IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi how do u know u have infection below? what kind of discharge is considered normal/abnormal? or is it there will be itching when got infection?

mesh,
when ur discharge starts to smell, change colour & sometimes will itch

thanks rae. i find that taking yoghurt helps... sometimes i have alot of discharge... yellowish colour... take yoghurt for a few days and it'd clear.

hi all mtbs,

Can I check anybody encouter teeth pain (when open your mouth)? I suffer it every morning when wake up since after terrible running nose.

Stacy,
my EDD is either 27/8 or 2/9. I like the first one as then, I will have less days to count down... hehehe... I think you will give birth earlier than me as yours are twins and twins tend to be born earlier, but you never know. Dr Loh told me the other day that I have a low placenta and if by 37 weeks it does not go up, then I will have to go for the cut

I hope everything is fine and I can have natural birth... having cramps on off nowadays as I think it is due to the low placenta.
Have you felt your babies moving already?
Mine has been moving at night, sometimes in the middle of the night like 4am... but I am happy as then I know he is alright.

Rae,
thanks for your concern

Yes, Dr Loh told me to control my diet but it is so hard and I really hope that everything is fine.

thanks for all your well wishes... so far my hcg reading has been:
400+ (1st test) -> 2100 (3 days later) -> 9100 (4 days later)
heard that there's a high chance for multiples? what do u think?

also, I discovered late last week that I had vaginal infection from the use of crinone. arghh... so irritating and uncomfortable... went through a course of antibiotics and tablet insert, but somehow the infection hasn't clear and doc prescribed another course of medication today... i also had some brown discharge over the last few days and doc said it is high likely due to the infection which may cause bleeding in the cervix for some cases... really worried that all these medication will affect the development of the embies!! praying hard! have any of you had similar experience before? any advice? doc just advised to avoid sugary stuff and i read somewhere that eating yogurt is good! true or not?

Dodo,
true that infection can cause bleeding.. i kanna this when i'm 12 weeks preg.. heavy bleeding some more..if u using the viginal wash pls DUN use those insert ones.. buy those wash the external wan will do..

mesh,
nt a probs

hui,
hw come ur discharge is black???

jeni,
dun worry too much of low placenta cos i hv it too bt my gynae said bb will push it up when they r growing at later stage
mine did went up

dodo,
believe the med gynae prescribed will nt affect the developments cos meds r usually very mild when given to preggies mums. this oso means we take longer time to recover

hi! Jeni,
In fact I have long decided to have "Cut" cos I'm really not brave to push twice. Dr also accept my decision.
I have 1 'noti' and 1 'guai'. During my previous scan, already noted the differences as 1 always like to perform somersault and waving, the other one only like to move the head and limbs slightly. So now when I experience baby movement,hehee... realise the active one likes to kick more, the other side is less frequent.Recently, no appetite and weight gain is lesser than b4, and no more of MS. When did you get to know low placenta? Any symptoms that you would like to share? have you take up any package yet?

thanks for the advice on the vaginal infection... today, no more brownish discharge liaoz... phew! i shall continue with eating yogurt, hoping it will clear the infection soon!!

but my blood test yesterday revealed that my progestrone level had dropped to 80+ which is more to the low side! the last blood test done 3 days ago was 300+. my gynae was surprised by the sudden drop so recommended a jab ... ;(

ai yo... so stressful! one of the reasons could be due to the vaginal infection which could have affected the absorption of Crinone...

btw, anyone of you here take chinese meds during your pregnancy? is it ok for me to take now? i am about 5.5 weeks... any advice?

Hi Stacy,
I was told that I have low placenta when I went for the detailed scan and it showed then. I experienced on off cramps and tightness around the lower abdomen area. Other than that, not much. So you can feel your babies' movement already huh? That's great!
I have not taken up any package yet as none has been offered to me. Do I have to ask them or they will offer to me automatically? Last time, I didn't go to TPS but clinic D as ADC wanted to do the detailed and cardiac scans for me and they are only available on Thurday and Dr Loh is at Clinic D every Thursday.I will see how on the next appointment. I wonder how much it cost to go for single bedded room as my hubby and I are considering to go for it since KK's rate is quite okay compared to other private hospitals. What about you?

Dodo, I was told not to take any chinese medicine as the content of the chinese medicine may affect the baby. As for tonics, I only start taking them from 2nd trimester onwards as my mom checked with the people at the medical hall and that was their advice.

Hi Renee,
Nice to have you back. Seems like long time din see your posting. Hmm.. sex is not confirmed yet leh! Last scan in week 15, Dr Loh only mentioned could be B/G, but need to doubled-confirm in detail scan. I'm very "KanCheong" already bought baby cots and intending to buy double stroller later..ah so many things in mind to shop for
.I realise my belly is growing so big now, wonder how it looks like when I reached 3rd trimester. There are so much of anticipation and hope the day will come soon. Are you in 3rd trimester now? How's the feeling like?

Jeni,
I requested to have the price list for prenatal package and delivery package from the counter at ADC. There is a breakdown of fees for different requirement like 4-bedded/1 bedded,C-section/Natural Delivery, types of anaesthetic used, different Dr's fees etc... for our references. Not sure of the process of signing up for the package, may enquire on my next appt.I tink most likely will stick to KKH cos all my case notes are with them. Our Dr has promoted to be HOD and he seems very busy.

Dodo

I think is really depends on individual whether you want to take TCM during pregnant, some of my gal friend only take after their first 3 months, but some of them believe that it is the best to take once you have confirmed +ve to "an tai". Some of them don't dare to take at all through out the whole pregnancy. And the most important thing is you trust the sinseh or not.

Please consult your gynae before eating TCM, I know some of the gynae don't "approve" the patient to eat TCM during the pregnancy esp in the 1st trimiseter.

Koala,
how are you?
Did you experience any MS?
Have you been well?
When is it going to be your first scan?
You must be excited, aren't you?

dodo,

My TCM doctor advises me not to take any "ai tai" before the 1st Trimester and not any herbs that "live blood"...herb like "dang sen". My OB said if i want i can take after 1st Trimester but he said i am currently eating progestrone which is also "ang mo" kind of "ai tai" He said i no need to eat so many "ai tai" to avoid OVER "ai tai" :p

Hi Jeni

Wah so many questions...

I am ok. Ya, got bad ms since tested +ve, that period whatever put into my month, would throw out every thing. When I told dr loh this, he joking asked me huh, so fast and so teruk you vomited, your hb vomitting or not?? He so funny.
He asked me just to endure it, he is not encouraging any no anti-nauseas medications.

And now start to get use to it and the trick is can't let myself hungry, so I must eat eat eat all the times, but must be in very small portion.. but sometimes, still tend to forget and eat more than what I should then hoh hoh.... the whole day will be bloated and vomitted again.

I went for my scan already, ya, so amazing and our hearts were melting when saw the little one.

How about you? Your boy boy is active rite? Start to buy bb stuff?

Long time never log in and was so happy to see 'old friends' name appearing here. Koala, Jeni, Bodhi, Stacy and many more. Congrats and enjoy yr journey of pregnancy.

thanks all for the advice! one more question, what methods did your gynae adopt to boost your progesterone level and what is the frequency? eg.. if injection, how frequent? any of you on oral tablets as well? i am having vaginal infection problems using crinone and felt like suggesting to my gynae to use alternative approaches instead.

dodo,

i dropped out from Crinone after Week 7 and i am still taking oral progesterone. I no longer do any blood test to monitor my progesterone level. You can always discuss with your Gynae other alternatives. As far as i know, Crinone is the more effective progesterone to be absorb by the body than through injection or oral.

dodo,

I just read your blog knowing that you are eating alot of yogurt. I hope you will eat moderately and don't overeat. If you get the yogurt from the supermarket some come with preservative and is cold. Your womb needs to stay warm now and i can see your Gynae is pumping you with a lot of progesterone to stablise your condition. I eat yogurt from the indian curry shop and it dont come with preservative and i only eat one small cup every alternative day when i experience vaginal infection.

Stacy,
OH, looks like most likely you will hv both Boy and gal. cos boy's can tell in quite early stage. if Dr Loh mentioned COULD BE.... then you may have at least 1 boy. not all boys can see early though.which mine was able to see v v early.

wah, so early bought bb cots already?? me will wait until 1 month before then buy. other small items are mostly bought. now ended up wt so many milk bottles. cause during the bb fair, those bottles came as a gifts wt promotion of other items like breast pump, sterilzer.... so the no. of bottles i have like as if i'm going to hv twin. haha....

yes, i'm in my 3rd trimester. besides tummy got heavier and constantly have movements, as well as hiccups. things seems quite ok for me so far. just hope bb can stay all the way till full term which is the edd. been tellig bb everyday must not come out too early. in fact my tummy doesnt look tat big i find. but Dr. Loh said he's in good size. jst went for apt yesterday at week 31st, bb is 1.8kg and his head had engaged down already.

NOw i just hired a maid. not very use to have stanger at home actually, some more got to train her what to do. worse when i need tog o out, i must bring her along..... I wish you have a joyfull preg thru out.

hi bodhi,
thanks very much for the advice... i will watch my intake of yogurt... was taking it about 2 to 3 times a day but at moderate portions la, about 3 tablespoons per time. will heed your advice and probably take once per day till the infection goes away. ya... i am trying to take the natural yogurt as far as possible... i am taking the brand, Pauls which is the natural version. although not as nice as the other flavoured version, I just add some natural fruits to make the taste better. actually, come to think of it, adding granolas or some museli would help too!

Stacy,
if it's a boy and girl, then it'll be wonderful and you can close factory after that! Hahaha...
What Renee said is true. Boy Boy is quite obvious. Both sonographers who did the detailed scan and cardiac scan confirmed that I have a boy as they can see his hip bones and then something sticking out in the centre.One of them who said that told me mine is sure to be a boy. Now that I have a boy, my hubby is saying that the next one, he hopes to have a princess... me very stressed!!!
You have bought a baby cot huh? Where did you get it and how much did you pay for it? Any extra function? I got to get 2 too as one at my place and the other at my mom's place as my mom will be taking care of her grandson when I go to work.

Koala,
so happy for you!
Yes, Dr Loh always said that nausea is good and he doesn't encourage taking any medication for that. My colleague's wife who is a few weeks behind me, is vomiiting like nobody's business and she was given a very strong medication, somthing that helps cancer patients to stop vomitting after chemo.but she can only take it when it is really really necessary as it is not good for both the mother and baby.
Don't be frustrated as ms will soon be over ya?

My boy is quite active, especially around 4 to 6 plus in the morning and 3 to 6 plus in the evening. I can also feel him kick when I lie on my tummy, he's trying to tell me that 'Mommy, you are crushing me!' Hahaha... Other than that, recently, I noticed that he will kick when I talked to someone and we laughed or when listening to music which is quite loud as then he can hear it. But when I scold pupils in school and I can be quite fierce, he's very quiet for a while which I feel sorry about...hehehe...so must talk to him in a nice and lovey dovey way to soothe him so that after a while, he will start moving again.

I haven't started buying anything yet as my colleague told me to wait for Great Singapore Sale and during that time, I am having school holidays and she can go with me. My hubby just couldn't stand shopping although he loves his son and talks to him everyday. Is your husband like that too? I think it is because we work so hard for him, that's y...

Renee,
third trimester will start on which week?
Having a maid is a headache right? That's why I don't want to have one as too many headache stories. Have u bought stroller? what brand is it and have you bought the papmpers for your newborn? What brand is it? Haiz... so many questions... sorry!

dodo,

I am adding granolas and fruits to my yogurt. :) I think just take it easy if your mind is too distracted, just do some breathing exercise. Just need to monitor your condition, if still bleed alittle i sugggest to bed rest for a while. There must be a reason why Gynae confine pregnant lady on the hospital bed.

I hope you are doing well with your food intake. Please take care!

Catherine,

Hey...is a long time..how have you been? You must be experiencing the "tummy kick" already. Take care...chat with you soon.

Hi Jeni

Ya, now I just hope to pass the 1st trim safely. Still too ken cheong to see Dr Loh, the night before sure couldn't sleep well. Dr Loh told my HB said I am too over worried and is not good for bb so he even asked my HB to give me more attention.. ha ha .. so now I try to be relax a bit.

Ya, this period is not easy for me. Besides need to stand the ms, my big boss is not supportive, when he knew that I am on mc due to unstablisation of my pregnancy, he still asked me to go back to work..I was upset over his re-action, so have make mental preparation that the worst case scenerio is I will have to resign cos I can't take any risk now.

Ya, your boy very active, good, showing that he is a healthy bb. Wah, your HB plan for the next 1 huh, so fast.....

My Hb now will sayang my tummy everyday, but I don't know what he talk to the little one, cos he said they talked "silently".. ha ha..

Hi Bodhi and Koala,
I'm into my 26th weeks now. My 2 boys always start to be active from 7.30pm onwards, they are nite owl. Hopefully when they are out, they'll sleep thru the nite rather then to disturb my Zzzz.

How many weeks are both of u at now? I really lost track of everyone now as this pregnancy is causing me to have backache and lots of stretchmarks. I have to walk like old woman and if I go shopping, the max time I can shop is only 2 hrs, or else my back and legs will give way.
But don't worry, I'm enjoying every single moment of it.

Hi Catherine,
it is so fast that you are already in your 26th week. I have the same problem in regard to the way I walk and the leg part. So, I can't stand too long while teaching. Fortunately for me, not so much stretch marks and I have been using the oil from Clarins that some of the sisters here recommended. Personally, I think it is quite good. Your boys are active like mine! That's good but how do you tell which is which? Is it the position where you feel the movement? How exciting to have twins! Have you taken up any package yet? Where are you going to give birth? Still KKH?

Koala,
some people do not have any understanding for others until they are in the position and your big boss is just that. He / She may think that other pregnant women are working too and they have no problem. Why are you so special? Sometimes when interests clashed, it will turn ugly. So, you will have to decide which one is more impotant to you and make your decision accordingly. Personally, I feel that ladies who have gone through IVF like us and conceived, will treat their pregnancies especially preciously as we have worked hard, prayed hard and worried hard in order to get to this far. So, we will not take whatsoever risk in order to protect our little darlings. Just do what you think is best for both you and your little darling and I am sure we ladies here, and definately your hubby. will support you. Talk to him about it. I think hubbies are also very protective of the pregnancies as they have witnessed the pain and sufferings we have to endure in order to come thus far. So, try not to be upset overy insensitive people, ok? Oh, btw, how many little darlings are you having?

Hi! Renee,
I'm also thinking of hiring a maid around wk 32, so that she can start helping in houshold chores. I will take care of both babies with the help of my mother. Which country is your maid from? You must have more rest
772965.gif
since his head has engaged.BTW, how frequent is your consultation now? Fortnightly or weekly?My detailed scan is on coming Friday, hopefully they are healthy and gender can be confirm.

Jeni,
I bought the cot during recent JL sales at Singapore Expo. Still waiting for the GSS to come, so can buy more and more. I bought all the big items first cos I've the same preoblem as you all. I cannot walk too long and my legs have swollen signs.I have to keep the old ones and buy new pairs. Every nite, I require foot massage service from my DH. I find myself walking like an old lady now, dun know how I would be in third trimester.
772966.gif

Catherine,
Welcome back
772967.gif
Wow! You're in wk 26. How's your belly look like? I find my one is neither pointed nor round. Bcos our babies, each at one side, it looks abit squarish leh! So far, no one can guess the gender by looking at the belly.haha....My babies also like to disturb me at nite and very quiet in the morning.

Hui,
That's sound GREAT!
You will get to see your boyboy soon. So Interesting!There are so many boyboy here..... Is it IVF mtb has higher chance of conceiving boyboy?
773027.gif

Jeni

Mine is singleton. I have no problem with my HB cos he even asked me to resign cos he said no point in staying in type of inhuman company. But I just don't want to give up now, see how its goes. But definately after my merternity, I will tender and go.

Catherine

Glad to know that you have two boys boys hoh..
Take good care.

renee

Remember me? so long didn't see you
Gald to know that your boy boy is very active and healthy.

As for the maid, may be could share with you on the maid experience. I have been hiring a maid since I got married. Regarding the "training", I have listed down the time table for the house works (weekly basis) for her to follow. I find this very useful for me and the maid. I just need to monitor her a few weeks according to the time table and after that she will know what to do every day.Is quite effective although is very tedious when we created the "time table", really need to crack our head.

I even trained my maid to cook chinese dishes, as for the receipe, I requested her to write down immediately in her own manner after I explain/demo to her, so next time, she just need to refer to her own note.

Hi to all,
I feel so warm returning back to this forum. Thanks everyone.

Jeni,
I'm still with KKH. Can't sign up any package as I'm having twins. Therefore, I have to pay every time I visit the doc. Sad rite? Should write to the government or hospital about this. As for their movement, I can only tell them who is who from the posn. I always tell HB left side or right side kicking, dunno whether if it's always the same baby.

Stacy,
It's true that nobody knows the gender by looking at our tummy. You are having 2 b/b, b/g or g/g? Sorry I lost track. My tummy looks more on the round side but more heavy near the pelvic area. How many weeks are u at now and how u cope with walking? I use a pregnancy belt to support my back but after a while, the skin will become itchy and red.

koala,

so you thinking of quitting your job too, me have been wanting to do that before the start of ivf but failed in my mission as they promote and increase my pay but these few days, I get so moody and frustrated again that I kept telling my hb, i wanna quit but then again, when i think of the money that will be useful with twins, I thought i will bear with it for a while more and to forego the 3 mths maternity, a bit wasteful lor and if i were to stay home now, i also dunno what to do everyday. Today going for my 2nd scan, hopefully everything is fine.

happy

Yes, everyday I am thinking to quit my job and just hope I don't need to go back any more. I still remember how tense I was when I saw the brown stain in my 5 weeks +, I really hate my job now as I need to carry heavy files and meet all sort of deadlines.

But, same as you, I know I shouldn't let go the 3 months merternity benefit (is not a bit wasteful but is very very wasteful) and more $$$ need to spend when bb arrives. Sigh.... And yours is twins, so need double $$ to cover.

I hope we will be better when we pass our 1st trimister, so just "dong" for a few more weeks...

All the best to your scan ya, you can see the bbs' head, hands, legs and buttock...

Ashly

Don't think back when you have already make the decision. Every case is different mah. Your boss has been acted so inhuman to you since you and started the treatment. How to dong?

Everybody got different "stress" level, like happy, hers is twins, so need more $$. My another stress that I didn't mention is if I quit, do nothing but just face my MIL every day..a bit difficult for me too.

So stay happy happy, I am sure you can enjoy after your last day as a "stay-at home- mom to be"

Koala

Thanks for your encouragement, buddy

oh yah hor... your mum-in-law is staying with u so i can understand that other type of "stress" of facing her... heh...heh...
Remember to stay happy and +ve also... if the deadline is ridiculous (i.e. working on sunday), pls dun agree to it... talk to your boss abt it cos' u got your precious little one to think abt...