MMI @ katong shopping centre

smallbell
ya babysitter is also another option. rate is comparable to infant care too. but u "ren xin" put night care?

hi jamie,
i am ok with night care. Don't think can manage with the insufficient sleep if infant keep waking up. Also, the problem with current company is the environment not suitable for pumping milk at all, so don't think i can breastfeed for long.

smallbell
yeah, once bb is here, its the beginning of endless sleepless nites

anyway since the babysitter is just nearby, can just drop by any time & after work everyday

not all companies hv nursing rooms. just breastfeed as much during your confinement lor.

hi smallbell,
is all to ur comfort level lor.... at least nanny is 1 to 1 care, if go infant care sure always sick one...
if ur mum can help u then will be very very good... but i know la she is like my mum can help here n there abit abit but dont want to commit to fully look after cos they still want their own free time

hi jamie and elaine,
oh yes, the endless sleepless nightmare will be here.

if older child and infant sleeping in the same room, infant keep crying every 2 hours for milk, will the older one be affected? I don't have another empty room to separate them, so not sure if the noise level is ok. Will i end up with 2 crying kids nightly, alamak.

elaine, ya lor. She don't want to fully commit, so i don't want to trouble her. Enjoy your genting trip.

smallbell
both my kids sleep in separate rooms so cant comment. but i guess will still affect abit ba, unless patrick is a sound sleeper?

my mum actually also reluctant to help but i leave her no choice. i dont trust maids leh. so sometimes (or rather, most of the time) will show me face lor
so maybe next year or so when bryan is more independent liao then wont need my mum's help,

elaine
hv a good trip to genting. hope this time is a better & enjoyable one with big rooms

must be fun for the family since u frequent genting so often. may plan one soon since its near & most important, affordable

hi jamie,
he will still wake up if there is loud sound so i think night care with babysitter is my option. I cannot imagine nightly both take turns to cry, then i will have insufficient sleep to concentrate on work.

Your mom is only helping out for a short while per day right? when both are older, you should be able to manage. Will you be a sahm for long time? primary school stage and even teenagers also need to check on their school work and behaviour. Nowadays kids learn alot of funny things in school, scary.

ya, plan a genting trip but do avoid year end. I find the weather too cold at year end and lots of fog up there.

small bel
yes... when the younger one cries, the older one will start too. that's what happend a few nights ago. baby cried for milk. my elder boy got startled and cried too. End up wif 2 crying babies. alamak... headache. think when i moved, i have to let one of them sleep in separate room too.

hi babyethan,
oh dear, this is really big headache. Would be better to sleep in separate room. Are you still on maternity leave?

jamie and babyethan,
how do you handle the problem with sibling jealousy? does fight or quarrel occur very often?

smallbell
yeah tats indeed sleepless nightmare when both awake crying. my hubby sleeps with chloe & my boy sleeps with me coz its easier for me to breastfeed. chloe is a very light sleeper & cant sleep alone, will wake up in her sleep to make sure someone is beside her. but i will eventually put both of them sleep together when my boy is older.

jamie
how old r ur children?

small bell
yes... just started my maternity leave. only gave birth to my gal 1 wk ago. hopefully i can train my gal to sleep on her own. at least can leave her in a separate room later. my boy also cannot sleep on his own even tho he's 18mths now. will wake up in middle of night cos light sleeper too.

so far havent really know if sibling jealousy/rivalry occurs. currently doing my confinement with baby at mum's place. boy stays at mil's place with hubby. only brought him over occasionally in the evening n sleep over. that's how i experience the 1 cry, the other cry thingy. so far he's reacting well, will stroke her, n hug her. haven't try out leaving them together for a whole day yet. but i hope their age gap being small, it won't be as bad compared to if #1 is much older n becomes more dong shi.

smallbell
my mum comes in the morning & goes back after dinner. as i need to cook, so need someone around to "jar gar" my boy who is now very active running ard the house. she is "off" on weekends & my sis will help out instead as my hubby usually hv to work on weekends. so thankfully i still hv my sis's help. i reckon i shd be able to handle both of them by next year ba. am also trying to schedule their nap time together so it frees me to do some housework.

Yes both of them do fight & its EVERYDAY!! but end of the day they still hug & sayang each other back
i guess due to their close bonding & small age gap.
when fights occur, hv to repeatedly tell chloe MUST SAYANG, MUST SHARE WITH his little bro. they usually fight over toys.

bbethan
my elder girl is turning 3yrs this sept & my boy is 15mths. same as elaine. their age gap is 18mths, just like yours.
i feel due to small age gap, they are closer as siblings BUT very siong for us parents esp during the 1st few years coz #1 still not really dong shi yet. so just hv to endure for the time being lah.

hi jamie,
how about putting a monitor in chloe room so that you can hear when she wakes up? Oh lucky your sis is around during weekends. Hehehe, i know how difficult it is to make them nap at a specific time. When i was sahm, i always wanted patrick to nap and eat at a specific time but always ended out of schedule.

hi babyethan,
do take care during your confinement. After your maternity leave, your gal will be taken care by your mom? Close age gap is good. But agree with jamie that will be very tiring for the parents.

smallbell
we actually bought the monitor for this purpose but my hubby & myself are too tired to wake up between sleeps & pacify her coz she's quite wakeful. moreover she's very timid, cant stay alone in her room

so now hope when my boy is older, will put them sleep together, got companion.

hi jamie,
oic, that will be tiring for both of you to run here and there. Will chloe request that she sleep with you sometimes instead of with hubby?

after confinement, will prob be going back to MIL's hse cos my mom's working. also dun want to separate them for too long. have to learn to manage both myself too.

after maternity leave, hopefully my boy can settle well into cc n my gal will be taken care by my MIL. if really cannot settle in cc, worst case will be withdraw him n get a maid to help out at home.

agree that keeping age gap close is good but v siong on parents. but hopefully all these xin ku will get better in 2-3 yrs time. once n for all.

no, coz all along its daddy who sleeps with her. but sometimes if she wakes up throwing tantrum, then will ask for me but we dont give in to her lor. BUT it has to be me who puts her to sleep, she doesnt want daddy, just like my boy. so usually night time after i settled my boy, will tuck chloe to bed lor. hubby wants to help but cant. my boy is very stubborn, he will refuse milk & cry till tired then fall asleep.
actually last time he's not like tat. my hubby will settle my boy while me will settle chloe but sometime back, my hubby has been working very late so i hv to last feed my boy then put him to bed. from then on, he doent want daddy liao.

bbethan
i think its better to start your boy early into cc coz he needs time to adjust. maybe u can consider flexi hours now for a start.

hi babyethan,
hope your boy can adapt to childcare very quickly.

hi jamie,
your boy very smart, wants to stick to you.

i'm back.... had enjoy ourselves there

Talking abt kids sleeping together, me n hubby sleep with e 2 kids in e same room cos no choice we had a big flat which ONLY had 1 room :p heheheee
Anyway so far both ZH n SZ sleep with me on a queen size bed n hubby sleep on another bed beside us
Sometimes they do wake up together 1 want me to hug him to sleep... n e other want to latch on for milk... so i will move to sleep inbetween them n latch 1 side n e other hand hug e other one... actually frankly sleep quite siong but no choice cos they dont want hubby too :p
Anyway my SIL going to get married in jan so we are going to have another bedroom soooooonnn.... i'm so so happy about it
finally can tell ppl i'm staying in a 2 bedroom flat :p

smallbell,
how r u ?? when is ur detail scan??

elaine
glad u had an enjoyable trip! me very "ghee-an" to make a trip there too, weather must be superb, nice & cool hor?

1 room: do u mean becoz u staying with your IL & SIL so only hv 1 room? u must be looking forward to the 2nd bedroom in jan
that can be ZH & SZ's room.

brought my hubby to see Ripples CC this morning. hubby likes the place, so most likely will put chloe there for a 1mth trial.

hi jamie,
e weather not cooling there... dont need to wear jacket one. As for e kids i just wear long sleeves clothes for them.
1 rOOm.... cos we bought a flat with 3 bedrooms but only 1 room is ours squeeze with 2kids then 2 SILs n MIL n maid take up 2 rooms. sian rite... i regretted so so much to invite them to stay in my new house cos they nv find tat we need place even though now with 2kids.... no initiative at all.... sian

huh not cool? tot genting is cool all year round??

aiyo your MIL & SIL really buay zitong leh. dont they see its abit cramp for u guys?

Hi Jamie,

Does Ripples have infant care too? How much is it for half day? Cherie Heart@ Wareham seems quite nice and is cheaper than Pat's Baby Haven @Halifax Rd....Have u heard anything about Pat's? Thanks!

hi elaine,
glad you are back, update your pics in facebook. wow, must be really tough to sleep in between both of them. Hope they can sleep in another bedroom soon. I went for detail scan last fri, confirm a gal. Very happy indeed that can get what i wish.

hi jamie,
when will chloe start at ripples?

velveteen
Ripples doesnt hv infant care. their half day is only $375 after subsidy. really affordable i must say. but hubby now changes his mind, want to put on hold for the time being after much consideration, so i may hv to source around again

i didnt visit CH at wareham, only pass by to take alook from the outside. one of the mummies here did visit them though which she also agrees its a nice school. but i find their fees are quite ex so didnt want to waste my time to visit the centre. pats fees are not cheap too, cant afford to put my 2 kids there leh.

smallbell
congrats!! can start buying those cutsy pretty stuff for bb liao
when due?

hi jamie,
thanks, will be due in nov. as i was searching online, gals clothes really pretty and so many pattern to choose from. Still got those hair accessories, hats, legging, etc.

why hubby don't want ripples? can let her try out a month trial. As she miss school for some time, she might reject school life.

smallbell
wow nov, thats very fast. usually will spend more on girl's stuff coz so many cute & sweet things, compare to boys

hubby wanted to put on hold 1st due to their school program. he realised they only hv play time once a week which is on every fri. which means everyday its just lessons & no playtime. unlike MMI, will still allocate playtime everyday. not sure if its too boring or stressful for the child?
their daily half day program will be something like this :

9am : breakfast
9.30am: english (phonics)
10.15am: maths
11.00am: chinese
11.45am: lunch
12.15 -12.45pm: shower
1pm: home

fri: no lessons coz its playday.

think if really cant find any preschool in the next couple of mths, then probably will go for trial lor.

hi Smallbell,
Congrats

is really good to have a girl n a boy.
Patrick will loves his meimei... just like Zhaohui

I also loves all e girl stuffs in e end Meimei always have new clothes whereas Zhaohui always wear e same old stuff :p

hi jamie,
y ur hubby dont want ripples??

jamie
the fees at Ripples does sound so much cheaper. do u know if it's a full day program, what do the kids do in the afternoon?

bbethan
i dont remember coz i'm looking more on half day. but i would think the kids will learn & do more for full day coz the centre manager also encourage me to put chloe full day. but we feel for now, half day is ok esp for N1 & N2. probably when she reach K1 & K2 then will put her full day to learn more things in preparation for primary school.

hi jamie,
oic, maybe it is half day so the program is quite filled up in the morning. Could be the school is new so fees are lower and when it becomes popular, fee will go up.

hi elaine,
hahaha, the boys get bully. But i do agree, i didn't buy any clothes for patrick when he was baby, only wore the hands down clothes.

smallbell
but somehow i still feel MMI's half day program offers more than Ripples. dont think the school is new but probably its smaller scale so fees are more affordable. the teacher student ratio is good too due to smaller size.

yeah i agree, guys usually dont get much. till now i still do buy things mainly for chloe

small bell n jamie
i called them already. full day is $485. So much cheaper. Prob will go down 1 day to take a look. They told me currently they hv 7 children taken care by 2 teachers in the 18mths group. can go up to max of 12 children.

bbethan
they put together PG & N1 students together, total of 7 kids. N2 there are 12 kids. yeah, u shd go down to see if u like the centre.

hi jamie and bbethan,
full day is much cheaper at ripples. Still worth a try and see if child likes the school. I think in choosing childcare, more important is the kid likes it. Unlike we can decide which primary school they should go to, but childcare is more of their choice.

hi elaine,
something big happen in school today. A student use scissor to cut off a chunk of hair of a gal. My mom heard teacher mei scolding all the teachers when she went to pick up. All the teachers face black black and teacher mei explained that the gal's mom is going to sue the school for overlook. I wonder how the other student manage to get hold of the scissor without the teacher's knowledge. I tried asking patrick who was the gal but he could not say. Maybe is the k1 or k2 class.

smallbell
yeah i agree, most impt is our child must like the place. when chloe was there, she didnt want to join the kids leh, almost in tears although i'm beside her, kept clinging to me. the teachers ask her if she like the place, she said NO!! haha... but after we reached home, i asked if she likes the school she said YES!! Arrg ...

oh gosh! but i feel its the teachers fault & negligence. its so dangerous, lucky nobody is hurt.

hi jamie,
opps, think must really let her try out to see if she likes it. Could be you are around during the visit, so she cling on to you.

ya, actually i thought was a small problem, cutting hair also nothing serious. Then hubby pointed out that the mom has the right to sue the school. What if the scissors poke the gal's eye, cut her ears or other parts of the body that will cause serious injury. The teachers should still be responsible for this mistake. And dangerous objects should not be left in the open for kids to pick it up.

smallbell
ya may just let her try out. the school are very flexible to let parents stay ard till their child feel comfortable. they feel it may not be too good to just drop them off. coz the child will feel withdrawn after a while. but the day we drop them off will be the child's 1st day in school.

i think after this incident, all the teachers need to be extra careful, otherwise accidents will happen due to negligence which can be avoided.

hi jamie,
do persuade your hubby to change his mind about this. Let her try out first. But can you try for like only a week or two instead of a month's trial at ripples?

ladies, i am wondering if necessary to get those headband, hairbands, hats, caps, legging, accessories for baby gals? i noticed that some babies also very little hair, how to put a clip ahhh? or these are just for "decoration" purpose?

smallbell
actually the trial period depends on the parents. my hubby suggested 1mth as its easier to calculate for school fees lor.

accessories: i only got hats for chloe coz babies got not much hair & i find those hair clips actually makes hair drop. chloe hates it anyway, only likes to wear hat. all these accessories are really for decoration purpose i find haha...

hi jamie,
the school is good, let you choose the trial period. Then why don't you take a shorter duration, just test out if she can adapt. I think one week is sufficient to see if she likes it. Oh thanks for telling me about the hair clips. I can save up on this, waste of money.

smallbell
u think is there any cause of concern that the daily program doesnt include any play time? coz chloe is those not very academic type so hubby feels it may be boring & not be suitable for her. for now even when we teach her at home, her attention span is pretty short liao wor. maybe like what u suggest, just let her try out & see how hor?

hi jamie,
i think not of concern as she can always play when she returns home. And if it is me, for half day school, i will be even more kiasu, want them to squeeze all the academic to make my money worth. School is different from your teaching at home. Normally kids will pay more attention to outsiders (teachers) compare to own parents. And school materials are definitely more creative and colourful than home made ones. When other kids are listening, she might also pay attention.

smallbell
yeah u got a point. chloe is different fr her bro who is more responsive & picks things up faster. she's slower & doesnt respond much, thats why hubby is concern if the program doesnt include any playtime, she may get bored with all the academic teaching & show no interest in no time. but i guess no harm just let her try out & see how it goes. thats what the trial is for haha....

hi jamie,
but i really don't think need to trial for a full month. Not sure if they can do it flexible for you to change the duration. If she dislike the school, then can quickly withdraw, no need wait a month.

smallbell
hubby will fetch us there every morning. bus stop are within walking distance. its just beside chelsea lodge, if u know where that is.