IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Gan
Does this happen every feed or only sometimes?
Sometimes i try to feed my girl when she is sleeping but sometime fails.. She will wake up cry when she suck a few mouths...
My pd say for now.. Min milk intake is 500ml... So far i manage to keep to it.. But v tiring... Every feed is a fighting war with her.. I see her so pitiful... She will scream and pull her hair in frustration... So i dont want whether should i force feed her.. I scare that will make her phobia... She may relate feeding as torture...

Jus when i m gg to ask mummies here abt my twins drinking problems, i saw Gan & baby's ways of coaxing them to drk sounds like mine! Mine r only 6 weeks old. My boy will drk hungrily n then start to reject the bottle w hands, turn head etc if I force he'll cry till v v badly till voiceless or high pitch tone like he's in pain. Then pacify him takes sooo long b4 can try again, sip few mouths n repeat again. A bottle of milk takes an hour or more which is so tiring as we hv to coax, humor, sing, rock, talk to them etc.

They r usually on 2 hours feed hw to extend their timing longer since they struggle with current vol with alot dramas already ?

Could it be I'm giving the wrong tEats too, but nb shouldn't b wrong size de rite?

imp,
maybe need to burp? uncomfortable also cannot drink. maybe feeding too frequently not very hungry yet? wat happens if u extend their timing to 2.5-3hrs?

Skies
Ya.. I changed the teats frm no2 to no3 liao.. No use leh..
I havent change fm thou... Hmm.. Should i change to stage 2 same brand or change brand totally?

Grumpus, burp alot times in between Leh.
Nw I dun force on them, ala they drk a certain vol n couldn't go on, I stop too to avoid stressing all of us. But the sudden wailing in btw feeds is something new n I can't fathom. At times is only drk 30ml n the boy started to cry till voiceless.
It seems they r different everyday.

They'll wake like 2-2.5 hourly quite standard n cry. I tried stalling n their cries become worse. They suck v fast on pacifier too. It means they hungry rite? N if u feed they drk like v v hungry but only for first 30-50ml n struggle.

Imp,
eh no lei. bbs hv very strong sucking instinct. sucking on the pacifer soothes them. they may not necessarily be hungry, esp if only 2 hrs hv passed.
sometimes i think my girl is hungry so i latch her, she sucks for awhile then cries n complains n refuse to latch anymore. she's actually not hungry so i stop trying n feed her later.

u try let them suck on the pacifier longer? if they r really hungry they will push out the pacifer n cry cos no milk.

Maybe try giving her stage 2??

My buddy mentioned to me that her boy also don't want to drink until she change d brand of teats & it worked.

Baby my gal usually fuss during the morning n afternoon feed. Like u I m also scared if I force her drink, she will have phobia of milk. Just bot pumpkin from isetan, will wake up early tomorrow to do purée before work.
Check with mummies if i make tomorrow morning I can ask mu mum put in fridge and feed my gal lunch n dinner, no need freeze right?

Gan,
if make tom morning can keep in the fridge for lunch n dinner.
so wei da mummy hv to wake up early to make bb's puree

Mummies, can I ask if my Cl says she let my babies drink 50ml now then what shd b d proportion for milk powder n water? I always see d milk is ard 70ml..She says she din put v thick milk powder as scared they constipated. When she explain to me d proportion, I dun really understand.. So what shd b d correct proportion lei?

Rostrum, shld follow the instructions on the tin. What brand fm r u using? For enfa it's 30ml water to 1scoop. Ur CL cannot use her own ratio. The fm now is unlike the olden days whereby it's thick... Modern fm is 85% water. No such thing as too thick already.

Gan, I saw u ordered some bb books. There is another website tht sells cheaper leh. I bought quite abit from her. U shld get the sound books, my bbs love it. Let me know if u want the link.

Hi panda thanks!! Send me the link so I can get for my gal.
Btw those food cubes do u sterilize or just use hot water to rinse?? Do u use separate knife for baby food? I bot a mini chopping board to cut the food... Just now use boiling water to rinse it sort of deform slightly using rinsing. The utensils do u try to 'sterilise' with hot water?

rostrum,
yes, panda is right. u need to follow the instructions on the tin. usually is 30ml to 1 scoop. olden days they always play with the amt of FM or amt of water to adjust the consistency of milk. but tat will affect the amt of nutrients yr bbs r getting.

if yr bbs are getting constipated, then the brand is not suitable for them. change brands and dun start adjusting the proportions.

but also take note that the amt will rise after adding the powder. so if u use 30ml water, after adding 1 scoop powder, the amt of milk will be abt 40ml. i usually record as bb drank 40ml

Panda
What books u buy? Can give me the link? So far i didn buy any books except the First Foods...

Gan
I also use chopping board solely for bb foods... The knife i didnt sterilise wor... I guess now bbs are not nb.. Its ok not to sterilise the knife as long as u wash it clean before using..

Btw just now i try feeding water using avent cup to my small girl.. She drinks! So later im gg to try to feed milk using cup instead of bottle...
Yday night they sleep thru frm 830pm to 645am this morning.. My elder girl woke up at 3am.. My maid carry her bk to sleep.. Didnt feed milk... Now training them to sleep thru without drinking milk... Imagaine aft so long without milk.. My small girl still refuse to drink for her first morning feed.. Omg..

Next time if yr girl cant finish her milk.. U can use the remaining milk to make cereal for her.. That way u wont waste the milk and yr girl still drink her usual milk vol if she finish up her cereal... Thats what i do.. This morning my elder girl only drink 60ml.. The remaining 80ml i make oats cereal.. She finish all!

Btw mummies
It is a good time to intro mag cup? Those with side handles cup bottle... Will the flow be too great for them? Which brand is good??

Grumpus, yea that's what they do. If they cry we Put pacifier they suck hard n fast, then for awhile they push out n start cryg. Gal will then shake head if i try again to push pacifier in, whilst boy will suck n push out again Leh. So isit a sign of hunger?
At times then r sucking on the milk n yet the milk doesn't seem to move much, I realized there's milk stuck at the teat causing them sucking efficiently. Is my water too cold for the milk powder? What is the correct temp to gauge? I normally feel ala lukewarm to inner wrist ok rite?

Ooh I didn't know we can follow the instructions on the tin of
milk powder. Same as rostrum CL mine said 90 shld b 2 n 3/4 scoops, 120 is 3&3/4 scoops. So its ok to follow n won't v heaty ma? They r drkg nan pro

Imp,

When I make fm, I use 40ml room temperature water and 20ml hot water. I get about 70ml of milk. For 1 standard scoop (Similac)

Imp I sometimes add additional 10ml water to make milk eg instead of 120ml water I used 130ml water for 4 scoops of enfalac as my gal dun drink much water, I scared she is heaty

Mamil scoop is small. I compared to the similac scoop. It's half the size so I use the similac scoop for mamil. Don't hv to scoop so many times. Instead of 6 small scoops of mamil fm, I use 3 scoops with 180 ml water. (150 ml room temperature and 30ml hot water = 210 ml milk)

Imp,
Best is follow the instruction on the tin. Tat will ensure bb is getting the right amt of nutrients. Nowadays there's a lot of research gone into making the FM, with added probiotics n wat not. Shd not cause heatiness. If bb get constipated then change brands, so many brands out there, there will be a suitable one. When bb slightly older u can let them hv some water separately.

Panda
Aiyo so many types.. See until i blur.. Hee..

Sound book means when i flip the page.. Got music is it?? Then whAt is touch book?
Can share which one u buy? Cos i totally idealess on which one to buy... Btw this thread is closed ah? Dont accept order?

Baby, sure..i bought the following:

1. The Three Little Pigs
2. Goldilocks and the thr ee bears
3. Usborne Book of Sleepytime stories
4. Baby Touch: Big Noisy Playbook
5. Noisy Jungle
6. Ladybird big noisy book- Farm Hullabalo
7. Touchy feely flashcards

Sound books have buttons to press.. will either hv sounds or music.

Touch books are those with different textures in the pages for babies to feel..

You can PM the seller, her name is Mabel. Just tell her I referred you ...she is still taking orders. But the books list on the bp might not be the latest. You can ask her for an uplated list of books thts suitable for your bbs age

Thanks all mummies for the info!

Btw my boy wearing huggies s size diapers n always got marks on thighs cos tight. I tried m size on him seems too loose. Any brands to recommend for an in between size?

I'm gg crazy with their colic attacks nw both of them cry fr ard 7-8pm till 12+am. Tried ridwind, ruyi, coaxing, singing, wat hv u but doesn't seem to wk. Isit nothing else I can do except let them get outa this phase?
Anyone went yu GUo massage for babies n does it help in colicky bbs?

mummies, when u feed soilds to baby, how much do you feed the baby for new food the first time? Today i feed pumpkin to my gal for lunch and she loved it, finished about 30ml of the puree. but my mum is saying new food should give only 1 spoon to try?
Hmm but after eating pumpkin, she doesn't want rice cereal now. =S

im22, huggies cutting is small, u can try pampers, mamy poko, their cutting is more generous than huggies. S should be ok for your boy.

Imp
I brought my girls to yuguo before.. Cos my small girl has colic but the massage doesnt seems to help thou.. In fact nothing works.. Rocking, pacifier, ruyi oil, ridwind.. Hang in there... Its not forever... It will end one day...

Gan
30ml seems fine...
Pumpkin is sweet by itself.. So thats y she reject the bland rice cereal... U can try to add pumpkin into the rice cereal so it wont be so tasteless...
I usually will feed plain rice cereal first.. Followed by puree..

Imp22,

You may wish to try the followin:

1) Gripe water
2) On the lights
3) Carry them upright and rest on ur chest
4) Elevate bb mattress to an angle with magazines
5) Endure

Gan,

I am starting solids soon too, maybe next week...so excited. Maybe i will try rice cereal first, but the nestle rice cereal states "fr 6 mths onwards"...ok to feed my bb now at 5th mth?
My pd said can start now, no issue...

Rose
No issue... When u see yr bb is ready.. U can give rice cereal.. I start at 5mth too.. And my bbs are premature bbs..
But it may take them awhile to get used to eating with spoon.. So it may take a few trys before yr bb will swallow what u put inside their mouth...

Gan,
shd start new foods with small amts cos although bb might like the taste, she may not be able to digest or hv gas or allergy after eating the new food.
small amts will ensure she can adjust slowly.

Gan, I use pampers n m poko for nite only Leh as more costly. Huggies pet pet I use for day. Tinking of a cheaper brand to switch to w bigger cutting.

Btw, I hear alot mummies talk abt pampers n m poko for overnight use, do u change in middle of nite or leave it despite its heavy til morning then change?

Baby, heard gtg few x continuously initially isit true? My CL told me is good, but jus wana chk out mommies here who've tried

Rose, gripe water is my next move

Btw I hv problem looking for goon diapers seems not easily available? Ware can I buy goon fr huh?
Got good diapers deal?

Thanks will ask my mum give less this evening...my gal finished another 30ml this morning. So I shld do like what singapoh advised, 1/2 baby spoon for 3 days then slowly increased?

Rose I started solids for my gal at 5 mths too and she is pre-term baby. I started her on white rice cereal .... She had that for 3 weeks!! Only recently started trying pumpkin. Nestle has white rice cereal. Most cereal wld say 6 mths onwards Coz encourage to breastfeed baby for 6mths. U can let her Ty bellamy's white rice ... That one indicates from 4 mths onwards n no added sugar. I feed nestle during weekends Coz it is in a tin easier to keep, weekdays feeding her bellamy's

Imp22 goon buy from gmarket cheaper than from their website, got free delivery when hit certain quantity. U can also try nepia, if u buy from them direct $16 per pack. Find the quality good too. Google for nepia to get the contacT

Imp,
At night when bb wake up for feed I will check diaper. If poo or very full then change. So as bb wake up less n less, diaper change at night also become less n less :p

Imp
I also went 3 times continuously.. But i dont see improvment leh... But no harm trying lah if u have to time..
I find colic is a phase.. Just bite and endure! It will disappear one day.. So dont be despair ya!

gan, baby n grumpus,

thks! think i will start nestle white rice cereal for a week first...
do u feed one spoonful of rice cereal for day 1 n then wait for three days to see for allergy or can feed one spoonful for 3 consecutive days???

Grumpus,

Haha.. I hope I didn't scare him. I asked my hubby if he knows him but he said he has never seen him before so I went up to him and tried my luck. Lucky got the right person. Haha..

Singapoh,
Haha it's ok. I hv mentioned abt u to hb before. In fact before he went for the dinner party he even said maybe yr hb will be there. Scarly so zhun

Mummies who hv two or more maids, can I check if the levy is the same for second maid n we can hire more than one?

Gan, noted on the diapers

Baby, yea m waiting for that day to come

Grumpus,

Yeah he mentioned that. I haven't even met u! =p

Imp,

I just checked with my agent. She said for yr case with 2 young babies can get a 2nd maid if u live in a 4 room flat and above and household income must be at least $3.5 k a month.

Same levy for 2nd maid.