IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

baby, i hv given my boy plain potato..he likes it..

the porriage i mix into his vege puree..have not tried giving it plain... maybe will do tht today...

did ur gals wake up v often at night when teething? my ones these two nights super duper cranky...zzz also keep cry n cry...aiyoh

Panda
Hmm.. I didnt serve potato alone.. Cos i scare will be too mashy.. Like v hard to swallow.. Haha.. Maybe i will try giving potato alone tml...

U can try giving plain oats porridge.. Itself is v fragnant..

I remember when my girls teething.. They are also v cranky.. Keep crying and refuse to drink milk.. Wake up a few times at night.. Then abt few days to a week later i saw their teeth cut.. But the story doesnt end here.. When their teeth cut.. They continue to be fussy.. Also refuse to drink their milk... I believe cos the teeth still growing out.. So they are v uncomfy... Now a few weeks later.. They are better.. Not that cranky...

blissful fate, aiyoh..i can understand. these kind of problems are more stressful than having to look after baby. esp when both sides of the families are involved...

baby, i add water to the potato.. easier for baby to eat.

my eldest boy hv two teeth shapes protruding from his gums..i tink going to cut soon

Baby/Pandawife,

Since you mummies have multiples and are SAHM, is it really necessary to freeze puree?

So far, I prepare fresh puree or give her jar baby puree. And she finish in one day. My hubby is against the idea of frozen puree.

Hello mommies,
It’s me again and I think im going crazy torturing myself with the same old dilemma all over again.

Im very very tired from looking after my baby… I dunno whether he is demanding or I just have no energy to keep up with him… I am very tired everyday…and feel very burnt out…

I have not been able to rest or bathe since I woke up as I was busy bathing/pumping/feeding/playing with him since 7am. I tried to schedule his playtime to be “constructive” and I would read/play music/talk etc… it is very tiring… the only time away is now when im pumping (while typing this)…and even then I feel that pumping takes away 30 precious minutes with him and he gets to spend 30 extra mins with the helper which I dread…
I sometimes ask my hubby to help out and his form of play is just lying down next to him while he played with his ipad…and then he will play and placate my BB when he fusses… to me, I try to entertain him while he is awake because i believe play shd be meaningful and believe me, it is very tiring…

I feel disappointed because I never expect not to enjoy motherhood. I look fwd to his birth since my pregnancy but then reality turns out very diff...

Yet I dare not share openly my fears as im afraid ppl will chide me… ppl who did not know me will think im creating problem for myself…

It’s just that for the past 3 months I feel nothing but fatigue… everyday im low in energy dealing with his demands and changes…

Yes I have a maid but because I am paranoid and possessive, I limit my BB’s time with her… I am acutely fearful of them bonding u see… but it is impossible for him to avoid her because there are times I need to pump etc and she has to play with him as he refused to lie down in the rocker with me just talking to him…
I think I am going mad like this… and hubby could see my stress level even though im just taking care of ONE baby…

Im supposed to go bk to wk tmw… as my maternity leave has come to an end… but applied for NPL so I can spend more time with him.. reckon that unless I be a SAHM, there is never a “best” time to resume work… so after much deliberation, I intend to work part time in sept… hopefully I can achieve a balance…

I honestly dunno whats wrong with me…such thoughts and fatigue consumed me very much…hence I decided to ventilate here…pls bear with me…thanks!

Just faith, with 3 bbs, i dun hv time to steam n blend everyday... i usually do the preparation on wkends when my hb is around to help w the bbs....wkdays is near mission impossible... maid also no time to wash n dry the blender for me everyday... just doing the basic housework n washing bottles already keeping her very busy on top of looking after bbs...

pink: I think you should learn to let go. If you feel tiring you should let your maid to handle for a while and take a break. In fact, you should let her spend more time with yr bb, then she will like/love your bb more. Sometime I will tell myself dn't make everything to be perfect if not I am not the only one suffering because bb will feel the stress as well.

Pink d,
U'll be surprised tat bbs idea of meaningful play is very different from ours. U can/shd let yr bb hv some free play n exploration. Too much reading, talking n flashcards can also overstimulate bb n then they get cranky when it's time to sleep. My girl loves to explore with her hands (n mouth) everything n anything. Not just limited to proper toys.

I let #1 do tat a lot n now she's very independent n can entertain, amuse herself with just abt anything. Give her cardboard box n she's happy

Maybe tat will help free up some time for yrself

PandaWife,

Thought since you have 3 babies, it is easier for them to finish the food in one day.. hehe. btw, if you have time to drop by ikea, do check out their baby food (jar). FOC. for babies 6 months & above.

Just Faith, not all 3 are eating well.. only eldest can eat a decent portion. the other two play w food in their mouth n push in out... even if its easier to finish their portion, feeding them takes alot of time! eventually, if they progress to porridge, then i will cut down on the purees.. but for now i still hv to do frozen purees..

the only time i hv my hands free is when all three zzzz... n when they zzz i cannot blend coz it will wake them up. of coz provided all three can nap together.. smtimes 2 nap 1 wanna play, i will still b hands tied.. if u get the drift....

Pink D,

Think you need to let go a little. I enjoy looking at my DH spending time with my girl on the bed. Whether playing music, showing her some iphone applications from F&P, singing or simply not doing anything.

If my maid is more matured, I "might" have let her handle my Baby G. Right now, I only restrict my maid to making milk and "entertaining" her when she is in her cot or rocker, like bringing toys to her.

Same as you, I have not had my shower yet. haha. When I want to take my shower just now, my next door neighbour boy was playing the drums so loud that Baby G woke up from her sleep. Now I just leave her in the baby cot while I surf the net. As long as she knows I am within her sight, she will not fuss (cross my fingers)... and sometimes I will crawl out of her room so that she don't see me leaving her room. haha.

Do remember to build up your own body. I am still taking chicken essence every morning. Otherwise, where got energy to carry our baby? hehe.

Pandawife,

Thanks for sharing. btw, my girl can finish one jar of puree for her "dinner". I started from half jar.. now slowly progressing to 1 jar. And she can finish within 5mins. When I am too slow, she will fuss... or start kicking her legs.

just faith, ur gal's appetite is gd!

the boy manage 3/4 of the avent cup of veg puree in the mornings... n in the afternoon i giv him another 3/4 cup of fruit puree...

smtimes if i feel too tired.. i will do half cup of veg followed by half cup of fruit in the morning.. afternoon if can find time i will rest..

is it messy to feed ur gal? my boy everytime eat there will be food everywhere...all over the high chair, his toys to keep him guai guai in the chair, his face, ears, the floor and all over me too! using a bib is useless on him even though i bought those huge waterproof ones. :p

Just faith/panda
Wow yr bbs all have good appetite... I didnt know can give so much at one go... My elder girl can eat but i usually stop when she aldry ate half avent cup.. Cos i scare its too much for her tiny stomach.. Also worried no room for milk...
Hmm maybe i should give her more...

Panda, i usually give one time cereal either rice or oats.. One time either fruit or vege.. Usually cereal in the evening hope to make them fuller for the night...
Did yr boy continue finish his usual milk feed after eating solids?

Just faith
Ikea gives foc baby food?? I didnt know that.. Where to get it? Cashier? Must show baby? Hee...

Pink D
Dont be too hard on yrself.. We cant be perfect mummy..
I also feel terrible sometimes looking aft 2 bbs.. No time for myself.. So i will try to let my maid and hb handle when i get too tired and overwhelmed...

Just faith
Same as panda.. I dont have time to prepare fresh puree everyday... I will prepare once every few days in bigger portion to freeze.. As their appetite not that big.. It will take awhile for the frozen puree to finish.. I will keep for abt 2 weeks...

Pink, I can understand wat ur gog thru coz tt was wat I went thru w my boy for e 1st 1-4 mths. I did learnt to slowly let go, but not by letting my maid taking care of him. Till now, I still dun allow my maid to take care of him. Wat I did then is I let him keep himself occupied. He can lie there n played w himself while I took a breather, have my breakfast n read my newspaper. Or he can lie on my bed or sofa while I watched e tv

Baby
Prunes and peaches needs to be steamed and blended

Pink d
Don't be too stress. Totally understand wat u are going thru. Sometimes I pump while he is in the playyard. Then I sing song or talk to him. Btw u need to let him have some "alone" time to play by himself. It is actually goOd for him.
then take some time to chill. I find that if I don't get enough rest myself, I cannot care for him properly

Baby,
From abt 8mths u can give the fruits raw. Steaming is to break down the fruits so it's easier for bb to digest. Once they're more used to solid food, can start giving raw

baby, if i giv the food one hour after his milk, he can still drink his milk as per normal at the next feed. if i gv 2 hrs after his milk, then i notice it will affect his milk intake at the next feed.

Pandawife/Baby,

I fed my girl her food again. One jar is abt 110gm. Just now I took about 10mins as she doesn't really like apple + banana. Kinda sourish. I will resume rice cereal this week as she had fever after her vaccine last week. I did ask PD about increasing her food intake last week, and she said why not if baby enjoy and can finish her food? Because of this, her milk intake also reduced. She dun demand for milk lately. I hope it is because she is teething.

Yes, panda!!!! Used to be very very very messy. But I found a way to overcome quickly. I will give her bib. Go round her neck. Many a times she will try to pull down. But I will quickly put back, otherwise it will be worst. I always make sure I hold the food on my left hand and spoon on my right hand. I will also standby at least two pcs of tissue paper with the same hand holding the spoon. If it gets messy or got food around her mouth, I will use her bib to clean her mouth. I will not my mothercare face towels when feeding her because it is so difficult to remove the pumpkin food stains on the white cloth. My girl also like to grab my hands or snatch the food from me, so I make sure I hold it from a distance. FYI, I dun let her hold any toys during feeding as she has tendency to put the toys inside her mouth when I am slow in giving next spoon feed. More toys = more cleaning work. Hahaha. Now feeding her is as simple as 1-2-3. I really enjoy seeing her eating n kicking when I am too slow!

Thanks mommies for your kind replies.
Actually I also dunno how to balance and what I can choose to let go...
this evening was sheer madness...now my boy's cries for milk has changed i dun even know how to identify his hunger cue... and he did not want to bed fed when held...had to pacify him then he gulped down his milk in 5mins and zz...while burping he fussed as he was woken up

It was mad time trying to pacify him/fed/wiped down and settled him to bed...and not to forget i need to pump milk... sigh...

i feel very bad that I stimes vent my frustration on him... i will regret later coz im not a loving mom at all...
many times i wish i could scream coz im so irritated and impatient...

Just Faith: My maid has 7yrs BB exp and she is more exp than me...hence im scared my BB will love her more... and i will be replaced...
i limited her contact with my BB and its very obvious. She only wiped his butts and chg diapers...
she cannot carry him unless there is nobody ard (im in toilet) and there's emergency...
she can only play with him when im dead tired and need a rest...even then i will wake up in shock that I have fallen asleep and quickly ran to see how my son is...

i think im leading a highly strung and nervous life...
maybe soon i will get a nervous breakdown...

just faith, i tink gals are generally more guai! when i feed my gal its not as messy leh... she can sit in the high chair, slowly try to eat ... no fuss, no need toys..

for my boy if i dun hv toys, in leass then 10secs he will be screaming to get out of the chair! :S yes..he tries to grab the spoon from me..n wanna hold it n chew n chew ....:S i let him eat his toys while i feed so long as he eats... wave white flag liao....smtimes i feed and my maid has to wave rattler toys and sing to distract him!!

Baby I give my boy apple raw at 6 mths. Pear also. Pd says can. I scrap using a spoon then I feed. Pretty messy. For prunes and peaches a bit hard so I steam

Seeing u gals making fresh purée make me guilty leh.... My gal has been eating the rice cereal for 3 weeks le but I have not made any purée yet coz weekdays working impossible , these few weekends not free coz got stuff to do. Tomorrow on leave to bring her for jab. Think will go cs to buy some pumpkin to make purée.

Pink d dun be too hard on urself to try be a 100% mum. I guess it's the fear of losing ur boy's closeness to you that makes u uptight. But I think u shouldn't worry too much unless u really Bo chap him, everything leave to others to handle then he may replace someone in place of u. If not the bond. Between a mummy n child is not so easily broken. I returned to work since 5'may n my parents are the main caregivers. She definitely sees my parents more than me these 1 month plus but everytime when I return home from work she wkd smile brightly at me. If I dun carry her immediately she wld cry for me to carry. So though time spent is much much less compare to during maternity leave but the closeness is still there. Actually I understand what u meant abt doing things urself though u have a maid. Everynight I m the one who prepares the milk powder into container to bring to my parents place, do night feeds, pacify her if she cries in the middle of nite etc. But if doing everything urself puts additional stress in you, maybe take a step back and accept available help. That doesn't make u a bad mummy but perhaps a happy mummy as u get a breather. Happy mummy = happy baby.

Gan
Dont feel quilty!! U are not sahm like us.. We are at home whole day.. So its easier for us to prepare food..
Initially i also didnt give my girls puree.. I gave her plain rice cereal for a while before moving on to puree food..
U can start with pumpkin cos its easier to prepare.. Its easy to steam as it get soft quite fast.. Just cut and steam for a abt 10mins... Blend.. Done! U can do more to freeze.. So not need to prepare everyday...

singapoh yup do the puree and freeze them for my mum to feed. have all gagets ready, just need a nice pumpkin tomorrow!

Baby, did u steam the pumpkin with skin or without skin?

Gan
Yup.. I steam without the skin...
Im lazy.. I steam all food without the skin.. Thou i read steaming with skin intact will retain more nutrients... Cos its easier for me to blend without the skin...

Gan, please dun feel guilty! I am too free at home. Hence, exploring different things with her everyday.

PandaWife, after you feed your girl puree, how many hours later did you give her milk? Last evening, i brought forward her feeding time. At 430pm, she already had one jar of puree. She asked for milk at 730pm - 130ml. Then another round of milk at 11pm - 160ml. On both occasions, she finished the milk!! She slept all the way till 7am+ this morning. Quite an achievement for me cause she has habit of waking up at 4am+ every morning.

Just faith, I usually gv food one hr after milk. 2hrs later my boy will drink his milk. Unless I gv cereal, then it will affect the next feed.

My little ones now hv their last feed at 10pm. Morning feed used to b 5am..these few days it's betw 6-7am.

Pandawife,

I like your feeding times. I hate to get up at 4am to 5am... and this is the time where I will ask my maid to prepare her milk, cause I can barely open my eyes.

I will continue to experiment.... haha.

blissful fate,

its a difficult time for both u n ur hub as well as ur hub aunt, i can tell u even if she said tat she wants to move out, i dun think she will. just say say to threaten, can she survive on her own? old n sick liao how? these r d concerns she n i believe ur hub will have....so i think its quite unlikely...unless she got other close relatives to turn to. but if she really moves out, its wil be a gd thing for ur family too, finally! i oso hopin tat my in laws n my sil will move out...but i know its impossible. so i wish u good luck n just stay positive on watever outcome it wil be.

pink d,
i was just like u a mth ago! worry on everythin n finding mistakes on others, i can tell u, its scary!!! u dun feel urselves anymore n u wil get more n more impatient! i ended up scolding everyone, n last straw was i suddenly break down n cry! i knew something was wrong n was afraid of post natal blues, so i open my heart to my hub. i told him everything, how i dislike his family, how i worry for everythin n to d extend tat i hope i can end my life...i almost c doc during tat period coz i do feel i am crazy. but aft pouring my heart out to my hub n my sis, i am getting much much better n am starting to appreciate wat i hav, includin my IL. its a weird turning point for me...i strongly believe its our hormones playin on us n oso d stress of takin care of our bb. so, pls...go talk to ur hub or someone u trust...if not it may affect ur family life n oso ur bb...go talk to someone!!! pour out everything! it helps!!!

Just faith/panda
Good mann... U gals bbs can sleep till 6-7am... Thats v good! Yday night my ones wake up at 4am for milk.. Omg...
Cos my last feed is always near 830pm... They will usually wake up ard 5plus am... Sometimes till 6plus am... Thats near good too...

Just now my small girl refuse to drink her milk... Drank only 30ml... The remaining 100ml i make her rice cereal.. She finish up! Dont know why she dont like to drink milk.. I wonder is it the avent no2 teats too slow for her.. Gg to change to no3... See of it helps..

Just faith/baby, i do night training leh..10pm is a dreamfeed so tht they can last til later in the morning...

when i initially started, they cry for milk from 4-5am.. then i just pick them up, pat pat walk walk until they zzzz again..... after a few days they will get use to the new feeding time.

Hi mummies, would like your advice.
Lately my girl likes to turn to one side to sleep so sometime she flip til tummy down and thereafter head up and cry. That made me these few nights has to carry her to sleep. How to change her sleeping pattern?

ru,
if she like to sleep on one side, maybe give her a bolster to hug? so not so easy for her to flip over.

btw, my girl has been doing tat too. few times a night she will eh eh and i will find her on her tummy, head up and calling. then very hard to go back to sleep. i just take it as a phase.

My small girl has super duper difficulty in drinking her milk every feed... She simply refuse to drink.. Keep crying and shake her head.. Keep her lips shut when i try to put in the teats... Even when i manage to put in the teats.. She will suck a few mouths and scream again... I will need to carry rock her standing.. Bounce her to coax her to drink...
Can anyone advise??? Me and hb are gg bonkers liao....
Is it i need to change fm brand? She dont like the taste anymore??

Baby, on milk strike? Hv u change to enfa pro?

Why don't u giv her more solids? Thts my pd advise...if dun want drink we can't force...so hv to gv more solid...

Grumpus : I tried but she doesn't know how to hug so I put the bostler along the corner no space for her to flip then she tune her head to don't know what degree and sleep. Seen this so worry her neck pain so thereafter remove the bostler to lower

Panda/gan
Dont know leh.. She always been a fussy girl when comes to feeding... But lately it has become worst... Hvt start to drink.. The moment she see the bottle she start to cry liao...
Im still on enfalac.. Hvt move to enfapro.. Cos her milk intake not v high and dont take solids well thats y i still let her drink enfalac..

Give her more solids ah... But she dont take solids too well leh... Only can take plain rice cereAl sometimes.. Other puree all dont want... How ah...

Gan, yr girl cry for every feed? Mine is every single feed leh.. She will suck a few mouths then scream again.. How u settle yr girl? How u make her finish her milk?
Even i try to carry her standing.. Rock her.. Also cannot ah..
Dont know what is the problem... Initially tot its teething but her teeth cut weeks ago liao le....

Baby my gal will drink when she wants to sleep/nap. Like just now, 1240pm i feed her till 130pm only finished 90 ml..... In between push bottle away, do 'sit up' to show she doesn't want milk, scream/cry... I have to feed, stop, carry her walk around the house and try feed again. But at 205pm she wanted to nap n cry for milk, finish 70ml in 5 min. The strike starts again these 2 weeks..... But I didn't see any tooth yet