March 2018 Mummies

Anybody seeing NUH subsided?

The wait is crazy! my first appt is on 14 Sept.. which i be 12 weeks...
Ended up seeing pvt gynae first to ensure myself.

I think oscar is about $400-$500. Panorama is $980 for blood but gynae wants me to do the NT scan as well, is that standard for panorama?
Drawing blood and scan in end Aug for me when I'm at week 12.

I think oscar is about $400-$500. Panorama is $980 for blood but gynae wants me to do the NT scan as well, is that standard for panorama?
Drawing blood and scan in end Aug for me when I'm at week 12.

My friend never do NT scan, just draw blood for panorama

Same, energy has been quite low too. What is the difference between Harmony and Oscar test? Panaroma test is very expensive right?

I thought Harmony and Panaroma are the same except the name?

Oscar will determine on the blood test and the NT scan, results will be in ratio format.
Harmony is blood test results and you will know the sex of the baby.

I did Oscar the other time, wondering to do Harmony/Panorama this round.

Hi Mummies, I am having #2 after 10 yrs. Anyone has gynaecologist who is experienced in high risk pregnancy? I am in my 40. Thanks in advance.

Hi Chino, congrats!!!

i'm seeing Prof Arijit Biswas at NUH, he's a high risk specialist. He's lovely.

I'm 35, but my pregnancies have all been on the complicated side cos have had 4 miscarriages, and kid #1 had IUGR, #2 has a rare genetic disorder and #3 a heart defect detected at the 20th week detailed scan. So i'm in the high risk group!

Anybody seeing NUH subsided?

The wait is crazy! my first appt is on 14 Sept.. which i be 12 weeks...
Ended up seeing pvt gynae first to ensure myself.

I considered going under subsidised! Didn't know the wait is so long. In the end decided against it cos i wanted an early scan. Now with prof biswas at sapphire clinic

Oscar will determine on the blood test and the NT scan, results will be in ratio format.

I see, thanks!
Think I will do Oscar test...

I see, thanks! Since my gynae wants to see the scan I guess I have to do it then. Panorama has a 99% accuracy. I think the results come back also state low or high risk only.

I considered going under subsidised! Didn't know the wait is so long. In the end decided against it cos i wanted an early scan. Now with prof biswas at sapphire clinic

I am with NUH as a private patient for my #1.
My pregnancy was a bit complicated as i am diagnose with a blood deficiency that might cause blood clots so was on daily blood thinner injection for my #1 since 15wks till birth. The cost was rather high at $6 - 8 / jab.
Thus this round, not sure if i need the injections again, thus going on the sub route to save the jabs cost in long run. Sub is half the price for jabs. If i need.. then will be daily injections + monthly blood test for monitoring.

Hopefully NUH will place me in high risk dept given my records with them.

My pregnancy was a bit complicated as i am diagnose with a blood deficiency that might cause blood clots so was on daily blood thinner injection for my #1 since 15wks till birth. The cost was rather high at $6 - 8 / jab.
Thus this round, not sure if i need the injections again, thus going on the sub route to save the jabs cost in long run. Sub is half the price for jabs. If i need.. then will be daily injections + monthly blood test for monitoring.

Sunflower, if placed in high risk dept at clinic G it means you will see the more senior doctors? It's something i worried about, that if we go in under subsidised will be seeing only the trainee docs..

it's not a bad thing to do the NT scan... during the NT scan for my #3 at kkh the sonographer for us happened to be a fetal maternal specialist gynae, and she spotted some abnomalities with the development of the baby's heart configuration so she placed us under the maternal fetal care unit at kkh ADC from the 12th week onwards. Until the heart defect was confirmed for sure at the 20th week scan.
But the oscar and NT scan for the presence of the nasal bone itself was fine. so effectively the NT scan done at 12 weeks allowed her to pick up earlier that something wasn't quite right

Sunflower, if placed in high risk dept at clinic G it means you will see the more senior doctors? It's something i worried about, that if we go in under subsidised will be seeing only the trainee docs..

I know a mummy here during my #1 pregnancy and she was sub and transferred to the high risk, she was monitored by seniors doc.
We have similar conditions, so hopefully I get transferred there too.
If not, then i change to private. i gotta give it a try.
We can change to private at any point in time. They definitely welcome you to do that.

it's not a bad thing to do the NT scan... during the NT scan for my #3 at kkh the sonographer for us happened to be a fetal maternal specialist gynae, and she spotted some abnomalities with the development of the baby's heart configuration so she placed us under the maternal fetal care unit at kkh ADC from the 12th week onwards. Until the heart defect was confirmed for sure at the 20th week scan.
But the oscar and NT scan for the presence of the nasal bone itself was fine. so effectively the NT scan done at 12 weeks allowed her to pick up earlier that something wasn't quite right

Looking at your post... maybe i should go for Oscar..

I know a mummy here during my #1 pregnancy and she was sub and transferred to the high risk, she was monitored by seniors doc.
We have similar conditions, so hopefully I get transferred there too.
If not, then i change to private. i gotta give it a try.
We can change to private at any point in time. They definitely welcome you to do that.

sigh now i sort of regret going straight to private since i was already under subsidised at clinic G for other problems... just saw dr susie logan there only recently before i found out about the pregnancy. Maybe they would have put me in high risk too..

Hi sunflower
Did you have protein s deficiency? I have it for this pg and currently seeing a private gynae paying $9 per jab for clexane and $150 for blood test. I am planning to switch to nuh after getting my fts results. However since its already 13w, i am thinking i can't wait for subsidised since it will take months. How much did you pay for blood tests in nuh as private patient and which gynae did you see?

Hi absentmama,
I see that you are seeing prof biswas too! I have my 1st appt with him next sat at 14 weeks. Wonder if he will be ok to accept me as a "transfer case" with all my medical reports and current treatment to manage low protein s. First time changing gynae during pg and wonder if they will feel offended and brush aside the history.

Hi Chino, congrats!!!

i'm seeing Prof Arijit Biswas at NUH, he's a high risk specialist. He's lovely.

I'm 35, but my pregnancies have all been on the complicated side cos have had 4 miscarriages, and kid #1 had IUGR, #2 has a rare genetic disorder and #3 a heart defect detected at the 20th week detailed scan. So i'm in the high risk group!
Thanks for the information.

Hihi all

Any strange ms symptoms?

I've excessive saliva a lot of times. It's really gross because my mouth tastes weird and it's so hard to swallow the excess saliva that I just have to spit out sometimes.

Very bad nausea in evenings and heartburn too arghhh

Hi absentmama,
I see that you are seeing prof biswas too! I have my 1st appt with him next sat at 14 weeks. Wonder if he will be ok to accept me as a "transfer case" with all my medical reports and current treatment to manage low protein s. First time changing gynae during pg and wonder if they will feel offended and brush aside the history.

2angels2016,

my 3 kids were all delivered by different gynaes! So this is effectively my first time with prof biswas too, although he did my d&c in march for the one i miscarried. Given that we've seen quite a number of gynaes; both male and female, in Sg and overseas, Prof biswas is the one whom we feel to be in the safest hands. I wish i'd met him earlier. He took a really careful and detailed history on the first consultation; im sure he will be no less careful with your case.

Hi sunflower
Did you have protein s deficiency? I have it for this pg and currently seeing a private gynae paying $9 per jab for clexane and $150 for blood test. I am planning to switch to nuh after getting my fts results. However since its already 13w, i am thinking i can't wait for subsidised since it will take months. How much did you pay for blood tests in nuh as private patient and which gynae did you see?

let me pm you.

sigh now i sort of regret going straight to private since i was already under subsidised at clinic G for other problems... just saw dr susie logan there only recently before i found out about the pregnancy. Maybe they would have put me in high risk too..

dont tink that way.
i would go private if i dont need the jabs

Hihi all

Any strange ms symptoms?

I've excessive saliva a lot of times. It's really gross because my mouth tastes weird and it's so hard to swallow the excess saliva that I just have to spit out sometimes.

yes. this is very normal for me. i also have evening nausea. will get better in 2nd tri.

Hihi all

Any strange ms symptoms?

Hello, I dun have the saliva issue but nausea definitely. It happens periodically for me throughout the day, so not just in the evening. Weirdest thing is it goes away for a while when I'm eating. Although the quantity I can eat per meal is reduced by half, I usually get hungry again in a couple of hours. Then the nausea comes again and I have to eat something to make it go away. Cycle repeats.

Hihi all

Any strange ms symptoms?

i'll take the excessive saliva over what i'm having - a whole mouth filled with ulcers! They're literally a pain and ulcers plus nausea is no fun...

Am currently in my week 11 and first time feeling dizzy and headache for the whole day. Woke up the next day and still the same. Is this common sign of pregnancy? Am so worried.

I belong to April 2018 mummies to be but wanted to ask all of you who have passed the stage of week 6. Do you experience any light brown spotting? I noticed I have traces of brown stain, less than spotting. I am so worried now. Can only call clinic tomorrow to ask.

Have you seen baby heartbeat yet?
Spotting could be normal too. Dun worry so much. Go see gynae tmr. Likely will issue you progesterone hormone pills for you to support the pregnancy and stop the spotting. Brown spotting could be old blood.

Have you seen baby heartbeat yet?
Spotting could be normal too. Dun worry so much. Go see gynae tmr. Likely will issue you progesterone hormone pills for you to support the pregnancy and stop the spotting. Brown spotting could be old blood.
Thanks Happycsk. Next appt will be coming Friday to check heartbeat. I hope it is normal and all right, am already on hormone pills. Will monitor and call clinic tmr.

Hi, I spotted brown last week and after a couple of mins it stopped. Next morning I spotted red. Just so happened it was my gynae appt that day so I told my gynae. Doc checked vaginal condition and said bleeding seemed to have stopped. She did the ultrasound scan to check on bb and it seemed to be fine. She placed me on an additional week of duphaston and increased the frequency I had to take it per day. She also told me to rest as much as possible and avoid exercising or anything strenuous.

I think if it doesn't persist, it should be fine. But be sure to inform ur gynae abt it on Fri just to be super sure.

For high risk preg, may I know if Gynae ask Yiu all to do igene, harmony, paranoma or amniocentesis?

What is the fee?

Which week is it performed?

Am currently in my week 11 and first time feeling dizzy and headache for the whole day. Woke up the next day and still the same. Is this common sign of pregnancy? Am so worried.

i've been feeling dizzy a lot too, since week 5. When I told the gynae he said it's a pregnancy symptom and is normal..

Hi, I spotted brown last week and after a couple of mins it stopped. Next morning I spotted red. Just so happened it was my gynae appt that day so I told my gynae. Doc checked vaginal condition and said bleeding seemed to have stopped. She did the ultrasound scan to check on bb and it seemed to be fine. She placed me on an additional week of duphaston and increased the frequency I had to take it per day. She also told me to rest as much as possible and avoid exercising or anything strenuous.

I think if it doesn't persist, it should be fine. But be sure to inform ur gynae abt it on Fri just to be super sure.
Thanks Hygeia, I plan to monitor and if it persists, I will visit gynae immediately. So far so good, second time of brown stain spotted in the afternoon then no more after that. Praying :(

Yup yup, np. Like what happycsk mentioned, it could also be some old blood discharge. Dun worry so much abt it, try to take it easy.

Hi mummies & mummies to be..

Any recommendations for nuh gynae? Googled Prof Mary Aruff but think she's not delivering le?

Had my #1 ar Glen E n spent a bomb so am thinking of checking NUH out after hearing good reviews.

Thanks in advance! =)

Any recommendations for nuh gynae? Googled Prof Mary Aruff but think she's not delivering le?

Had my #1 ar Glen E n spent a bomb so am thinking of checking NUH out after hearing good reviews.

Thanks in advance! =)

My #1 is with Dr Chua TM. She is a no nonsense doc but took good care of me.
I was a private patient then. Its not exactly cheap also becoz they charge doc fee and scans separately. (their scans are 100+). Package at 22 weeks only include doc consultation and 2 detail scans (20 weeks and 30 weeks) which are done by their sonographer.
Basically, you don't need pay for consultation after 22 weeks if you sign package but you still have to pay for scans if you want to see your bb. My doc just listen to heart beat and feel my bb position after 22 weeks.
Only did 2 more scans at the doc clinic at 3rd tri to check water level.
Its quite different from other private gynae which you will see bb everytime u go check up.

The savings comes from hospital bills when you deliver. That what i feel..
I stayed in their private suite the last time and was pretty impressed with their service. The nurses were very nice. That was around 2 yrs plus ago. haha

Hi. I'm 7weeks long going 8 soon. (Based on scan last wk)
Was at KKH for Hyperemesis Gravidarium. MS have been very challenging for me. Any tips ladies?

Omg me too. Just that I was at Mt Alv. Very sian :( I've been drinking 100 plus (sparkling kind) it helps a little bit. Also cos it helps me to burp out whatever I need to make me feel slightly better... How are you feeling now?

Btw, those who want to join FB can PM me. I made a FB group... I dont think there's another right? Anyone here know what happened to the whatsapp group?

My #1 is with Dr Chua TM. She is a no nonsense doc but took good care of me.
I was a private patient then. Its not exactly cheap also becoz they charge doc fee and scans separately. (their scans are 100+). Package at 22 weeks only include doc consultation and 2 detail scans (20 weeks and 30 weeks) which are done by their sonographer.
Basically, you don't need pay for consultation after 22 weeks if you sign package but you still have to pay for scans if you want to see your bb. My doc just listen to heart beat and feel my bb position after 22 weeks.
Only did 2 more scans at the doc clinic at 3rd tri to check water level.
Its quite different from other private gynae which you will see bb everytime u go check up.

The savings comes from hospital bills when you deliver. That what i feel..
I stayed in their private suite the last time and was pretty impressed with their service. The nurses were very nice. That was around 2 yrs plus ago. haha

Oh thanks sunflower307! Actually for #2 maybe no need scan during every visit unless necessary le hor..

Btw u chose to stay in suite still cheaper than private outside ma or comparable. I read only one suite?

i've been feeling dizzy a lot too, since week 5. When I told the gynae he said it's a pregnancy symptom and is normal..

I also having very strong dizzy spell and nausea since week 10. Have check with my gynae n he says is normal (which I don't think is normal haha) as long the baby is safe I willing to go through it. Just make sure when ever u feel dizzy pls lie down on bed have a rest to prevent for falling, it will make me feel better. If feeling better go out and have some fresh air deep breathing it helps too. Don't stress urself take it easy stay calm. Is just the process of been pregnant it be over soon.

I also having very strong dizzy spell and nausea since week 10. Have check with my gynae n he says is normal (which I don't think is normal haha) as long the baby is safe I willing to go through it. Just make sure when ever u feel dizzy pls lie down on bed have a rest to prevent for falling, it will make u feel better. If feeling better go out and have some fresh air deep breathing it helps too. Don't stress urself take it easy stay calm. Is just the process of been pregnant it be over soon.

Oh thanks sunflower307! Actually for #2 maybe no need scan during every visit unless necessary le hor..

Btw u chose to stay in suite still cheaper than private outside ma or comparable. I read only one suite?

I going for sub this round. hahaha
No ah. got many 1 bedder room / suite, not 1 only. Hub can bunk in also.

The delivery ward is 1 bedder and they have reclined arm chair for hub to rest while we wait for dilation.

I pay 3.8k with 1N pre-labour stay coz induced + epidural + bb ward/pd. induced but normal delivery.

Thanks in advance! =)

i'm seeing prof biswas at nuh under private now. And it's not cheap, like what sunflower said. First consultation was $130+ and the scan cost a separate $120+. Duphaston was $75 for 21 days supply... and the package only kicks in at 22 weeks. It costs slightly under 1k for the package which covers the cost of 2 scans. So let's say if one delivers early (choy) the amount paid for the package would be wasted if you've only seen the doc 2-3 times..