IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Sorry for MIA for so long. I was admitted to the hospital on 17th May due to bleeding and was only discharged yesterday. Sorry Koala I can't join the mini gathering although I wish to do so.

During my stay in hospital, I was striped on CTG to monitor my babies' heartbeat both in normal and labour ward as doc found I had mild contraction (which I don't feel it). Later doc injected Dustan (think spelled wrongly) to mature the babies' lung just in case they wanted to pop out at week 28, luckily they choose to stay inside mummy longer.

Now I was given MC to rest at home and have to minimise my movement. Medicine to reduce contraction was given to me too and I also found out that I have gestation diabetes like Jeni. Poke fingers for blood twice a week, 7 times a day, so sick of needles now.

Stacy,
I already signed up for antenatal class in KKH but I've missed quite a few lessons. My personal advise is don;t sign up with KKH one, teach u not much thing and they read from text. If u want I can help to photocopy my course notes to u.

Catherine,
stay positive.... I am sure everything will turn out to be fine. Dr Loh told me the last time I saw him to at least hang on till week 28, then the survival rate of the baby will be very good. You have reached week 28 and the hospital has taken the necessary steps to mature the lungs of your little darlings. Now, your little darings deicided to carry on staying inside you, I am sure everything will be fine. Just stay positive and talk to them. They will listen. Lots of bed rest too, ok?
Keep us updated...

Jeni and Koala,
Thanks for yr support. I was quite down during my stay in the hospital. Every day in-house doc would come in to draw blood from me and my left hand was on plug (easiler for them to put drip if I need). 1 bad experience was during my gestation diabetes test. Doc came in at 6am, draw 1 tube of blood, after that nurse gave me that sugary water to drink. 10 mins later, doc came in again, told me she put the blood in the wrong tube have to draw again!!! When she was about to draw blood, she couldn't find my blood vessels, then she drew blood from the other side. OMG!! Usually ppl kena poke for 3 times during that test, I was poked for 5 times!!!

Cat,
sorry to hear that you have gone through so much... But soon, you will have your little darlings in your hands... Just keep your mind on the outcome... not the process... I was just telling my hubby that we'll have our little Junior Darling with us during X'mas... How exciting!! Pricking the fingers was a torture... I just finished the 2 days of pricking but I have no other choice. I noticed that If I have some activities on, then my glucose level will be down, so the key for me is to exercise. However for you, you need bed rest, so pls do not exert yourself too much.
Just keep your fingers cross and soon, everything will be fine and over, ok?

Cat,
Just read your posting. Hope you're Ok now. Do take care and have more rest at home during your MC period. Tell baby"Kuai Kuai" must stay inside longer. Jeni is rite. WE will get to hold our babies during Xmas and I always visualise bringing them to Orchard RD to look at the lightings and taking pic with them. This day will come true.
I think I'm not going for the anenatal course. Have you been to BF session?
I understand how frustated during your stay in the hopital. Last time when I was hospitalize for vomitting and diarrhoe, had a bad experience with the in-house DR. She didn't know how to poke the drip needle, my hand ended up with bruises and blood backflow. I cried (Paiseh to cry at my age!) and after that asked nurse to take out the needle. Since then, I have phobia of needles..
Anyway everything is over. All our efforts are worthwhile for the well-beings of our babies.
Jiayou

Jeni and Stacy,
Thanks for yr encouragement. Am feeling better now. Yeah, can't wait till X'mas to dress our little darlings into little Santa or Santarina. We'll all jia you together. I was drinking soy milk just now and forgotten all abt my gestation diabetes and the level shoot up to 8.7!! Better watch my diet from now onwards. :p

Stacy,
I've been to the BF session and when I was at the delivery ward during my stay, the nurse happened to be the teacher for the BF class!!
She was telling us that b4 every BF-ing session, massage yr breast first (outside the aerola), clockwise direction. It will help in milk flows.

cat,
pls take care and bed rest as much as possible... ye.. and talk to your babies... to be good and stay in mummy as long as possible! jia you!!

i am also "ordered" by my gynae to bed rest till end of first trimester due to a couple of bleeding incidents during week 6 and 7... and I have been talking to my babies to be strong and fight this battle with me! well, i am into my 11th week now... just one more week to go!

Hi Stacy,

I am glad that you are doing well. 2 days ago I went for my scanning, and I can see my babies side by side, waving at me. It was an amazing experience.

As regards to the DS screening, what shld I expect? Is it just external scanning or invasive? Can my hubby watch it and how much did you pay for it? hee... I am rather nervous as this is when we know more on the babies' health.

Dodo,

Yap! Our EDD are very close. They're here to celebrate Christmas. I've already quit my job the moment I realise I am preggy with twins. They are precious to me and hard to come by, so I do not want to take any risk. Esp, my work is rather stressful. Take more rest is very impt at this stage. So, you shld enjoy your MC while you can.

Are you planning to do your DS TEST? JIA YOU! One more week to go!! Take care

hi rebekah,
ya.. will be doing the DS test... doc will discuss the details with us during the next appt in 2 weeks' time.

wow... you have quit your job! cool! my job is rather stressful at times too so i am considering whether to take no-pay leave or not... will see how things goes when I go back office. ya.. agree that the twinnies are very precious and not worth the risk. just do what you think is best for them! so, do you intend to take care of them yourself? what kind of help would you be enlisting?

Thanks Bodhi,
Will be taking plenty of rest as doc extented my MC till 25 June. Guess I can start to rot at home already.

Cat,
You're on Mc until 25 Jun, so how many weeks of pregnancy will you in? Maybe after that, you will be given maternity leave again.
My babies are really active nowadays... Keep on kicking,moving...my bladder,gastric, and lung. Yesterady night, I have a hard time breathing and I felt 1 big lump near my lung area. I had to rub gently, talked to the baby then he moved away.

Rebekah
The detailed scan includes scanning on your tummy (with better machine) and bloodtest(Optional). I only took package A-, cos DR Loh said blood test for multiple is not so accurate in the mean testing. WOW! You got to see your babies side by side .BE prepared! Your twins may be shifting all the time. I remembered once they were 1 left, 1 rigth, then 1 top, 1 down. The latest scanning shown 1 hori,1 vetical.It is really amazing!! Now I became very confused of which is which?!
Good luck in your DS screening

Jeni,
The Motherhood Exhi is at Singapore Expo Hall 5A from 7 Jun to 10 Jun,12 noon-10Pm. During last weekend , I (Kancheong Queen)almost completed 90% of shopping list. I went to shop at Tampines Isetan, Kiddy Palace, Metro.. and Parkway Isetan, Kiddy Palace. The Kakit Bukit Hypermart and BBKingdom are not having any special GSS Sales.Prices are comparatively hi there, wasted my trip.
One day we tally what are the items might miss out.
Happy shopping

wow, stacy,
u hv so much energy! go shopping at so many places!! cool... haha.. u must be at 2nd trimester... heard that mummies are very energetic at this phase...
820297.gif

Hi Ladies doing shopping,

Any idea which milk bottles to buy? My understanding is Avent is quite "selfish" brand although it claim Colic Free but other treat cannot be fitted in. Anyone plan to buy Nuk Milk Bottle?

Anyone plan to buy Pigeon Brand Sterliser? and manage to get a good deal and where did you buy it? I plan to buy a Pigeon Brand Sterliser.

I guess better start to do some shopping although i have no mood to do it but if don't start now and when the pregnancy get advance might have problem in walking and no engergy = no mood to shop.

Please share your shopping hunt. Thanks.

Stacy and Bodhi,
I'm currently at week 30, my EDD date is on 11 Aug but will be earlier as it's twins. I've check with my company that if my MC extented all the way to my delivery, then all those MC will consider as maternity leave already.

Bodhi, I bought Dr's Browns milk bottles as it was stated that it's anti-colic, cost about $15 each. As I'm using Medela pump, I'm using their milk storage bottle too. My friend recommanded not to buy Nuk teat cos u can only get at shopping centres and we change the teats quite often. She said buy teats from those 'mama shop' can liao, throw away also not heart pain.

During last Baby Fair at Taka, I'd bought Pigeon Brand - Rapid Steam Sterilizer @ $139, comes with baby starter kits of 3 bottles and additional 2 bottles. I personally find that this brand is better than Avent cos the interior is flat, so it doesn't matter wat size of bottles u are using, whereas Avent brand if I'm not wrong only have 6 slots for bottles. No space for other stuff.

Catherine,

How about giving birth to your Twins on a National Day? So that every year you can celebrate their birthday on a public holiday!

Har...government agencies work this way har. Hmmm..how about you end your MC one day before you go Maternity Leaves. Go back to "look see" "look see" for one day and than off for your Maternity Leaves :p

You bought the Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterlizer. I also eyeing on that. I also find it more flexi than Avent.

I am not sure about the milk bottles. Maybe buy different brands and try. Some of my friends told me the baby is unpredicable. Some like this brand of milk bottle and some don't like a certain brand of milk bottle and some dont even want milk bottle only like nursing. But i think still need to have at least 2.

"Mama" shop teats...will it get Colic after sucking it..When did your friend give her baby drink the Mama shop teats? During New Born or a few months later?

I was tempted to buy the Medela PIS but hold back. I have 2 hand me down breast pumps. 1 is Pigeon Manual and 1 is Nuk Electric. I am not sure about my milk supply therefore will have to evaluate the supply condition when the time comes...i have a friend that need to hand express all the way...All breast pumps dont work for her....

Bodhi,
I'm not too sure of when my friend started to give her baby those mama shop teats, maybe from her 2nd child onwards. Her 1st child used Nuk teats and only uses that, that's y they headache every time when they nid to change the teats.

The Medela pump I got is Swing and it's very quiet, it comes with the massage function. I'm a lazy person, so the machine do the massage b4 pumping rather than u use hand to massage. My friend hand me down 1 Medela Mini Electric pump and it's very noisy (like those grass cutting machine). Imagine u have to pump in office and the whole world knows what u are doing!!

Stacy,
welcome to the club. Me too... when I started buying, I just buy and buy and buy untill everything is almost bought and vitamin M is almost all used up... Hahaha... My hubby is so stressed up with the money spent that he didn't even want to know how much was spent. I have bought the Pigeon steam steriliser as well as it is more economical and my colleagues recommended it to me. I also bought its manual pump that comes with a free box of disposable of breast pads as well as 3 storage bottles. I didn't buy Avent BP although I have been eyeing it as I am not sure if I will have enough BM to BF or if I can persevere. Hence, bought an economical one first, just in case... I have also just signed the contract with one of the local cord blood banks to store the cord blood of my precious as I think that is very important, especially after a recent report on a little boy who was saved by cord blood and he was lucky enough to find a match. If you are interested to find out more, you can pm me. I will tell you more.
Last of all, I have done a list of things that I have bought or want to buy. If you want, I can share with you too. Thank you for the information in regard to the upcoming baby fair... I will go there and see if I can get anything.

Cat,
actually I was eyeing the Medela Swing too before I bought the Pigeon Manual. How much did you pay for the swing?

Jeni,
I paid $333 for it and it comes with the cooler bag and 6 storage bottles inside. I dunno whether this is a good deal but during the Taka Baby Fair, the sales gals actully let me try (of course on my lower arm) to test the suction and tension of the pump.

That's when I know the one that belong to my friend (Mini pump) sounds like grass cutting machine.
And the Swing is totally quiet.

But then, I'm not too sure how long I can go with BF, I also scare that I might be wasting $$ cos u never know the supply of BM is it sufficent for the babies.

There seems to have a lot of shopping going on. Envy. I can't even stay out for more than an hour, and my head is already spinning. I must start to keep track on the great shopping recommendations.

DoDo,

When I reach my 2nd trimester, I'll start to search for a confinement lady. They usually have to book early. At least they are experience, and can help to take care of the twins at least for the 1st month during my recovering period.

I'll also hope to look after the children myself, I dun want to miss any part of their growing up.

Anyway, I'll be doing my 12th month scan next week. I hope the babies are doing perfectly well.

rebekah,
as we are still in our first trimester, not as energetic as those mtb in the 2nd trimester la... well, our turn will come, also read somewhere that we'll have the most energy for shopping and what have you during the 5th month... haha.. we'll see if it's true or not!

fyi, i'll need to rest for another week and will only start work on 11 Jun .... i am so glad that i am coming to my 12th week soon! ;P

errr.. u mean "12th week scan" right? do keep us updated and hope tat all goes well.. u take care too!

I have rashes like red spots appearing since yesterday, on my face and body. Anyone has such encounter in the first trimester? I have never had this in my whole life.. Now I have no face to face my colleagues......

Hi Jo,
during my 2ww, I have red dots like pimples all over my body and me too, had never had that kind of experience before... luckily. not many on the face and I was quite upset as they left dark spots all over the body once they subsided. However, I consoled myself that that's the sign of pregnancy and in actual fact, both my hubby and I were quite happy too that this happened as it actually gave us an inkling that we are pregnant and eventually, all of them had faded away and during my 2nd trimester and now in my 3rd trimester, I don't see them at all. So, not to worry, ok?
Just try not to mess around with them like squeezing them etc, they will eventually fade away. Be positive, ok?

Hi Jeni,
These few days I 've been busy shopping and organising bb items at home so MIA for quite some time. I will be going to the bb fair at Singapore Expo and hope this is the final shopping trip. Find myself like an old lady, walk a while and need to find toilet for relief, or a seat to rest my leg.Glad to know you've moved into 3rd trimester joining Catherine. So far, do you attend the BF session? maybe can meet up with you.

CAtherine,
Do we need to sign up for delivery package now or wait till then on- the spot decide?

Stacy,
I did not attend any BF session or any pre-natal session etc. Both my hubby and I have some experiences in taking care of babies and we believe that we can do it... hahaha...

Recently, I found out another place to shop for baby items and it is at Tampinese St 81, blk 821. It is also involved in the GSS and gives 20% off. I will be going there to buy my pram/stroller. I think the price is quite reasonable...

I think this Friday when I go down for my appointment at TPS, the nurses may talk to me about the packages. Which one are you thinking of taking? Single, Twin or four sharing?

Jeni,
Oh REally! You've an appt this Fri at TPS. Me TOO! I have an appt at ADC to check uterus blood to my bbs (think this is a must for multiply- pregnancy) at 2 and my appt at ADC if not wrong is at 3.40pm. What abt you? If we have "yuan", can meet each other.haha..

Jeni

Thanks for the advise. My rashes subsided today. Dr says it is caused by something that I have eaten. I just took some mango during the weekend, maybe my baby does not like mango

I went for my first scan just now, the baby is healthy with heartbeat

I'm new to this thread, just saw Dr Loh today, only manage to scan a heartbeat despite putting 2 embryos. Btw nice to meet vonvon today, she recognise me as same ET date as her...

Jo

Happy for you.
Singleton is better to manage and mummy won't feel so stress too. The next scan you can see your darling moving already.

Any morning sickness? Take care, buddy.

Jo,
no prblem at all... st least your rashes lasted for only a while. Mine lasted for at least the first half of the first trimester. Anyway, just take care of yourself.

Stacy,
I will be there earlier as I have to report to ODAC for the monitoring of the gestational diabetes. Hence, I may not be able to meet u. By the way, have you fnished your shopping?

Koala

I dun have much morning sickness leh. Only sometimes feel like vomit if I smell something bad during the day. But I sleep a lot nowadays. So far so good...

How are you getting on?

Jeni,
Yesterday I passed by White-Sand Shopping mall and had a peep at Tom & STef located at 2nd storey.No GSS, however managed to get real cheap offer items with button front shirt. I set of 2 pcs(top n bottom) only costs $4. I think most of the items I've purchased xcept diapers, hopefully can get great deal at the expo. Jl is also having sales at expo, seen many ppl carried the plastic bag. Not sure got any baby items on sales. Probably this FRi/Sat will drop by there and have a look. It's okay!My appt is PM so we will get to meet some other day

Jo

I am ok, except that I caught flu and bad cough since two weeks ago, now still not fully recovered. Sigh. I have seen two GPs, you know nowadays they are very kia see and asked me to go back to see my own gynae when she knew that I am preggie..funny rite? Anyway, the med also cant work for me so end up went back to see Dr Loh last week and get some medicine to cure the cough.

So that y you must take care loh, once got flu and cough I find that is quite difficult to cure dont know is it becos we are preggie now. Body got no energy to fight the germs.

Good, no ms. My ms subside only when I reached 12 weeks so you can enjoy your pregnancy from now to the end

me also damn sick now... just caught the flu and cough and sore throat and fever.. gosh. dont dare to take med too .. sigh... how? I am now 9 weeks... could I also ask when did your tummy show?

Stacy,
I may be going to the shop at Tampines that I told you about tomorrow. May I ask which brand of stroller did you buy for your twins? I may be going to expo either tomorrow or Friday to see what I can get from there. Oh great, I may drop by the JL sales too! As for diapers, I am thinking of getting Nepia as I have read a lot of good comments about it from the other thread. What about you?

Koala,
I am happy to hear that everything is going fine for you. Keep us posted with your progress, ok?

Deerdeer,
for me, I have no idea when did my tummy show... It just happened one morning when I woke up! Hahaha... Anyway, my friends and cousin told me that I don't look pregnant, I just look fat

I am so sad... Just remember that you should start applying stretch mark cream or oil asap to prevent the stretch marks. I have applied the wrong one from Clarins as the person who sold the product to me had recommended me with the wrong product. I have just found out from their counter at CP. So, I have a few stretch marks already and now, I am applying the correct one, hopefully it will help.

Koala/Deerdeer

Flu usually takes about 3 weeks to heal. Just have enough rest and drink lots of water for your body to recuperate. Take care.

Wah, so for pregnant women, our gyn must also becomes our GP. Their job is tough, must cover GP job as well.

HI ladies,

Just went to my 3rd month scan, and amazingly my twins were bouncing up and down, one even did a somersault for us.

By the way, Dr Loh also recommended Clarins stretchmark lotion. Can I buy them from any Clarins' counters, and how much do they cost? Why there are diff kind? Which label shld I take note, and from which month must I start applying?

I hope you can help me with my questions. Thanks.

Hi Rebekah,
its great that your twinnies are doing fine! I'll be having an appt next week so hope to see more movement too! It's really an amazing feeling, huh?

So sorry, can't advise you much about Clarins pdt cos I have not start using yet. I just use some body lotion or oil on the tummy area at the moment.

Rebekah,
you can go to the counter and they will advise you. Centrepoint Robinson has 1 counter but it does not have any discount. I bought one recently from there. Make sure it is the tonic. The other one that I have bought wrongly is for water retention. The tonic costs about $75 + -.

Stacy, how's your check up today?
I have lost 3kg but my boy is 256g overweight. Dr Loh said I have to control his weight in order to habe a normal birth. How am I going to do that? I have also talked to the nurse about the various maternity packages that are available and I even went up to the 8th storey to take a look at the single bedded room and the four bedded room. I think I much prefer the single one as it provides more privacy, cozier and I think both baby and hubby can stay with me.
However, when I saw the cost difference, I am torn... don't know what to do now...so I told the nurse that I would go home to consult my husband. What about you?

Jeni,
Today went for check-up and scanning. Well! They are developing and blood flow to uterus is normal. I've the same weight problem as you. I have gained weight every time, last consultation I gained 5 kg in 3week's time.That time I was really shocked! I was told everytime they were of equal size.. This time is 2-3 kg gain. One of my boy is of average weight, and the other boy is very large! Was told came top 3 in a hundred. Dr Loh prescribed me to have more hormaones tablets and do another OGTT during my next appt. How's your test today?I also went to the ward b4 for viewing, but not yet brief on the package. Maybe have to wait till wk 28. How frequent is your appt given now? I was given appt every 3 weeks. Any shopping trips done? Any tips? Tommorrow is our shopping day
Enjoy

Stacy,
I did not do any test today. Just went to see the dietician and ODAC to monitor my gestational diabetes. They said that it is quite ok but I will have to work harder to control the situation. I am also down to having appointment every 3 weeks. Tomorrow, I'll be going to baby's boutique at Tampines, the one I told you about, to pick up my son's stroller cum pram... Haiz, spent a lot already
... R u going to the Motherhood fair tomorrow?

Stacy and Jeni,
Hi, for multiple pregancy we are not allow to sign on the delivery package. Did both of u buy the insurance package for baby (embryo) last time if they happen to be pre-mature?

When I was admitted to hospital several weeks ago, my hubby wanted to booked the 1-beded room for me but the admission staff said that the insurance package only allow both mum and babies to be in B class (4-beded). We were left with no choice.

Jeni,
You have appointment with the dietician? I was asked to do my blood test every week but the dietician never make any appointment with me. U mind me asking how high was yr sugar level? I was to see my doc when my sugar hit 8 plus but she said it's ok. So confused now.

Jeni and Cat,
I went to the fair today. Bought the Nepia diapers for NB which cost $14 per pack(60pcs) and free 4 Pcs (any sizes).
There is a both near the stage selling toys, clothing sets etc. I bought lots of stuff there.Really GOOD BUY!!
I attended the BF talk and it is very brief.
Hope to have more update from you all on shopping trip