IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

gan
green radish is cooling too. a bit of cooling is ok ESP en hot weather n bb is heaty type. just not too often

baby, i giv my trio all kinds of soups.. black bean, beetroot, winter melon, sharks fin winter melon, abc, mushroom, pumpkin carrot, apple, yellow/brown pear.. they dont really drink alot .. all in moderation its ok.. esp when the weather has been so warm lately.

bubblybear, lucas likes music too.. he does get distracted when we play music. start swaying n dancing.. we hv music time everyday and smtimes if i start it late, he will go ask my helper to switch on the cd player! i wonder if he has learnt to read the clock! he can also remind me its time to go make his milk! LOL..

grumpus, when ur girl wakes up in the night, does it take long to get her to zzz again?

if linus co zzz w me, once he toss n turn, i hv to pat him before he starts crying.. once he starts d crying, jia lat liao..hv to carry n pat until he goes into deep zzz again.... mayb thts y if he sleeps in cot, the crying is more often. he is basically a very restless n light sleeper..

baby, i made veg stew and chicken w melted cheese for lunch. rice w millet. i hv given up on porridge totally. now they seem to like rice, so i cook rice with either millet or quinao for lunch and dinner. trying to reduce pasta..

panda
my elder girl was like tat. had to reassure her from the first eh eh otherwise once awake take super long to go back to deep sleep. it was got better when she could reach out for me herself.

my younger even though sleeps with me sits up n cries still. I cheat n latch her back to sleep

Panda, Grumpus,

Is there such thing as eating too much mushroom not good for kids? I made mushroom soup yesterday and my kids seem to like it, but my mom said cannot feed too much so I didn't let them finish the soup. I used a box of the white swiss mushrooms (about 10 mushrooms) to make the soup, so ie. 5 mushrooms/baby. Is that ok?

Panda,

Linus cries when he wakes up prob because he can't go back to sleep on his own? I think the only way to resolve this is really to train him to sleep as much as you don't like doing it... maybe you can start with small steps... Is there room in your house to separate him into a room on his own? If can, let him sleep on his own, so that when he cries he doesn't disturb the other two. Then start by sleeping in the room with him, but when he cries, just reassure him without picking him up. If he still whines and cries, just go back to sleep and ignore him. So in a way, you are not picking him up but your presence is still there so he won't be afraid. Eventually he might stop whimpering and crying and fall back asleep. First few tries may take up to 1 hour but just persist.

I know we all discussed about being against sleep training but I feel that they are older now, and they know what we are doing... in fact, if we always give in and carry them, they know and will manipulate that. Don't abandon by leaving them alone in the room but just be there in the same room without carrying. Hopefully he will soon know you mean business.

Worth a try? Its also for their own good to develop good sleeping habits, cuz I read somewhere that if a baby has poor sleeping habits in the first 2-3 years, it will continue on until their teen years.... they will not outgrow it. Dunno how true is that.

Panda, if Linus sleeps in my room, think he will cry all night! My hubby will snore and me, light snore. Hehe. So when Gina is sleeping between us, we find that she turn n toss very very often. And eh eh alot. Not to mention sit n cries! Since I dismantled my bedframe and put a single mattress next to us, she is sleeping on her own. I don't even need to carry and pat her. When it's time to sleep, she will roll to her own mattress and sleep on her own. Usually takes abt 5-20mins to get to sleep. So now I sleep in d centre and hubby is away from her.

working wife, i tried before.. it din work in his cot. i tried again when he co sleep w me too.. the problem is he cry too long until he wakes up. after that become play time!! n he can play for the next 2-3 hours refuse to sleep... its an even worse nightmare leh......

we tried sleep training him too... as in let him fall asleep without us carrying ..just put on bed n pat. he keeps climbing up and walk ard to talk n play even though he is rubbing eyes n very tired. this can go on for 1-2 hours until he over tires himself.. and what happens when he is overtired is the rest of the night he will wake up n cry n cry..... its like a vicious cycle... i also dunno what to do....

if he has enuff naps and sleeps on time, the night generally is not as bad. of coz its still not sleep thru, but at least not every 1 hr or less wake up n cry type......

i tried many nights..to not pick him up when he cries..just sit beside him and talk to him...but the crying becomes hysterical screams, legs kicking and hands waving until he wakes up.. this is the extent of how bad it is.... haiz...

just faith, my hb when v tired also snores.. hahaa.. i will go pinch his nose! i told him if he wakes up linus he has to go n pat him..hahahaha...

Anyone can give me the dr name and contact no for pd at tmc or near novena?? Cos my elder having vomit and diahhrea..

Pandawife, if my hubby snore gets too irregular, I will use pillow and cover his face. If his snore got rythem, not so bad. Hehe.

From yr description, yr #2 sleeping pattern quite Jia lud leh. When he cries, does he open his eyes at all? Or keep tight tight?

Baby i think tmc no pd now only gp. United pd opens till 8 pm todAy but I dun have his # now. He is at 2nd floor

just faith, beginning is eyes closed.. but when it gets hysterical and he wakes up, then eyes open liao lor... haiz.. yeah he is quite jia lat one... been like this since he was 5 months old.

both PD and TCM doc says brainwave too active.. so even in his zzzz cannt rest properly thru the night.. will wake up "happening".. no choice.. both docs says will outgrow.. I stopped his TCM meds recently coz he refused to take it.. i hv to force feed 2x a day which i find a nightmare. and it also doesnt guarantee sleep thru nights.. some r ok, some are not....

Thanks gals... I go to their usual pd at sengkang.. Clinic close at 830pm... Rush from thomson to sengkang.. Now waiting for our turn... Elder too tired from all the vomiting.. Doze off in the car... Now still sleeping..

Wonder is it food posioning... Didnt eat anytin outside today.. Morning had a bowl of mango apple puree.. Suppose to share with sister but small girl refuse to eat so elder eat all... Hmm.. Maybe eat too much...

baby
it could be viral stomach flu.
my girls backup pd is at mt A. dr Chan kit yee from SBCC.
u can go to mt A a&e n request to page for her to see yr bb at the a&e. additional charges r not too bad n at least can follow up the following day as well

panda
my elder girl is like Linus. very light n restless sleeper. when she was abt 2 she started sleep talking even. it was so bad tat at one point when she was 3, I even wanted to send her for sleep study to see if she has any sleep disorder.
she only get better now sleeping quietly most of the night. but when she is very tired or over stimulated she will still sleep talk occasionally

grumpus, linus is already sleep talking now! faint... coz he is such a good parrot, he is learning new words everyday. and at night when he sleeps, he is mumbling and repeating what happens during the day.....:S

my bil works in a hospital in the states. i recently asked him if he could refer me to any sleep specialist there! he laughed at me! he says how to diagnose when Linus cannot speak or express himself yet...

grumpus, before i saw ur reply, i was just asking my hb if i did anything wrong w Linus, that he is so whiny, clinging and hv sleep problems! My mum kept telling me she has never seen a kid like Linus, n that everyone else have very guai babies.. how come mine so jia lat! haiz..

panda
min 3 to do sleep study. my elder only started talking at 20mths. before tat was all eh n ah. she might hv been 'talking' but I didn't realise till she was 2.
the sleep pd expert in sgp is dr Jenny tang.

my mum used to comment abt my elder girl also. tat last time we were not tat difficult etc etc. after my second girl born she for nothing to say Liao except tat kids nowadays r very different

baby
sorry my pd think close by 8pm or sthg. don't have emergency number also. sorry cant really help.
your turn to see doc already? hope your gal get well soon.

pandawife
my boy also used to keep waking up every 2hours, sometimes even every hour. it got better when he got older.
ya sometimes when he cry too much, he will become very wide awake, very hard to go back to sleep. so we always play cheat, we quickly give him a bit of milk (abt 90/120 ml)to calm him down and hopefully go back to sleep. this can be a bad habit but at least everyone can get some sleep.

Grumpus
Pd say most likely stomach flu... Say it might last for a week. And its highly contagious... Haiz... Means i got a terrible week ahead and my small girl might get it any time... Big headache!!

I asked my pd is it food posioning.. She say could be.. I asked is it she ate too much fruit puree in the morning cos everytin started after the morning breakfast... She say possible cos too much fibre liao...

Asked to stay off all fruits and vege for the next two days.. Only give carbo and meat. And also no milk... Give soy fm.. If reject then give usual fm dilute... Half the usual milk powder with the same amt of water...

My elder is quite a strong girl.. Everytime she sick she didnt really cry alot or whiny.. Even when she vomit she also didnt cry.. Will guai guai stand in the shower let me clean her up.. If its my small girl jialat... She will scream and scream..
Both have very different character...

baby
stomach flu is highly contagious yes. u yrself hv to be careful.
unlikely is too much fruit purée la. too much fruit purée maybe just upset stomach. won't vomit n diarrhoea so many times.

usually the vomiting n diarrhoea is only for abt a day. but the sick feeling n tendency to feel like vomiting will last up to a week. give porridge water or plain porridge first. yes n no milk n dairy. after 1-2 days if no more vomiting n diarrhoea then intro a bit of fish or meat into the porridge. vege n fruits much later. give bread or toast also can

make sure she's well hydrated. can give glucolin, which is glucose water as well as pedialyte to replace the body salts which they lose when vomit

can also give probiotics for the diarrhoea.

if she cannot stop vomiting until water also vomit pls
bring her straight back to dr, she may need drip. kids can go downhill very fast so better be more cautious

take care!

Panda,

Don't beat yourself up over it, I don't think its what you did or didn't do. Actually, all of us have our share of problems with our kids... if its not sleeping, then its feeding etc etc... Mums always say that they haven't seen such babies in their time. Sigh...

now when I look at my girl who is so fussy and always throw tantrum, I also ask myself... where did I go wrong? In the past, before I had kids, whenever I looked at those kids who throw tantrum roll around on the floor, I vowed that my kids will never be like that. But she is slowly turning into a terrifying toddler!

Perhaps you can try to do the sleep training again and this time, really just ignore him when he cries? For once, just see how it goes... if he is awake, then let him play or cry on his own until he feels tired and falls back asleep. But I know its easier said than done... especially after a long day, all you want to do is just sleep and ensure they sleep enough hours too. Hmm... tough.

Dr Jenny Tang used to be the twins pd in the first 2-3 months. She is the sleep doctor and I remember she told me that no choice, have to train our babies and try not to pick them up when they cry etc.

Baby,

I hope your girl will get well soon. Its tough to prevent the other one from getting sick... for me, always one will kena after the other one. Maybe your maid take care one and you take care one in separate rooms?

Btw, Panda... just wanted to say... I really enjoy looking at your photos and videos... your kids always look like they are having so much fun! and any mommy who gives her kids such happiness is a GREAT MOM!

Working wife, thanks! U just made my day!

I hv discussed the sleeping training w my pd too... He also doesn't agree shld let d kid cry until he stOp by himself. It's shld b transitional training. Step by step. If d cryig gets bad we shld pick up n try again. Thts what we hv been trying to do. He did tell me it will take a while. Of coz u r oso right at d end of d day we r all so tired. Simply just wanna drop dead on my bed n sleep!! It's really no easy feat keeping 3 active toddlers occupied during d day and having to wake up so many x at night..

Mommies, anybody is familiar with Tokyo ? Am leaving for business trip next wk. apart from akihabara & kiddy land at harajuku, are there any other mega toy stores or anything stuffs which is worth buying ?

My elder still keep having loose stools... Aldry stop all fruits and vege.. Even change her fm to soy formula...
She totally no appetite.. Lunch i cook rice millet porridge with chicken stock and minced chicken.. Refuse to even eat one mouth... In e end coax her to have nearly half a bowl...
But lucky she didnt vomit liao...
Just now tea break gave her some white bread....

Later dnr will try give her meesua soup.... Just like adult we will eat mee sua soup when sick... Hope will help her appetite..

Now v scare my small girl will kena... Aldry v shag in looking aft 1 sick tod... Haiz...

baby, hope ur girl recovers soon. its a good sign the vomitting has stopped.

like working wife i find it hard to separate them when one is unwell.. the recent fever episodes, i just let them continue play together.. no energy to try n keep them apart..

why dont u ask ur mum or mil come over help u these few days? its always gd to hv extra help when the kids r unwell.... otherwise if mummy not enuff rest also fall sick more jia lat..

just to share regarding the huggies sizes. my boys wore the XL out today. half way playin at toys r us, Linus diapers n pants fell off! hahaah.. too heavy n the size not fitting enuff.. all came off!! LOL...

took d kids out to vivo .. they ate lunch at Yoshinoya. Dinner I pack Don's chicken pie for them. No cooking day!!! yay!!! but its tiring carrier and run after them the whole afternoon!

Panda

Yup lucky no more vomiting... The previous throw out very terrible... Threw out so much... But she v brave.. Didnt cry...

I alao didnt bother to separate my girls... Very tough to separate them....

My hb aldry ask my mil to come over tml to help me out.. A extra pair of hands really a god send during this kind of times.. Else really very stressful...

I hvt try out the huggies diaper yet.. My last lack of pampers liao.. Any good promo for pampers now? Last offer is $32plus for 3 packs...

Yr trio like yoshinoya? What did u order for them? They like the chicken pie? I tried don pie before.. Didnt like it myself..

Dnr i cook mee sua in chicken soup... Add in beaten egg... Very simple dnr.. So simple till i abit ashamed.. Hehe
Headache what to cook for them tml...

Daylesford
I didn't really spend alot buying stuff, as electronic goods manuals are in jap, unless u can read jap else I find no point and need to think about warranty also. Its not that cheap also. I only bought some camera lenses, and a few stuff for my gal and nothing for my boy. Sanrio stuff is cheaper there as for jap clothing labels for kids, I find exp. Jap fashion for girls is cute and bright but for boys, I didn't quite like it at that time. I enjoyed kiddyland, its a one-stop shop for toys, but didn't buy anything from there as the kids are too young to play what I want to buy. If u have time, check out the Daiso there, its a huge 5-7 floors worth of 'rubbish'. But I did get a few pieces of stuff from there...haha. Most of my $$ spend on foodstuff.

Pandawife, didn't know XL is so big leh. My girl has been wearing pull up size L for a long time. She also tried the XL before (blue packing). But not so Jia lud until dropped leh. Imagine if Linus poo how? Will be so messy to clean him up. Hahaha.

Just faith, i heard tht the cutting for this ultra pants is bigger... haha.. thank goodness my kids seldom poo outside these days. Linus only poo in the highchair at home. eat n poo.. The other two poo every morning before breakfast.

baby, my trio likes yoshinoya for simple reason, they like to eat rice alot recently. i ordered the salmon and teriyaki chicken combo. they ate half of the rice and the entire piece of salmon w some veg. i ate the chicken half.
the don pie i bought the kids one. my two younger ones liked the fillings. my eldest only wanna eat the crust! faint...

hope u hv some rest w mil's help today....

today linus woke up at 9am! first time sleep so late. n he went for his first nap of the day after lunch at 1245. think today will b his first one nap day.

the other two woke up 6 and 630am. now just KO. their naps now not d same headache for me..

grumpus, when did ur older girl get less clingy huh???

i find that Linus is becoming more n more clingy! i kept thinking he will b less so when he is older but its not happening.

now it is affecting Lucas so much that I think its unhealthy. but i hv no solution...

Bubbly, thanks for ur inputs. Guess i wont buy much as i m paraniod about the radiation there too. I already "Siam" 2 trips earlier of the month. This trip no choice gotta go. With news flying around that going to jp affects fertility etc, s I m intending to attempt FET again n going to ask my gynea if it's really ok to go. Btw , where's the 5-7 storey of "rubbish" store you went ? I was at the harajuku branch. Alamak I left the store within 5mins.

Got the bug from my elder... Mummy vomitted too...
Now my whole family down with stomach flu.. Me, hubby and the two girls... Brought my girls to kkh yday when my elder keep having loose stools.. My small girl vomitted a few times.. Now having fever...

Baby, take good care. Mayb get both ur mum n mil to come? Luckily ur maid is ok? Try to rest as n when you can n let ur maid do light cooking.

Panda, ya my mil came over to help out...
Im also very tired... Sleepy whole day.. Just had a nap..

My small girl sleeps the whole day leh.. Since morning she wake up less than half hr wana sleep again... Just now wake up from 2 hrs nap... Wana sleep again in less than 20mins..
Wonder is it a concern not..

My elder still v active.. Thou still having loose stools she is not cranky or tired.. Still play and laugh as normal.. But no appetite... Only eat bread and drink water...

baby
take care and get as much rest as u can while your mil is around to help.

is the medicine drowsy? maybe u call the doc to double check if it a concern.

Daylesford
Don't worry too much about the radiation there, I don't think it's that bad, I have friends who went there for holidays with their kids and they are fine. The daiso store I went is at harajuku, pack to the brim, first impression don't feel like browsing, but the upper floors have kiddy stuff like toys, stationery, assessories etc etc. I don't remember exactly how many floors, just too many things there. So u will hit cherry blossom festival, nice !

Baby
Take care, u need a good rest yourself.

Gan
Elder seems to get better... No of loose stools getting lesser..
But my small girl getting worst... Its a phase she got to pass thru...
Really very stressful and tiring to take care of two sick kids esp when mummy is not feeling too well too...

Need to let out some air here..

My hb busy with these few days so mil came over to help out.. But mil not a very good help.. So means alot of time i got to handle them myself with a attitude maid... Going crazy..
Im just like a crazy mummy who shouts at my kids and smack them... Feels damm lousy now.

baby, hugs! i know its not easy. The last time my trio was sick together i nearly went bonkers too.. whole night cant zzz tc of them, day time continue, feeding meds, track the timing etc.. very stressful and tiring.

Things will get better once the girls are well. Eldery usually abit blur. Have to be very specific what we need their help with and how to do it.

Your maid giving you attitude at this time???

Panda
Thanks gal... I bet u understand what im going thru now...

Whole day stressing... Worried they are not getting enough fluids.. Not eating... Busy cleaning their poo poo... Their vomits... Pacifying crying toddlers... Feeding them meds.. The list goes on and on... If my hb is around it will be alot better but too bad he is tied up at work... This wkend also need to work.. So its a bad timing...

I really must try to relax more... Else can go mental institution anytime soon... Lol...

Ya lah.. My this maid no initiative.. See both my girls so cranky still continue to hide inside the kitchen.. I scream at her to come out and help me.. Alrdy told her before she must take care of the girls.. No hsewk... Only do when they are napping... After that show me black face... Take care my girls like a robot.. No interaction.. No talking from her... Make my blood boil...