IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Grumpus
My girls age can go kindergarden liao? They are 2 yrs old now.. But consider 3 yrs old in pat.. Its the year they turn 3.
Which kindergarden?

Gan
Oh u like jg... I dont quite like thats y i only went for 1 term and stopped. And also its parents accompanied which i dont like also. I want them to learn to be away from home and away from us.

Its from 1pm to 6pm. 1pm is lunch. After 530pm they will be passed on to another class together with those extended full day which is till 7pm. So we can pick them up at 530pm actually... But if u gonna pick them up later also ok.
My girls branch is at buckley. Quite a big area..
Cambridge at novena is it the one on the main rd beside the church and mall? Quite a small area bungalow right?
I tot yr girl went to learning vision....

Baby,yup Cambridge not very big, is a terrace house, next t church n mall. She's been there since last June but we only started her full day this year.

So do you let your gal's take their lunch in school or home?

Newton church Kindergarden accepts kids our gal's age

Gan
I will want them to take their lunch there... I see their menu and im quite satisfied on their variety. Would love to see them take the food there and learn how to sit down properly and have their meals together with the peers...At home is always chaos.. Pampered with our caoxing and toys...
But of cos for the mean time i may let them eat at home first till they are settled in...

One of the teacher told me one kid refuse to eat anytin intially... Now after a month he ask for 2nd serving...
I saw the nursery kids... All sit down properly and self feed themslvs... That day food was braised pork with tau kwa and egg with rice. They serve ang mo food like spag also...
But one thing their tea break food not as good.. These few days i see them serve either cracker, bread or cake with milk or water. Only one occasion they serve apple... But no kids want it.. All only take the biscuit.. :p

But u can hv option in bringing their own snack... But fruits also hard to bring.. I think is ok lah.. Let them eat whatever the rest is eating...

Baby,

Ur gals r attending pats at Halifax ? HeRd that they r shifting ..

my son has been going for 2x/wk class at growing up gifted since last oct n he is showing improvements. he is the slow type. Next month he will be joining grace at Cambridge. I will see his progress in cc before deciding if he should continue or go kindy ... Actually GuG does hv kindy class too... Alternatively Thomson baptist church does hv a kindy too...

Gan,
just to check for the first 3 days, parents are allowed in the cc premises at all times ? Also I intend to park Keith there for half day but I paid for full day. Can I go at anytime to pick him up or it must at around 1pm ? (since half day ends at 1pm?)

Gan,
Sorry for asking this question but I do understand from my friends that some of the ccs do not use wet wipes to clean our
Ttots when they pee .. Only big biz then they will use.

My boy had a few episodes of v bad rashes hence I m particular on this ...

Cambridge also adopts to this ???

Day
Not halifax... Buckley.

Seems like alot choose cambridge here... May i know why? What makes u choose cambridge over other cc?

I saw in their website that there are various locations but some are not cambridge website... ??

One thing i notice is alot cc have uniform.. But not pat... I also find it abit weird.. I always tot pat have uniform...

the whole stretch of newton road has many church kindergartens, u can go check them
out. my girl goes to Marymount kindergarten. younger girl will be going next year. kids can enter pre nursery the year they turn 3.

of cos u pay for what u get. the lunch menu is not as extensive compared to pats but my fees are only $900+ for 3 mths for 3 hr program.

Day,
the one at Halifax that's moving is Chiltern house. not Pats Schoolhouse

Day, u can picked up ur boy anytime.but usually my dad picked her up between 1130am to 12pm after her lunch. Between 1130am to 12 pm they will take their bath, I told the teacher not necessary to bather her unless she dirtied herself.

They do not use wet wipes.they wash the backside if they pooed. Not sure abt pee though, diaper change wld not be as frequent as compared to home. E.g. Average only use 2-3 diapers per day for full day till 430pm.

U can stay there throughout for 3 days

Baby,
i I stay at the estate behind kkh. There are more kindys around than cc plus the ccs are the atas type. I did considered pats at Halifax when Keith was 4months but I always thought pats are overpriced. Hence, i settled for Cambridge. Only complain is it is quite crowded.

Grumpus,
U mean Halifax rd got another cc shifting too ? Thought the whole stretch is by pats.

Gan,
So u need not provide mattress sheet ? What are the afternoon activities ?

Day
Chiltern is an atas kindy. run by the Julia Gabriel group. there r few branches. the one at Halifax is no 5 Halifax road

baby, for me there isnt much choices due to geographical location. the nearest and decent cc is kinderland or cambridge. i find kinderland very $ face.

i pick cambridge coz i like the place, the campus is very spacious w a big outdoor play area for sand, waterplay and playground. the teachers are also all very experienced.. they dont hv very young teachers. and the principal is very motherly hands on type. i hv been getting updates from the form teacher and principal even though my kids have been there since mid nov.. they recognise tht multiples are different, and make effort to accomodate my requests.

the tea break snack is quite decent here, they hv french toast, pancakes, bao, etc... i pack rice crackers for my kids. if they dont want the sch food, the tr will let them eat the rice cracker. my girl also initial 3 weeks refuse the lunch there.. now she can eat half bowl.. n yes the class all sit n self feed..very guai one... haahah.. so different from at home!!

last fri the P called me, say my trio is so well settled and behaved that the parents of the new kidos all very amazed.... kept staring at them in class.. but this kind of thing never happen at home!! they become monsters once they see me! hahaaha

Day, my side they diaper change once during the morning bath, and once after their nap. in betw if poo will wash. and yes, they do not use wipes.. if ur boy is prone to rash, you might wanan highlight this to the tr during the 1st 3 days and see how she can help you.

I have to start looking for a sch for my girl liao! she's turning 3 next year & I have not done any research *sigh* the kindy that I shortlisted need to put her on one way sch bus & hb not comfy with the arrangement. next sch is apple tree, the distance to my mil house is so near yet to far, 10 mins walking distance. my location not much decent kindy.

anyone knows how is tots sch house? how is their syallabus & teaching approach? I looking for something that is learn thru play, pcf is out

Ya in most cc.. They dont use wipes.. If poo they wash...
My girls refuse to use pull ups.. Teacher able to change their diaper standing up with velco diaper... Thats the way we do also. Saw their lunch today... Notice they dont use white rice.. They uses brown rice... Impressive. Even i dont use brown rice at all.. Haha..

Day u buy the mattress cover, $5 I think. But coz change everyday so I use my own too as I only bot 1 set from the school

Gan, your side use mattress?? mine used those netted cot beds.. no need mattress nor cover.. once a week the cleaning auntie will wash n sun all the beds. its airy and hygenic...

baby, wow.. really impressive.. mine all white rice. but then again for the type of fees they charge, they better be very good! hahaha..

Panda
I hvt see the rest of the menu.. Maybe they do serve white rice too... Today lunch is sweet potato porridge with fried achovies.. Gg to let them try eating their lunch there..

Gan, did u hv to pay for the mattress??
the cot bed costs $100 each! luckily the sch says they will sponser 2, so i only paid for 1..

its good also coz no need to wash beddings everyday... my trio uses bolsters n blankets. those will leave in sch.. n every friday bring back to wash.. mon bring to sch again...

Panda
U mean suppose to pay for the cot mattress? Can take back after stop sch?
Its good that the sch allows u to leave the blanket and bolster.. No need to pack it there everyday..

My elder girl cry till vomit on her first day.. small girl adapt v fast.. Cry for 5mins stop liao.. Haha... Hopefully today a better day for them. Gg to pick them up soon...

Panda no need pay for mattress. Wow they sponsored 2 ? That is very good. Btw what time does the school bus picks the kids up? Going to school you send them or school bus?

Panda
Yr trio eats lunch and dnr at cc? Or only lunch?
Will the teacher write in book to tell u whether did they eat the lunch? If they dont take dnr in school.. U got time to cook dnr for them?
Now that they are in cc.. I find it abit tough to make sure they eat healthily... But i make sure i cook dnr for them... Bfast will always includes fruits...

Mommies
My girls after the friday cc... Both v clingly to us.. Like scare we will abandon them... Even in the middle of the night will wake up and shout for us which never happen before.
We went to pick them up abit later than usual on fri.. They were crying before we reach cos teacher told us they saw everyone else took bag and left with papa mama... Hai

Even today both cry whenever we left their sight... Else they are abit tramautised... Is this normal? How long does it take to pass this phase usually?

Winnie,
If Pfc really that bad ?

Gan,
The school bus will charge based on the distance?
Does the scohol bus caters to half day kids too ?

I didn't buy the mattress cover le..Can I don't buy and use mine ? I assumed that we will need to bring the cover back to wash daily ? Anyway, I will put K on half day first.. So I try to bring him back at about 1230Pm.

Hows Grace's toddler class teachers ?? Good and caring ? .. Hope they are caring and loving teachers..

baby,
Oh dear.. Hope your gals will pass this phase too.
I am abit nervous now..Sigh!

Gan, mornin the bus pick them at 850am. i was given a choice, either before 8am or 850am. i prefer they eat bf, n drink milk before going to sch. n if they sleep late also not tht rushing.

mornings my hb, mil n maid settle them. smtimes my mum comes by if she is not babysitting my nephew... i hv to leave for work v early so tht i can come back early.
i hv choice to start work later n get them ready for sch. but tht means i knock off later. hb prefers i m at home earlier.

baby, i guess ur girls are like tht coz always with you. few months before start cc, i started to leave my kids at my parents place for few hours a day. so tht they get used to not seeing me the whole day. i started w 2 hrs, 3 hours n slowly half a day. during this time i will b at home cooking or packing stuff..or go out run errands.

they settled down in cc quite fast. only cried badly for 2-3 days..after tht on n off for about another 1 week.. then ok already. d thing about my kids is one cry, all will cry one. hehe.. even the one tht is ok, see the other 1-2 cry start crying.. very united..hehehe

it will take time for them to adjust and get used to not seeing u all the time.. but i m sure they will be alright..

only lunch n tea break in cc. dinner is back home. my kids go to my parents house at ard 5pm. my mum will cook for them. i prepare all the ingredients for her to make soup n cook their dinner.. everyday they will hv a pot of soup.. recently they going thru a plain rice phase. only wanna eat plain rice n drink soup!! all other dishes reject..haha.. these kids really odd.. so i make sure the soup is nutritious.. now i serve them beetroot soup 2x a week.

today i cooked chicken ginseng soup.. yesterday was ribs, lotus root, black fungus and lily bulb soup... :p

baby, u can discuss w the teacher how she can pacify ur girls in ur absence. i gave the tr their fav snacks, and also told her whats the best way to distract each of them. i think she only used the snacks for 1 week..after tht no need liao..coz she never open the new pack i put in their bags.

Panda
Ya lor i guess they too used to seeing me whole day haha.. But strangely my girls seem to be more attached to my hubby than me.. Keep shouting for papa...

Actually my girls settled in pretty fast.. My elder only cried on the first day for abt 2 hrs... My small girl cry awhile then carry on to play... After first day.. Both cry for 3mins then stop liao... But both cry when see us when we pick them up.

The teachers there v good in distracting.. Once they cry they will bring them outside the class.. In case the other cry also... Then once stop crying they will bring them bk into the class to play. So far ok.

Did u went to cc halfway to see how they are coping?
Cos i hvt do that.. Im wondering are they happy there not.. Whether did they laugh happily in cc etc...

baby, first few days my younger boy also cry when see my parents when they pick them. after tht once they know the routine, go back is v happy one. in fact, once wake up from nap, they will tell the teacher they are going home, say bye bye before my parents reach! haha..v funny..
now they take sch bus, my mum says when the bus reach her place, the 3 of them are laughing away when they alight the bus..

sounds good tht the teachers handle the kids well.. so u dont hv to worry too much..they are in good hands!

we were only allowed to b there for 3 days. after tht not allowed unless kiddo sick there, we go pick up which has never happened yet. usually if i notice they r unwell at night or morning, i keep them at home.. just in case...

i will ask my kids what they did in sch..n if they like the teacher, or like going to sch... so far they always tell me they like the activities and like the teacher. but when i ask if wanna go sch tomorrow they will tell me dont want! ahaha..they say they wanna stay at home with mummy.. zzzzzzz......

the tr will update me daily in their comms book whats their nap time, how much they ate for lunch, n if they drank their milk. will also indicate what time they poo n if the poo is hard or soft..

ohhh.. my trio suddenly stop asking for their pacifiers!!! hahaha.. its been 1-2 weeks already. at night sleep also no need pacifier already.. i must really go n thank the teacher! hahaha.. finally i can stop buying pacifiers!

Panda
So good that the teacher will update in detail everyday.. U ask them to or its a standard? So far my girls comm book is blank everyday...

But i will always ask the teacher whether did they poo and did they eat snack etc when i pick them up. But i hope they will write instead

The teacher help to wean them off pacifier???
Has yr trio start on potty yet?? I hvt start yet le.. Just bot a potty only

Day think can use own bed sheets coz I am using my own.

Not sure how the bus fare is being determined coz have not ask in details. At this moment we left the car with my dad and he will pick her up after school around 430pm.

baby, i think its quite standard for them. but for the poo hard or soft i request. coz my two younger ones smtimes will constipate..so i request for tr to let me know if they poo ok.

yes the tr help me wean them. before they start sch the p told me this tr very good at weaning kids off pacifiers..so during the first 3 days i told her to help.. dunno how she does it..but suddenly my kids just stop asking for it!

not yet potty training. i tried before they start cc.. not successful.. d cc tr says wait for them to settle down in sch.. maybe about 2.5yr old can start..she will help me.. n i also do it when at home. now still 24 hours diaper..

Gan, mine now also go back at 430pm.. but come march or apr i will let them go back ard 6pm.. coz v taxing for my parents to handle 3 of them plus my nephew. at least in sch there are some activities n they hv frens.. now they r even more active.. my parents cant keep up.. v tiring for them...

Panda
Yr cc officially go home time is at 6pm? Mine is around 530pm but we can pick them up at 6plus too... They will be hand over to extended full day class...

Went school today at 4plus to peep on them while they still in class... Both very well settled in... Can participate on the class activities... Also saw them helping the teacher on keeping books and bags... They seems to love the chinese teacher.. The teacher told me both kept following her... Lol..

Today is the first time both didnt cry at all when they see us... Both looked happy... Im so relieved.

PandA/ baby ur kiddos settle down very fast in school!! Grace cried for almost 3 months every
Morning when we drop her off in school till I almost want to pull her out of school

Gan
My girls also cried every time we drop them to school.. Both will cry v bad and cling on to us... But once we leave.. They will stop crying within mins. Today is their 4th day of school...
We jus got to be ren xin and leave them crying with the teachers... But we linger around and saw them stop crying almost immediately after we left... Lol

Maybe yr girl also stop crying aft u left? Did u stay around and peep?

Maybe also they are two of them... Both act as a accompanion for each other... Dont feel so alone... When one cry.. The teacher will bring her to the other and say "dont cry, u see meimei/jiejie is here"... And they see the other playing usually they will join in the fun as well..

gan, baby is right..it helps coz they have each other as company. my kids also cry when put on bus..but after bus move off..before it reaches main road, they stop crying. hehe.. d bus driver sms to update me for 2 weeks.. everyday within 1 min they stop crying...

baby, offical time is 7-7..we can bring them to n fro anytime betw this time. but for the younger class, the teaching programme is 9am - 430pm. before n after this timing is guided / free play time, or outdoor walks in the evenings..

ur girls settle down very fast.. now u can start to plan ur own activities while they are in sch!

Pandawife, gan, baby
Its amazing how ur kids settle in so fast. After 6 mths my boy still cry when hand over to teacher. But stop quite fast. Teacher say he is actually happy there, play with friends, the bigger kids also dotes on him. So don't know why still cry. Ur kids sleep thru the nite? My boy wakes up 2 times milk...sighhh dunno how to stop it. So me like zoombie at work ..

happyhippo, only my girl can sleep thru some nights.. some nights she will wake up cry for me.. or hv nightmare scream n cry!

my boys worse.. wake up for milk once, then keep waking up cry for us.. wants me or hb to carry....haiz.. now they are both like 13kg.. super backbreaking for me!!

Got my prelim amnio results, bb #3 do not have DS. Was so happy till I forgot to ask about gender..haha. Now I can go for a short trip with peace !

Gan
Its the age/maturity of the kids. Have to put them when they are very young or when they are bigger when they will understand that mummy will not be there during school hrs and will return later to pick them, they won't cry. At most they sob and will settle quickly but not so traumatised compared tots. With siblings together, they tend to settle quickly also. My #1 also cries on and off that time in daycare, but went I sent her to preschool, she like big sis, teacher told me, other kids cry she go and pacify...I was so surprised..haha.

bubbybear, congrats! glad to hear the good news!
And have a good trip!!

i can only dream about a trip.. i tried leaving the kids over night at my parents place. only 1 night, the next day they cry wanna go home, wanna look for mummy daddy.. until my mum surrender, call me to bring them back! lol.. so no trip for us...

Yup im too abit surprise on how fast they can adapt to the new environment... Maybe the first 3 days of orientation helps.

My girls no longer wake up for milk before they reach 18mths..
Thou they still cry on off sometimes in the middle of night.. We just pat pat them bk to zz... Actually for this age no need for milk le.. Suppose can zz thru without milk... Unless their solids not enough during the day??

Bubby
Congrats!! So glad to hear yr good news!!!

baby, coz lunch they eat in sch. i dunno if they eat enuff.. n at night they will specifically ask for milk.. will ask until they get it. so i will giv so tht i can go back n sleep! otherwise 3 of them take turns wake up i go crazy...

Bubbly so happy for u! Have a good trip ... Hopping for a princess?

Happy last night my gal wakes up 1am, 3am, 4 am. 5am and 6 am . Each time asking me to pat her to sleep. Think coz she is having block nose so not xomfy

The only time I have good sleep is when I go biz trip.

Panda
Hahaha of cos i understand... We will give anytin to them just to get our decent sleep... Lol
This is why i dont have intention to wean them off pacifier anytime soon... Maybe wait till they are well settled in school..

Right now i still let them take lunch at home before gg to school cos few times there they didnt touch the food there.. Will let them used to school first then will try to let them take the lunch there..

Abit rush for me.. Got to wait for them to wake up from nap then feed them and changed them...

Ideally will be good if they eat the lunch in school then i will just need to change them and off we go!

Thanks, mummies. Its really a load off !

Panda
I remember my friend also did the same thing before she goes on a trip with hb, she will bring her tot to live with her folks for a few weeks on weekends to get used to it...and her mum cannot tahan, cos first few weeks, the tot kept crying and asking for mummy middle of the night !
I will be bringing the kids on the trip, so no rest for me too...haha. The only thing is no need to cook and clean the house, just have fun with the kids. Main thing is let my folks have a break.

Gan
My #1 wants a girl, as for me, anything is fine, God decides. I just want to know so I don't have to think of 2 sets of names. Less thinking to do.

happhippo
Night waking for milk will wean off sooner or later. Just when you want to do it or let him wean off by himself. Every kid is different. My #1 took 8 mths before sleeping through without milk. #2 doesn't need night feeds since 6 wks, if he gets his last milk feed before he sleeps at night, else 12 am or so, sure ask for milk. The milk is like a sleeping pill to him. Of course, can also train to wean off, but do you really want to do it ? Maybe you can start to cut down to 1 feed ?

bubbybear, the surprising thing is my kids go there, all sleep thru at night!! nobody wake up to cry for daddy n mummy. its the day time my mum cant tahan coz they keep crying wanna go home, and one cry all cry..hahaah..she wave white flag coz cant pacify them..

true..if bring the kids its no rest for us..but not having to cook n clean up is already a luxury! hahah..

hi guys ... See most are in Childcare/ Playgroup already.
I've also started this dreaded but necessary schedule. 1week + & both cry buckets whenever we drop & pick them up. But when I peeped they stopped/ just sniffles. Today cher said the boy seems more cheerful & start to interact with his classmates.
But now both come home like hungry monsters!!

Panda
Same leh.. When my tots go stay at my inlaw pl during the times we go overseas without them... Both zz thru all the nights! Didnt even eh one sound... But zz at home always will wake up once or twice eh eh... I find it so amazing that my mil told me both didnt make a sound at night...