IVF Mummies

Hui, how does it feel 2nd time? I am wondering if i should close shop or continue with 3rd one...hee hee i have until end of year to decide when it is time to decide whether to continue freezing my 9 embryos.

Hui,
How does it feel like now that you are expecting the 2nd one? Must be different from the first one right? As excited or more? I am not sure of my feelings on having a second one but my hubby is very keen on it.

dawn,

#1 is now 13mths+ and my hubby wanted to hv #2 since late last yr but told him, it took me so long to get back to pre-pregnancy size & weight, let me njoy b4 gg into #2. hehehehe........

girls,

am gg to KKH shortly for the scan.... tink this Sat still hv to go back again.... will update tonight.....

hui,

Congrats!!! :D take care & njoy

BTW, did any of u attend the Baby Care Fest at Expo? I went &amp; it was lousy...... just bgt some stuff from Pureen &amp; Nestle and left in <1hr
disappointed man

Dawn &amp; Jeni,
this time for #2 am not so gan jiong like the 1st time :D but am having MS

Rae,
thanks! i didnt attend leh.. update us more on ur chk up hor.. take care :D

hui,
is ur MS bad? any food causes it?

back from the U/S Pelvis done at the KKH Diagnostic Imaging Dept (near the admissions). Got to have full bladder when they scan the tummy, then empty bladder follow by vaginal scan. According to the nurse, this is to check the womb and ovaries..... Nurse Chan will call me after Dr Sadhana has review the report which will be next 2 days......

i went to the mother and baby fair at expo on friday. subscribed to the magazine which was quite good....$66only and the free gifts were of value $50 to $79. also bought back issues of the magazines to get some free goodie bags plus a tin of similac milk. wanted to go nestle and buy FM, but the queue was simply too long......

hui, hopefully your MS will go away soon....enjoy your 2nd pregnancy! are u still with Dr Loh.

Rae, how come must go for the scan? is it part of a routine check up?

oh no wonder my ah lau saw someone bgt 1 copy &amp; recd goodie bag..... yes, Nestle stuff at the fair was worth it but they have Gerber pdts too....

tink cos of my age bah.... they scare i will kena fibroids so ask me to scan loh, better oso lah. if not, will b headache if found out during pregnancy.

am gg to KKH tmr for blood tests for both ah lau &amp; hubby. This is for the HIV tests, a must cos of the Law. The nurse will further advise us on next steps after the blood test results.

updates:

blood tests done and another u/s scan done too.... advised me to go back on Tues morning. Will see how it goes then

lining &amp; size of follicle is good but yet to ovulate (did testing this morning). have to go back tomorrow morning for urine test &amp; u/s scan again. If urine test is positive, then they will thaw my embroys &amp; will do the ET on Mon or Tues.... keeping fingers crossed

Tested +ve this morning and gg for ET on Monday afternoon. Have to be there by 1:45pm and no food after breakfast, except plain water. Fingers crossed again

ok, my FET procedure:

D1: call KKH IVF centre &amp; inform them that my menses here
D4 (24/3): U/S Pelvis done at the KKH Diagnostic Imaging Dept (near the admissions). Got to have full bladder when they scan the tummy, then empty bladder follow by vaginal scan. According to the nurse, this is to check the womb and ovaries..... Nurse Chan will call me after Dr Sadhana has review the report which will be next 2 days

D12: scan and blood tests for myself &amp; ahlau

D14: another scan and urine test that showed -ve, means am not ovulating. So hv to go back next day for more scan &amp; urine test

D15: Nurse advised to do urine test 1st, follow by scan. A guy, Dr Tan HH reviewed and said urine test is +ve so will arrange day &amp; time to ET. Suppose to ET on Sunday, D17 but not open mah so Monday, D18.

Updates after ET

good luck for your FET Rae!

yes Jeni, each time when do the ET must ensure that both u and hubby and not HIV carriers. each time you do the HIV blood test, it is valid for one year. so the last time u did the HIV test, must be ur IVF which is in 2006? so must do the test again now if u do FET. ;)

1:09pm : reached KKH IVF Centre around, >30mins earlier. Informed by nurse that i was very early &amp; to pass urine

1:30pm : start drinking water again

1:45pm : was led into the Procedure Room. Changed into a hospital skirt &amp; lay down on the chair

2:00pm : Dr Sadhana came in and briefed me that they had thawed 3 frozen embroys. Out of the 3, 1 did not make it, the other was odd shape. So they took out the last embroy to thaw it and manage to transfer 2. (i have 4 frozen embroys and now zero)

2:10pm : procedue done. was told to go back on 23 Apr for blood test to check if -ve or +ve. Even if menses come (touchwood, hope not.... hehe), still have to do blood test. Make payment, submit cheque for insurance and buy med to insert to vaginal or rectum.

This is where the joke starts. I left KKH without buying the med, happyily boarded the free shuttle service to Bugis MRT. Was inside the station that I realised i had forgotten to buy the med. So head back to KKH *sigh*. Finally bought the med &amp; took cab home.

thanks dawn, tt's wat the blood test is for.

stumbled_by, i worked in the AM &amp; had the procedure in the PM. KKH issued 1 day MC.

Rae and Dawn,
thanks for the infor.
Rae, good luck!
keep your fingers crossed.
Jia you jia you!

Rae, I didn't have any symptoms at all also....so I din do my test until DPO 16. Now think back, I was more weepy (on one nite on fone with sister) and tired easily when i went shopping. Yes, i went shopping on DPO14 thinking sure negative one...and was v exhausted, ending up at Cafe resting instead.
so keep your fingers crossed ok? will pray for you, how many days DPO are u?

dawn.... icic.... wat's DPO? today is my D13 after ET. so on D17 - 23rd Apr morning is my blood test.... am having symptoms for menses thou - pimples outbreak and tummy ache. Was tired on Tues night.... slept on sofa while watching 10pm news &amp; woke up when my hubby talked to me. Told him i can't take it, must sleep now and slept at 10:45, abt 45mins earlier than usual.

thanks Jolene
am tempted to buy HPT but scare too early.....

Rae,

Congrats! Altho I don know what is my beta when I got pregnant that time, u said its '+ve', so must mean u are pregnant!!

based on your past experience, is that beta figure saying that u have singleton or twins ??

i din follow your earlier posting. So u have natural ovulation or on clomid, before embryo transfer ? U went for scanning every few days to monitor follicle growth ?

Thanks stumbled_by
yes, the nurse congratulated me too.... so asked her abt the beta &amp; she said not high, shld be singleton

i had 4 frozen embroys left so before ET, i had to gone through 3-4 scans. These scans are to check the lining of the womb &amp; growth of the follicle.

thanks stacy &amp; Jolene
and yes, hopefully it's a girl and can close shop

Rae,

So happy for u...ur IVF success rate is high...keke

is your due date early Jan then ? If ur baby comes a bit early, as some 2nd(onwards) bb'ies do, then u may have late Dec baby..

really long time din sign in here... How everyone?

Rae &amp; hui,
Congrats to both of u...happy for u 2...

Stumbled by,
After received your sms, then decided to pop in to see any other good news... Btw, wat is facebook? Can chat there?

Rae, congrats!
Really happy for you.
I remembered last time my reading was 300+ and it is a singleton. So probably yours will be a singleton too.
What is the grade of the 2 eggs that thawed successfully and you put in? What is the thickness of the lining of your womb then? Did you go for any acupunture before your FET? After your ET, how many days did u bedrest,esp it is quite hard now since there's a toddler to care for?

Anyway, rest well.

stumbled_by,
yes, my ah lau &amp; I think it's partly due to luck cos the success rate is <35% in singapore....
not sure wat's the EDD but my last date of menses is 21 Mar so if calculate correctly, should be between mid-late dec

LY,
long time no hear from you, how's ur boy doing? talking already? mine's still did not want to talk.....

thanks jeni
ya, shld be singleton and hope it is, else it's gg to be very tedious for me. I did not ask for the grade this time round. can't recall thickness of the lining but 14-16mm..?? :p No, i did not go for acuounture or take any chinese herbs to "bu" my body. Only had 1/2 day bedrest after ET and went back to work the next day....

Thanks all again

Rae,

FET is only about 20% or lesser success rate. Fresh cycle then its about 30-35%. Anyway, if the bb is meant to be yours, it will make it, no matter how low the chances.heehee

u did not have 2hours bedrest after your ET too. At NUH, there is 2 hours bedrest. I have heard of people who also minimise walking around for up to 5 days or a week after ET too.

Your boy can talk simple words ? Try to teach simple single words. I heard boys are usually slower in speech. My girl can say a few simple words. More important is they should understand some basic sentences, even tho they cant speak.

ya, FET has lower chances cos of the thawing process. agreed, if it's meant to be yours, it's yours.

no, i did not hv bedrest for 2hrs after ET, tink KKH dun hv such practice bah. i walked a lot after tt..... went to bugis mrt then turn back to KKH cos forgot to buy med..... hehehehe

simply did not want to talk..... just make some sounds &amp; noise like - eek, eh, scream a little, neh neh.... tt's all. he understands like pass the keys to so &amp; so, he will do it, throw the ball, he will. ya, boys slightly slower in speech i guess.

Hi Rae,
Your success really inspire me. Dun Know when I can try FET?! As Iam still on medication. BTW,
need any injection b4 FET or not? I really hate needle poking..

stacy,
no need injections for me.... just scan, scan &amp; scan...when the nurse said ready to ET, they will tell u, shld b on D17/D18..... so go for it after medication over. May i ask what's the med is for?

thanks dawn, been bz like mad past 2-3 weeks and more bz next week but will be on leave week of 19th May
can't wait..... noticed i feel a little nausea quite early this pregnancy &amp; usually at ard 4-6pm ++ so eat preserved plums to curb it... hope no serious MS and smooth smooth all the way

Wow! You so lucky no serious MS, hope you smooth smooth all the way. This is not your 1st pregnancy, I think you must be more experienced. JiaYOu!!
Now I'm on antibiotic bcos of Urinary Tract Infection.

Hi! Happy Mothers' day to all of you

# need advice on baby carrier, any good brand to recommend? I find stroller too inconvenient to use in crowded places. Bought 2 carriers,cheap but not durable.