IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi hui, i am planning to take tmc antenatal class also but haven't not checked around on pricing and stuff.. maybe i will join you

i shall start calling the hospitals today and see wats in store

LY,
icic... i hv to check with my gynae/nurse on things to bring then.... tt's wat i tink so too to let bb latch on. hopefully our babies will latch on lah... hehe. wat brand of FM u bought?

hui,
i did Oscar test. wat do u need to know?

didi,
Mine is in NUH. I am not sure for KKH. But now they promoting BF, so u will need to check with the hospital.

Rae,
i got enfaclac to standby. Some friends recommend me not to feed FM cos bb can go w/o food for 3 days, so by that time, hopefully, milk supply will come in. But I feel very hard pain to see bb going w/o milk leh...so see how first.

Mooch,
i can give you the price now
, i book le..
i book Mrs Wong classes ( heard she very good )
the price is for 6 lessons. Weekday classes : $168 (if u deliver in tmc), $189 ( if u deliver in other hospiatl. Weekend classes: $189 ( if you deliver in tmc), $210 (if you deliver in other hospital).. i see their lesson quite good...u can visit www.thomsonmedical.com/Antenatal.htm
if you apply tmc FRIST BORN INCENTIVE" card got 10% discount.. Mrs Wong classes is fully book on January so i start o March

didi,

I heard that Avent milk bottles aint so good. Cos the 'cap or tilt' cannot fit into some other brands. i havent started buying so cant verify

LY,

i drop u a private message. but i dont know how to access(cant access) the private message here. But I left u my email address

Stumbled by,
thatday my colleague show me the website of Avent milk bottle.. they say Avent bottle is good cause it wouldn't provide many "wind" for bb..

hui

no wonder the tilts(spell?) is 'special', ie other milk bottle brands' tilts are all interchangeable with each other, but not compatible with Avent.

Hmmm...I got other brand milk bottles from frens. Should I believe the website ?

stumbled by,
my colleague using the Avent on her 1st bb.. she say is good n the "tlits" ( also duno how to spell) or rather say the head is make like out breast shape so bb suck like sucking breast

that's wat i knw

LY,
icic... well at least the FM is on standby
bb can go w/o food for 3days??

hui,
my colleagues oso said Mrs Wong's lessons very good & funny. if not wrong, there's a program on Mon nite & Mrs Wong was featured
but i did not attend the antenatal classes cos ah lau said no need :p

as for the Oscar test, it's a test for DS (Down Sydrome). u need this test meh??? during the scan, it's to measure bb's neck & some other areas and blood test.

mooch,
Pigeon is the one where u can place other brands of milk bottles to sterilise as there's no individual compartment for each bottles

oh ok.. thanks rae, woud that be the Pigeon rapid steam sterilzer or something? cos i plan to buy avent bottles, i like the wide bottle look
and dunno can fit or not leh..

any idea of breast pump to get? i have twins, so thinking of getting the electric type, faster than manual pump right..

Stumbled By, thanks for telling me about Avent bottles but I have read that the 'teats' is also anti-colic too :9 have you bought any ? me still considering....

mooch,
I heard that avent products go with avent brands only....better check with those who have used it and the sales person. For me i didnt by anythng avent tho i like it very much. Pigeon also has wide necked bottles, the latest ones. I bought 6 pigeon and 2 nuk (nuk soo cute leh)

about the breast pump, i heard both medella and avent are good. For those with twins some mummies were recommending medela PIS which is abt 600+ i guess.

hui/didi,

but my fren said her hospital(TMC) recommend NUK cos its like mother's breast..so i guess each competitor trying to 'out do' , 'out say' each other ?

Mooch,
i take up weekday class...

Rae,
ya, mon nite feature abt Mrs Wong classes

i'm not taking the Oscar scan..my SIL did it just curious wat issit.

Stumbled by,
i think so.. now market very competivie ( sori if i spell wrongly). me still thinking wat breast pump to buy..manual or electric?

hui,
u got any friend or relative that can lend u the pump for time being?
Cos, some people bought already & hardly used, end up wasting money...Some said manual is good while some said no good, very pain & hand tiring...
So if u can borrow from people to try out first b4 u buy is also good.
Anyway, u will only need the pump when u want to stored your milk after u start working.
During confinement , u can just latch on bb....
After that u still got to time search for a pump which u like. But for the 3 months, maybe can just borrow lah....
Bet, i also got the pigeon wide neck milk bottle. 2 small & 1 big.

LY,

i'm thinking of manual cause not so cosy...but hubby say electric better and also can keep.. that's y me till now still duno which one to get..but still long way for me the consider

mooch,
yes, it's Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterilizer
nt too sure abt breast pumps.... dunno to get it now or later
.... i bgt Nuk teats cos my sis milk bottles r Nuk brand but bgt 2 packs only, in case bb din like the texture & curves of the teats...kekekeke, got to change

hui,
icic....
heard electric faster. if use manual, hands very tiring
but individual

Hui,
My friend will be passing me the Madela electric pump to try 1st before deciding to get it from her. She find that manual one is better as she can control the pump. That's depend on individual. Some say electric one very noisy, some say they use manual one then got milk.

Hi Mooch,
I read the thread on antenatal class at Mount A, some commented it's good. You will deliver at Mt A, me too. Think will take up the course in March. When u signing for the course??

Twins mom,
You are now week 32, wow that is fast. How u feeling now, excited, seeing your twins in another two months.

Didi,
How are you, how many weeks are you now??

Jolene,
i m fine, only a little excited at this point cos praying hard to keep them inside until 37th week. Not 2 months doct had said probably early feb if all goes well
How are u, how many weeks are u now? Are u working?

Hi lo, Jolene, so happy that you still remember me
ok, I am fine and I am at 24 weeks. You are not with KKH, right ? which gynae are you seeing ? Take Care

Twinsmom,
Tat is fast. I will pray for you. I am ok. Now in my 18th weeks. Going for my detail scan next week and also to check if can see gender. Last appointment can't see it. Yes, I am working.

Didi,
Hmm, how could I forget you.... ha. Yes formally with Dr Loh, now have switch to private at Mt A. You too have to take care, yours twin boys right. They must be very active kicking. Have not feel bb's amazing kick yet leh.

Jolene, it is still early for you to feel bb's movement, I started to feel their movements at the begining of 19 weeks

dear sisters,

do u intend to cut your hair short during confinement ? I know nowadays most people will wash hair, maybe not as often as when pregnant, but at least will blow dry their hair after washing..

Any comments ? Some said it is good to have hair longer than shoulder length so that we can tie back to a pony tail during confinement so it is 'cooler', but some said short is still the best so its less fussy when u wash your hair..

hi jolene,
wat kind of hair treatment??

hi stumbled_by,
am gg to hv hair trim instead as advised by my hair stylist cos he said our hair will drop a lot at later stage so better dun cut too much.
oso short/long enough to tie up during breastfeeding
will b gg for the hair cut on 26 Jan :p

Rae,

hair will drop during confinement ? So by then your hair is longer than shoulder length but not too long lar..I wonder if I should wear 'shower cap'(or something similar like in operating theatre) at labour, if not, my tie-up hair(pony tail) may loosen from all the lying down and struggling...

watch the channel 8 program..but they didnt dramatise it. Pain seems quite okay for the mother. Although she still seems to be in pain after taking the epidural. Wow, the epidural syringe is really thick, but aiya...as long as can relief pain its okay..

I wonder will they always cover the tigh/private part with cloth ? Or because it appears on TV ? The gynea only appears the very very last minute...Seems vacuum is common for epidural cases.

Rae,
I watched the program yesterday night...after that felt so excited...wonder when is my turn...

Stumbled by,
I already cut my hair short, cos i prefer to wash & blow dry short hair, is easier for me... Depends on individual preferences...

Rae n Catherine,
am also worried manual hand will tiring..
well.. will go see see look look

Jolene,
i already done the hair treatment

so far so good..no side effect..

stumbled by,
long hair better can tie up.. now confinment u can go to medical hall and buy the "herbs" for bathing during confinement.but cant be too often..

Rae,
i watch the show yest.. but i miss the first fee portion coz fall aslp by the time i wake up they doing the injection of epidural..

stumbled_by,
dun tnk hair will drop during confinement but few mths after tt
tt's y i dun wan cut too short... bt then may start new job, a bit ugly

ya, the syringe is thick
643625.gif
ya, gynae only appears last min &amp; take out bb in <5mins :p seems like the midwife stayed lagi longer.... kekekeke

LY,
it will be ur turn soon...
can't wait arh... :p

hui,
will borrow or buy breast pump at a later stage cos dunno if i will need it :p u better take care... doc ct prescribe too strong med for preggie women so recovery will be slower...

Me writing this very rush.
I am admitting hospital this afternoon at 3pm. Cos my water level is below 5 when i went for cheeckup this morning. Will be induce today.
I am abt to leave home now.

Stumbled by,
Sorry, cannot reply her message, but i think is ok for 4-bedder, thou we din really step in to see...only mamnaged to view the 1 bedder.
Most properly, i will delivered by tonight or tmr liao...
Will catch up with u soon...will sms u de...bye...

Hi Rae,
It's to prevent dryness, to have more moisture. Now my hair is really dry and messy. Din dare to do the treatment although my stylist assure me it's alright. Gynae also told me it's ok. Think should be ok, will do it during my next visit.

The channel 8 show is very interesting. My hubby see the blood on babies so scare. Ha told him he has to learn. Seems like if on epidural really have no strength to push. Wonder if i can go without it???? Still a long way to go.

Rae &amp; Stumble by, both of you are next right? When is your due date?

Hui,
Are you feeling better now?? Take care and dun go to crowded place.

LY,
Have a smooth delivery.

hehehe, hui,
like u, i have sort of cut dwn on calcium &amp; iron tablets.. but last check up, i did a haemagoblin test &amp; the level was only 11.1 compared to 12.6 during my wk20. according to the nurse, it's no gd so hv to continue the iron tablets

LY,
take care &amp; hv a smooth delivery &amp; happy motherhood

Jolene,
oh those hair treatment, it's ok. i oso did it, not once but twice :p

yup, am next.....EDD is 16 Feb'07... but who knows twinmoms mayb next as she has twins? :p

last check up shown that my bb was slightly squeezed, mayb not enough space in my womb :p then my gynae said looks like me.... hahaha... we wonder hw she can see based on those b/w images... :p

Mummy's weight: 64.6kg
Baby's weight: 2.6kg
Weight gain for past 4weeks: 1.2kg
EDD: 16 Feb'07
34weeks

Rae,
yep yep, think i will be giving birth before u...my doc has said it will be c-section most probably and he may schedule it somewhere around 37th week. But still hor, the danger of preterm labour is very real with twins...so cant say exactly when loh.

Hey ur baby's weight is very good...my babies are only around 1.8kg each during last week, well for twins think this is ok.

<font color="119911">mummy's weight: 62 kg
Babies' weight: 1.8kg each
33 weeks</font>

Jolene,
my hair was dry till i aslo can't tahan n do treatment..now is much better
, now still having blocked nose but sore throat recover liao.thanks

Rae,
hoping to knw my bb weight also.. haven been eating alot but weight remain at 64kg..no changes at all..i havent cut doen my calcium tablets yet..still eating..now every morning is calcium,folic,obimin n DHA..4 tablets..all big except the folic is small

I missed the show on Mon .. sigh .. wanted to see the delivery part.. wonder if they will replay in the afternoon .. I can work from home to watch it

Jolene,

Rae and twinsmom are next, not me. I have two more months to go!

U having singleton or twins ? Sorry, cant remember :p if singleton yalor, most likely we will be having natural delivery. i also agree epidural seems harder to push, hence vacuum seems common. Shown on the program too, plus what my frens told me..

twinsmon,
u hv 4weeks more to go then. hv u pack the stuff yet?
tink cos mine is singleton, tt's y

take care, hui.... my gynae said i dun need any tablets except iron...

dz,
hw many weeks r u now cos any travelling overseas may nt b safe cos it's nt home after all....
check with ur gynae