IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda how many hours do ur trio sleeps a day? mine I sort Of surrender Coz she will cry at 3am if sleeps in her cot but sleep thru if on our bed. So lately let her sleep with us on bed

bubbybear, panda
I use the whole meal prata as pizza base. spread tomato purée or paste. and veges n meat sprinkle cheese on top n bake till the cheese melts. very fast.

my elder girl gets to assemble her own pizza which she finds fun

Gan, there are some nights all 3 zzz in my room ! overcrowded and end up i cant zzzz coz hv to watch over them!

day naps about 2.5-3hrs on total. at night 8pm-6am. so about 12.5-13 hours a day?

Back from my Aussie trip. The kids really had alot of fun, although the weather was rather cold. Both developed a runny nose on the 1st day itself and blocked nose at night, but by the 4th-5th day, they almost recovered 80-90%.

A few things I learnt from this trip:
1. Taking the overnight flight was the right thing for us because they did sleep thru most of the flight. However, it was interrupted sleep as people moving around, using toilets, noises etc so they woke up a few times and had difficulty sleeping comfortably. They probably had about 5-6 hours sleep vs their usual 10-11 hours sleep. That meant that the first day after arriving they took more naps throughout the day and crashed really early that night. But on day 2 onwards we were able to settle into a routine.

2. Food on the go. I had hoped that we would be able to just order food from the restaurants but unfortunately, they didn't really like the food. I tried ordering fish & chips,scrambled eggs,steamed tofu with rice, grilled fish - they were not interested, except for having 1-2 bites here and there. Maybe also cuz the restaurants we went to didn't have much options (which I considered healthy for them). So they did not eat as much as they would in a normal meal. Alot of times, I had to just feed them bread, cheese, plain white rice, avocado, banana, yoghurt or rely on the jar food and squeezie packs until the 3rd day, I couldn't tahan anymore and decided to cook one meal a day for them. So every morning, I will cook rice/porridge with a meat and pumpkin/broccoli/apple/egg/tomato thrown in before heading out for the day. Preparing the food took 30-40 mins but at least they had one decent meal a day. They did lose weight, abt 150g by the end of the trip

3. Milk intake. They took the morning and night milk ok but the midday milk they didn't really want. Maybe its the environment cuz we were always outside and so much going on around them, they didn't want to drink milk. So overall milk intake dropped, I just resorted to feeding more cheese and yoghurt.

4. Naps on the go. They managed to take 2-3 naps a day even when outside. Because there was a lot of walking (and them in the strollers), or travelling on the tram, they managed to nap during those times. Because our days were longer (bedtime at 9.30-10pm vs usual 8pm), they manage to have 2 or 3 naps vs their usual 1 nap.

5. Eating at restaurants was a challenge because they didn't like sitting in the highchair whilst we had our meals. Especially those meals with family/friends where we tend to linger and talk, they got restless and cranky. I still managed to keep the Ipad and Iphone away, but definitely need more props to keep them busy in future.

All in all, it was a rewarding holiday to see them have so much fun, and the quality time spent with them made them so much closer to us (and they kept manja with us throughout the trip... *melt*) Esp since we are working parents, we found this bonding time really special. But I have to be honest, it was really tiring and at night when they sleep, its washing bottles, doing the laundry, packing for the next day... no chance to sit down and chill.

Just thot I'd share my experience for mummies planning to travel with baby

ps. Travelling with two toddlers vs. one is indeed more difficult, so if you're just travelling with one kiddo, it should be easier ;)

Baby, justfaith, pandawife, bubbybear
Thks for all your advices regarding maid. Got agency to talk to her. Better these few days, hopefully will continue to be good.

Pandawife,
Shengshiong at upper thomson/sinming still got enfagrow at promo price. U may to go get.

pandawife
yes is the old version at $59.95.
read giant offer today for the new version is $67.90.
i havnt bought the new version yet, no sure how much difference leh. did you compare?
i just thought no matter what the supermart promotion for the new version will never be near the old version pricing. so i stocked up the old version lor.
luvbabies still no stock for enfagrow, so dont know their pricing for the new version yet.

Hi Working Wife

Do you know if they allow us to bring baby cereal, biscuits or jar food into Aussie? I know they are quite strict in bringing in food stuff.

autumn

u hv to declare all food stuffs u hv with u when u enter Australia. usually properly packaged stuff with listed ingredients, canned n bottled stuff r ok
they r most concerned with fresh fruits, meats etc. these r a definite no no

either way, just remember to declare every edible item u hv with u. customs will check n advise if ok. if they say no, u'll hv to throw the items away on the spot but no other penalty.
if u dun declare and they check u may get fined

but again, packaged food, cereal, biscuits, milk powder, canned, bottled food r allowed. just show it to them n they'll let u through

happyhippo,

I just bought few cans of the new version from the Rivervale Plaza shop at $64. if u bring used cans to trade in, $1 discount per can. I only knew about this when I was there, so will b trading in the old cans next time we go there.

I din compare coz NTUC n CS both not selling the old one anymore leh.. bo bian just buy from there...

Thanks Grumpus.

I will just bring the minimum then and buy as needed when I get there. Cause I remember the last time I was there they said that there was some prohibited ingredient in my 3in1 coffee!! So had to throw it out.

Hi Autumn,

Like you said, I didn't bring much jar food with me. I just brought enough to last through the flight. There are so many varieties of baby food in Australia that I just bought them when I was there. They have alot of jar food, baby snacks, yoghurt squeezie packs (which my kids loved), fresh yoghurt, cheese.... it won't be difficult to find baby snacks there.

Any mummies here giving their little ones cod liver oil?
My friend recommend me say it will boast their immune system... I bot the scotts brand... Orange flavour... But hvt give my girls yet... So far i didnt intro any supplements to them.. This cod liver oil is the first..

Panda
Last night i didnt give any fruits after dnr... My elder almost sleep thru! Only woke up once at 2plus.... And 5plus for milk and sleep till 8am! Shall see tonight.. If she sleep thru again then the fruits is the culprit!

pandawife
wow the trade-in of old tins for $1 is great savings! very interesting, first time hear got such thing. do u know if this is only if you buy the new version, also is this trade-in unique to this shop? wonder if it is a mead johnson promotion for the new version.

Baby, justfaith, pandawife, bubbybear
can i ask what time does your maid/s sleep? how many hours of sleep do they get?
do they wake up to help when your babies cry?

Happy hippo, trade in of cans only at this shop.

My maids sleep at 10pm n wakes up 530am coz my bbs wakes up 6am. They wake up at night to help me only if all 3 wakes up together or cry together. Not everynight. Lately both my boys refuse maids at night. Only my girl ok. Me n Hb zzz w the boys in our room..n my girl sleep by herself in hv room

Happy hippo my maid sleeps around 10pm and up at 6am...actually I never keep track what time she wakes up, coz I am only up around 7am. She doesn't help me when baby wakes up at night since day 1 , I tend to my gal myself since she sleeps with me

Panda u received the toy voucher already? I still haven't leh

Happy
My maid dont have a fixed time to sleep.. She will go sleep when she finished her chores.. Usually by 1030pm.. I always need to tell her to go sleep early but she is the type of person to want to finished her chores before sleeping... Eg ironing of clothes.. She does it after bb sleep.. So alot of times i ask her dont iron go sleep early... Cos i want her to have enough rest.. Dont want a zombie in the day...
She wake up abt 6-630am...

She only wake up to feed my elder milk ard 5am.. Then goes bk to sleep till 6plus... If my elder drink near 6 then she will not go bk to sleep....

Panda
Whats yr menu today?
Im cooking fried rice for their lunch... Mushroom, butternut squash, tomato, long beans and egg fried rice... Serve with corn soup...

Dnr will we dine out...

happyhippo,

i followed my maid's sleeping hours she had with her previous employer. Go to bed at 9pm, wake up at 6am.

if she finish her chores early and my girl already sleep by 8pm+, i also encourage her to rest early. give and take lah... but usually she wake up at 6am+, but i feel it is ok. cos sometimes, my girl play n play until 10pm, my maid also dont dare to go to bed.... hehe.

Panda
My picky small girl is getting better and better in her food... Will always eat faster than my elder... And she takes rice better...
She finish her bowl of fried rice in less than 15mins... First time she eagerly wants to eat rice.. Last time she will split out...

Baby,

Must be because your fried rice very good ;)

How did you cook the fried rice? The mushroom, butternut squash, tomato and long beans you cook separately before mixing into the rice? Or do you throw it in raw and cook together?

Do you make the fried rice a little wet or its dry, like what we adults eat? Or do you put the soup into the rice? How much can your kids eat? 1 Ikea bowl?

I'm thinking of trying fried rice next... perhaps this weekend.

Btw mummies, do you put any seasoning into your cooking already? I am still hesitant to put salt in any of the baby's food cuz I read that toddlers between 1-3 yo can only have 800-1000mg of sodium a day. And that's equivalent to less than 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Minus out the cheese, biscuits etc that we give them which has sodium, that leaves very little... that's why I always feel that giving them outside food would be too salty for them?

Panda,

Sounds like your girl is an ok sleeper with not so much problems? Is it only your two boys that wake up often?

How about your hubby sleep with one and you sleep with one? that way, maybe u and hb can get more sleep cuz only wake up to one kid instead of two?

working wife
I asked my pd before n she actually said that if the kids eat more n better with seasoned food there's no reason not to give them seasoned food.
it's better than not eating. so I guess hold out for as long as u can but prob won't be able to until 3

I stop packing food for the girls when we go out. they eat wat we eat. at home sometimes I season sometimes I dun. or I try I balance like feed plain rice with plain steamed veges n only the meat is seasoned.

working wife, both Lucas n char used to sleep thru. lately lucas been waking up due to the molars. but i guess this will pass. Linus is our pain. he can wake up 6-8x a night. me n hb take turns..if one person nobody can tahan! usually i take the 12-3am, he takes the 3-6am..

but the past 2 weeks or so, both lucas n linus has been waking up.. both boys will scream for me..hb carry a while, they cry n cry.. until i appear :S

Grumpus,

I see... I also wanted to intro salt earlier and then i just googled it to see if its ok. Then when I came across alot of health sites that say the health association guidelines is only 800mg a day for toddlers which is only 1/3 teaspoon of salt. And that sounded like so little to me. I mean like 1/3 teaspoon?? So I asked my pd, and he said don't intro salt yet cuz its always good to encourage them to eat non salty food but also because their kidney may not be able to handle too much salt.

Remember you mentioned before your bro in law or someone who is a doc said that the outside food would not contain that much salt that can damage kidneys? Hmm.... so many differing opinions.

But I wonder... if they eat outside food like 1-2 meals in a week, even if its salty it should be ok because we balance out with no salt when we cook at home?

When you season the meat, how much salt do you use? just a little pinch?

Actually I checked the cheese sticks/slice... one stick already has 200mg of sodium. And they do eat alot of cheese... that's what made me even more reluctant to season their normal food.

Am I thinking too much??

working wife
my bro is the dr. I grilled him on his topic before cos he's interest is pediatrics. he said actually there r no comprehensive or conclusive studies in this. I mean it's quite hard to conduct a study right cos u can't overdose kids in salt just to see wats the level for kidney damage.
so a lot of advise n literature is based more on experience, hypothetical n retrospective studies. but personally he's never seen any cases of kidney damage due to normal eating. he's seen one case of kidney damage due to abuse where the mum force fed the kid teaspoons of salt for an extended period of time.

lexie eats lots n lots of cheese a day! when i season I use just a pinch of low sodium salt or low sodium soya sauce. occasionally I use abit of teriyaki sauce.

the kids eat out abt 1-2 times a week

Thanks Grumpus!

Yeah, they really eat alot of cheese! Do you give Lexie and Aly the cheese slices, cheese sticks, cheese spread or the stronger cheese like cheddar cheese blocks? In Aussie, I bought those hard cheddar cheese which has a sharper taste... they seem to like it too.

In conclusion, I think eating out 1-2 times a week should be fine (but I will also make sure to choose low salt food outside!) As for home cooking, so far I have been able to get away without using salt so will hold out as long as I can. I do and will continue to use spices like nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger powder, garlic, pepper, cumin, paprika, basil, oregano, thyme for seasoning to introduce the different flavours.

Btw, how do you cook your meat now when serving with rice? Stir fry or steam? what is low sodium salt? Got such thing ah?
I thought all salt have the same amount of sodium hehe.

On a side note... why in the world would a mom force feed her kids teaspoons of salt??? OMG....

working wife, wow! can share how u use the different spices huh?? apart from cinnamon, nutmeg n pepper, i hv no clue how to use the rest. i bought a bottle of italian mixed herbs, which i use when i cook pasta or baked rice.

my PD says to use himalayas sea salt coz of the minerals content which is actually good for the kids.. a small little pinch when cooking...

working wife
lexie eats mostly sliced cheese, cheese dippers n cheese spread. I hv given her those stronger cheese from blocks if n when we do buy. Aly doesn't really eat cheese. sigh.

yes there is low sodium salt. salt n sodium is not quite the same thing
I use either sea salt or pan salt cos they contain some minerals too. there is low sodium soya sauce too. they are indeed less salty if using the same amt compared to regular salt n soya sauce.

my meats are stir fried, baked, steamed, stewed or pan fried. Aly can handle most adult textured food so it's easy for me. sometimes I cook for the whole family n dish out some for the kids just before adding sauce.

ah well there r some sick ppl out there n that's why it's called abuse. I'm guessing the mum fed her kid salt n prob withheld water as punishment but my bro didn't share the details with me.

Working wife
Same as u.. I didnt use any condiments when cooking at home except pepper.

The fried rice i use soup stock to cook.. So its flavourful enough... The stock i didnt use any salt too..

I cook the rice with slightly more water so the rice is soft and moist... Then i leave it to cool...

I use some olive oil and fry with garlic and shallot onion.. Then put in all the cut vege.. Stir fry awhile and add in soup stock and close the lid to let in simmer till soft.. Then add in egg and rice... If the fried rice v dry then i will add in some soup stock... Sprinke some pepper And its done!

Cos all the long i dont use any salt when cooking soup even for our comsumption... I feel its the ingredient is enough the soup aldry taste v nice without the need to add in salt..
I will continue to do without salt when cooking for my girls.. But im gg to intro some soya sauce when marinating meat...

happyhippo
The maid is to look after my granny mainly and some housework, so follow my gran's timing. Sleep at 10+ pm, wake up around 5+ am. Its enough, cos some nights if my gran can't sleep, will wake the maid middle of the night to fix her a drink or snack. bb not her responsibility, SIL look after herself.

happyhippo, thanks for the info. went to the upper thomson ss today n managed to get the last 5 cans left! haha..

hows ur maid problem? resolved??

Pandawife, baby, justfaith, gan, bubbybear
Thks for sharing. My maid also clocks 7/8 hours of sleep, quite similar to all your maids. She handles only housework and accompany my mum out. She don't handle my boy at all. maybe I should start training her to handle my boy so that I can be some time off. else next time ask her do more baby stuff might be unhappy.

Pandawife
U r most welcome! Lucky still got stock, otrwise u go all the way no stock also I paiseh

Maid abit better after kena scolding from agency. But she really too smart for her own good lor, come less than a week can tell me want change employer before I can complain her poor performance.
I'm trying my best to teach her step by step, patiently also. actually her job is very easy. I even have to struggle to think of what she can clean everyday to keep her occupied! Altho she is better lately, I still remind myself not to let my guards down coz she is quite smart so could be acting blurr when come to doing work, she very quick to learn thgs that benefits herself.

Baby, based on price urs shld b new. The old one comes a free toy. New one don't have I think.

I started giving fresh milk today. Morning milk was fresh milk. Will now giv one fresh milk n 2 fm feed a day. Slowly transit them...

panda
The can i bot no free toy.. So i guess its the new version...
Whats the lowest price u can get for the big can new version? $65 consider good?

So far i hvt replace fresh milk with fm.. Only give them milk shake with their bfast/lunch... Which type of fresh milk u give? Those chilled ones? U serve it chill? Magnolia brand?

Today lunch im serving them steamed pork patty... The recipe u share with me... But i use my own version... Cos this dish is one of the common food we cook at home... I use condiments except oyster sauce... Serve with pumpkin millet porridge.

Heee.. I also make our own portion for our own lunch also... Stir fry xiao bai cai, long beans onion egg... Sweet potato porridge...

Now waiting for them to wake up from their nap... Then i can go shower.. Sweating with all the cooking and preparation...

Later afternoon got to busy with cooking again... Having steamboat for dnr!

Panda, Grumpus and baby are yr babies saying
No to everything? My gal is becoming miss no no.... Everything 'bu yao'. Want to eat? Bu Yao. Want to sleep? Bu Yao. Want mama? Bu Yao..... Arghhhh

gan
aly been like tat for awhile. no no no. she got different tones somemore. do u want fruits? no. do u want to sleep? no. etc
the only thing she doesn't say no to is milk!

Gan, only Linus is no no boy. My other two not YET. Lol.. He Oso no to everything except milk n junk food n go gai gai!
And his fav answer to me is wo bu zhi dao! Ask him if he is full after lunch, Or if he is hungry .. He will tell me that.
I think Linus going thru terrible 2 now...

Grumpus and panda is this start of terrible 2? U know grace will even imitate the cat in the tomcat app and say no
No with one finger shaking... Really  
好气又好笑

Gan
Hai... Sad to say my girls hvt really say a proper word yet...
Even no also dont knw how to say... Only know how to say mama papa... But not yet specific to us..
I think they are the slowest here....

Panda
What u cooking today?
Yday night i cook you mian soup... Both like it.
I bot those vacume pack sakura you mian.. Like those handmade noodle ban mian noodle...
Lucky they like to eat noodle soup food... Easy for mummy to whip last min meals for them...
Today lunch.. Rice quinoa porridge with cauliflower, sweet potato, tomato and chicken....

gan
aly even throw tantrums. lie on the floor n kick leg n scream type. really terrible twos
anyway. all stages also got problems la.
Lexie recently like to 顶嘴. woke this morn told me "mummy the aircon never blow at me. see its not moving." cos the vent will pause for awhile mah. so when the vent move I told her see it's blowing at u. she tell me "it's too slow!"

faint. how to answer??

baby
urs not the slowest. my boy also very slow, wonder if any concern. so far he can only say papa, mama very seldom. can say gai gai.

have you started brushing teeth for your little ones? my pd said must brush teeth after milk. but how to? esp at night, after milk, he will fall asleep. i already very thankful when he can fall asleep, definitely dont want to wake him up to go brush teeth leh.
how huh ?

grumpus
my boy also throwing tantrums. can suddenly be irritated and sweep away everything on the table. when dont get his way, will cry loud. don't want to walk our direction, will sit on floor and not let you carry. when u try to carry him, he will cry loud loud, so embarassing at shopping centers.. stress man... how to teach them not to throw tantrums?

happyhippo
skin must be thick lor. when outside I will carry them away. no choice cannot be a nuisance to others

if at home I will ignore. they will learn tat they can't get their way with screaming.

re: brushing teeth. theoretically not supposed to hv milk than bed. but at this age still difficult. for my elder think abt 2yrs plus then she was able to hv milk, still awake then brush teeth first then sleep.

maybe after milk just give some water in te bottle to rinse the mouth. when older then do the brush teeth routine

as for talking. no cause for concern yet if bb can understand u n can make themselves known by pointing or pulling u somewhere.
my elder didn't talk till 20mths

Happy
I started brushing my girls teeth when their first teeth appear...
Im using those gum brush... Insert into finger kind...
Lately i bot those real toothbrush... Gg to use it soon...

Both my girls also sleep after drinking milk at night.. No choice...