IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Ru, my gal also doesn't like to be carried in the feeding position since she was 5 mths plus. She will struggle and cry/scream if in that position. So now we feed her lying down, with her head prop on pillow.

Ru,
I can't explain y but can only tell u bb go through a lot of changes. Wat worked yest may not work today anymore. Just hv to go with it lor. If yr girl can push her head up she shd be ok to sleep on tummy liao.

Now she's older, more easily distracted. Not like newborn when sleepy juz sleep, now they can drag the sleeping time. My younger girl can sleep by herself when bb but now I need to 'catch' her to sleep once she hv sleepy signs. If not she can actually play n play. Then become overtired n very hard to settle down already. When she sleep on her tummy she will also pop her head up n look ard. I will just push her head back down, pat her and tell her time to sleep. She will rub her face on the bed and sleep back. But she can do this many many times, like every 1-2 hrs. Recently it has gotten better, like every 3-4hrs only. Eventually I believe she will sleep thro.

My elder girl last time very hard to settle down. When she sleepy I carry her change many many positions before she 'gan yuan' to sleep.

ru
since newborn, i carried my boy upright position. so he totally cant be carried horizontal position. similar to grumpus, i carry him to sleep upright, once he quite deep sleep, i will slide him horizontal so that the transition to bed is less drastic. coz i find upright position straight to bed is 90 degrees change, so he tend to wake up quite easily the minute i put him on bed.

Thanks Gan, Grumpus and Happyhippon. Noted your comment and advice. Maybe this is the first one so super concern :> especially affected her milk intake and made my hb and myself though maybe caused from IFC and wanted to change the school..

tickles, i get from cold storage. healthy times brand. there is another organic brand tht also has peas.. so far i hv only seen it at CS.

my this 2nd maid speaks v good eng n canto. she has done 2 contracts in sg n 1 in hk. bio data v fantastic. but in reality sucks!

gan, i only replace 1 meal with solid. not in a hurry to giv more since he can zz thru the night and the other 2 not feeding well yet. hmm...he eats quite alot leh. i usually prepare 2 veg purees and 1 fruit. 1 veg combi will hv 5 scoops of the FM scoop of healthy times, the other veg will hv 3 scoops of happy bellies cereal and the fruit one i mix w the bellamy apple and cinnamon 3-4 scoops. my boy quite fat fat one..:p
his milk intake per feed varies from 140-170ml every 3 hrly.

Panda that is alot for 1 meal!!! More than my gal's 2 meal. I very lazy only have 1 vege and 1 fruit purée a day....
But good to see ur boy has good appetite! More encouraged to make food.

Ru baby will change their habits as they grow. But can understand ur worry when bb milk intake drops...'Coz for a period of time I think around ur bb's age, my gal doesn't drink much too...'sometimes only 400 plus a day... N that time haven't even start solids . My gal is playful n distracted during feeds. But now she is ok... Can take between 700 to 800 ml a day but I need to wake up to feed once or twic a nite. Tiring Coz working and busy with work. Not complaining as imm happy she is drinking more now

gan, if i feed any lesser, he will cry for milk within 30mins. if he eats enuff no milk until 3 hrs later...and i need to offer variety coz he doesnt wanna eat the same dish thru out. i freeze purees in whole week supply. so everyday i mix n match different combinations. i will also observe his poo.. on days tht i see the poo is harder, the next day i will give more fruits puree or mix veg w fruit on top of the fruit puree.

my challenge now is he doesnt wanna eat porridge at all.. i m not keen to feed 2 meals of cereal. might try pasta soon....

panda
Gosh.. Yr boy can eat mann!!! More than 10 scoops of cereal in one feed... Thats alot! U mix so much cereal to puree.. Wont it be too thick?

For me, i only give 3/4 bowl of cereal mix with fm.. Plus one fruit puree. The cereal is 75ml of milk mix with cereal till thick like porridge. Fruit puree will be 1/3 avent cup.

I feed two solids a day... Morning and evening. Morning usually cereal, evening will be porridge. Today make brinjal and potato porridge.

Baby, the healthy times cereal is very light leh..so 5 scoops not really alot leh. I dun add milk to cereal coz he don't like. Each serving is 3-4 ice cubes of puree mix w cereal and I will always have one more watery puree w a thicker one to balan e up ..plus the cereal is just nice. Everynight I will crack my brain think of the puree combi n take it out put in chiller to thaw.

Sometimes I scared he overeat n give lesser, but end up have to supplement w milk...of coz there r days tht he dun like the food n fuss half way thru refused to eat. Then I hv to give milk too..

Going to give me gal bread to try later for breakfast. She seems more keen to self feed compared to me feeding w spoon. Always don't wanna open her mouth ..

Gan: happy to see your post. At least I tell myself, thing will be improved when she grows older (hopefully like your girl). Currently she also doesn't know how to eat (less than 1 spoon). But I continue to feed her one puree per day.

She is also easy distracted by noise or people. That is what the IFC teacher said she doesn't want to drink because she wants to play. This is also the reason make me think of changing her IFC, as I realised the feeding area (for mobile infant and toddler) is just outside Infant's sleeping area, so when all children gather at the eating corner, certainly very noisy one.No one helping so no choice has to continue to find a place....

Btw, so you wake up to feed your girl even she doesn't ask for milk? In fact, wanted to train her to sleep through and doesn't want to feed her at night but also concern no enough milk so last night waked up to feed her at 3am even though she didn't cry for milk. Very dilemma right, whether should let her sleep through or continue to feed her at night :<

Ru, my parents are taking care of my gal, home is quieter than IFC but my gal is still distracted and wants to play. She will sometimes hold the milk bottle , pull the bottle out n smile at u when feeding, or want to flip etc. So I guess she is just playful.
My gal cries for milk , I have hope she can sleep thru but she is hungry Coz I tried patting her but she still cries and when I feed she finishEs the milk fast n continue to sleep. Lately she will wake up twice a night. Like last night 2am n 6am. I have tried feeding her more during thE day but my baby has a mind of her own.=) enough means enough she will stop drinking milk at 130/140 n keep he mouth tight and shake her head if u want her to drink more. If u force somemore, she will cry or scream.=s

Ru,
During the day I feed my girl by time, even if she doesn't cry for milk. At night I only feed if she cries for milk. Otherwise I let her sleep.

Last time my elder girl's milk intake very low, I wake up twice at night to feed her even though she never cry.

As parents we always worry abt bbs sleeping and feeding. No right or wrong method la.

I also feed my girls by time during day.. But night time i feed on demand.. Sometimes i dont even feed when they cry at night.. I just carry and rock them bk to sleep..

I thank god when they can sleep thru the night without waking up.. Heeee.. Thats y i try not to feed them even when they cry...

Gan: The teacher also said my girl is very playful. At home I can feed her up 160ml nowaday. Of course during her zzz time. If she is awake, the most she drinks only 60ml then stop and want to play. Can't force her also, she will cry. So end up have to split over time to feed her but in total the most is very little. So I think the problem now is how to make her drink while she is awake. And how to make her feel hungry. Seem like she never cry for milk before...

Bubbybear: My hb thinks babysitter /nanny is harder to control and monitor. So he against for me to look for a nanny.

Grumpus: There are total 3 feeds in IFC (I check their record, plus and minus 1 hr apart sometime). Sat and Sun, I will try to time the same schedule to feed her. But all depend whether she is awake or sleep.

At night, at home last time I can feed her 3 times. So at least I can tired to cover the insufficient quantity. But now the max is only 2 feeds. So if I don't wake up in the night. Only 1 feed + 3 feeds which is very little lo.

Btw, my girl can't drink after 4am. I tried many times before to feed her during 4-5am while she was sleeping. The most only drink 30-50ml. But if you feed her before 4am, she can still drink a bit more. Initially I thought if I would feed her at around 1-2am, after 3 hrs definately she will feel hungry but the answer is "no". She can wait until 830-930am then she ok to drinks 120ml in IFC ...

Baby: In fact, now how I wish she can cry to ask for milk then I no need to worry whether she has sufficient or not. Especially when you see the guildline for 6+mth baby can drink 180ml 3-4 hrly or total 700-800ml per day. My neighbour (office) told me, her cousin stop giving milk to her daughter and at the end the daughter like "ai ai de"

ru,
my elder girl drank only 500ml per day at 6mths+
solids also not much.

now she is an average size 3yr old. definitely not ai ai de.
i just keep offering food and milk and let her take however much she wants. i used to push milk/food to her every 2 hrs.

Ru
Don't worry, just keep offering food and milk. They will continue to grow. Tall or short is all in the genes. My #1's food and milk intake is also very pathetic, give slightly more only, she will merlion. But she is one of the taller 3-4 yr olds in her class.

Panda,
I try to give only plain white or wholemeal bread. Those freshly baked ones r better than those gardenia ones. Less preservatives. I look at the ingredients list. The fewer ingredients the better!

When slightly older u can start other bread like raisin bread or multigrain bread.

Ru
My girls now at 8mths plus old only taking 170ml per feed.. Sometimes only abt 130ml per feed when they cant finish.. I feed abt 4hrly... With two solids meal.. They only have abt 3 milk feeds... Pd told me min milk intake per day is 500ml... So if yr bb have at least 500ml.. Then shd be ok.. Once she grow bigger.. Her intake will gradually increase...

Maybe yr bb now having milk strike... That happens to my girls before.. It will pass...

Pandawife,
I saw in FB that you are feeding Lucas so many different types of puree for every feed. How much milk is he taking everyday? My nanny was telling me that your babies look so chubby. I think you really feed them very well.

My babies are having porridge for lunch and dinner. In between the meals I feed them milk. They are taking about 750ml of milk everyday. I wonder if I'm feeding them enough everyday. I will add fish, pork and 1 or 2 types of veggie to their porridge. And that's all that take everyday. I wanted to feed them some fruits in between the meals butmy nanny said maybe we should stop giving them fruits for a while to ensure that it won't affect their porridge and milk intake.

Any mummies can give me some advice on whether my babies at 9 months now are taking enough food everyday or should I feed them more variety of food? For a first time mummy like me, I'm really lost.

Hi, i know some sistas have been eating Blackmore conceive well before start ivf treatmt? Can i take GNC prenatal vitamins for pregnant women before start my ivf treatment? when taking conceive well daily, do i hv to need folic acid tablet daily as well?

Bing,
Feeding 3-4 bottles of milk n 2 solid meals of porridge a day is very traditional way of feeding bb. That's how we were brought up. My mum always tells me we ate porridge with fish n carrot/spinach everyday for yrs!
Actually, mobile bbs/toddlers burn up their calories very fast, so it's better to let them hv many small frequent meals.

U can offer yr bbs snacks in between milk n meals. Esp abt one hr or so aft milk feeds, they can actually eat already. U dun hv to feed them or insist they finish. The main thing is to offer food frequently so they hv opportunity to eat if they want to. This also encourages self feeding n exposes them to a wider variety of food.

Snacks can be fruits. E.g Apple, pear, melon, banana slices. Just let them gnaw on it themselves. Or yoghurt, cheese, biscuits, bread, pau, cornflakes. I sometimes home make potato chips or apple chips by baking in the oven.

As for their meals. Instead of porridge everyday, u can try macaroni or kway tiao soup. Chicken stew with potato n carrot, baked rice etc etc.

Not all the food may be suitable for them now but it's something to work towards as they go beyond 1yr old.

Singapoh, just making puree already almost killing me! Where got time to make bread? K u make I buy from you?? Hahaha

Bing, I have no choice! I wish Lucas would eat porridge or one puree w cereal. He will start scolding me n appear not interested to eat it I feed him one taste thru out. I think I took too much dha during preggie. Bb smarter than me..

He is on one solid feed and 4 milk feeds. If I gv bf n dinner than it's 3 milk feeds. Same as urs. Average milk intake per 3 hrly is 140-170ml.

My 2 younger ones still on full milk feeds. 5-6 feeds a day. I can only say credits goes to Enfapro! ;)

Ohh..I give a afternoon teabreak everyday. It's my way of doing stress free feeding or let them play w foods. I give rice cakes, bb biscuits, apple slices or fruit purees during this feed. I do it 1 hr after their afternOon feed n nap. During this feed it doesn't matter if they dont wanna eat..they just mess ard n play ..create more work for my helpers ;p

mmfeen
Go for prenatal vits which has folic acid of at least 500mcg, then u don't need to take separately. GNC or Blackmores are both trusted brands.

Grumpus,
Thanks for your advice. I'll start giving my babies snacks in between their milk feeds and meals. I also wish to substitute their main meals with food other than porridge. But since I'm working, it's quite difficult for me to come out with different main meals everyday. I'll try to experiment with different main meals on weekends and if babies like it, I'll get my nanny to cook for them in weekdays.

I'm thinking of cooking pasta stars for them tomorrow. I intend to add cheese to make it more tasty. Babies can take cheddar cheese at 9 months right. Any type of cheese except unpasteurized and blue cheese should be safe for babies?

I'm thinking of getting quinoa for my babies to try since it's nutritious. Where can I get quinoa? I want to start introducing tofu to my babies too. Any tofu (those found at the supermarkets) will do or shall I get organic one?
Pardon me for asking so many questions.

Pandawife,
Lucas is really too smart. He wants to have different taste for every spoon feed? No wonder you have to prepare so much puree for every meal. Your babies are of very gd weights. My nanny was saying it's very rare for triplets to have such gd weights. You really did a gd job!

Do you feed your babies snacks in the highchair? My babies create a big mess after every meal. I think that's one of the reasons why my nanny is quite reluctant (or too lazy) to feed my babies snacks. My babies only get to have snacks when I'm at home. From now onwards, I have to get my helpers to give them snacks even I'm not around.

Bing,
Have fun cooking!
u can get some bb cook books to get inspiration n recipes for snacks n meals.

Yes yr bbs can eat cheese already. As long as it's pasturized and not soft cheese. Some brands of cheese can to be more salty than others so for me I will look at the ingredients label and choose the ones with less salt.

Quinoa is really good. It adds a fragrance to yr rice/porridge which some ppl says smells like beans or ginseng. N of cos it's nutritious. The other grain u can try is amaranth.
U can get them at the organic section at ntuc. Ntuc finest will hv a wider variety.
As for tou fu, I've never given organic type. I just give those from found at the supermarket. I look at the ingredients label too, as long no preservatives, no msg, no artificial flavorings, not too much salt etc I think is ok.

Bing, thanks! i always tell my hb its a "career" feeding the babies coz its so challenging! he will only eat 1/4 avent cup ..then start fussing..so i hv to giv him another taste..then he will eat..after tht switch back again..haha.. mummy trying to con him too....

this morning he ate half cup of creamy carrot oatmeal cereal, half cup broccoli w pear multi grain cereal and another 3/4 cup of apple n prune puree for bf.

haha.. u shld see the mess in my hse after every feed. its like warzone! i let them play w the food, the spoon, the avent cups....my mum says i m creating a bad habit..but i wanna make feeding time fun n enjoyable for them. my helpers will go : "oh my gosh!" every feed coz there will be flying foods, flying spoons n all... haha....

tht day i tried giving my gal rice.. she was so happily eating n playing w it and plastering the rice on me too.. at the end of it, both of us hv to change clothes!

i giv them snacks everywhere.. can b sit in walker, sit in the rides, or in the play yard or high chair.

grumpus, i m still trying to figure out wht my gal likes..i tried the bb led weaning approach n gave her steam foods in pieces..but she doesnt really know how to eat alot..will take one bite and throw the food on the floor....hmmmm.. when i feed her w spoon, smtimes she is ok, smtimes she is not....

Gan,
i give the laughing cow cheese cubes in original flavour. very creamy and not salty.

hmmm, is it so difficult to find the 6mths+ yoghurt now?

panda,
yes it's tricky to figure wat my girl likes to eat too.
my elder girl was ok with bland stuff, she was picky on texture.
my younger one more difficult. picky on taste n texture.
for my younger i hv to hv variety for her. every meal hv few types of tastes and texture. some feed with spoon some finger food for her to self feed.

yr gal is small size so u also can't expect she eat the same amt as yr boy.

this was my elder girl's typical meal at 9mths.
soft rice, a small pc of fish, some vege and half an egg yolk.

5925561.jpg

and her eating bread at 9mths

5925562.jpg

Grumpus,
Your elder girl can eat soft rice already at 9 months? My girl is a very fussy eater. She's picky on both taste and texture. My son is the opposite. He can eat all the food we offer him.

I got some baby cook books to get inspiration but I hardly have much time to read, not to mention cooking different food for them everyday.

I cooked pasta for my babies but my girl didn't like it and refused to eat. Have you tried cooking Bellamy brown rice pasta stars before? The cooking instruction says that approximate cooking time is 7 min but I cooked for almost half an hr instead and it's still quite hard. I added Kraft cheese, pumpkin puree and mashed cod fish to the pasta. I tried and find that it tastes quite good. My son ate 1 bowl but he vomited some out in the end. I find that the brown rice pasta too filling and hard to digest. Did you feed your elder girl pasta last time? When did you start feeding her pasta and was it made of wheat or rice?

Pandawife,
I agree with you that it's a 'career' feeding the babies and they are the most difficult boss to please. It's a demanding job and we don't get paid! I'm now juggling my full time job and part time job of feeding the babies when I'm not at work. It's a tough job!

I saw on your FB that your babies really enjoy themselves at the swimming pool. How often do you bring them to swim? Where did you get the floats? They look fun and seem to be quite safe. Did you get them from the BP here? I intend to bring my babies to go swimming soon.

Bing, I tried giving Lucas the brown rice pasta. He dun like. Charlotte ate it all up instead! I din even do fancy sauces. Just used carrot puree. Hmmm... I cooked for about 10mins. But I started with hot water in the pot n only cooked a serving of 1 tablespoon. Char ate tht little portion n refused her milk afterwards. Grumpus, u r right, I sort of expects her to eat more. Its difficult to gauge how much each bb shld b eating ESP when they k b refusing the food coz they don't like it. Everyday I m wasting fm! I used to feed Lucas one hour after his milk. But I can't do the same for my gal. She is not keen..even 2 hrs aft milk smtimes she also not hungry. But give her a snack she k chew n chew happily... Headache.

Bing, my bbs go swimming once or twice a week. I try to bring them 2x if I can. Smtimes really tired to make the trip. The Thomas float I bought from bp. The mushroom float is from kiddy palace. The bbs enjoy swimming..always can't wait to go into the water when we r there. I hv to zoom to change coz they will be kicking n waving impatiently waiting for us to bring them into the pool.

U r v good mummy! Really not easy being a working mum. I full time mum already so shagged. Can't imagine having to work n come home contInue to tc of bbs!

Panda wife baby needs to have teeth for the pasta? Another mummy also suggested cooking pasta for my gal as a variety But my gal has no teeth yet so I m wondering if she swallows the pastas wld she gets choke? Ur gal munch to break to small pieces?

Each time for the swim how long do they stay in water? I brought my gal once few weeks back, can see that she enjoyed but I only let her stay in water for 10mins coz I was not sure how long can we allow the babies to exercise. Afraid she wld over exercise.

Bing I bought the seat float from mother care for my gal. But saw the mushroom float panda has , think that looks cool with the sunshades. Think I will go get that too

Bing,
I cooked the Bellamy brown rice pasta before. It gets quite soft n mushy lei. Anyway my girl didn't like it :p
I just gave regular macaroni n boil longer to make them softer. But of cos that's cos my girl could handle the texture. I didn't do any sauce. Just plain boiled, vege and fish plain steamed :p

My elder girl started mashed up food at 6 mths, porridge at 7 mths, cubed foods at 8mths and rice at 9 mths. pasta was at 8mths plus n I gave wheat.

Like panda said, u're doing a very good job already. I take care of my girls full time n it's tough. Tougher for u, u hv 2 full time jobs!

Panda,
U gotta remember, char is smaller n will hv smaller appetite. Plus if she's eating more solid textured food, she'll feel fuller n it'll take longer to digest. Sort of how when we eat porridge we get hungry faster compared to rice.
Also the amt she eats can be deceiving. 1tsp of uncooked rice can make abt 1/4 bowl of porridge but it doesn't make much cooked rice. So tat 1 tsp of pasta is quite a bit already.

Grumpus: Yr girl is very cute and chubby look :>

Last Friday brought my girl to have 6 in 1 jab. Express the concern and was given Vitamin drop and gel to apply on gum.

Weekend, I tried to offer different timing to test on her. I think at home we have no problem to achieve the 700ml per day. Anyway, this morning told my girl's caregiver to increase the frequency and hope to see their effort and important is the end result.

Last weekend, tried banana puree and papaya puree. She doesn't want to open her mouth. Wheneve she see I offer her food, she shows me the angry look and keep turn her head away. If I push the food to her mouth, she uses her hand to rub her face. But if we eat, she look at us. Just wonder if a baby's mouth close tie, does it mean she is still not ready for solid food?

Gan, my gal has no teeth yet. she uses her gums to chew leh.. the pasta is very small bit sizes..after cooked is soft.. so she will chew chew ... today she has grainy porridge..also chew chew.. i also gave her organix rice cakes and sweet corn rings...she loves them.... she chews better than the 2 boys who already hv 2 teeth!

grumpus, thanks so much for the info n reminder! i tink i m too obsessed w making them eat smtimes! brain cannot think properly... this morning char ate 1/4 cup of thick grainy porridge... after tht full already. lucas ate blended porridge 3/4 cup mixed w butternut squash and another 3/4 cup of prune mixed w cereal!

this baby led weaning thing is very new to me.. got lotsa stuff to learn from you!

Re: swimming, initial few times we let them play for 10mins too...after tht extend to 15mins, 20mins...max is 30mins. smtimes before 30mins they start to fuss then we will bring them up. the mushroom float is very cute! haha.. when i first saw it at kp, i cant resist buying....

grumpus, is there a time frame bb should b taking textured foods? i tried giving lucas mashed foods n he gags. also tried mixing, half mashed half pureed. he doesnt like it too.. i m concerned tht if i keep giving puree he will not learn to chew n just swallow his foods. the good thing is he can take slightly thicker purees..but still cant handle mashed/lumpy foods...

I have an urgent question !
My girl constipation for 4 days, but after that she poo in a loose stools, is it normal ?
Currently she having enfa.