MMI @ katong shopping centre

smallbell
the only school within 1km is KH liao, so pathetic rite

2nd choice actually i tot tanjong katong primary but hubby said not so good, rather try our luck at ngee ann but i feel its further, so lagi no chance. i rather go for geylang methodist which is nearer.

hi jamie,
oh, ngee ann is even further for you. Tg Katong is average but heard that also got ballot. Geylang methodist can try the pv first.

ya lor..is really stressful being a parent... my niece next yr going to P1... then tomolo my sis going to e sch to ballot too... hers is outside 2km.... 6 ppl will not get into e sch... hopefully my niece can get in.
this time round KH dont even have a chance to ballot for those outside 2km lor...
lucky i'm not registering this yr...

hi elaine,
hopefully your niece can get in. KH is really popular. Would you all still try pv for no. 2 (if no. 1 cannot enter)? i would most probably be too lazy to do pv again.

smallbell
same here, lazy & also dont want to go thru the "stress" again! my #2 will follow #1 bah, but my hubby think otherwise ....

yup, going same school is easier. But heard that nowadays school textbooks syllabus changed after a year or 2 yrs, so not possible to pass to siblings (unlike what we used to do last time).

after looking at all yr conversation, i'm getting stressed liao. didn't know KH is so popular. yr kids are all 2006 right? meaning i've to start plannin next yr since mine is 07 kid?

hai... think we are always stress by our children.... after this will be PSLE stress then sec sch stress hahahaa n so on n so on.... faint...
smallbell,
btw ZH stop his swimming lesson liao..cos too too naughty liao... 1st lesson still alrite... 2nd lesson dont really want to listen to Coach Sam then 3rd lesson worst... so we decided to stop him... coach also says abit difficult if he dont want to listen... maybe wait till he is a bit older.... he really makes us very angry... whenever he dont want to learn something he will try to be fun in e class with e instructor... this is not e 1st time.. last time piano lesson he also like tat... so angry with him...

hi elaine,
what a pity about the swimming as you already paid for 3-4 lessons. But not to worry, he will outgrow this. I brought patrick to see Sam's lesson last sat, he is interested. But when i bath him at the toilet, he was shivering under the cold water. Then reject swimming there. On sun brought him to Safra mt faber and they also have lessons there. Same rate $50 p/mth but lucky got soap and hot water inside toilet. So he said interested to learn. I might start him next mth. He is scared of water so i brought him to make sure he really like coach, pool, environment before registering.

hi smallbell,
Sam refund me e money cos mine is consider individual class so since he never teach then he return me e money lor...
ZH refused to go to bath there cos he says e bathe area very dirty... u know those old tiles he cant stand e sight of it... hahaaa he is very particular of toliet... if toilet dirty he also wont go in n pass urine or motion.

hi elaine,
oh that's good Sam refund the money. Maybe you like to let him take up other activities, then swimming when he's older. Is ZH still in music class Funan?

hi smallbell,
he is not in music class cos he keep disturbing e class so i have withdrawn him since he shows no interest... actually i'm looking for art class but scared he half way dont want again.... so difficult to find wat he is interested in....

hi elaine,
do you think he might be interested in math class that is playing games. They make it challenging for the kids, 2 teams compete with each other every week, doing fun games. They get stickers at the end of the lesson and with accumulative stickers, the kids can exchange for toys, stationery, etc. Patrick is currently attending math monkey (www.mathmonkey.com), located at east gate. Also got free trial, can bring ZH for a trial class.

hi jamie,
u r looking for chloe or ur boy??
for ZH i send him for sat morning phonic class at Seeds D learning centre... opposite to Katong Mall. but for SZ she attends kindermusic at her CC only....

elaine
its for my boy, tot expose him to some playgroup before he start preschool in oct lor. hv wanted to put him in GUG but their term ends in 3rd week of oct & they dont pro-rate the remaining lessons which i dont attend. if cant find anything suitable then probably just do away & hopefully transition for him is not that tough.

oic... my girl didnt attend anythg n went straight into childcare... she is quite alrite...n loves sch but ZH used to attend MMI sat class and 2-3hrsplaygrp for 1 yr before heading to MMI but he still cries non-stop on his 1st few months then at this current one he also cries for a while before he settle down... so i think depends on e child's character also...
With Chloe in e same sch your boy will settle down faster.... dont worry

elaine
yeah i also think it depends on individual child, hopefully with chloe in the same school, he will settle down faster lor

hi elaine,
oh not EC, hdb flats only, just that build by private developer and comes fully done, with cabinet, flooring, wardrobe, toilet sink, shower screen, etc. Paying the normal conservancy charges and hdb carpark rate.

hi jamie,
yes, agree with elaine. Still need to depend on the child. Will your boy see chloe during lesson or break time?

smallbell
u can save on reno since the flat already comes with most of the fixtures.

dont think my boy will see chloe coz each level hv their own classroom. but if there's outdoor activities, probably will see his jie jie ba

hi jamie,
then better send him to enrichment class to see if he can get used to it.

i should be spending minimal, only furniture. May i know if anyone here has double decker bed for kids? i am considering but not sure if both might fight over who sleeps on top/below.

smallbell
i cant find any other enrichment class besides GUG but they cant pro-rate my term so hubby feels we give it a miss lor.

i almost wanted to get a bunder bed too but changed my mind coz i'm sure the kids will definitely fight as both want to sleep on top!

any good & nice children dentist to recommend?? already hv a hard time persuading chloe to go for check up/ cleaning.

hi jamie,
i also had same problem last time when boy afraid of dentist. Then so happen that he had a bad toothache and i urgently search this forum for recommendations. End up at GPA dental, went to the United square branch, spend around $120. But definitely worth it, the dentist wore colourful clothes, very friendly and nurse also very sweet and cute. They have kids decor inside the room, cartoon tv show and kids sunglass to shade from the water. Stickers given after the session and they gave strawberry flavour paste when cleaning the teeth. Toys at the waiting area. So after this visit, my boy love going to dentist but i don't need to go back to gpa. Now i go to normal dentist near house so lucky the first experience left a good impression and he is no longer afraid of dentist. Whew....save cost.

http://www.gpadental.com/services/kidsteeth.htm
http://www.gpadental.com/contact/index.htm

smallbell
thanks for the recommendation. i certainly need this for chloe's 1st visit. she's already very timid so i think its going to be a nightmare for her if bring her to normal dentist. want her to hv a good 1st impression so subsequent visit to normal dentist wont be that bad lor.
she kept complaining mouth pain for the last few days, at 1st thought its ucler but couldnt find any but she suddenly had fever on sunday & i'm so worried that its HFMD!! then last nite realised maybe could be her lower molar coming out. will monitor this few days lor. anyway its good to start her on a routine dental check.

hi jamie,
fever could also be due to teething, maybe can try out this dentist. I saw some other recommendations on children dentist but around the same rate. The normal dentist that i visit only charge $20 for kids. Let's see if elaine can recommend any better and cheaper dentist.

hi jamie,
better bring chloe for a check since she complain toothache cos e full set of baby teeth should come out at 3yrs old liao.... u try counting did she had 20 teeth??

hi smallbell,
i usually bring ZH to HPB sch dental centre for his teeth check.... it will cost only $9 but the appointment is very far away...

hi elaine,
oh that's very cheap. I don't mind queuing for the appointment with the price. Can advise the contact details again, thanks.

elaine
$9 is so cheap!! did ZH cry during his 1st check?? i didnt count chloe's teeth, but i thot normally our lower molar should be 2 on each side rite? hers only 1 leh so we suspect it could be the other molar coming out?? but since u mention full set baby teeth should be out by 3yrs then i'm in doubt liao. will count her teeth when she's up fr nap. she didnt complain any pain now but i think its better to go for a check.

hi smallbell n jamie,
e appt number is 64353782, e dental clinic is only for children up to 18yrs old...

jamie,
cant remember how's his first checkup but he got lots of cavities cos his teeth are quite weak n more over drinks lots of milk at nite.... so he is a regular there :p Later she wakes up then u count for her... but e erupting age varies from kids... 3yrs old is just a rough guildlines.

hi elaine,
thanks for the contact, will make appointment. Where is the location?

do you recall when i had toothache during pregnancy, then after delivery, i went for 3 times dental, pull out 1 wisdom, 2 other decay tooth, x-ray, washing, etc. Total damage $500 plus but lucky company can claim $400.

elaine
chloe only has 19 teeth, so cant be having molar rite? otherwise will be 21 teeth liao leh.

smallbell
dental charges are not cheap & not many company hv dental benefits. your company is one of those with good welfare

hi jamie,
yup, lucky company can claim, i don't want to folk out so much on dental.

hi elaine,
i called up and manage to get a slot in november, that's 3 months away. But very good is that they have all records, i only mention the birth cert number and they have all the names and age, etc. Jamie, you might like to try make a tentative booking for chloe at HPB first, and if she could get used to the children dentist, then the next visit will be HPB.

hi jamie,
since chloe only have 19teeth then it could be a baby molar coming out... unless she has missing teeth... just like my ZH he has a missing incisor... then my SZ has a fusion teeth (2 teeth join together). my 2 children has e special things tat we dont see often in children teeth... haahaaa maybe tat's karma... :p

smallbell,
wow...NOV....!!!! anyway just bring there for a regular checkup... every treatment they do for e child will cost $9 ... is consider very very cheap.

their location is at School Dental Centre, Level 4 Health promotion board, 3 Second Hospital Ave Singapore 168937 (SGH there)

smallbell
ya i think for the 1st visit, i will bring chloe to gpa, if her 1st impression is good then subsequent visit will bring her to HPB

elaine
but if its really molar coming out then wat abt the other lower side? i doubt so leh, more likely shd be missing teeth??

hi elaine,
think because i only ask for saturday slot, so they said earliest is nov. i don't want to take leave on weekday just to go for dental checkup. Yes, very cheap. I can go 3 times HPB, equals to one time at normal dentist. Thanks for the info on the address.

hi jamie,
so u mean e other side also havent come out??
she should have 4 incisors ( e front teeth) then follow by 2 canines on each side(e teeth beside e incisor) sharp sharp ones... then follow by 4 baby molars... 2 on each side...

smallbell,
welcome.

hi elaine,
and for the adults dentist, would HPB or other place be cheaper? currently the dentist that i visit is $40, consider average?

elaine
i just counted, she has a missing canine on 1 side, thats why only 19 teeth. that day she complained pain is the gum next to the molar so i tot another molar is coming out.

smallbell
your dental charge is cheap, my dentist charge me $60.