IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Dawn,
I am not so sure about the frequency of the appointment. As I fell the week before last, I went to see Dr Loh one week before the appointment date. Now, at 35 weeks, I will go and see him on this friday as well as made the payment for the delivery package.

As for the sttretchmark oil, does the Palmer cocoa still effective after those red train routes appear? It's getting more and I am feeling down about them... although I know that I m blessed to even have a chance to experience that.

Anyone knows when or under what kind of circumstances should we test fr Strep B and RH positive or negative?

Stacy,
I feel so sad for u. But remember to rest well and wait for the arrival of yr baby. Must pull yrself together so that u can care for him more. We can 'talk' thru MSN too. My e-mail address is [email protected]

My other twin, Kacey came home on last Thurs. Oh Boy! His character is totally different from his brother. He's a real-life alarm clock. He would cry half to one hr before his feeding time and is causing hubby & I sleepless nites. Luckily I have my PIL to look after in the day time so that I could rest.

Dawn,
I didn't train my elder twin. When he came back from the the hospital, he's already like that. But look at my younger twin (above post), he's totally different from his brother.

I didn't employ any confinement lady as my PIL only stay 1 floor below us. Therefore they can help out in caring for the babies. My mums also come every day to deliver lunch for me.

jeni,

According to my Gynae. Strep B is a must to test if you going to deliver through vaginal. To test for any infection before the birth. It is usually done at Week 34 to Week 36.

Jeni, my colleague switched to Palmer and said it it was slightly better only. She also very sad she has had water melon streaks across tummy. But it is a small price to pay for our previous babies lah.

Cat, I suppose each child has their different character.
Must be real tiring looking after the twins on your own, luckily u have got strong support nearby!

Bodhi,
thank you for your information. I may choose to have c-section if this Friday, Dr Loh says that my junior is too big. I think it is the best for him. I don't want him to be hurt when they use forcep or etc...

Dawn,
you are right. Like I said earlier on, it is a blessing for us to experience that. I shouldn't be complaining but I can't help myself as women are always vain.... hehehe... Are you back in school already?

Cat,
what a combination you have but it is a wonderful combination with the da ge ge being the patient one...
You must be enjoying motherhood now, am I right?
I am not going to employ any confinement lady too as my mom, who is staying about 15 minutes away is going to cook for me and I will take care of the baby myself. Is the pain from the c-section still very bad after 1 week of delivery?

Jeni, I still on MC till 3rd Aug, will be back during the nationa day week. Afraid can't adjust to workload after resting for 2 months.

Really peifu u all taking care of the babies yourselves, i worried can't cope leh. Anyway, it is too early to think about it.

Jeni,
Usually the pain will more or less go away after 1 week after c-section. Nurse will ask u to buy a binder to wrap ard yr tummy. If without that, when sleeping on bed, u'll find that all yr intestines, stomache and internal moves from side to side if u turn over.

Oh yeah. Just a word of advize. For c-section, don't eat chicken for the first 12 days. My mum said the wound won't heal nicely if taken that. And u can go Chinese Medical Store to buy "Sheng Hua Tang", this medicine suppose to drink 3 days. For c-section, take it after 1 or 2 weeks, it's suppose to clear all the dirty stuff inside the womb.

Dawn,
I'm sure u can cope with yr baby. Time pass very fast when I take care of them. Half an hr each for feeding, 1 hr for expressing milk and I left with only 1 hr to rest and the cycle goes back again.

But frankly speaking, I'm so tiring of expressing milk now. Only express when I feel engorged. Too tired after all the midnight shift and 2 babies to care for. I really salute to all those who breastfed.

Cat, they are so cute! Which one is the gor gor, which one is the didi?

You make C-section recovery sound scary leh, intestines moving from side to side when roll over! Think going to faint liow. Are u using those electric double pump to express BM?

Cat,
your twins are so cute. I wonder my junior will be so cute too....
Really envy you as you already have your babies in your arms and mine is still swimming inside my womb and I am so wrried about him... Can't wait for him to arrive and hold him in my arms!!!

Dawn,
I use single pump to express my milk. That's why use a longer time. In stripe is kor kor and ib blue is di di.

Jeni,
For those who do not go thru c-section, after 3 days can drink the medicine liao.

Dawn
yeah, kor kor is bigger size. I'm using Medela Swing as the breastpump. Quite expensive and it's also part of the reason why I'm still trying to express milk for my boys although it's patheticly little.

cat, your babies' so sweet and loving... hee hee... cool! must update us with more photos as they grow, ya?

for those going to get breast pumps, my friend who already has 2 kids strongly recommends Medela electric double pump. It will half the time you need to express cos you can do 2 sides at the same time!!

all mtb, pls be extra extra careful... check out my blog for the scare I had yesterday! That's why today decided to rest at home so have time to come to this forum... http://www.nafeeza.blogspot.com/

oh dear dodo, u had a fall! Glad that hear u are quite ok now, please be careful. They say pregnant women are clumsy and prone to falls, now i very scared liow.

I also heard all these pumps very expensive leh, if buy oredi no breast milk how? ;)

dawn,
just be very very careful!! Luckily, I never hit my tummy during the fall cos I fell on my hands and knees... ai yo.. but now body aching due to the impact. haiz! ya.. really quite clumsy of me.

ya, the pump's expensive but I heard Medela is worth its price. From what I have read so far, its really a demand and supply thingy so if you pump, sure will have. But, you'll have to start either expressing out or latching asap. In fact, I intend to bring to the hospital so tat I can start soonest. That's what my friend advised me.

Dodo,
yes, we have to be careful now that we are quite clumsy.
I fell recently too and I went to see Dr Loh that very morning to have CTG done to monitor my Jr's heartbeat. At first, it was a bit slow but after the nurse shook him, it went back to normal. Probably, he was scared... Dr Loh checked the amount of water around him and said that everything's fine and that he still has lots of water around him.

Dawn,
I bought the cheap pigeon manual pump as I am not sure whether if I have the perseverence to bf so, I did not want to invest in something that is too expensive. Besides, I am going to bf only 6 months as I want to rest for at least 6 months before I try for another baby again... Not young anymore and don't want to drag till the chances of success is very low. Besides, I have read that 6 months bf is good enough although, the longer is still better.

dodo, i also just went to read some threads on pumps for BM, most of them recommend Medela PIS, but around 700+ wor! I think my hubby going to flip if he knows about this.
Wah u oredi plan to bring to hospital!

Jeni, you dun want to wait till ur boy is 1 yr old? will it be very xiong being preggie and taking care of your son at the same time? I scared dun have BM leh, then buy any pump also wasted....is it too late to buy the pump after giving birth?

Stacy, i also hope you are feeling better now. We are here for you if you need anybody to talk to.

Dawn,
I know it is going to be tough but I have no choice. Both hubby and I want to have more children and as you know IVF, the older you are, the chances of sucess become slimmer. Besides, I only have three embryos frozen and they may not thaw successfully. Hence, I may have to face another cycle if that happens and all these take time. I am already 31, don't have much time left if I want the chances of success to be reasonably acceptable.

As for the pupmp, my colleague advised me to buy pigeon manual pump as it is relatively cheap and hence it won't be too much of a waste if I don't have BF or can't persevere... unless I am going to bf for a long time, or else, I won't invest in a very expensive pump. Again, it is up to individual preference. Hope this helps.

Jeni,really salute you in planning so far ahead. I think of the IVF cycle again, will have phobia, esp the 2ww. But for the sake of having our babies, think it is all worth it.

Thanks for the advice on the pumps, think will decide end of the year when i m in my 3rd trimester, seems so far away.

Dawn, you may have to get all your shopping done in your 2nd trimester as you are having twins, you may be too tired to do any shopping by your third trimester. Ask Cat and she will be able to advise you this better as hers twins too.

Jeni, u r right, think i better shop in 2nd trimester, otherwise, may kena bedrest in 3rd trimester again. I oredi 2 months never go out liow....*sigh* except to go to KK for check ups.

hi dawn,
Jeni's right about the shopping during 2nd trimester... It's best to do it after your detailed scan, though, when everything's more confirmed. That will give you about 2 months to get your baby stuff ready. For twins, we'll be very heavy by 3rd trimester so not recommended to walk too much then.

congrats on your long feng tai!!!!
wah , at one go, got both boy and gal, very lucky wor!!!!
so happy for you! I going for my next appt on fri, hopefully the twins r ok.

Dodo,
Congrats! It's a dream come true isn't it? Please take good care of yourself. If you need the baby list, just let me know. It's just a reference.

thanks all..

jeni, will be great if you can share your baby shopping list! i'll be starting my shopping soon...
906378.gif

hihi..may i ask if it ok 2 have some brown spotting after confirmed preg? i actually had implantation bleeding sinc day 9 of 2ww then it goes off ard day 17 but after dat it come n goes as brown stain whenever i walk 2 much. doc had ask me 2 rest n take d progesterone tablet thrice per day instead of twice. i kinda of worried n oso paranoid every time I go toilet.

can any1 advise me on this? thanks a lot.

Mika

Please go to see your gynae immediately, asked for mc to bed rest and asked for med/jab to support your pregnancy. Spotting indicated unstable pregnancy.

Please take this seriously. Take care.

koala..thanks oredi seen doc loh yest.he oredi given me mc n i now CRIB.he had increase my progesterone tablet from twice per day 2 thrice per day. now dare not move ard except lying on bed.

sigh..me feeling very worried now
every time go toilet so scare 2 c spotting. but lucky it not always.only if i walk 2 much like yest go c doc n dinner.n very funny it only come back at midnite..

mika,
I had brown stains during my first trimester if I walked too much or stood too long. So, I took MC for the whole 1st trimester and rested on bed. I was also given all in all 3 jabs to stabilise the pregnancy as my gynae said that I have unstable implantion too. Just follow your gynae's advice and closely monitor yourself. I am sure everything will be fine afterwards. Take care!

mika, I also have brown discharge/spotting since wk 6 till today Wk 11. I know it is kind of worrying. Just lie on bed and rest more.Take care!

thank u jeni n dawn..for now i really have 2 stay on bed.think i can't go 2 d NDP
liao. n have 2 take mc n even no pay leave till dunno how long.

jeni how long did ur stain end? 4 me it been abt 2 wks liao but it much better than previously.now only when i walk 2 much.

Mika, how many weeks are u now? I have been resting on bed for 6 weeks liow, but yet there is still stains/discharges. it is quite worrying, i will check with dr. loh tomorrow. No NDP never mind lah, for the sake of our babies, we watch it on TV!

Jeni, how long did u take leave? I am given 6 weeks of hospitalization leave. Checking MOE website, we are entitled to 30 days of Hospital Leave right? Which mean if i take any more leaves after this week, it will be NPL? I still wondering if i should return to school cos i still staining leh. *sigh*

dawn ,
as wat d nurse told me i now 4 wk+ so when i go c dr loh on 14 aug will b 6 wk+.then mayb i will still take mc.

me 1st time got balloted d tickets so excited dat i got it but now think cant go liao.even a seminar dat i have paid 100 bucks i cant go oso.

Mika,
my staining lasted for a few days as I didn't have staining at all in the first place until I went back to teach for 2 weeks. That's why Dr Loh told me to rest and gave me about 3 jabs just to make sure that I was okay. But one of my friends has the same problem as you and the other day, Dr Loh told her that was because the baby is eating the sac!! Don't know whether it is true or not... probably you can check with him and let us know... it seems fairly common to have staining that lasts long for IVF pregnancy... don't know whether it is true or not...

Dawn,

when are u due? If you are due next year, then probably it will be a different story. You can call HQ and get the officer in chg of your zone to check it out for u. If the 30 days of leave are being fully utilised, then we still have our special extended sick leave based on the number of years of service. As for the ML, I found out that for the 1st 2 months, they calculate by days... i.e. that they will use 8 weeks times 7days to get 56 days. Then the other month, will be 4 weeks but for this one, you can take any time as long as baby is still below 6 months and your management approves. I am planning to take about 2 weeks earlier. So, I will stop working after the PSLE Oral week as I can't tahan anymore... can't even sleep probably

Hi Mika, 4wk+ is early, prob dr. loh will tell u the bb is trying to implant into the uterus, therefore causing the bleeding. That was what he explained to me when i went to see him at 6wk and 8wk+ but now i almost 12wk liow, almost quite wierd that the sac is still trying to implant???

Jeni, I will be due next Feb, but most prob will be in Jan as mulitples usu arrive early. Do u know how they cal the special extended leave? You still got 1 month to go yah? Jia you, tahan the discomfort abit more and u will get to see your precious son! Oral week is 2 weeks later rite?

jeni,
wow dun scare me leh..dr loh told me at 1st it was implantation bleeding d embryo implanted 2 deep into my uterus dat invade my vessels there dat cause d bleed. now he said it could b unstable during d implantation dat y got d brown stain.these 2 days at home resting i ok..as long as i dun go out.

mika,
I am not trying to scare you and that's why I said I am not sure. Probably your situation is different.

Dawn,
yes, PSLE Oral will be 2 weeks later and after that, I will go on my ML as I can't tahan anymore as I can't even sleep probably...
I don't know how they calculate the extended leave but I called up the officer who is in chg of my zone and she kindly calculated for me. I think I have about 15 days if I did not remember wrongly. Maybe you can call and check with the officer who is in chg of your zone and see how your mc and hospitalisation are calculated.

hi mika,
pls rest more in bed and do NOT do anything around the house! I had staining @5th week, then bleeding @6th week of my pregnancy. Doc said the pregnancy's not stable and I had to rest in bed for the entire first trimester, have the progestrone tablets 3 times a day, plus progestrone jabs every alternate day until buttocks so sore!! Just heed your doc's advice and rest as much as you can and do not go out.

if you are interested to know more about what I went through during my first trimester, you may check my blog for details... http://www.nafeeza.blogspot.com/
910676.gif

It has been a while since I update myself, but I've read most of your blogs.

DoDo, Congrats for your 'Long Feng' babies. They look great! I am doing my detail scan in 2 days time. Most probably will be 2 boys, as my doc detected from the last scan.

As I am also in my 20th week, I am also wondering when is the right time to really starts our babies' shopping. I've been looking at the 'MotherCare' catalogues for ideas, and there are so many items there. I'm getting more confused!!

For eg.
1) Are the 'Twin' baby prams/pushchairs better than 2 single ones? Brands?
2) Car seats. How is the 'Infant carrier'? e.g. 'Maxi-cosi', I heard they only meant for infant til 12mths of age.
3) As for the Medela pump. Is it better to rent from the hospital 1st, to check if we've enuf breast milk, bef further invest in the expensive pumps?

and.... where will be the best place to purchase all these items? It will be great if you can advise as we are all going thru the same phrase

Jeni, it will be great if u can send me the lists and advise too.

Many Thanks to all.

Hi Catherine,

Congrats to your 2 gorgeous boys. I'm in my 20th week, and I'm with KKH. I'll be having 2 boys too. Infact, I'm rather worried as this is my 1st pregnancy. Not sure if I'm ready for 2 active BOYS!

Are you with KKH too? If you are, did you also purchase the insurance for your twins during the IVF time? I want to have a better idea on how this policy work. Did they cover the costs during your babies' stay? and how much did you spend in total on the hospital stay and delivery?

and did you also bought a TWIN pram, and which brand would you recommend?

Appreciate your advice.

Dodo and Rebekah,
I need to have your email address in order to send you the list as I am unable to upload it here.Okay?

Rebekah, I am as confused as you when I first started my shopping... I got the manual breast pump from pigeon as it is one of the cheapest and I am not sure if I will be able to breastfeed my boy... even I am able to, I am going to do it for 6 months only. Hence, I didn't invest in a really good one, unless I am having twins or triplets and I know that I am able to breastfeed.
A shop in Tampinese offers really good price for my boy's perego pram and it sells many other stuff too. If you are interested, you can call 67864556 to check with them first.