MMI @ katong shopping centre

smallbell
yeah i hope so too. hubby has decided to withdraw her fr MMI for the time being. i hv not called up to inform the school yet. think must give 1 mth notice rite?

ZH ran n fell yesterday afternoon in sch n hit e shelves *faint* so so lucky it didnt hit on his eyes but is at e corner of e eye under e eyebrow
always when we want to have somethg big then he will fall, just like last yr just 2 days before going hong kong he also fell down from a high bed.....
But lucky he is alrite if not then dont know where to get help when oversea.

elaine
oh dear, is ZH alright? any bruise?

its better to buy insurance for any trip. never know what will happen or fall sick during the trip.

didnt know must give MMI 2mths notice. will give them a call later. but most schools are full now so i'm also worried chloe may hv no school if withdraw fr MMI

Can I join u all? I'll be moving over to old airport road area and is considering to put my #1 in full day cc when he turns 18 mths next mth. Still considering if shd put around my house area or somewhere in town near workplace.

Seems like this MMI @ Katong SC is very popular huh? the sch fees seems reasonable like those in town. Is it a full aircon environment? Is the premise big?

Have enquired a few cc along mountbatten rd. All are so high!!! Anyone has comments or visited My Skool House (formerly known as NTUC Childcare) along gulliemard rd?

babyethan
kao_welcome2.gif

i'm at old airport road. when u moving over?
yeah those along mountbatten road, the fees are rocket high!
i visited the ntuc along guillemard road, personally i dont like the environment coz its not very clean tats y i didnt put my girl there. u may like to visit MMI katong. premises is big & clean, but its fully aircon though.

Jamie
Should be moving over in Jul/Aug.
Oh... but the price at NTUC is like heaven and earth. Have not went down to take a look yet. Hubby was hesistant cos the fees r really affordable compared to most private cc. Is this MMI Katong called Champz School House? Cos I was looking thru the list from childcarelink and only see that sch at Katong Shopping Centre.

Btw, how can we go down from our place? Paiseh... not very familiar wif the area yet.

hi jamie,
got a small cut below e eyebrow lor... then abit swollen. when i reach there yesterday i was surprised tat he is holding a cold compressor pack n place on his eye..... then when he remove i saw e cut i was so so upset.... is really lucky tat is not his eye. hai~~~.....
then e teachers start telling me is because he ran even though they already tell him not to run............ i think tonight i will write on his handbook to ask e teacher to be more firm with him!!! No running means no running!!! n to make sure he dont run!
But sometimes ZH is like tat... e more u say e more cheeky he is... n he will make sure he do e thing tat u says NO...
Jamie, did i tell u abt a sch at Katong mall?? "seeds D learning house" 1 of my friend's daughter is there, e elder one already graduated from there last yr n now e 2nd child is there, she says quite good n she highly recommend. Maybe u can go there take a look. $400per mth. 3hrs per day.
Actually I wanted to change ZH there but hubby says $400 (3hrs) + $100 (transport fees) must well put in mmi full day :p

welcome BabyEthan!!

babyethan
which part or blk u at? yes i agree, ntuc fees are much more affordable really heaven & earth
the last time i went to visit, their playground is really very dirty which puts me & hubby off so didnt went in to see their premises at all.

yup MMI katong is Champz school house. there is direct bus fr our place. Bus no. 10 & 32 stops right infront of katong SC.

but if u looking ard our area within walking distance, there is another CC below those yellow color HDB blks, Young Talents.

Jamie
I'm at Dakota Cresc @ blk 60. U?
wow... think it's really pays peanuts and get peanuts. think can skip that already. U visited Young Talents too? How was it?

Actually i just found out that there's Cherie Hearts Knowledge Xploerer at Wareham Rd... near Northligt School. New sch opened at 1 Apr. Not sure if it's good.

Btw, I've called MMI Katong. Intend to put him in Aug but they only hv vacanies in Sep. Now sure if it'll be too late as my ML will end very soon then.

elaine
oh gosh, really lucky didnt kenna his eyes! chloe is like that too, the more u tell them NO, they will purposely do it.

yes i heard of D seeds learning house. didnt go in to enquire but fr the outside, the playground looks good & clean. did consider as their fees are reasonably affordable. but katong mall also hv been bought over so shd they move, hubby worried skarly move to their pasir ris branch which is very far.

have spoken to Mei that i like to withdraw chloe for the time being. will probably put her back in jan next year. she is kind enough not to charge me the registration fees for next year

babyethan
i'm at blk 56 cassia crescent, behind the hawker ctr. i didnt visit young talents as comments are not so good accordingly to some mummies in our area.

oh i'm not aware there's a cherie hearts at wareham road. i may check it out coz i just withdraw my girl fr MMI as she has been sick very often since she started in mar. want to nurse back her health 1st.

elaine's son & my girl is in the same class. maybe u can try to extend your leave or take no pay leave for another mth in sep?

hi babyethan,
u just need to cross e road then take bus 10 or 32 only few bus stop then reach Katong SC.
Didnt know got new school nearby.... have u been to cherie heart to take a look??
Anyway MMI(Katong) is really very clean n spacious.

hi jamie,
then e school fees how?? still have to pay for another month?? u try to talk to Teacher May la.... soo wasted for u to keep on paying but chloe also cant go becos she is sick.
actually i next think very far... just place her there 1st then who knows e economy not very gOOd they might not shift so fast. but things r hard to say ....

elaine
Mei will use my deposit to offset for next mth's fee. so officially chloe's last day will be end of june, next mth. she can understand that i cant be possibly paying the school fees when chloe is on long MC.

Jamie/Elaine
Thks for the info. I think i might have to do that if really no choice. Prob will go down MMI to take a look.

I haven't go down to cherie heart yet. Just happen to see that centre in the list, so call to check out. But the fees are not very cheap too. $950 after subsidy. But now they hv 20% discount up to end May for the a yr's sch fees. So it's abt $760 but think it's a bit too rush to make the decision within a few days.

I'm now deciding between Learning Vision @ Cecil St and probably somewhere nearby. But worried the fetching time may be a bit tight if put him nearby.

Elaine,
U stay nearby too?

Jamie,
how old is yr girl? She starts falling sick after starting sch? Actually that's my concern too although i know it's inevitable. So now, trying to give him some supplements to boost his immunity. Hopefully it will help.

Oh btw, saw u gals mentioning abt Odyssey. The principal at LV told me they are from the same company. But Odyssey is a more premium center where their programme is different and their teacher-child ratio is much smaller. More focused type of program. Too ex for me

babyethan
the full day fees at cherie hearts is not cheap leh. can u give me the link? like to see what's the rate for half day.

my girl will be 3yrs in sept. yes sick very very often since she started in mar. think she has not even fully stay put for an entire mth! school for 1 week, sick for 2 weeks that kind. recently PD gaver her MC for 1mth coz quite serious liao. i also know its inevitable to fall sick so i'm trying to look for a non aircon school, hope it will improve.

i visited the odyssey, i must say we (hubby, myself & chloe) love it to bits!!
but simply cant afford lah.

i'm not sure if there's another thread abt childcare in our area. but there's a thread for Pine close mummies which is at our area. but its not very active http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/404703.html?1243325839

Jamie
Oh poor gal... hopes she recovers well soon. That's why when i realised that LV is fully air-con incl their playground, i'm a bit hesistant. But diff to find somewhere in town with open air space.

So who'll be taking care of her when she's not going to cc?

I dun hv the link to cherie hearts. I called them to enquire. Their no. is 64400090

babyethan
MMI also fully aircon incl their playground. u may like visit & see if u like the place.

i'm a sahm with 2 kids. i hv another younger son 1yr.

thks for the no. will call to enquire.

Ya... I'm aware of it. But one of my friend was telling me aircon or not doesn't affect. It's the child's immunity. Cos her son is in those non-aircon ones. But also always fall sick.

Btw, are the teachers at MMI patient and good? Especially when it comes to the 1st few wks of settling down period?

hi babyethan,
i'm staying at ubi.... not near to both of u

regards to patient.... i will give them a thumbsup
they are really patient to my boy when he just went in this jan.... n have been coaxing him to settle down till today... nobody will believe tat he still cries almost every morning when he step into e sch but only for a short while....(< 1mins) :p but if his dad bring him then no problem.... hai~~~
Anyway if ur child start now will be in playgroup class... Teacher Siti is very patient towards her playgroup class students... so is "YU lao shi" e chinese teacher for N1 but i think she also teaches PG chinese. Sometimes i do hang ard in e sch from 530-6++pm to wait for my husband to come to fetch us so get to know e teacher better now. In e morning they usually have "Gao lao shi" on duty n she never hesitant to coax my boy by carrying him to see our car leave e carpark to make him settle down. I'm really please with most of e teachers there. Teacher Amy is e newly promoted supervisor, she is one of e good teacher there too but she teaches K1. Hopes this help.... y dont u ask teacher May again, see she can let ur child in eariler or not

Hi jamie,
not sure if rules change, i only need to give one month notice for withdrawal. Katong mall will be redeveloped, so school will definitely move. Any other schools that you considering?

hi elaine,
hope Zhaohui will be alright. How come the shelve got sharp edges? i thought school would have protected it.

hi babyethan,
welcome to the thread. MMI teachers are very patient. For the 1st few weeks, they will carry crying kids. But they don't allow parents to stay too long with the child at the beginning stage. If you put your boy in cc near workplace, the advantage is you could visit during lunchtime. But travelling distance from school to home will be far.

babyethan
hv called up cherie hearts, their fees are really steep. i rather choose odyssey if i can afford, since its almost the same price.
i agree with both elaine &amp; smallbell, the teachers in MMI are very patient. teacher siti is chloe's fav teacher

smallbell
i'm also considering brighton montessori but long waiting list unless i go to their frankel ave branch but its abit far. anyway if cant find any good schools then will go back to MMI in Jan next year, hopefully by then chloe's immune system is stronger. meanwhile once she recovers, will put her in some enrichment class like GUG which is once or twice weekly.

Sorry for being MIA. Busy lately + too caught up with the Korean drama - BOF. The guys r handsome
kao_drool.gif

Jamie:Sorry I didn't backtrack all the posts but is Chloe sick all the time? I really hope she gets well faster. And cut down on antibiotics if you can. Also, does Chloe sleep in an aircon room?
How about trying tuina. I think there's one that alot of mothers talk about. Yu something, can't remember the name.

Elaine: I don't see ZhaoHui cry anymore what. Talk to him when he sleeps, the 5 mins suggestion. It works!
I don't talk to Aricia now, she's a light sleeper. I hush hush talk to her she turns and look at me. Hahaha!
Anyway, is ZhaoHui okay now?

Patricia: Hi, how are you? Queen of the house?

BabyEthan: Do not worry about your child in school. A word of advise is don't hang around the school too long. Child see you, will surely cry. I've learnt my lesson coz' my older girl cried for 1 month. And it's those where you can pop your head in the front/back of the school kind.
With Aricia, I didn't have a choice unless I propel down the building. I let the teacher handle, they praise her etc.. I didn't see (maybe she bawl until eyes all red) so leave it as that. And she did so well. One week was all she did, for a while. Then, 2nd week she cried for the sake of crying - so fake! I ignored her and she turned and walked in. ?!?!

hi jamie,
brighton montessori is quite ex right? my neighbour put her gal in only a few hours and already cost more than mmi full day. Good idea, why don't you put her in enrichment class, can be a few times per week. Put at the same time as your boy then they can attend together. Heard GUG is good.

Hi lily,
really bored at home, still bedresting most of the time. Would really prefer to return to work.

Thanks gals for replying me and sharing yr experience with Katong MMI. Sounds like i should seriously consider them given all the good reviews. Now I just realised they have another center at Raffles Place. Not sure if that place's teachers are as good. Cos my concern is picking up by 7pm. I knock off at 6.15pm and seems a bit rush down from City Hall to reach before 7pm everyday.

Jamie,
Yes... their price are attractive only if you can enjoy the promotion now cos that 20% makes a bit of difference. Also not sure if Cherie Hearts curiculum is good. They told me that their charges are more than other CH centres cos their english-chinese emphasis is 50-50 while other centres are 70-30. And i think the only good thing is since it's new, the class size is small.

Lily
Actually when i first went to a center visit and saw one kid crying becos it's his 2nd day, i started feeling heartache to leave him there. But i know he has to go thru this. But just hope the process is not too tramatic to cause any nightmares or anything drastic. In fact it took him weeks to settle down when i go off to work every morning. Now he will happily wave me goodbye when i leave. The thought of him having to go thru that all over again... makes me xin suan a bit... haiz... hmmm... think must be more cold-hearted a bit.

hey lily
havent seen u in a while, u must be a fan of Kdrama

yeah chloe has been sick since she started school. she hasnt been sick since birth, so actually i still tot she's one of those healthy babe until i send her to school.
tuina at YU GUO is really good i heard, but the crowd can be killing!! moreover i dont tik chloe can take chinese medicine, western med already a challenge. now waiting for her to recover before giving her some cordycep to "pu".

smallbell
yes brighton abit ex, half day after subsidy is $760 liao. infact last time brighton was our 1st choice
, but the waiting list at fort road is super long!!

babyethan
cherie hearts: even after the 20% disc its still very ex. saw fr their website, they hv another branch at bournemouth rd, just a few streets away. hv nt called to find out though.

babyethan
i just called up the bournemouth branch. half day at $600 before subsidy, compared to wareham rd is really heaven &amp; earth!

Jamie
Yes... both sch different like what i mentioned in the earlier post. $950 @ Wareham Rd vs $695 @ Bournemouth Rd after subsidy for full day. But i think Bournemouth Rd is further in. I was looking at the map. Seems like got to walk quite a bit of distance. I hate walking esp in such hot weather like now. Also the fees are the same as MMI liao. Not sure which programme is better...

babyethan
fr the directory, the bournemouth road seems quite near to the main road but not sure how far is the walking distance. with our hot weather, even short walk can melt!!

u may hv to visit those cc tat u shortlist then decide which one u like, based on curiculum, environment, teachers &amp; budget.

hi babyethan,
do visit the branch at raffles place as well. Just a comparison.

hi jamie,
wow, with such high fees Brighton still got waiting list. My goodness.

Jamie, you are right, bournemouth road is nearer the bus stop as compare to wareham road. For wareham road, can access via Dunman Road bus stop. I used to stay at meyer road, much further in, got to walk daily to bus stop, takes 6 mins. However, do take into consideration on the limited bus available along mountbatten road, only bus no. 12, 196 and 14. The waiting of bus here is super slow.

smallbell
the waiting list now is almost a year!! compare to last year when i enquired, its abt 6mths. but i think the fort road is more popular than frankel ave, thats y the wait is so long.

yes i agree, the bus wait for no. 12, 196 &amp; 14 is super long. my side here only bus 10 &amp; 32 goes to mountbatten via tanjong katong. hv to catch their timing.

small bell
Oh... u r refering to mountbatten road right? so if to walk to old airport rd, must be a long distance.

Think i need some time to get familiar with the place.

smallbell
no need to change bus, there are direct buses fr my place.

babyethan
last nite after doing grocery shopping, i passby both cherie hearts. bournemouth road is very near to the main road, whereas wareham road is further in. since its alreay dark, cant really see much but bournemouth road premises is old compare to wareham.

hi jamie,
but bus 10 and 32 cannot reach mountbatten road. You will still need to switch to 14, 12 or 196 right?

smallbell
bus 10 &amp; 32 only covers part of mountbatten road. if heading towards fort road direction then hv to change bus.

elaine
so sorry, dont think can attend the birthday bash tomorrow coz chloe's mucus turns abit yellowish green this morning
tot she's much better liao coz nose not runny but when she sneeze, the mucus seems quite bad. now waiting for PD to call me back if shd start on the antibiotics, much as i dont want

hi jamie,
Opps, cannot meet up with you and chloe tomorrow. Hope she recovers soon. Can let her drink barley water.

hi jamie,
dont worry.... Chloe health comes 1st but if she is better tomorrow then just bring her...

My little birthday girl take med n is very very much better now.. my PD never give both of them antibiotics before, wat med did ur PD give to chloe?? my girl is now on Actified, zytec, ventolin n mucosolvan.

smallbell
ya lor, still tot can catch up with both of u. chloe takes barley regularly but she belongs to those heaty type lor.

elaine
wow tats great, if can, pls do without the antibiotics. chloe is now taking augmentin (antibiotic), for running nose: fedac, aerius &amp; otrivin (nosedrop) &amp; rhinathiol. no longer need ventolin coz she not having cough. my boy is taking zytec &amp; rhinathiol.

babyethan
both is along tanjong katong road. bournemouth is nearer to mountbatten road.

hi jamie and elaine,
actually what will happen if too much antibiotic in the body? will immune drop in future?

hi elaine,
see you tomorrow.

smallbell
i think if take too much antibiotics, the body wont hv much good bacteria to fight itself, hv to rely on medicine to get well.