MMI @ katong shopping centre

bbethan
ya, its becoming an enrichment centre. may sign up for my boy if there's suitable ones. initially wanted to go for pats school playgroup but they still cant confirm due to not enough students.

jamie
hehe... i was also thinking of that. apparently they are targetting to open on 31 Jul when i last called them. so now no confirmed classes. for me, i'm thinking of exposing the younger one before she starts cc.

is yr boy the older one or younger one?
feel ethan's still not ready for drop off enrichment class leh. will hv a hard time if were to shuffle both of them to classes if all accompanied. on the other hand, i still prefer accompanied ones too cos can know what they learn n see how they progress.

bbethan
my boy is the younger one. i also thot of exposing him before he start preschool. hv called GUG, they dont hv confirmed class yet but i hv registered my interest with them.

i just started chinese enrichment class for my elder gal last week. its a drop off lesson, so far so good.

jamie
so u signed her up with tien hsia? how old is yr boy?
prob will go for their trial and see how. shd be signing her up if it's suitable since i've just signed the elder one with LNT for the 2nd term. was quite interested in the bilingual one.
but hor... think the walk fr my place can kill me... such a crazy weather. end up, i might be better off at suntec.

bbethan
yes, started 1st lesson last week at tien hsia. my boy is 27mths, shd be joining my elder gal preschool in oct.
i agree, the weather is terrible, i may even drive there though distance is so short haha...
think u can seriously consider suntec

jamie
haha... even if i take the train for just 1 stop, the walk from mountbatten mrt to the place is still a distance right?
oh...so yr boy is almost the same age as ethan. just 3mths younger. now i know why yr girl is ok. i hope my boy will be ok with drop off very soon... kekeke.. paiseh.. i mixed up all the children's ages here.

bbethan
yup will still be quite a distance for u.
my boy is very sticky to me leh, think will hv a tough time during transition when he start preschool.

hi jamie,
do submit pv form early. I submit early this year but the school didn't received it. Some more i personally went down the school to submit. By june i realized something not right as nobody contacted me. So i called up the school and found that already missed out a few events. They normally send email and each event only allow a few parents, so must quickly response to email once i received. I will attend the first pv outing tomorrow (that is a primary 5 camp).

smallbell

i hope i'm not too late! will the school check with u what kind of work u keen or able to do? or they will just allocate whatever assignment to us parents? so tomorrow u taking leave to do pv? how long is the camp?

bbethan

with PV, double chance lor. not sure if KH is hot but thats the only school within 1km at our place. i think 1yr before P1 enrollment, so now i'm registering my interest for next year PV.

hi jamie,
you are still early, only need to register next year. Your gal register for P1 in 2012 right? yes, they check what type of work you can do and also for special events such as excursion/camps, they will ask all parents. Those who are free can sign up. The camp is for 2 days, should be able to clock about 12 hours.

hi bbethan,
you need to start PV when child in K1

smallbell
yup, will only register chloe for P1 in 2012. was chatting with some mummies at shaws this morning & was told some school already close liao!!

so means u camping overnite with the kids?? wow 12hrs so fast!! how many hrs u need to clock?

hi jamie,
ahhh...so fast close for pv, 2012 is 2 yrs away. i need to clock 40hrs and i have till june 2011 to complete. Lucky this camping no need to stay overnight and lunch provided.

smallbell
ya lor, thats why tat mummy so stressed! she told me that school aready closed since april!! OMG!!

most schools need 40hrs, some school i heard is 70hrs leh!

hi jamie,
i will be doing PV for kong hwa too.... heehee but did u call e sch whether u can register already??

smallbell which sch u doing?? tao nan sch??

kong hwa quite hot too.... usually need to ballot for phase 2B n 2C.

elaine

i already went down this morning to register liao. but from the form, seems like i got nothing much to do leh, except office/ admin work. dont know anything abt chinese, wushu, music & movement ... etc hope they wont outcast me due to my incapability

ya i know KH also quite hot, hv to depends abit on luck lor

hi jamie,
very stressful indeed. You could put your hubby's name down to get involve as well, faster to clock the hours.

hi elaine,
i thought maha nearer for you. I am trying hong wen (a school in city area) as i am moving to that area in 2 yrs time. Hong wen is similar to tao nan, chinese as 1st language. I got a shocked when i submit the pv form and saw 2 big red lanterns on the front entrance...kekeke. But i have an advantage over there, if pv failed to enter, i can still try for within 1km.

hi jamie,
i havent register... will go n ask e clerk when i'm free.

hi smallbell,
my hubby n SILs are all from hong wen when they used to be at lavender area... now they moved to where hur?? but hong wen enrolment is very small rite?? ya Maha Bodhi is so much nearer but they dont want PV so can only register at phase 2C which like very risky..moreover they dont have student care within e sch..... i heard e new Kong Hwa has a student care centre within e sch compund which is much easier if e children needs to attend CCA.... but i will double confirm it first before i register cos tat is my concern too

hi jamie,
can check with KH to include your hubby so that he can help out as well. yesterday PV quite simple, just have to make sure the students do the station properly. The primary 5 students attend an outdoor survival camp at dairy farm area. So parents just station at different place, flying fox, etc to see if they are safe. Lunch provided and during free time, get to chit chat with other parents. Some said due to that year many children born so could be quite competitive.

hi elaine,
oh your hubby from HW, good character and good results
their chinese must be fantastic. Now moved to towner road (boon keng mrt area). Quite ulu now, only one bus goes in this road. The building is much bigger. Can ask if your hubby wants to send ZH there, no need to ballot at all. Just that maybe you need to spend on bus transport.

Why maha no pv allowed? i agree, with a student care inside school is more convenient, especially for working parents. I will have to rely on afterschool childcare service in future.

hi smallbell,
maha says their buddhist feredation already taken up lots of places n need to ballot at phase 2B so they dont want to include PV to compete with e few places...
hubby says his former sch not very good leh.. :p paiseh hor... he mention e sch used to be very small enrolment etc... so when i mention to him last nite that u want to send patrick there n even do PV then he was a bit surprise then i told him u will stay nearby there mah...

hi elaine,
wow...buddhist feredation, didn't know there is one. But you could still try under the 1km phase for maha.

maybe HW standard upgraded in the recent years, they have popular special cca such as chinese calligraphy, wushu, rope skipping. Can show your hubby the webpage, maybe he can see familiar old teachers faces.

http://www.hongwen.moe.edu.sg/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1

Actually i am left with not much choice, only 2 schools in that area, the other one is a regular govt school so HW is the better one.

elaine
i agree with smallbell, u shd put ZH & SZ there. HW is a good school, not sure abt last time. its a SAP school same like KH. the old premises is very small but now its very big hor, similar to KH liao. if i were u, will put the kids there, no need PV or ballot, so stressful leh! u consider lor.

smallbell
will check with KH when they call/ activate me for PV. its good to meet up with some parents too coz may be same class as patrick. yes i agree, if the year is popular like dragon, very competitive coz too many children. chloe is the year of dog, also quite a popular year so i think may be competitive lor, wish its the other way round, my boy is the rat year

hi jamie and elaine,
not sure if elaine can wait till KH pv and maha bodi cannot enter then choose HW. At least kids no need travel too far distance via school bus. But seems like registration phase is always old student come first before the other phase.

jamie, also take the opportunity to speak to the students when you happen to do pv. You can find out about their homework stress level, exams difficulty or what cca they join. Some useful additional information that might help you decide if the school is suitable for chloe. Heard that some parents do pv in more than one school, wonder how they manage.

hi smallbell,
never know HW is so good... hubby must be thinking tat becos his PSLE results not good so concluded e sch not very good.. :p think my SILs results also so so only... anyway tat was 20++ years ago.... as long as e standard is good now then is good...
but i wont place ZH here la...cos too too far liao...
now wat i'm thinking is do PV for KH 1st then register at phase 2B if cant get in the phase 2C register at Maha cos phase 2C for KH my chances are almost Zero cos i dont live within 2km... just slightly outside...
at least i try maha if really get in then lucky just study maha... if both also cant get in then u will see me crying hahaha :p

hi elaine,
yes, too far for ZH to travel to HW. but you have advantage at KH pv. You can volunteer to do daily traffic duty and if you happen to know the teachers well, can ask them to inform you of any urgent duties so that can complete the hours quickly.

i will have problem if given traffic duties, as each time only half an hr, and some timing is like 12 plus. I will need to waste a day's leave just to go to the school. Some more i don't stay near the school currently.

Jamie, you may like to inform the school that you have a younger child, not sure if KH can allow you to request for less taxing pv. Imagine you bring your boy to follow for traffic duties in the hot sun or full day excursion, also not possible.

smallbell
will get my mum to look after my boy when i do pv, cant imagine him tagging along. end up taking care of him more than the students haha..

hi jamie,
KH PV i think e sch staff will email e things they need help in then who ever can help n is e first few to reply will get to help in it.... so is first come first serve think dont have a certain things for u to help.

elaine
oh i still thot they will give whatever things need to do & we must do. that case, we can decide if we want to do or not

hi jamie,
that's better, at least you can concentrate on pv then. Like elaine mentioned, you have to reply email quickly, so just make sure that you check an active email account regularly. Or maybe get elaine's help to sms you when email sent out.

both of you can sms each other, quickly reserve the slot. The actual pv work should only start next year for both of you right?

hi jamie,
not everybody will become a PV if it exceed e quota... usually they will have only a certain no. of PV so if too much ppl apply then they will have a dialoge session with e parents then select some. The staff told me the cut off date for 2006 children is in May 2011 so our PV will start after tat if we r selected.
hi smallbell,
usually they only give one year for u to complete the 40hrs.

hi elaine,
actually it is better that the school have pv quota. At least you can start checking out other schools for pv if not selected. If 'touch wood' KH cannot get into pv, then you must take HW. At least a guarantee school, then you can try maha. I heard from some parents doing this. But one thing is you need to give up the HW slot if you want to try maha in the 1km phase.

elaine
so means they already exceed the quota? since the staff told u will hv a dialog session.
i still hv not decide which school if KH cant get in. at least u still hv HW & Maha.

hi jamie,
usually e quote will exceed bah... i also dont know... she just mention abt e dialodge session...
If phase 2B u cant get in then can try phase 2C since u r within 1 KM.
for me i'm not within so no chance at all in phase 2C.

I will not register for HW la... abit too far... so will try to register in KH at phase 2B( if i become a PV) if cant get in then try MH at phase 2C. if still cant get in e enrol any sch n put on waiting list for both sch that i want lor... no choice...

hi elaine,
are we allowed to be put on waiting list? i heard that we could appeal if cannot enter any schools nearby. We can appeal saying due to travelling time/distance to further schools.

hi reiner,
last time on sat morning, they have enrichment class but not sure if still have now. You may like to call up the school to enquire. Thanks

hi smallbell,
i think can la... if phase 2B n 2C cant get in then no more places for e sch tat u want then at phase 3 have to go to any sch to register 1st then can put on waiting list for e sch u want cos WL also dont know must wait till how long.....