IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

happyhippo
I brush #2 teeth b4 sleep after his milk, he allows me to, sometimes will attempt to push the toothbrush out so got to be quick. Maybe u can try not to feed milk in the bedroom, so that he will not be too comfortable having milk and will be awake. Show him when u brush your teeth, hopefully he will want to copy and let u brush his teeth. But take your time, eventually, u will be able to make it a routine.

Baby,

My boy can say quite a few words but my girl is a slow one... actually its ok lah. Their development will differ give and take a few months. My girl actually started walking first at a little after 11 months. In talking, she is a one real chatterbox, buts it all babble. She always walk up to strangers when we're outside, and start using her hands to gesture and start talking non stop (ie. babbling). Real words, maybe 2-3 words only so far, and not consistently used too. Like Grumpus said, as long as they can understand and can express themselves in other ways, then its ok... sooner or later they will catch up.

Happyhippo,

I started brushing their teeth with those children real toothbrush since 3-4 months back. They will bite on the toothbrush and use their tongue to push out sometimes, so need to find way to quickly brush their teeth. I brush their teeth after evening bath, just before night milk and bed. I know should brush after milk, but they also go right to sleep after milk so for now, I do it this way... at least clean their mouth of the lunch, snacks, dinner food they ate.

Panda,

Regarding the spices, haha... I bought all these spices but don't really use frequently! here is a useful site which suggests the pairing of spices with the different foods.

http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/tipspices.htm

I normally use the fresh herbs like basil, thyme, oregano when making pasta sauce or pies, and the ginger powder, cumin for marinating fish or meat when baking. Cinnamon I haven't really used but can pair with cereal or dessert. You have so much more opportunities since you prepare all your meals... I will need to learn from you soon!

Grumpus,

My girl has been down with cold and cough these few days. Nose blocked and need to breathe thru mouth. Doc said also throat red so prob sore throat as well. Sigh.... she is not interested in food at all. Only drink milk but less intake cuz hard to drink and breathe thru mouth.

What to do when bb sick like that huh? I continue to try and offer bf, lunch and dinner (watery cereal, watery plain porridge, yoghurt), but she refuse... only take few spoons. Only thing she doesn't reject is cheese.

Little Miss Mini is alreay so skinny... everytime she falls sick, her weight goes down again... Sigh....

Anyone wants a can of Nan H.A 2 400gm? Expiry is July 2013. Received the sample but my child is still being breastfed. So dont need it and want to give away or else it will be wasted.

working wife
I dunno if u can get olbas oil. it is AMAZING! I drip a little on aly's clothes before milk n it clears up her nose so she can at least drink properly.
I drip before naps n sleep too so they sleep better n recover faster.

other than tat try soupy stuff or basically just let them eat anything they will eat lor. it's tough I know.

panda
yes!! any guardian etc. it's a blend of essential oils. I find more effective than Vicks. not ex too. can use few times a day.

ever since I discovered it I use it regularly when aly has runny/blocked nose. I find it helps to dry up the mucus in the nose n help them sleep better. when they sleep better they recover faster

working wife
see if u can find either olbas oil or karvol oil. I didn't try karvol cos I tried olbas first n it works for me but karvol works pretty much the same

baby, how was ur steam meat patties lunch that day? ur girls liked it?

i did a chicken pie for lunch today. dinner was fried rice.

my recent food attempts
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150294692097070.358715.537157069&type=1&l=091c908703

gan, i read that when terrible 2 starts, the toddler wanna do everything opposite of what u want. coz its their way of asserting their views and this usually starts before they turn 2.

linus is such a terror these days..even putting on a tee for him becomes a screaming contest coz he refuse to wear after i bodywipe him... sleep is another major problem. at night when my hb is home, he REFUSED to sleep.. play play n play! we wanna pat him sleep he kept saying no...

today i took my trio to the library. when its time to go home, again he refused. i had to bribe him w yogurt melts. he held the snack container n told me "open??".. after giving him one, he went "one more"... faint..

Gan, my girl fav phrase is "Mei you" and "no more ready" (means no more already). Ask her "ai mai". She will say "mai". She likes to quarrel with my maid. My maid's knowledge of Chinese words is quite limited but good enough to communicate with my girl. Really funny sometimes. My maid is the only one at home that gives in to her in everything.

Panda
The steamed pork good.... Both finished...
Will try new foods regularly... But sometimes not much idea..

Today dnr brown rice porridge with steamed threadfin.. Stir fry french beans, mushroom and potato. All finished too...

Cant really make the food in yr pic leh... But all look so feng fu!
I saw the food portion in the ikea plate... Yr trio can finished all up??

How u make the chicken pie?

yeah..they can finish the foods..

Chicken: minced or cubes, marinate w mixed herbs, and black pepper.
Veg: I used broccoli, grated carrots and Swiss mushroom. Cook separately w some unsalted butter.
Mix both the chicken n veg w some creamy cheese sauce. Put into baking tray.
Separately steam potato and pumpkin. Mashed and put on top of the Veg n chicken. Lastly sprinkle some mozzarella cheese and baked for 12-15mins.

Panda
I think i saw wrongly.. The ikea plate in yr pic is not the big flat ikea plate but the 3pc ikea bowl... I tot yr trio can finish a full ikea plate of food each... Heee...

Hmm.. The chicken pie sound easy to make... So the chicken no to cook first right? Mix the cooked vege with raw chicken and bake? Can i use tomato pasta sauce rather than creamy cheese sauce?

Can teach me how to make baked rice?

Skies I have not receive the redemption letter yet!

Panda I have to spend at least an hour each day to put her to bed....sometimes pat till I want to fall asleep. Sometimes, no choice I threaten I will ask my maid to pat her instead of me, she will bu Yao and quickly lie down to sleep but after 1 min starts to play again.=s

Grumpus / happy the legs kicking n screaming sounds familaR...my gal does that at home when I woke her and change her diapers in the morning ...haiz, kick her legs and cry and flip here and there so that I can't remove the diaper

Just faith, ur gal so smart can understand Hokkien!

Latest update. Redemption letters will b sent out next week n redemption date is end May.

My girl having fever. Looks like another round of viral fever. 930 temp 37.6. Gav her Panadol. 111pm temp went up to 38.9. Gav her nurofen n she just fell asleep. Its going to b sleepless night for me again.

Baby, I giv u the baked rice recipe another day. Remind me again ok? I think u asked me smthing else earlier, but now I can't remember what I haven't answered u.

Gan, think she will pick up malay words soon!

I used to pat my girl for an hour. But lately, I let her skip her afternoon nap. So she will sleep at 7pm+ daily and woke up around 6am. Hehe.

Panda
No problem! No rush!
I can feel yr sentiments mann.... Todd sick is a nightmare to all parents! Hope yr girl fever will go away soon!

Gan
Same as just faith... Dropping afternoon nap will make bedtime at night a breeze! Usually by bedtime they are too tired to protest... My girls still sleep ard 9pm without the afternoon nap..

Panda,

So sorry to hear about Char... hope she recovers soon! Sick kids are the hardest... really takes its toll.

Linus is really like a parrot... he is good at picking up words!!
I guess cuz he is really a smart one that he has trouble sleeping at night, cuz he is learning so many new things in a day!

Gan,

Is your girl on one nap during the day now? My kids on one nap too at around 12-2.30pm. Then they will go to sleep around 7.30-8.30pm, wake up at 7.00-8.00am. It might take some time to get into that pattern, but if you continue to keep the same routine everyday, she should get used to it after maybe a week?

Got a ques to ask you working mummies... any of your kids still eating porridge mainly? The SAHMs like Panda, Grumpus, Baby are feeding such delicious variety of food everyday, but my kids still pretty much eating porridge for lunch n dinner. During the week cuz my mom takes care of them, she only know how to prepare this type of food. Its either porridge or rice with ABC soup, pork rib soup. Very traditional chinese household. She will say last time I grew up eating porridge everyday etc etc... Weekend I try to whip up different things like pasta, pies, ang moh soup etc but if we're going out or hard pressed for time, I also resort to porridge.

My kids have not rejected yet but I'm afraid that they will soon, or that they will be so used to porridge that they don't wanna try other things.

Any mommies with older kids who also let their kids eat porridge everday and now the kids are older, they are ok with different food?

Another thing is I still chop up the food and throw it in the porridge. So all their food is bite sized. I tried to feed them bigger chunk foods or let them bite the meat off a meatball or off the bone, they don't like... either spit out or keep in the mouth. As for self feed... they will either throw the food on the floor or crush it to pieces in their hands. I'm hoping they will be more receptive once their molars come in and they can chew properly. Please let me know if this is the case... can't help getting worried on how I can transition them to more adult foods (especially since my mom won't do it during weekdays). Any advice?

baby, is yr girl's dropping afternoon nap too? Aiyo. Thought only my girl is doing that. Lol.

Pandawife, haha! Must be very funny. Actually, I quite mean leh. I don't let my maid use malay word and banned from teaching her. My girl actually can say 1 to 9. But ever since my maid played number games with her, she only say even numbers. Eg. I say 1, she say 2, I say 3, she say 4. Haiz.

Just faith
Both my girls alrdy drop afternoon nap quite long ago... They only nap in the morning ard 11am to near 1pm... Then wake up for lunch.. Then play time till 5pm for dnr and 9pm bedtime...

Yr girl so smart! Can say 1-9.... So envy leh....
My girls soooooo slow in talking...

Working wife
U too qua qiang me liao lah... I too always cook porridge for my girls... Just different variations... One pot porridge or serve with stir fry dish... Or fried rice... Or noodle soup... I dont give pasta at home... Only let them eat when we dine outside.... I prefer them to eat chinese food.. Easier next time when they eat with us at home.. Cos we seldom cook pasta or western food at home...
Dont feel guilty ya... U are working mum... We are sahm.. Different la... Hehe...

Working wife, I must admit I am one of those mummies that feed porridge to my girl everyday. Sometimes I am late in steaming the porridge, I will give her marcoroni. So far, I tried to give her outside food. She will try all sorta food and hardly rejects. I am a traditional Chinese who enjoys making soup for hubby. I m not into Ang-moh food. For her porridge, I will steam the food separately. Like steam meat, cod fish, vegetables etc. I don't think there's anything wrong in giving porridge everyday. I have never toast or bake food for her.

Oh btw forgot to mention... my kids are in the phase that they want to self feed. Keep trying to grab the spoon out of my hands, try to scoop the food themselves. And they always want to use their hands... its just that they are not good at eating themselves yet!!

If I leave it to them, they will hardly eat anything! How do you manage this?

Thanks Baby and Just faith,

Good to know my kids not the only ones eating porridge everyday. hehe...

Do your kids start to self feed already? Porridge, rice, noodles a little hard for that leh.. when I see those ang moh kids self feeding nuggets, vegetables etc... I feel like they are so advanced! But I guess diff kids diff upbringing.. not right or wrong. Eventually they will all learn to eat the same way.. its just sooner or later.

When I went to Aussie and saw my cousin's kid, he is just slightly above 2 and can eat the whole apple on his own (just give the whole apple with skin and he will bite into it and keep eating until finished!) And he eats spaghetti and noodles like adults. He use his hands and put in his mouth. No need to cut... just eat like that. I feel like a world of diff with my kids!

baby, no need to be envy. My girl likes "Charlie and the numbers" from baby tv. So I always sing along with her. Act clown n dance. I give her alot of attention compared to spending time in the kitchen.

Working wife, my girl is also in self feeding phase. But how to self feed for porridge? If I give her the spoon, haha, I bet any food will go inside her mouth. I will not let her waste porridge. I usually cut fruits into bite size so that she can use fork and self feed. She loves fruits so much that she hardly misses any. How about you focus on training yr kids to keep their toys, throw their used diapers into rubbish bin, put soiled clothes into laundry basket etc. I repeat these to my girl everyday. When we are at my mum's or sis's place over weekends, she will do the same thing too.

Working wife, my gal takes porridge everyday. I m guilty that I dun whip up different food during weekends... Coz time is just so short, to cook, to bring her out, to put her in bed etc... I only cooked the stock and make broccoli puree Coz she doesn't eat broccoli whole. My gal doesn't really self feed. She only will feed herself with a fork when we pass her the fruit on the fork or self feed fruits like strawberry, apple or bread. She can't drink from a cup yet

working wife
does ur mum cook for the rest of the family? ie u hb n herself? if she does then u can slowly transition yr kids to those foods u eat daily. it doesn't hv to be exciting stuff like pies pasta n baked rice. my younger girl prefers Chinese food so nowadays I'm cooking more Chinese which I myself prefer too.
i cut up the food into bite sized pieces too even for my elder girl. usually I'll cook for the whole family regular adult Chinese food. n I just pick vege meat etc out n use scissors to cut them up n serve with rice for the kids. I dun cook separately for them

if yr mum does cook for the family, u could ask her to set aside some food for the kids before she seasons the food. eg if there's steam fish she can steam a portion for them too with ginger wolf berries etc minus the soya sauce. or if she's stir frying vege just dish out some before she adds the soya sauce. or soup, she can set aside a bowl for them before adding salt. it'll prob make her work easier too

as for self feeding my girl gets a bowl n spoon of her own at every meal. I put a little meat or rice in her bowl for her to self feed whether with hands or with the spoon n i still feed her the rest of her proper meal. for yr kids to learn to self feed u cannot be afraid of the mess. u hv to let them play with food.
of cos i still feed too cos I'm worried abt how
much she eats. but occasionally when I'm lazy I make finger food like sandwiches or fries n patties n let her self feed the whole meal

Whats for dnr today?

Share with me so i can have more ideas... Hehe..

Im doing fried rice... Pumpkin, french beans, mushroom and egg fried rice serve with old cucumber soup..

Baby, I m giving simple dinner. Rice w quinoa. Steam egg w chicken, pumpkin n choy sim.

Lunch was sweet potato rice, cheesy salmon w peas.

Working wife, most of my frens w kids ard the same age are eating porridge! I hv a set of Ang MOHs who just dislikes porridge or any clear soupy foods! So makes its v difficult to cook... But anything w cheese or pasta sauces they eat. So most days I send up w Ang moh foods ;(

Panda wife where do u buY ur smiley face stickers? My gal is n a sticker phase now, she peels off those labels on fruits and stick them on her hands!

Gan, the smily face on I got from amazon. Recently I stocked up a lot stickers from pasar malam. V nice ones one big piece $1! Got different themes, fishes, fruits, alphabets. K play n learn. My trio everyday sticking them all over me. Lol

kindermusik at tanglin mall has free trial for 1 wk from 30apr till 6may. limited seated for different days of the wk. sat is fully booked though. quickly call them to book if you are keen. 64671789

Gan, the wkend classes all full! The studio manager put my trio in the children class on Tue 1230. The babies class also all full.. so trio joining the class for 18months - 3yo.. she says since they are walking n running ..no problem to mix the older kids..

Doing fried rice again for dnr today..

Diced chicken, french beans, zucchini, carrot fried rice. Serve with abc soup...

Where u bring yr ones during wkends?
Getting boring... Dont knw where to bring them to...

Baby, We dont make exciting trips out every wkend. smtimes we just explore the different playgrounds within the neighbourhood. bring our own balls, and also play bubbles there.. the kids r happy to just run ard...

today i tried a new recipe. steam red snapper w tomato, peas, mushroom and a slice of ginger.. serve w quinao rice..

today went to the toys r us sales at united square. bought some toys n pjs for the kids there.. tmr planning to go paragon check out the little playground there, and also do some marketing at the supermarket.

Any good buy at toy r us?? I am
Going down after work.... Actually I find my gal dun really play with the toys I bot leh.. She only interested in kicking balls or just walk around the house touching anything on the shelf

panda
my friend claims the playground at paragon very dirty cos a lot of sick kids waiting to see pd go there n play.
n now there's hfmd epidemic.

but anyway I also always bring my girls there

grumpus, really ah? hmmmm.. u still bring ur girls there now?? hahah. u make me wanna tink twice about going there..

anyother nice playgrounds in town huh??

panda
these few weeks didn't bring them there. my elder girls kindy on voluntary closure due to hfmd. my gf's kids kindy also voluntary closure. We're staying away from indoor playgrounds.

maybe try the one at botanic gardens? tat one is outdoor n will get hot in the afternoon. but I love it cos the tables r near enough for me to sit n eat n chill while the girls play by themselves. the playground is small enough for them to manage on their own too.

Panda
I went to united sq yday but the sales section not open yet.. Still packing... Sigh.. Missed it...
Bot some toys at the main store... Puzzle game, stacking "donuts" and shapes box...

Those playground u bring yr trio there is those with sand ground is it?

Hows the red snapper with yr trio?
My dnr is good... All finished... Both love the fried rice and soup... Just now went ntuc marketing with them... Stock up lots of food... Bot yellow bell pepper to try it with fried rice..

Give me yr fb link leh.. I also wana see yr loot..

Gan
My slot is friday 1030am

Pandawife, ur slot is earliest, update us how it go

Grumpus
Oppss paragon playground dirty? I go there whenever im in town. I always see angmoh kids with maids or japanese families.
Botanics- u referring to jacobs ballas or the one at food forthoughts?

happyhippo
that's wat my friend say la. cos paragon a lot of pd clinics. many of the kids r there to see dr mean they r sick. but while waiting for their turn go there n play so dirty place lor

I'm referring to food for thought
my new fac hang out

Grumpus, char just recovered from fever. Do u know when is d earliest I k bring her for her vaccination? And in betw jabs what is the minImum gap huh? Thks!! Can't get thru my pd "hotline"..

Happy hippo, sure! I m going w Nancy's twin boys. Shld b fun. Everytime we get together always a lot of fun..

panda
wait at least 5 days to a week bah
which jabs? if mmr, it's 3 mths in between the 2 jabs. if different jabs abt a mth shd be ok

Pandawife,
My boy just saw pd yesterday for cough and phlegm. Was told recover, wait 2 weeks then vaccine.

My boy always kena phlegm, lungs cogested. Any idea how to condition him to have less phlegm? Is it certain body parts weak? Shd go tcm?