IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

I want to get a nappy bag but can't decide what brand is good. What brand of nappy bags do you all use and what are your comments ? Where is a good place to buy in Spore ?

Grumpus, Day, Working wife,
Ok. Let's meet at united sq at 10am this coming fri. Shall we meet at Starbucks or Bakerzin? Or any other suggestion? I'll probably bring one of my twins along. Looking forward to meet your babies too ;)

Gan,
I just close the plastic lid. We throw away the metal lid once we open the tin. Since my babies finish a tin in less than 3 days, it doesn't really matter whether we close the metal lid or not.
Oh I want to see your bb girl. Have u set up a FB acct or can I add your hubby to my list?

Grumpus, Day, Working wife,
Ok. Let's meet at united sq at 10am this coming fri. Shall we meet at Starbucks or Bakerzin? Or any other suggestion? I'll probably bring one of my twins along. Looking forward to meet your babies too ;)

Gan,
I just close the plastic lid. We throw away the metal lid once we open the tin. Since my babies finish a tin in less than 3 days, it doesn't really matter whether we close the metal lid or not.
Oh I want to see your bb girl. Have u set up a FB acct or can I add your hubby to my list?

Bing, thanks, i think i will just use the plastic lid else very ma fan to open plastic and metal lids. was alittle puzzle when i see so many lids, coz similac and s26 didn't have the metal lid.
Will pm you my hub's email address. i set up one using my gal's name but was too lazy to upload since we are also uploading her pics in my hub's facebook.

Imp,
Sorry for only reading your post now. Been busy. I think the reason my babies r on the bigger side us due to all the bird nest & milk that I took too in 2nd tri. I can easily finish 1 litre of milk in 1-2 days. Up your milk intake. At least one glass in the morning & 1 at nite before bed. Dr Loh says no durians for Rostrum but r u allowed to eat it? Maybe can eat some too?

Bing, grumpus, day,

Bakerzin shld have more space for strollers? Not sure if they r open at 10am though..

Bing - u on fb? Can add u so that can see yr pics before meeting u?

Bakerzin opens at 10.30am. Shd we move it to 10.30 or stick to 10 somewhere else?
How abt cedele? They open at 8.

Mummies, I am using both metal lid and plastic cover. I only once a day. I usually prepare the powder in the milk container. Allocate 4scoops in each compartment.

We can either go bakerzin at 10am or novena sq cedele at 10.30am. I'm fine with both.

Working wife,
I just pm u my email add.

Fashion spree,
Have u been feeding baby V cereal? I'm very tempted to start this weekend but my babies are fussing and fretting when taking milk these few days. I'm afraid if they start taking solids they will reject milk even more.

Pandawife,
Come and join us with your triplets ;) bring your maids to help u.

I'm ok with any of the location. Just let me know.

Bing,
I tried feeding her the cereals. But she don't seem to like it. I tried once only. Will try again. Apple puree she is still ok but not cereals.

bing, my 2 maids, only 1 can handle bb.. so if go out, hb has to go along.. very challenging..and we will be busy attending to the bbs the whole while. i m looking forward to them fussing less so tht easier to go out together...

Baby, Pandawife can I check how do you pay the monthly salary to your maid? Do u give them the $$ or u put in the bank for them?
Btw the maid's passport is with the agent?

My helper just came today

Gan,
join us on fri lei! can leave yr maid alone at home for a couple of hrs lah. or if u worried then bring her along lor.

Gan
So far my maid come less than 6mths so hvt pay her salary yet.. Only pay her $20 each mth for no off day.. We pass the $$ to her... I think when come 7th mth.. Will open a bank acc for her then deposit the mthly salary into her acc.. And show her the bank bk..

Ya i thk the password with the agent.

Singapoh
When u bring yr maid out.. And have meals.. Do u order one set for her? A main and a drink? Eat together with u or she take care bb while u eat?

Gan,
If yr helper still owes the agent $$ then they will hold the passport. Once they hv paid up their loan, the agent supposed to return the passport to u.

Usually for my mum, she will give the maid $50 a mth cash and the rest she will deposit in the bank acct for her n she will hold the bank book cos she dun want the maid to hv too much cash on hand. If the maid wants to buy big item or remit $$ home then she will hv to ask for the bank book from my mum. My mum prints a simple one page table with one column for mth, one column for amt cash paid, one column for amt deposited and makes the maid sign off every mth so there is no dispute.

grumpus, i also very tempted to join in coz sometimes felt like in 'jail' when i stayed at home all day during weekdays...=P but dun feel like leaving my helper alone at home leh coz she is new. bring her along also abut strange that she sits there..... next gathering lah, if there is one in may, i can join.

baby, do you have a timetable for your maid? or what do you ask her to do everyday? my maid quite fast or maybe my house very small, she very fast mop the floor, clean all the tops, wash and sterilise the bottles after we bring her home around 5pm. asked me anything else for her to do...but when i bring her to my mum's house and she is supposed to do the same cleaning for my mum, think she will not complete so fast coz mum's place double mine, she will have more to do.

I was thinking of banking in the $20 each mth for her since she has no off day, thought as well bank in the $$ but nowadays, there is a minimum amt required to open banking account??

Singapoh how do you pay your maids?

grumpus, the agent had a page print out for me with 1 column the month, the amt paid, one col for her signature and mine respectively. yup, she owes 7.5mths salary.

Pink-D baby care skills not tested coz still bu fang xin...slowly la. now i will concentrate to take care of baby, the chores can "wash hands"

I was telling madeline today she got such a good maid for you...hehehehe

Gan
No timetable.. But she aldry know the daily routine.
Morning wake up will wash/sterilise bottles, wash bb clothes, then she will handwash her own clothes. Then take bfast at abt 8plus.
After bfast, start to wipe the living hall. And if bbs wake up liao she will prepare bath water. Then will start to clean bb rm(vacume+mop+wipe)... Then clean my room(vacume+mop+wash toilet). By then should be abt noon time.. She will take her lunch.
After lunch will see what else to do, sometimes clean windows, clean aircon etc. The rest of the day will help me with the bbs, carry/feed/coax... If bbs sleeping, she will take a break, drink coffee read papers etc...

gan, i dun let my maids hold any $. i keep for them the monthly amt to pay them. i have an envelope for each of them. every mth on pay day, i will take it out, show them the $ that i put in..n also get them to sign off on a log sheet that I have put in the $.

unless ur maid has off days, its better not to give them cash. in the event of theft in the house, there will be no disputes.

i tink need minimum $500 to open POSB account..so hv to hold the cash until a certain mth before we can bring them to open the acc.

passport u hv to hold for her. when its ready, madeline will ask u to go n collect.

Gan/panda
I do let my maid hold some cash cos she will buy some personal things using her own $$. If i dont let her keep $$, means i got to pay for her when she need some extra tin. I feel its only fair for her to pay her own extra personal tins. Like for my maid, she will buy sweets, special bicuits, coffee etc for her own indulges. If we need to pay for all these, like will spoil her leh.. But i cant deprive her for these if she like, so i will let her go buy.

Gan,

Employer will keep maid's passport and work permit. Madeline will inform u when to collect. Whatever maid owes the agent, employer will pay for her first (loan) and deduct from her monthly salary.

Be careful if u ask her to clean yr mum's house coz some maid might complain to MOM. They are suppose to work at 1 address only. I never ask my maids to do any cleaning when we are at MIL but they will automatically help out.

I will be opening an account for them when they hv cleared their loans coz need minimum $500 to open an account.

I also let them each buy anything up to $10 every month as a token.

Hmmm I think I will follow pandawife's method. Initially I told her I will keep the money for her. She asked me to give her the $20 for the first 7.5 mths. I told her will keep n if she needs to remit $$ will then give her the $ to send home.

Baby I asked her if she drinks coffee in the morning if she drinks will buy the instant coffee for her. She said morning she drink water only. So I never get her coffee but got her a loaf of bread.

Rostrum,

I just bought a Coccorro Combi today for my gal. It's compact. I already hv an Aprica carseat for my bigger twin. It's bulky.

Singapoh coz maid will be at my mum place the whole day when I work, she will clean my mum place instead of mine. Weekend then clean my place

Singapoh, if lets say I leave my helper at my IL's plc/mum's plc during daytime on weekdays, can they do the hsewk there? I chk with one agent yesterday n he say its fine. Do I need to state in d contract? Tt means I need to indicate 3 addresses? As my mum n ILs might tk turns to care for my twins n not possible for them to travel to my plc.

Re: car seats
Coccorro Combi can sit fm nb to how many years old? So Combi or aprica better?

rostrum,
i am using graco infant car seat, it is a travel system which includes pram. bought at robinson, think got offer now. 369 only, i bought ard 499 i think. good thing bout d infant car seat is d whole seat can b detached n placed on pram, so minimized d trouble of taking bb out fr car seat esp when bb is asleep. oso think d infant car seat won wat safety award, u can go check up graco website. oso has a video on d travel system.

Rose, thanks for info.. Hv already gt the Maclaren prams so it's not compatible... The salesperson did tell me to get 1 car seat n another basket since it's twins..but I thought baskets will b outgrown v fast n waste money.

rostrum,
so u buyin 2 car seats or 1? basket not very useful, heavy.
got twins carseat in d market? havent seen one myself, sounds interestin if hav.

Rose, I not sure getting 2 car seats or not? Is your Bb sitting on car seat? Many of my frens says their car seats are under utilized as their babies dun like it but I rmb grumpus' girl is used to car seat since d1 so I guess is a matter of training them up n Somemore it's against d law not to hv car seats.

If I get basket, I wun b carrying up n dw.. Most likely leave the basket in car. I hv not seen any twin car seats in market yet lei.. Dun tink hv ba due to safety reason?

Mummies, for cl, do u go fetch them or pay for their trpt to n fro? My cl is telling me gotta fetch her fm goldenmile or pay for her cab fare. Is this d normal practice?

rostrum,
yes yes! i am one of those who advocate car seat as a must from d1. my girls never travel anywhere without being in their car seat unless it's public transport.

last time my cl also find her own way to my hse. we told her we stay quite near golden mile so she just took a cab on her own expense from there. but when she left my hb fetched her to woodlands out of goodwill.

grumpus,

wow, ur bb ger oso hairy sia, cute leh.

rostrum,
yes. like grumpus, since bb discharge has been using d infant car seat. bb if carry on hand too risky...
my CL took 霸王车 (malaysia cab) all d way fr her hometown to my place during cny period oso neber ask me for transport fee. but i did give her a bigger ang por later on...
think it depends on individual practise.

We brought our helper together to paragon metro... Waaa felt akward shopping with a helper leh .. Really not used.

Baby what does ur helper do when u go shopping together?? Stand there n watch u shop?

Day, Wah, Yr cl so good.. I dun wan to argue now la.. At most on d last day if she din do a good job I will deduct fm her Ang pow..

Any standard rate for Ang pow to give on 1st n last day?

Grumpus, your #1 n #2 using what brand of car seat? Any recommendations? Your #2 got alot of hair!!!

Rose, ya Lor, different cl different practice..As long as she do a good job I dun mind tt petty amt..