MMI @ katong shopping centre

elaine
how was the bday bash yesterday? do update in FB when its ready

hi jamie,
the party was very fun, mickey & minnie mouse birthday cake for Sizhen. Zhaohui very cute, sat on a stool like king, while the chinese teacher Yi Lao Shi fed him chocolate cake and one of elaine's friend use a tissue to wipe his mouth.
This is the first time i saw Yi lao shi, never met her before.

hi elaine,
thanks for the great party. Patrick hold on to the balloon the whole night while sleeping. He refuse to let go as he was afraid that it will fly away....hehehehe.

smallbell
wow sound so fun! mickey & minnie are my kids favourite! but we hv to give it a miss
my boy 1st birthday theme also mickey

hi jamie,
Oh they love mickey, are they watching Disney channel mickey show?

How is chloe now? Patrick is having slight cough and diahoerra today (due to medication) but still send him to school. Have informed the teacher to put diaper during nap time, just in case he poo in the pants.

smallbell
yes, they watch playhouse disney everyday!! chloe is much better, the wonder effects of antibiotics, her mucus is clear & not much liao.
oh dear, diarrhea due to the cough medicine?

hi smallbell n jamie,
is a great party but there are too too many MOSQUITOES there, Zhaohui is badly biten on e face, ear n tummy, so is Sizhen

Glad to know Patrick loves e balloon
Zhaohui cries so badly when 1 of his balloon fly away.
Jamie,
my friend will upload e pics.... didnt really take a lot...

hi jamie,
hope chloe recovers soon, glad to know her mucus is clear.

Not sure if cough medicine will give diarrhea. But lucky today in school nothing happen, no more diarrhea.

Zhaohui loves mickey mouse very much too. He choose e birthday cake with both mickey mouse n minnie mouse to represent himself n meimei.

elaine
oh no mozzie bites

so sweet of ZH to choose the cake
my boy's birthday i didnt take much photos too coz hubby brought chloe to see PD fr morning & waited till afternoon!! thus they missed the party. i actually forgot abt taking photos coz too busy entertaining. only during cake cutting then remember, so photo only me & my boy

will upload my pic together with my perth trip when i'm back.

Hi elaine,
ahhhh, ic. So Zhaohui thinks is both his and meimei birthday. Did you go GSS today?

Hi jamie,
do update the pics. When are you leaving for perth?

smallbell
hv not packed yet, dont know where to start

yeah, now the weather is cool, cant wait to be there, over here is so so hot!!

back to work today liao.... so busy till now

Yesterday went shopping with a friend... shop till drop :p
Recently e weather really hot.... cant stand without aircon. not even a single wind blowing :p heheheeee
Jamie, so nice going perth soon.... my friend says is winter now leh.... but no snow yet.

elaine
wow GSS shopping spree?

its really super hot these days, even stay indoor can still sweat!!
yeah its winter now in perth, probably wont see snow but hopefully dont rain lor.

i finally made a trip to a few ccs around Katong/Mountbatten rd today including MMI Katong:

MMI Katong:
I quite like the environment there. Clean like what most of you mentioned. And my kid was enjoying exploring the place there. He even went to hug a student there and helped himself to the toys there. So funny... LOL. But hb doesn't really like it cos he finds it too open.

Anyway, they don't have vacancy now and have to be on waiting list. May consider their mother n child class. Anyone has any idea what's the fees like?

My First Skool
Was shocked to see the state of the playground. But inside is ok with me. Still look clean and ok. But they really have a lot of children.

Cherie Hearts @ Bournemouth Rd
Don't really like the environment. Too dim and very noisy. Looks and feel very messy. Only good thing is they have a big outdoor area for the kids to explore the animals and play.

Cherie Hearts @ Wareham Rd
We are actuaally quite impressed with the center... The centre is new and the students there are not many. More focused. Place is very clean too. We spoke to the director. Can feel she's an advocate of good early childhood education. She gives me an assurance that their childcare ctr is not merely just childcare service but is a good place for education too. Well... it's her school of course she has to sell it well too. But most likely we are going to go with them. Their 20% discount is now till end of Jun. At the end of the day, their fees are comparable.

babyethan
no wonder u MIA, went cc visiting

my understanding/ impression for all montessori school is "open" concept. went to brighton last time, their nursery section is also open. twinklestars monte at marine parade also the same, though i didnt go in but took a peek outside their glass door.

for cherie hearts at wareham, their discounted fees only applicable for this year leh, so next year onwards their fees without the disc are very steep. so its out for me lor.
so when u starting there?

jamie
yup... teacher amy did tell us their class are open concept. hb not very keen with this kind. can't seems to convince him.

btw, i saw that KatongSC is going thru a collective sale. wonder if it will affect their tenancy. ccs when we were there, they were still talking abt expanding their premises to one level below so that they can open up more classes. when we left, we saw the notice at the notice board area.

Ya lor... but find their ciriculum quite interesting. will prob try out for this yr. if gd, then got to save a bit to cont. also will try my luck then to see can get any discount. prob will hope to start in Aug if can move over then. if not, v troublesome to bring him from current place. hopefully it's a right choice.

hi jamie,
will be very fun to let the kids see snow. Hope it will snow soon. Chloe will only continue school next year or when she recovers?

hi babyethan,
did MMI mention how long you need to waitlist? I suppose your hubby is referring to too open as in no proper classroom? I heard from teacher Mei that last time many parents asking about the open concept, but that will not affect the class. The older kids and younger kids are separated during lesson time and not allowed to go out of the class. So that should be fine. Anyway kids are only most noisy during playtime and the playground is in an enclose classroom.

How much is cherie hearts at wareham after subsidy? Your boy will be going half day or full day?

Hi babyethan,
nope, the collective sales did not pull through, not able to sell. Katong shopping has been discussing about this since last year but no agreement among the shop owners.

smallbell
wont see snow coz not goin up the mountain
no snow in the city area except rain.

cherie hearts wareham charge abt $1.2K before subsidy for half day leh, its really ex lor.

small bel

he was saying it's open as in all the classes are conducted in the same area, he's worried it's gets a bit noisy with all the classes conducting at same time. although playgroup is separate in another room from the older kids, but when they go to older classes, then it will be open classroom type. in fact, some of the cc we went to are all open n all the teachers said the older kids will get used to the environment and knows how to block out noises. but this point doesnt seem to register in his brain... hehe... bobian.

they didn't say how long. the last time when i called, they say earliest is mid sept. yest, she didn't commit on a date. as i'm going back to work in sep, would prefer a more confirmed arrangement then wait.

will be putting him on full day... amt is abt $760 after subsidy n discount.

re the sale... it'sc onfirmed? cos my hb was saying there's a meeting coming soon. so we thought it's not final yet.

Jamie,
if u r considering Cherie Hearts, do go down to Suntec to take a look at their roadshow this weekend. shd hv some offers.

babyethan
i may consider cherie hearts but since wareham rd is so ex & only left with bournemouth rd but hv not gone down to see the premises. the rest are not near our area.

smallbell
i'm thinking the earliest to put chloe back to school will be 3mths later or latest by Jan next year. actually i'm still hopeful that Shaws will call me once they hv vacancy. i'm still open to other schools (non aircon) near my area, if really cant find then will put her back to MMI, hopefully her immunity is stronger by then.

but CH bournemouth is really messy. i dun like it. u go down n see... maybe we all have different expectation. Is Shaw's fees affordable? Have u enquire on Zee's Junior before? the director at CH Wareham said it's a gd sch n her daughter is there. I'm not too sure abt the fees. It's down Tanjong Katong area.

Btw, i noticed that there's Joy Montessori near to CH Bournemouth. On the opp side of Mountbatten Rd. Hope I'm not confusing u with so many cc.

babyethan
shaws half day is $650 (same as MMI), full day is $800, after subsidy.

i hv been to zee junior at dunman road. dont really like. premises is small, maybe i visit during after their meal time so its really messy & dirty lor. but they do hv outdoor playground with slides & trampoline. not sure abt their fees coz the person incharge wasnt ard & didnt call me back even when i left my contact with the teachers.

i passed by Joy monte, think they hv changed management coz last time its another school.

hi jamie,
oh wow, so ex for cherie heart. Maybe you start searching for weekly enrichment class to cover the 3 months. If not she will miss out quite alot when she returns to childcare. Now kids also pressure, got syllabus to cover. I suppose kindergarten class will be more stress.

hi babyethan,
as for full day at cherie heart seems quite ok. MMI full day is $700, only $60 difference. But any problem with travelling to the school at wareham?

katong shopping often has meeting for the collective sales but never succeed. It's the agent trying their luck again to persuade the sales. My mom has a friend who has a few shop units doing maid agency on 1st level. Most of the owners are against selling as maid agency doing very well.

smallbell
only the CH at wareham is ex, the one at bournemouth is affordable. i dont mind if the discounted rate applies thru out the stay with the school though.

hv enquired GUG for the enrichment class (twice weekly) for chloe. but since its also a parent drop off class, hubby feels she might start her "crying" again shd we put her there & i'm sure the teachers there are not so dedicated or patient compare to those in school. they may just leave her to cry which will also affect other students in class.
now headache, dont know where got enrichment class for her, i also dont want her to miss out during her absence fr school.

Hi jamie,
enrichment class is short while right? maybe if fun then she will not cry. If she can see you from the window of the classroom, think should be alright. Are there any enrichment school or class with parent's accompany? How about those like Julia Gabriel holiday program, just for a week kind of lesson.

smallbell
GUG class is 2.5hrs, no windows leh. i did tot of JG but its at forum, abit far, moreover i heard their program always long waiting list. i'm not sure where else hv parent participation enrichment class liao

smallbel
in fact, i find wareham nearer. just 1 bus stop away n walk into the private estate. think shd be quite ok. maybe will sweat like crazy if to walk in this weather. Katong SC is further but good thing is bus stop is right in front. no need to walk. will try out first.

GUG has trial class n can have parent accompany. heard they are quite good.

smallbell
yes i think they hv trial class. i didnt ask when i'm there coz chloe already feel withdrawn.

babyethan
the program which i enquire in GUG cant hv parents accompany coz i think its for older kids. only program for the younger ones are allowed.

actually altho wareham seems nearer but in terms of walking distance, i feel its more.

hi babyethan,
does cherie heart wareham have trial class? or one month trial? then you could try out first.

Hi jamie,
would you consider music class, dance or art for chloe? i know yamaha music class, parent can accompany. Swimming class can definitely can go together.

jamie
Agree.. it's nearer to our place but more walking distance.

Small bell
Good idea... prob i will call them and ask. cos i know for the normal CH centres, they have trial classes if i'm not wrong.

smallbell
good idea! actually my hubby also suggest music class, but i didnt think of yamaha. what abt dance or art class? any idea where? chloe loves dancing & drawing

babyethan
i agree with smallbell, it will be good to go for their trial to see if your boy likes it.

hi babyethan,
even if no trial class for cherie heart, you can ask if possible to delay the payment of registration fees first. Until your boy confirm like the school, then pay the deposit. Some cc can do that.

hi jamie,
Is United Square far for you? noticed alot of class over there, not sure if they have dance or art, but can take a look.

smallbell
yes abit far leh. would prefer around suntec or parkway lor. i was there on wed to collect some maps for my perth trip, didnt notice there are enrichment classes except GUG & Lorna Whiston.

actually there's Jitterbugs at millenia walk but their kids dancing class are mainly over the weekends which i'm not keen.

hi jamie,
you know kallang leisure park? i saw a shop teaching art at the basement, near cold storage. Upstairs there is JWT gym on 2nd level.

smallbell
yes, its growing paints. they were previously from parkway. but honestly i dont quite like the way they teach coz normally when i'm there to buy grocery, wat i see is the teacher just simply let the students draw on their own while he plays the guitar, which i find like a waste of $$. i can do this at home also mah

as for gym, i rather bring her back to JWT eastgate coz the one at kallang very small. actually JWT also hv the parent drop off program, will call & enquire since chloe likes the place & feel comfortable with the trainers.

hi jamie,
so strange, why teacher play guitar when the student draw. Oh ya, JWT gym will be fun too. I only attend the birthday party and trial once, very fun. But the class very ex. I thought can accompany, no need to leave her at the gym. Then she will not be afraid.

smallbell
probably provide some entertainment for the students ba haha..

just called up jwt for their global playroom, its $45 per session, once a week 2hrs. but the max age is till 3yrs, so chloe might be the oldest in class
this is a parent drop off class so cant accompany. but there's a sitting area for parents. will go for a trial when i'm back fr perth

small bel
i didn't know some cc does that. will try n negotiate. thks for the tips.

Jamie
r u going to the mother n tod class at MMI? Teacher Mei called me just now and said there are 3 confirmed students and asked if i'm interested.

There's Little Neuro Tree @ parkway. heard from a friend it's quite good and his boy enjoys the class,

wow... jamie u have really been searching ard for enrichment class.... both u n smallbell have good knowledge of where got wat enrichment class...heheheeee

hi jamie,
oh then could try the trial at JWT gym. At least she can still see you around the gym.

hi babyethan,
little neuro tree is a new branch at parkway. Heard good feedback about the other branch. It is similar to shichida.

babyethan
no, i'm not going for the mother tod class

elaine
no choice lor since chloe stop school so hv to be more diligent sourcing around

smallbell
i think this neuro tree is abit cheem for chloe. she's not those academic type so i dont think she will enjoy the class leh. but maybe i shd just go for the trial & see how.

hi jamie,
neuro tree got activities, singing of songs, flashcards and if i am not wrong, they have different languages. Will be good exposure for her, can give a trial.

tats true, it would be good exposure for her. Ons lah haha... will call them up for trial

enrichment aside ... u know the gender liao?