IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

rose,
usually after 1 yr old will hv 3-4 milk feeds day (180-240ml per feed), 3 solid meals plus snacks in between if bb can take more.

most fm brands hv milk until stage 4 which is for 3-6yrs old. beyond tat kid can take those regular growing up type of milk. it's really up to u how long u want to feed yr child milk and what kind of milk. some books say after 1 yr old can just give regular full cream fresh milk. dun need to give fm. i remember when i was growing up, all the way from pri to sec to JC, my mum still make me drink one cup of milk in the morning before i go to sch.

my elder girl is taking stage 4 fm milk, 450ml a day

singapoh
oh my pd asked me to give 120ml apple juice to baby coz of constipation. now that u said about tooth decay..erhh what shd i give leh?

baby
u giving ur gals pear? which type of pear huh?

Happy
Im giving those normal hulu shape pear.. Beckham pear..
Can get it from normal supermarket..
I steam without skin and blend... V tasty and sweet.. Lots of water too.. So its good for constipation.
When my girls has constipation.. I give lots of water, pear and non sweeten barley water... It will usually help..
So far i didnt give any fruit juice...

Happy
Im giving those normal hulu shape pear.. Beckham pear..
Can get it from normal supermarket..
I steam without skin and blend... V tasty and sweet.. Lots of water too.. So its good for constipation.
When my girls has constipation.. I give lots of water, pear and non sweeten barley water... It will usually help..
So far i didnt give any fruit juice...

Happy my gal is having on off constipation lately. The pd also advised pear n papaya n more fluid. But my gal doesn't like papaya.

Grumpus/Singapoh do u feed kiwi to ur bbs at 8 mths?

Gan,
kiwi is considered high allergy. best to wait till 1 yr old.

my girl loves papaya. i give her the really really ripe ones, a bit mushy already type. very sweet.

Rose
I give 中国薏米.. Those bigger pearl type.. I boil some for 30-45mins.. Then dilute with some water before giving my girls..
I dont give everyday.. I give once every few days..

Hey Moms,

I have not come in for a long long time as was busy looking for job and then spring cleaning my house.

Looks like everyone is doing well, putting in a lot of effort to looking after the darlings.

On Barley water,

I boil that every week for Mel as she has a heaty base. I use about 2 tablespoon (heap) of China barley (ah moh barley is the small type and will cause phelgm) and boil for about 1.5hrs. Then I split it into two portions and use them to make 2 rounds of formula milk. I tasted the milk and totally cannot tell got presence of barley water. Just find that use the barley water to make formula will ensure she gets to drink more of it. Find that it does help to balance off a heaty baby.

just faith
生熟薏米 and china barley is different is it??
I tot only got two type.. Ah moh smaller pearl barley and china barley?

Where to get 生熟薏米?

Liz, china barley not sticky/thick. I think u r referring to Ang moh barley.

Baby, my mum buy at medical hall. I translated from cantonese. Hope I got the Chinese name right. It looks bigger than china barley. Texture also different. When she was younger, I gave her Sheng Shu Yi Mi only. Recently I just mixed with china barley.

Ladies, have your babies started crawling? At what age do they start crawling? And when they start, do you just let them crawl on the floor all over the house?

Working wife, my gal started crawling when she was 6 months+. Now she crawls like a commando. Very fast. She will crawl to our headboard and get up on her own. Can stand for a few seconds before dropping on the bed again. Shag!

Besides our bed, she crawls on the playmate, sofa. During daytime I will put two single mattresses on the floor for her crawling time.

working wife,
my elder girl didn't crawl till 9 mths! but before that she was pulling herself up and standing already. my elder never does things conventionally :p

my younger girl is more 'textbook', started crawling on belly abt 6mths. now at 7.5mths she's crawling on fours.

both girls learnt to crawl on my bed and on those bb mat. i let my girls crawl everywhere on the floor all over the house. for both girls, they only dared to venture on the hard floor when they were more steady and coordinated. i never restricted them, it's just their own instinct.

nowadays i will purposely walk away from my younger girl so that she will come chasing me on all fours. it's very cute...hahahaha

Happyhippo,

Give as instructed by yr PD. More important to treat constipation than worry about tooth decay. Only if u always give fruit juice then may cause tooth decay.

I cut the fruit and give to my twins.

Singapoh/ grumpus thanks... Found that m gal is allergic to apples.. Will have rashes all over her especially the back when she eats. So thinking of giving other fruits.

Working wife is not a development milestone, there r babies who skip crawling. I m one of them. =)

Wow all yr bbs can crawl at such early stage... My girls coming to 9mths old still cant crawl... Can only move abit.. But can lunge forward while sitting..

Just faith, yr girl seems to be fast on each milestone... Can eat solid, crawl, stand earlier than others! Clever girl!

Yeah I read that it's not a developmental milestone. My boy started crawling on all fours recently at 7 months+ and I never used to let him crawl on belly. Am so amazed he suddenly know how to crawl! But now that he is crawling, dunno where to let him crawl... Cuz floor v hard. Prob buy another mat for them to crawl... The mati have is in the play yard.

Girl v lazy... Put her on belly, she just stay there and watch tv! She's crawling on belly still.

Baby, ya, my girl is very mobile. I have 8 pillows and 2 bolsters on my bed. Need to block here and there. This is also one of the reasons why I don't put her inside baby cot anymore. Not sure if she will learn to walk at 10months, just like my niece. My brother lagi better. Walk at 8months. Faintz.

Working wife I actually let my baby crawl on the floor sometimes... Actually not purposely let but she crawl out of the play yard when I didn,t close the door or out of the play mat in the room. I just make sure the floor is mopped everyday.

crawling -
justfaith...hahhaa like u i hv 7 pillows & 2 bolsters surrounding a mattress on the floor.. dont dare to put baby on bed coz he can push the pillows/bolsters off the bed. ur baby safe on bed? won't push off the pillows/bolsters?

tat day i filmed baby crawling.. noticed he uses right leg more by bending and pushing but drags his left leg... dont knw is lazy or left leg not enuf power.. not too stress abt it, just hope is passing phase. anyway my pt is that sometimes video also quite useful, can observe better

did all of u buy the parklon/LG mats.. i was thinking if wanna buy but hubby said aiya no need coz soon baby will be walkg...aiya i always so late in buying all these thgs...

Happyhippo,

Oh... Put her on our bed or floor with those thin mattress also need supervision leh. Put on bed definitely not safe but at least I can manage better.

Think I bought the LG playmat since she was 3months+. It's in the living room now.

Grumpus / just faith is ma you yu same as wu yu? I asked my hub go market to buy fish to make porridge for bb n he said 2 fishmonger told him ma you yu is same as wu yu

Happyhippo, I use the parklon mat w play yard. Keep bbs in there for now. At least they r enclosed n safe when I need to step away for toilet breaks or hv my meals

Or u can use a play pen. I let bbs play in playpen or nap in there when I need to separate the 3..

Thanks! Tried feedng my bb this afternoon, first 3 mouthful, she is ok, subsequent spoon, she starts to boo.=s

Just faith, how r u doing? Anyone helping u with the gal now?

Gan, not really. Hubby try to be at home where possible. But I want minimum disruption to his work. I can still manage my girl. Life goes on! Sometimes I do feel bad not giving my best but need to be fair to my #1 too. She's rather sticky to me. Praying for miracle.

Just Faith,
dun think so much, just relax and keep yourself occupied with yr girl.
i did my ivf and took care of my elder girl at the same time too.
u can do it!

Happy
Its not safe to leave bb on bed unattended even with pillows..
My girls can push and kick off the pillows easily now.. And they can crawl and roll to the edge of bed in a blink of eye..

So if my girl is napping on my bed.. I got to be in the rm to watch her till she wake up.. But if they are sleeping in their cot then i dont watch over them...

Babyhopeful
I put the spinach leave directly into the porridge.. I just cut into small pcs then add to the porridge to cook for awhile..

Panda
Did u try Organix rasin and banana porridge? Its quite nice.. Got small rice puffs, rasin and oat flakes in it.. Can help bbs to learn to chew on them... Can let yr girl try since she like to chew.. Hee

I tried to find the organix corn rings u mention in cs.. Cant find in 2 cs i went... Thinking to order frm agape..
Inside one pkt the portion not alot right?

Baby, I just ordered the rasin porridge ..delivering today. Yeah it's a small pack. U can get a few more packs. All my bbs love it..even my younger boy who can't eat solids well can eat one ring on his own. I think it's a good way to let them learn to chew n self feed. My gal now start to eat breads.. I m going to steam bb carrots n potato to let her try to eat by hErself...

Dear experienced Moms, I have a question regarding prenatal medication. I m preg with twins via IVF, now 6 mths, and doc prescribed me Duphaston (i also took it for 1st 3 mths after postive preg test) and Apo-Nifed, to be taken till end of preg. He says this is to reduce the risk of premature birth. Did any of you mummies take it during the later stage of preg, besides taking it during the 1st 3 mths?Thank you for your advice.

baby
dont worry i dont put my baby on the bed anymore. now only on floor or in cot

pandawife
i rembr u starting toilet training your babies quite early. is it working? can ask you how long interval u let them sit on the potty?
oh ya which potty did u buy? i heard tat for boys, try to get those that are anti-splash

tks

happyhippo, aiyoh..cant really toilet trains bbs so young.. basically unless u r 24x7 w bb n observing them..then can put them on potty when u observe signs of going to poo. i stop my mum coz i cant handle all 3 wanna poo poo on potty at such young age.... PD told me until they are at least 2yo, they cant really control their pee n poo like us... so in other words potty training doesnt really work now.

rose, my play yard is 6 panels..mat is parklon. serve its purpose well. the LG mat supposedly better quality, but better pricing too.

Clb,

I took support pill from either 16 or 20 weeks (can't really remember) till I was 35 weeks when it's safe to pop. Dr Loh double the dosage when I had belly hardening quite often. I delivered my twins closed to 37 weeks

Panda
Yr two bbs can sleep thru the night.. Did they fall asleep on their own?

My small girl can sleep thru the night but my elder girl will wake up a few times a night.. We figure cos she do not know how to soothe herself bk to sleep when she wake up in the middle of the night.. Cos we rock her to sleep...
Whereas my small girl who can sleep thru.. She fall asleep on her own.. She will roll and fall asleep without the need for us to carry or pat her...

Thinking to train my elder girl... Thru the hard way.. Cry it out method... Sigh... I read if she cant sleep on her own.. She will cry for us when she wake up... And usually she will drink her last feed and fall asleep... So we will cry for milk when she wake up in the mid nite... Wanting the same method to sleep...

She definetely not hungry.. Cos she usually wont finish the milk... We tried giving water but doesnt help...
She aldry have two solids a day.. Cereal in the morning and porridge in the evening...

Anyone have any advise for me?

baby, my eldest can zzz thru.. he self soothe by sucking thumb. last milk feed at 7pm..until next morning 6-630am. He is on one solid breakfast everyday..

my younger boy cant zzz thru. he has sleep cycle problem and very light sleeper. smtimes he just flip or turn he will wake up n cry...same as ur elder gal, dunno how to go back to zzz on his own. he is still on full milk feeds, no solid meal replacement yet.

my gal last feed at 10pm which is a dream feed... n she will wake up at 430-5am for her milk. if i dream feed her before she wakes up at 4ish, she can zzz until 6ish. she is on one solid feed..but not all days. there are days tht she doesnt wanna eat..i hv to feed her milk. today i steam baby carrots n potatos n gav it to her in a plate. she took a bite of both, n threw the potato on the floor n continue to munch on the carrots. she ate 3 baby carrots on her own.. n in between when i tried to spoon feed her puree, she refused to open her mouth! but she will open her mouth herself to put the carrot in....faint....

all my bbs are carried, pat and rock to zzz de.. they dunno how to sleep on their own....:p