IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

rae,
nope havent pack the bag yet, but have already bought all the stuffs to pack. everything is just lying aroung the bag not inside the bag :p how abt u have u packed?

LY has given birth yesterday evening at NUH. The baby's weight is 2.95Kg. Natural delivery with epidural. She was induced since morning (not very sure when was the actual starting time) Both mother and child are fine.

She actually sms'ed me less than 2 hours after her delivery. So I guess she must be quite okay already.

Rae,
thanks.. am getting better now

Stumbled by,
pls send my regards to LY

twinsmom,
i had roughly made a list to bring to hosp but there are a few stuff which i need to buy. such as:
1)Cotton disposable panties
2)Maternity sanitary napkins
3)Cotton wool/balls
anything i hv missed out cos whatever hops provided, once u finished using, hosp will charge
i had placed a set of bb clothing for the discharge

stumbled_by,
thanks for the updates
glad tt both mum & bb are doing fine
send my wishes to LY
she can bring her bb for CNY visiting liao

Hi Rae, May I know where can we get the maternity sanitary napkins ? as I think I couldn't find them at NTUC ?

didi,
i saw Watsons selling Kotex maternity pads. if nt wrong, it's 20pads/pack, ct recall the price thou. Guardian shld hv it too...
my friend told me kiddy palace oso selling but other brands
u can check out thess places...

congrats to LY on the arrival of her bundle of joy

rae,
I have got the following items to pack

maternity sanitary napkins
disposable panties
small towel
comb
cardigan
2 set of baby clothings (sleep suit, mittens, booties and blankies)
socks for myself (heard the delivery suit is very cold)
bedroom slippers
camera
hmmm...cant remember what else :p

didi,
i bought the pureen brand at kkh

besttwins,

i heard u need a sweater for hubby too....

rae,hui,besttwins etc :
i will send your regards to LY. If she isn't discharged too early tomorrow, i may have the chance to visit her! Cos I have antenatal class tomorrow. So exciting, seeing a forum fren for first time..

twinsmom,
phone & chargers (in case both phones & camera low batt), a set of clothes for urself when discharge, toothpaste/toothbrush, front buttons nighties, both urself & hubby ICs... tink shld b it...

thanks stumbled_by

didi,
my friend bgt her kotex maternity loop pads from NTUC leh. so u may want to go other branches

Rae / Twins mom,
Wow, time really flies fast, in another one month baby will pop out liao. Both of u must be really excited now.

Rae, which hospital will u deliver? In total how much weight gain is consider normal?

Stumble by,
I am having singleton. So most probably will be natural birth.
If you see LY, please send my regards to her.

Do you take any tonic during your 2nd trimester?? Currently only took tonic given by sinseh once a month plus bird nest. So what else should I take??

Rae and Hui, Thanks will check out

Jolene, I didn't take any tonics other than weekly birdnest that's all

Rae

yah, told my boss I don feel comfortable travelling although Gynae say ok but stay away from certain food and drinks .. I am into 18 weeks soon .. I better play safe .. not easy to get pregnant

Hui

you at Gleneagles right , but taking Thomson prenatal classes ? GE not good is it ? cos I tried calling them previously and even went to the place to book .. lunch time , they got people there , then say closed for lunch .. got to wait for one-hr to come back , I not free so didnt wait , don like the customer service but not sure if the class there is good .

jolene,
i dun feel anything now cos am slow to react :p, i will feel excitment, anxiety & nervous closer or day of delivery :p
for weight gain, tink depends on ur size, health etc. am abt 163cm & my pre-pregnancy weight was 53kg. In the 1st place, gynae told me, ideal weight gain is 12-14kg...... so far, i had gained 11.6kg but my friends & colleagues said can't see wher my weight has gone to.... hahahaha but most of it at my tummy lah.... face, arm & legs a bit only.
am delivering at Thomson cos my gynae only delivers there..

my own mum will cook black chix soup & barley drink with tou kee & bai guo once in a while for me. whereas for my mil, she cooks as per norm thou she's cantonese, she said drink the soups she had prepared is gd enough. so far, she had boiled bird's nest twice for me liao
other times, i jus take from the bottle

mayb b'cos i dun take too much tonics, my weight is not high..... tink i hv to start to take coconut drink liao

dz,
agreed.... do wat's best for u & bb
if can totally avoid travelling to overseas, better dun go......thou had cross the 1st tri, still nt safe cos feel tt pregnancy is a very delicate process
esp when most of us here went thru IUI/SO-IUI/IVF/ICSI/FET so having a bb is a miracle & blessing... we shld treasure our preious one all the more...

Rae,

do u feel heavy and 'burdensome' now ? Need to go to toilet frequently at night ? Can sleep at night ?

As I step into 3rd trimester, i hear a lot of mothers/MTBs telling me all the above. Right now I am keeping my fingers cross, hopefully i will not feel such discomforts :p

11.6kG Is quite good. I think u can keep between 12-14Kg. I think i may increase more than 14Kg..cos right now i have put on 9Kg already..heehee, and I heard last tri the weight gained is the most , is it true ? My frens and coll also say i din put on much weight, except tummy, maybe bcos most weight go to bb!

jolene,

I also ate birds' nest, and some tonic chicken. Dont take it to often, as in few times a week. Space it out. As for weight gained, i agreed with Rae, it depends on your initial weight. If you are underweight at the start, u can afford to put on more weight. If overweight, then put on less overall weight etc, if average weight, then it is probably the range which Rae has said. but dont take it as a hard and fast rule and starve yourself unnecessarily. I have frens who put on 20Kg and their bb are not that heavy, and they manage to lose weight eventually too.

stumbled_by
at 29 wks

Just found out that I am pregnant through FET. Currently 4 weeks+ and EDD in mid Sept. I had a previous early miscarriage...I lost my pregnancy symptoms and asked for a re-test of the beta HCG. Then realised that a miscarriage was coming. So, naturally I am a little worry this time round.

I had some spotting a few days ago just before i tested positive. Had some mild cramps more like some background cramps. The spotting stopped 2 days ago but the cramps continue. However, the cramps also stopped today. Anyone experience this? Is this something I should worry about? I haven't got any morning sickness yet. Wish I have some of these as at least I know the embryo/foetus is growing well.

happymum,

did u take any injection to support the pregnancy ? I had brown spotting when i first tested positive too. It occured about once(everyday) for the first 2-3 days. Then later another time few days later. But i did not have cramps. Doc put me on progesteron and HcG jabs straight away (not sure whether there are other components in the jab). I had to take jabs twice a week until week 9 or 10. Morning sickness may start later, probably not so soon, at week 6-7. Or u may not have MS at all.

stumbled_by,
yes, heavy, 'burdensome' & clumsy.... kekekeke...
besides, frequent toilet visits at nite, during the day too. bt it's the bb tt pressing against my bladder so when in toilet, nt much urine
on sleeping, i hv nt much prob bt there's occassions whereby after peeing in the middle of the nite, i ct sleep at all.....
it's an on-off thing.....

9kg is nt bad at all...
tink u will b within the 12-14kg range too.....

Mummy's weight: 64.6kg
Baby's weight: 2.6kg
Weight gain for past 4weeks: 1.2kg
EDD: 16 Feb'07
34weeks
Next appt: 26 Jan'07

stumbled by
Thanks for the info. It's reassuring. My gynae put me on progesterone and HCG jabs, twice a week and am taking progesterone pills 3 times a week. I guess that should be sufficient.

Did you re-check your beta HCG? I rechecked that once and it did doubled. Not sure if I should ask the gynae to monitor me more closely. I will only be seeing him in week 7.

happymum,

no, i din recheck my HcG.i dunno much about HcG reading and din read much into it. but when i told the sisters here about my HcG reading, they said most likely mine is singleton. And it turned out to be singleton..

Guess the important thing now is to rest well, and don't feel stress. Doc gave me 1 week plus MC after I tested positive and had initial spotting. Maybe u should do likewise. Just 'relax out'...

stumbled by
My doc also gave me 1 week+ MC but I am still working at home. Got a deadline due this week. Will try my best not to get stressed.

What was your initial beta reading? How many weeks are you now?

I am really excited and yet have to be cautious optimistic, given my past experience. Feeling worried about the scan and yet look forward to it.

Many thanks for sharing.

Dz,
my gynae from GE but i'm giving birth in TMC

All mummies,
i'm into my 20 weeks this wed but lately i pee alot more n got this kinda of feeling like my bladder is pumping (like heartbeat).. like something kicking my bladder..anyone has it?

Happymum,

Firsty Congrats to you.regards abt ur spotting n cramp..i have cramp in my 1st trim before but no spotting.. but i had heavy bleeding when i'm in my 12 weeks..like having menses n as hosptalized but bb is fine..seriously even though we are scared but have to think +ive n divert this +ive to our bb...so dun stress urself n stress ur bb...jia you n have a smooth 9 mths

happymum,

i cant remember my initial reading. u can look at past postings, sometime in Oct or November, hui and I updated the MTBs in a table form. Inside there, there are everyone's initial readings, EDD, no. of bb they are expecting etc.

I am week 29 now.

hui,

i din get this feeling but I have the pee feeling sometimes when I sit too long. maybe becos bb is pressing against the bladder. Is the heartbeat like feeling your bb's movement ? Sometimes i also get kicking feeling near the breast/slope of my tummy but that cant be bb right since it is quite 'up there'. Maybe your bladder kicking sensation is similar to mine, except at different place. Maybe its our own pulse. So u knowing the gender soon hur...heehee

stumbled by,

i think the feeling is same..like suddenli "pop pop"..then like urine wan leak out...ya, looking forward to my detail scan

Rae,
mine is more in the center at the abdomen area near to bladder..
but today slightly better..have been eating alot during lunch duno wat will be my weight now..haha

hui,
icic.....
morever u can eat most food now compare to 1st tri rite? tt's gd
previously, my frend did asked me if i wanna join bt i said nt interested
... if nt wrong, it's at the YMCA.. u can check their web

Hi all MTB,
653509.gif

Would like to check with you all that is it safe for MTB to use Lancome product for make-up? I couldn't get info. from internet search.

Stacy,
best is to ask ur gynae.. but they say don'tuse whitening product.. for me i'm still using sometimes so i duno wat make up product can't use..

i am wondering shall we form a 'IVF mums' folder in this forum ? In that way, we can follow up on each other's motherhood experiences after birth

Hi All MTB,
Another thing I would like to find out from you whether need to have full bladder for 6 weeks Ultra/scanning at KKH?
655322.gif

Hi Stacy,

Big congrats to you. Another 9 months journey ahead for you.
My 1st trimester experience was terrible. So happy to transit to the 2nd trimester now. I will be 20 weeks tomorrow. My last scan in TPS revealed that my bb is a princess. I am so happy when doc loh told me is a gal which i long to have a daughter.
Have been reading all your post. You bring so much life to the forum.

Also, you don't need full bladder. In fact, you have to empty the bladder as I was told to go to the toilet before the scan but I actually did before they told me

want to check with you about when can one start taking bird nest during the pregnancy and is it really good for the baby?
As I have heard the tiny feathers found in some bird nests that's not cleaned properly will cause the baby to have asthma.
Is it true?

Thanks Vendy for coming back to this forum.I tot you are MIA and I miss your postings. So
655645.gif
that you are having little princess.

Jeni,
Is the U/S done in Dr Loh's room? When will be your next scanning? Take Care.
655646.gif

hui/Besttwins/Rae,

shall we set up a new IVF Mothers folder ? Where shall we set up ? actually how to set up new folder ? Maybe we set up under Year 2007 Mothers..

jeni,

I started taking in 2nd trimester. i also heard about asthma part, so i tried not to take it too often.

Wow! wow! thr thread is coming back to life!! so great we have new mummy here..

Stacy,
my 1st trim also very bad.. MS n heavy bleeding
but now in 2nd trim feel's better n my appetite improve alot

Stumbled by,
i think can name the thread under IVF Mummies.. cause Year 2007 mummies they have thread form Jan/07 mummies till July/07 mummies liao

Hi MTBs,
last night I had brown discharge in the middle of the night and it persisted till this morning. I also had some slight cramps. So, I went to see Dr Loh this morning and was given an oil based jab plus to increase the dosage of the white tablet that I have been taking.
I am curently alomost 8 weeks and my EDD is confirmed to be 2/9/07 by the ultrascan this morning.
Anyone experienced the same thing before?
I am very worried
but Dr Loh said baby's heartbeat is fine, so not to worry.

Jeni,
659105.gif
have faith! Your bb's heart beat is still there, so not to worry.

Yesterday also something terrible happened to me. When I tried to pick up a pc of tissue on the floor, I accidentally sprained my waist ligament. Ended up cannot move or sleep. Rushed to 24hrs clinic, Dr told only can take panadol since only 5 weeks pregnancy, and asked me to consider x-ray or hospitalization for observation. On the spot he did an early scan for me ( supposingly by Dr Loh next week) and confirmed 2. I chose to go home with panadol presciption. Today went to chinese physician for massages and now getting better.Dear friend, We JIAYOU 2gether.
659106.gif

Jeni,
pls rest well and dun wori..most inportant dun give bb -ive thoughts.. nowadays spotting during pregnancy seem very common..me,my SIL n my colleague all kanna.. during my 12 weeks i suddenly bleed realli heavy..almost like menses for 3 days then spotting. so dun wori and stay +ive, most importanat is bed rest

Stacy,
you also must rest well ah..when you wan pick thing up remenmber the position is very important if not will sprain the waist easily..

All MTBs,
today will my big day cause doing Detail scan in the afternoon. will update you gals..let's jia you!!