MMI @ katong shopping centre

jamie
i thought so. But the lady at the school told me if i put him there half day for some time then full day, he'll have to adjust twice. might as well once and for all let him go through all the changes once. i hope she's right. fingers crossed this time things will work out well.

hi jamie,
i pass by the indoor stadium area, near a soccer field. There is a banner of shaw at one of the building. The banner says something about shaw sports for kids. I don't suppose that is a childcare but not clear what was it.

hi babyethan,
hope your boy will adapt soon.

bbethan
i'm sure your boy will be fine

smallbell
oh it would be great if there's another shaws cc there. so much nearer for me
will check out the banner when i do grocery shopping there.

small bell
i saw tht banner too... think some sports activities 4 children.

today my boy happily goes to sch with me. was ok when we reached there. cried a bit when teacher tried to hold his hand to join the other children to play. so i stayed ard during the outdoor activities. when it's time to go back to class, he happily let me take out his shoes n wanted to go in cos he knows got biscuits to eat. that's when 1 of the teachers carried him in n he started bawling out. so i waved goodbye to him.

wah.. that feeling is bad at that moment. i felt i've betrayed his trust in me. he happily thought i'm bringing him along for some fun but end up been left alone with a group of strangers.

anyway, teacher called when i'm on way back n told me he's crying. needs to be carried all the time. stopped occasionally. not as bad as the expected. just now called during lunch time n said he ate up half a bowl of rice v quickly, drank milk n slept liao. didn't cry when bathed. was surprised. hopes everything gets better soon.

thanks mummies for all yr encouragement.

bbethan
wow tats great news!! maybe before u leave next time, tell him that mummy will be back later to fetch him. thats wat i did when chloe 1st started school. hv to assured her that i'm just around the vicinity & will be back later

hi babyethan,
he's coping well, no worries.

hi jamie,
maybe you can check with shaw directly. Don't look like a childcare centre and the location is quite out.

hi jamie,
thanks for the link. Oh, is for sports, sounds interesting. Don't think you need to join as the cc provided right?

smallbell
the program looks interesting & fun but dont think chloe needs it coz the school already hv such activities for them

am new in this thread...can I check what is the URL for kinder u? I saw the banner during lunch bt could not find any web.

My gal is attending nurture cottage since 18mth and she is 30 mth now

hihi thenuahcouple

kinder u dont hv any web leh. the flyer i received only hv their tel no. which is 6100 6345. u changing school for your gal?

hi jamie,

thks...ya thinking of changing school for my gal bt she dun want
Nurture cottage is good bt now it's getting messy and they only hv half day programmes and next half day..."free n easy"....

hi jamie,

called up kinder u...the programmes seemed not bad leh..bt no outdoor palyground leh.....sigh sigh...i prefer those with outdoor playground....

price inclusive of all the enrichment class....

thenuahcouple
wat u mean by messy? tot nurture cottage is a good school? u mean the 2nd half of the day, the kids got nothing much to do? one of the mummies here just put her son there this week for full day program.

yup, kinder u's fees are very attractive as it includes all the enrichment class. i also prefer outdoor playground
my gal was fr MMI katong before i put her at shaws braddell.

thenuahcouple
yah... i was abt to ask what u mean by messy? yr gal is in Nursery or K1? i thought they had full day program for all levels?

my gal in playground now..will be N1 next yr....messy...hmm, they employed new assistants to help in the class bt these assistants like not educated I mean no cert in early childhood etc....afternoon..after nap, there hv snacks..then free and easy...no schdedule activites..they either do colouring , singing, playing, running ard loh...that's it....yes full day for all lvl.....

my gal has been attending Nurture cottage since she is 18mths and now she is 30 mths....she likes the school bt am thinkning paying $600 with no enrichment class....and they do hv english enrichment..by fast track kids...bt hv to pay extra and not cheap.....

lagi best is when 2 teachers on leaves etc....the director will ask her maid to come n help!!!!

Overall i would said the school is good bt no activities in the afternoon and they also do not hv the meet the parents session etc...so u do not really know how ur kids doing in sch unless u ask...

shaws CC i like bt too exp

the nuahcouple

now i understand why u want to change school. where u staying? most of the preschools along mountbatten road are not cheap, moreover u prefer one with outdoor playground.

hi nuahcouple,
that's quite terrible for nurture cottage, thought that is a good cc. Will your gal be willing to change school? as she has adapted well already.

hi jamie,

I am staying Pasir Ris bt I need to find school along mountbatten, telok kurau area as easier for my dad to fetch my gal from school ard 5.45pm.....

I went to Carpe Diem at Telok Kurau.... bt hb said interior very "lok".......

As I mentioned Nurture cottage is not a bad school bt if u want ur kids to hv enrichment class etc...think other school/CC much better than nurture cottage...

might be going to kinder U next wk to view the area....plus I also prefer those with indvidual rooms according to their lvl..the cherrie heart at my office building..semi open concept for K1 and K2 and hv infant service....

sigh sigh headache

When I called Kinder U...the programmes sound good bt need to see the area loh.....aiyo big headache....hb wants my gal to attend cherrie hearts at my office buiding

the nuahcouple
i did enquire carpe diem @ telok kurau, their fees are affordable too, but your hb doesnt like, otherwise will be ideal since your dad is fetching your gal fr school.

fr the kinder u flyer, the interior looks good! no harm go & check it out.

hi nuahcouple,
MMI has a branch at pasir ris, you might like to visit first. But i cannot recall if that is only for enrichment or cc.

thenuahcouple
oh... the Director is Tina? i just sent my son to Nurture Cottage this week. Probably u r right, if want enrichment class, theirs is not really the best. Think for child care, should be quite good already right? I was also thinking of changing later when he's older n has the attention span to sit down n learn.

Earlier during my cc shopping, was quite interested in Cherie Hearts @ Wareham Rd. Was quite impressed with their education curiculum. Some power brain education or something like that. The principal keeps stressing they teach higher chinese n child will hv no problem when going to P1. But fees on the high side. U can consider if u don't mind the fees.

Hi Small Bell,

Apologies! My gal is starting half day at The Odyssey. No Vacancies for now so will be in Oct.

Hi Jamie,

so nice to hear that Chloe is coping so well @ Shaws....fingers crossed, hopefully my gal will be likewise...

Hi thenuahcouple,

Welcome! :), can i check did Kinder U ask you to bring your child's birth cert and your NRIC when you request to visit their centre?

Oh, i have seen Nurture Cottage as well....Tina is very nice but my gal did not like the environment. They are running the FasTracKids programm which is the extended enrichment programme in Pat School House. By the way, i saw the FasTracKids banner along the traffic junction of Frankel near my place few days back and called up to enquire. They have enrichment programmes for ages 2 onwards. They mentioned about using the smartboard as well as experiments. It sounds very interesting and they also run Kindermusik programme...I will be dropping by their centre this Sat to check it out. Heard that this program is very interesting and lotsa of children frm Pat School benefit from it.

hi babyethan,

yes, tina is the director. she is a very nice lady...for CC nurture cottage is ok..bt if u want them to hv enrichment class think other full day CC much better and most price are inclusive and cheaper than nurture cottage...my gal will be N1 next yr hence, thot shld chg her CC as dun think will hv time to let her hv the enrichment classes on wkends as Sat she is already learning swimming...

Cherrie HEarts at Wareham rd..is it along mountbatten road and with no air con facilities? I called up liao bt no air con and those that I wanna sent dun hv full day cc....I like St hilda's kinder bt no full day
Overall cherrie hearts circulum is gd as there is one at my office building.

My gal needs air con..as she sweat a lot ;)

Hi Shine bride,

no they did not ask me for BC leh...just asked me to inform them the extact day and time....also am waiting for the principle to call me....

Yes, the fasttrac kids programmes is the extended enrichment in pat school hse bt hv to pay extra and not cheap and Tina is giving the enrichment class...

I like odessy bt too exp for us lah...

the nuahcouple
CH at Wareham Rd is not along Mountbatten Rd. It's nearer to Old Airport Rd instead n is air-conditioned. I think the one u are refering is the other CH near Katong Shopping Centre.

Agree with you that Tina is a very nice lady. How much is their enrichment class? How do they incorporate the enrichment prog in the full day schedule?

Which other cc are u looking at?

shinebride
dont worry, i'm sure your gal will adapt well
btw actually u can go for the trial class 1st, its free leh

nuahcouple
same like u, we like the odyssey too, but simply cant afford lah

small bell,

ya at joo chiat..

Hi babyethan,

CH nearer to old airport...hmmm, ok will go chk it out. I can't really remb how much is the enrichment class...think ard $100 over or more for just one english class!! It's once a wk after the lunch time and b4 the nap time...they also hv music bt found nothing leh as dun see any piano etc there so dun know what kind of music they hv...kekekeke

I hv seem CD at Telok Kurau, CD at Puggol resort and of course CH at my office building...the rest I enquire thru web or phone and as long as over my budget I dun bother to go and see. ...kekekek

Jamie,

ya after sub ard $1k leh.....

Thanks Small Bell! :)

Hi Jamie, i was told to register first then if she is not suitable, we will then be pro-rata the rates...Oh, u mean the trial is free? Then i beta call the school to check it out...

thenuahcouple, the last time i called Kinder U, they request for my gal's birth cert and NRIC...so i got fed up and did not went to see the premises....

Yes, heard about St Hilda's kindergarten but it's not a full day childcare so not within my area of search...

shinebride
when i visit the school last year, the principal told me the trial is free. hubby & me joked abt it, considering their high fees, of coz trial is free!!

they may hv changed their policy now i'm not sure coz at that time, they just moved to their new premises so they may be trying to entice parents to put their kids there with the free trial ba

ya St Hilda's is good bt not full day CC

Birth cert and NRIC? wat for? 1st time I heard abt it leh...anyway will call up again next wk and see what they say...

Big headache

hi elaine,

u so smart

I had a great talk with the person in charge yesterday for nurture cottage and they hv chg the activities slightly....

in the afternoon aftre nap they hv pretend play which was set up recently, music etc....

Also, they only hv music nad movement for N1 to N2 under the fast track kids....as for english and chinese speech and drama only available for N2 onwards and the fast track kids programmes is for K1 and K2.....and they engaged teachers from outside to teach the speech and drama ..... so now not sure if wanna chg school as my gal refused to chg leh ...sigh sigh...