IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Babyhopeful,

My big boy kept waking up for comfort suckling. Didn't want to settle down when I refuse to let him latch. He cried for 1 hour. When I moved to another room to zzz, he went back to zzz very fast. It went on like this till he was 22 months old.

My mum stayed with me for a short visit. I took this opportunity to wean him off. When it's time to latch, I "disappeared". He was distracted by playing with my mum. I did this the next feed and slowly he " forgot" about latching. Took a few days to wean him.

I think it should be easy for my twins coz they are on bottle feeding and only latch in the morning at 5 am. When they can see my tit, they dun wanna latch. Haha..I guess they are ready to wean off by themselves

Singapoh I really like the cakes for ur twins!! Cld u pm me the contact for the cake? Like to do something nice for my gal later this year

Grumpus..i m so engorged tht I m super cranky!! Expressed 40ml last night coz cannot tahan..but boobs still v painful n sore.....

Panda,
oh dear, how many days has it been?
for me the 2 pumps to 1 pump to no pump was also the hardest.

Apply cold cabbage? i used cold ice packs, they stay cold longer and really help to numb the discomfort. also the cold will constrict the blood vessels so less milk is produced. opposite of hot water bottle

Grumpus..thanks for the tip ! Later I try to use the cold pack. Trying to stop is even harder than trying to start. I think my body still producing milk... Can feel the pains ..argh

Panda
Totally agree that its hard to stop bf than trying to start.. The stopping is always hard but it will eventually gets better..

How do u mix the carrot to rice cereal? Steam the carrots and puree? Than add the carrot puree directly to the mixed cereal?

I also bring out the philips mini blender i bought during the taka baby fair.. Looks quite easy to use.. But i went to see handheld ones.. Looks even easier to use and wash.. Can just blend directly in the bowl..

I wonder should i just give carrot puree alone or mix it in rice cereal..

Rose
I went to taka cs to buy the huggjes... Its not stated at the diaper section on the free gift.. Got to ask the staff.. Then she give me the redemption paper.. I ordered the diaper.. 6 pkts L size and 4 pkts XL.. Cos my girls is still using M size now..
The new ultra series looks more comfy. Feels v soft..

The cashier told me its v popular.. And tell me the price is really v cheap.. The cheapest so far.. Im so tempted to buy more but cos i didnt use it before so dont dare to buy more..

The staff says the free gift is first come first serve basis le.. Dont knw will it run out of it..

Hi mummies: need some advice from u all. My girl intake is below the required amt (she is about 3 mth) we suspect that the teat flow caused her cant increase the quatity. Now daily intake is about 600ml only. PD said can go up to 800ml. We r now using Medela S size, she takes (30-45min) to finish 110ml ave so we tried M side but seem the M flow too fast. So we tried NUK S side as well as Pigeon both also the same. So I wonder for 3 mth old bb which brand and the teat size should I use, hopefully after the successful change her intake can slowly increase. Thks

Baby, u steam n puree the carrot then add two teaspoon of cereal to the puree. I wanted to dilute the sweetness of the carrot coz don't want bb to only like very sweet foods as this is the first time he is tasting it.

I also just started to add cereal to the last milk feed at night as suggested by my pd. Instead of dreamfeeding at midnight, I give at the earlier feed n see if they can sleep thru. Last night first try, last feed 9pm..two of them slept until 430am.

Pandawife, when u say 2 teaspoon u r referring to the size of the weaning spoon? for first cereal feed, how much do you feed your babies? ur gal and boy eat the same quantity?

Gan, yes..the combi weaning spoon. Actually first week is like trial testing..see their reaction to food n also test for allergies. Quantity not v impt. I let them all try...but my eldest seems more eager n ready. The other two eat abit then keep the food in the mouth n after a few feeds, push all the food out ...n they dont ask for more.

baby,
so far d cold storage shelving dun put d free gift advert, i saw it first published on TODAY. d gift voucher said start 1 Jun can collect, mayb go early, but they will replace with equivalent if run out of stock.

i tried d new huggies ultra again last night, same leh, my bb fuss after 5hrs, usually she doesnt wake up in d middle of the night with mamy poko. i measured d width of her diaper liner n it was much shorter than mamy poko n slightly shorter than fitti basic. think maybe too short, does not absorb too much ba.

i think i will use huggies for her when gng out or during daytime when she is not poo-in. now i roughly noe my bb poo-in time...heehee.

Panda
U say add two tsps to the carrot puree.. U mean 2 tsps of dry rice cereal? Or aldry premix with fm?

U add cereal to last feed.. U mean add rice cereal powder to the milk bottle or u feed them rice cereal by spoon?

Rose
Really ah? So far i didnt let my girls wear huggies at night.. I let them wear when they go out.. They wear fitti at night.. So far no problem.. But need to change one time in the middle of night..
Yday night didnt change.. One girl leak pee..
I will try to let them wear the old huggies ultra tonight..

Btw the ultra L size is for what weight range?
My girls now weigh 7kg plus still wearing M size...

Btw mummies
Where can i buy carters whole body suit pj?
Those that are long slv and long pants that cover the feet whole piece suit...
Cos mothercare abit exp la...

havent had time to log in for a while.. i read that some of u are already planning or stopping breastfeeding. so fast? how long are we supposed to breastfeed till?

Baby,

U can add cereal to purée to thicken it or water to dilute.

My gal is close to 9 kg and still can fit M. She has a small butt.

Why don't u get 2 piece PJ? Easier to change diaper too. Put let baby wear socks to sleep. 1 set is about $10 only. I got mine from Isetan.

Happyhippo,

If u can bf for at least 6 months. If u can continue after that even better. It's a personal choice.

As for me, my twins are showing signs of self weaning. So I am gonna stop after their first birthdays which is few days from now. I am down with 1 feed per day now.

Baby, add the rice cereal dry to the puree..
At night just put two teaspoon to the milk. U might need bigger bottle teats. I change my dr brown to step 3 for 6 mths.

Panda
Oh ic.. Just like how our mummies do when we are young.. Just that they add brown rice to the milk...

Singapoh
Can use rice cereal premix with fm to dilute puree instead of using water?
Its better to use water or milk to dilute?

can i have the contact num of the maid agency u ladies hired your maids?
coz my mum wanna hire a new maid.

thanx!

Hi All, I came in once after I bfp but didn't come here cos I dunno what to talk since still in early stage. Now I'm at my 15th weeks n coming 16th week. Actually I have a few questions to ask, can I post it here?

Hi grumpus, long time no see. Me now at a loss cis dunno who to ask hee. Recently I've sharp pain at the side and also my pelvic or pubic (?) bone is it normal? And I can feel my tummy like got 1 lump sort of like contracting or pulling downwards esp when I'm lying down but sometimes while sitting too.

I'm on crinone n I have bleeding episodes, twice after inserting crinone n twice dunno y. The last 2 times is last sun and this afternoon after lunch. Actually I rest for almost 3 mths at home n today is my 1st day back to work. Anybody encounter this during crinone or at my stage?

Sorry for asking so many questions

Janice,
Is your bleeding just spotting type with red ? I had spotting during Wk9 but it's once off thingy and after I stopped my crinone inserts on Wk12, Wk14 came the dramatic one where it was like AF type. I was hospitalised for observation for about 4 days and my dr advised me to bed rest and don't strain my pelvic. After being cleared for 2 wks, I had brown spotting which lasted until Wk19. Since then I did not spot any longer. Am now Wk31 n had been resting at home since my Wk14 bleeding. Seldom go out for shopping and if I need to go out, I will minimize walking and walk v.slowly. Meanwhile stay positive and try to rest as much as possible!

Thanks Day. Mine is more than spotting and it's red. Will go for scan tmr to check on baby. Juz dun understand why keep having this
. Not sure now is it because I keep turning n tossing at nite while sleeping due to my sore butt. Been feeling pain at the side n bottom too

Janice, as long as dr says everything is well. Sometimes its better not to worry excessively but I know its easier said than done. But most importantly, stay positive and make sure u take things slowly and talk to your baby.!
U know ur baby's gender already ?

Morning Day, ya been very stress with all the bleeding episodes, my Oscar results, etc stress until I've rashes skin doc said it's call herpes due to stress. Yep mine is a princess & I talk to her everyday ^^

My girls sleep thru from 830pm to 6am this morning... This is the first time they sleep so long without drinking milk.. Is this ok?

My elder girl diaper is not wet when i change her... And her lips is abit dry... Im worried she is dehytrated without drinking milk for 10hrs...

Cos i add rice cereal to her last feed yday... But she only drank 30ml cos the teats too big for her.. So in e end i feed her normal milk without cereal for the remaining feed..
Didnt expect 30ml of cereal milk can make such big diffference!

bb,

huggies L size is 8-13kg. my CL told me if diaper is way below belly button den its time to up d size. my ger wears L like more comfortable, M like wearing tights.

my ger once a while oso slept thru d night, today she slept for 9hrs n she is still drinkin milk. u feedin fm or bm? u on aircon for her? could it b aircon? i ever asked my PD if bb sleep thru night for 8hrs is it ok? she replied that her boy slept thru 12hrs and when bb can sleep thru d night, u shld thank god!

Rose
Haha u are right mann! I shb thank god!
I been wishing my girls to sleep thru the night.. And when it did happen.. Abit shock and worried... So ironic.. Hee
I guess it shb be alright since they are not nb.. They are coming to 6mths old..

They are on total fm... And sleep in aircon rm 26 degree..

ya, received last night, told me tonight can go collect.

plannin to chong number one on 1 jun to collect d gift...worried they might subsitute other not so nice toy if run out of d toy on d advert...becomin more n more like kiasu parent. i think when my ger schoolin, i may be even more kiasu, go do volunteer work kind of stuff...hahaha.

mayb place a bowl of water in d aircon? not so dry.
i only on aircon durin day time n at night bef she falls into deep sleep. once my ger sleeps, i will off aircon n sleep till mornin. but her back sometimes a bit wet, my ger perspires a lot one...mayb too fat.

Rose
Haha i also leh.. I told my hb im getting more and more kiasu and calculative.. Wherever got sale or good offer on bb pdts i sure chong there... Wahahaha..

My small girl also perspire alot.. She can even perspire in aircon room u imagine... My elder girl sleeping in the same room wearing same clothes dont perspire...
Thats y no choice i let them sleep in aircon room at night cos they sleep better.. But my electrical bill v high now!!

Ya i also plan to go early for the free gift.. But im sure wont run out so fast la.. Else they will not have this promo... Unless u go near the end date... And im sure their subsititue gift wont be so bad.. Scarli even better... Hmmmm...

Hi mtbs, I have the following for sale:

Brand New:
3x Avent 260ml bottle + 2 6month teats (2 sets)
Retail price: $30.90
Selling price: $20

Ikea Gullunge inflatable changing mat + covers (red and blue)
Retail price: $22
Selling price: $10

2 can Nestle Alfare 400g
Retail price: $43 each
Selling price: $30 each

Lightly used, almost brand new:
ACE carrier cum infant car seat (x 2)
Retail price: $75
Selling price: $40

The First Years Airflow Deluxe Sleep Positioner with pad
Retail price: $53
Selling price: $30

Please PM me if you're keen.

Janice
Just rest as much as you can and you will get through it.

baby
It is ok, mine sleep through like that at a very early stage too. Celebrate your end to your night duty !

My bb didn't like cereal in his milk, tried that once as I was laszy to spoon feed and he refused to drink it. Had to throw away the full bottle of milk, wasted, esp. milk here is so exp.

Today noticed my bb 2 bottom teeth have sprouted. Looks likes he is ready for more....

Singapoh,
when u reduce to 1 latching feed per day, do u feel engorgement? I mean how do u manage to reduce # times bf without engorgement/fullness?

Rose: how old is ur girl now? very good girlyou have!
Me too...my boy is 10weeks old...and begin to sleep from abt 8pm to 2am...and I would worry...his next feed would be ard 6am...
i guess while we enjoy the bliss of uninterrupted sleep, we are afraid our little ones do not hv enough to eat?

is it normal as babies grow, they do not feed every 3 hourly?
My 10 week old is kinda dragging his feed from 3 to abt 3.5 / 4 hourly...normal?

Im concerned what if he does not receive enough nutrients and does not gain wt...

pink n bb,
my ger is 4mths liao. ya, i oso find her gettin more n more adult like, as if can understand what i say. she now seldom fuss, sleep on her own, even at night. will give me a weird look when wanna poo, n will aiaiai when wanna feed. so much better compared to her second month where she will scream n cry at night n always want to carry to sleep.

strange thing is i didnt do anything to train her, just tell her mummy is very tired, u guai guai hor, go sleep n hug ur bolster...

pink,
my ger oso lately one feed will be 4hrly n there was one day she only fed 4 times instead of 5. but as long as she poo pee n no abnormal behavior or cry, think shld be ok ba.
PD gave me vitamin n iron to drop in her milk, think shld hav sufficient nuttients ba...

I am a silent reader all these while.

Pink - how much milk is your boy drinking?

My bb girl who is coming 12 weeks still wakes up about 4 hourly at night and day time still 3 hourly. I fed her 130ml. Day time able to finish but night time irregular amt and wasted milk. Mine is on fm. Is it normal?