
Me too, I miss the kebabs at Curtin... Its been ages... Must go back soon...

mngo,
See u so on, I feel the "push" to get my engine started. I may go over in Jun/Jul.

mngo,
No more holiday lah. Time to do homework. Got to find sch for elder kid. Already sent a few enquiries, one came back n said only got place in 2012 for Yr5. Now starting to feel kan cheong liao. If can't find a place in any sch for 2009, die lah. Likely to end up in Perth.

There's an article in today's Straits Times on Australia needs more skilled workers n looking at more migrants.

This gonna means even tougher competition for me, dunno can get a job fast then... I better double up n quicky post my cv n go there fast to get a job b4 they r all taken up!

hidora,

I love Jap food but I neber make an effort to master the cooking part. In Japan, my Otosan &amp; Okasan (my host parents) cooked for me everyday. I invent my own recipe for sukiyaki, shabu shabu, sushi...

So quiet here again... some busy preparing for the move, some busy wz children or soon-to-come babies, some busy looking for jobs, ...

I am surfing from melbourne now. Very cold here. Manage to rent an unit and bought a car. But still trying to get a job. grin.

<font face="tahoma"> mngo,
how's everything? busy with unpacking and packing right now right?

hopeac,
WOW.... surfing! have fun!!! ;)</font>

hopeac,
Hey, memory very bad liao. When did you say you'll be back? Probably catch up wz u when you are back. Told my mum abt my plan. She seems ok wz us choosing either Per or Mel, cos she knows I got friends in both places. She even offer to come over n help out to take care of kids

mngo,
Hope u settling well. Do keep me post of happening over there.

mspiggy
i am in perth now.
going to view another car for purchase.

hen
i am good. all is well.
declan had 1st flu jab for tis winter. taking another shot end of the month. heard got another strain of virus. free jab though.

for school wise- its confirm. at rehoboth christian school at kenwick. i am currently staying at winthrop

hopeac
how is everything? heard is down to 0 degrees.
Perth is now abt 18degrees

mngo,

Rehoboth a bit ex leh. I got prospectus frm Methodist Ladies College, St Mary's Anglican Girls n Penrhos College. Hmm... all the fees on the high side. Unless both parents working, else dun think can afford. Anyway, these schs r mostly full, got to wait a few years b4 can get a place. So, probably my option is go public sch first, transfer later.

Mel is still an option for me, so am checking out the schs over there as well.

Hen
Rehoboth is not ex leh.

MLC and those Penrhos lagi more ex.
I am paying for Declan less than 1K Per year.
For Penrhos, it is 8-9k thereabt per year for kindy.
anyway can forget abt Penrhos, cos long long wait list.

I think for Primary School, Rehoboth is abt 2850 Per Year. Per month is 250 - which i think is ok for a private school education.

mngo,

Oh, then I must have see wrongly. If 2850/year, then its definitely not ex lor. Yah, can forget abt Penrhos, super long waiting list. I just enquire cos my good friend recommended it.

just wondering if there is any mummies here in or moving over to gold coast?
hubby just landed a job there! and we will be moving over in couple of months time..
feeling excited yet worry now...scare cant cope.

rgds

bei bei
congrats ur hubby got job oledi...so u all got PR oledi??

gold coast nice place...but kinda expensive cos' its tourist area ...

tks ryatie!

not gotten PR yet..still a long wait before our turn. He will be going in as work permit first.

ya..the last time i been to gold coast..everything is so ex..so which is why a bit worry about their living standard too..;]

bei bei
with work permit u n family can still go there is it?

my hubby studied in brisbane which i find the things r much chaeper there..even the meat..so far can't remmember seeing meat stall there..unless in woolworth ...but tthe shiok thing every sun, sand n sea.....

not too sur ler..hubby is checking up now w his new co. about work permit..prob me n bb will be on visitor pass first than will tahan till we get PR..

ya lor..sunny everyday there! but at least weather better than sg..

btw..anyone has any idea how are u going to bring or transfer your $$$ over? do we bring a cash cheque from our local bank to there or?? am totally clueless about this..tks!

san
your hb is so lucky. which job is he in?

for me - my family is in perth. everything is expensive. nothing is cheap - except for car.

banking wise - for a start , you may need to bring a bank draft over, then go there to open bank account.
cos if cash, then will be too much to bring.
for my case - we had an account in perth, so we tt singapore money (convert to au) into perth account before we land in perth.

do u hv a kid?

Hen
yea - will start Kindy next year.

I will try to find play group for now.
My boy does not like to go school .. or rather he hates going to school. He prefers to laze at home, do things he likes esp watch movies. haiz.

mngo,

my hubby is in civil engineer line.
Queensland in demand now..so think thats why make it easier for him to get a job there.

if perth is ex..think else where will be also..basically think living in aus is expensive.

yup i have a boy.. 14 months. so school is still not a prob for him. will source around when there.

banking ~ ok so bank draft. how about opening an acc with an aus bank locally here than tt over there? btw..any idea if we tt sg $$ over to aus account, will there be any additional charges?

tks

Mngo

Congrats! Glad to know that Dec got a place in school liao.
I still have not heard about my girl's place. Think chances are low. Apparently only 40 vacancies per intake.

san,
I think you can open with commonwealth bank and wespac website before you go. You can even transfer money in. However, you need to verify yourself within the month you are there.