IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, my weight gain so far only 8kg and I m 32weeks. I kept asking dr Loh if ok, he said fine ala bbs growing. I find myself thinner (besides the tummy), could be due to the aches n pains I m facing. But I really could feel I m heavier, becoming very immobile.
u r rite abt turning in bed, gosh it was sucha painful task. the hips jus wont turn without cracking. Cant imagine Pandawife whos carrying 3 at that time! Gosh...
So I reckon ur bbs didnt hav to stay in NICU after delivery rite, with their nice weights?

Day, did dr say it will move up later? cos dr Loh did tel me I had that too during my 2nd tri. After that he no longer mentioned that leh, I guess it means I m cleared as it probably hv moved up.

Rostrum, good that u felt beta.
I m 32weeks this week and going for an appt tmr with dr Loh again tmr. hopefully the boy has caught up in weight.

Singapoh,
Nice!.Some friends are fighting so hard to shed off all the fats gained during pregnancy. Hope i don't gain too much weight after pop.

Imp,
Dr cheng saw my low placenta during Wk14, then again on Wk20 still hanging low. He told me that placenta may shift up and he will access the placenta with V-scan in Trim3 n towards due to see if csec is needed. Am seeing him again later in the afternoon and will ask him on position of placenta again! Ask Dr Loh again when u see him tomorrow..

Singapoh,
You only gained 12kg for the twins? So far I'm already hitting 10kg and I'm only 30weeks tmw. Guess I'll gain some more huh. I'm not so worried abt losing weight as I don't see anyway of my body gaining weight except my tummy! But it's the stretchmarks and varicose!!! I have lots of varicose now and I think no cure for that. Sigh...

Imp,

Dr Loh didn't say anything abt my weight gain but the dietician said I undergained for myself. I had gestational diabetes and my appetite wasn't good. I had to follow GD diet and forced myself to eat. :s After I popped, my appetite was extremely good coz I was bf 2 bbs. Hungry all the time! Eating for 3 haha..

I think I lost weight during pregnancy with twins coz my limbs and face slimmed down. Only belly growing.

My gal didn't breathe by herself. I think coz she came out in breech position. She stayed in SCN for 4 nights coz she couldn't suck on her own.

Daylesford,

Bf will help u lose weight fast!

Syrah,

10kg sounds ok for twins

Imp22, I am going for my 25th week growth scan today. Hopefully all goes well after the last scare on the Oscar test at ADC, now whenever I need to go back there, I hv phobia.

Day and Imp, Dr Loh told me low placenta might move up at later stage...so guess at this moment we just avoid all those "not to dos"...and pray tt it will go up.

syrah, I am only 25 weeks + and already hitting 10kg liao. At least for u, yr babies are big. I wonder hw is my boys' weights now.

U hv stretchmarks?

Singapoh, GD means ur bbs also will tend to b bigger rite? so it means daily u gota prick urself to monitor ur sugar level mah?

btw u hav experienced any pain inside ur vagina after u lie/sit too long n stand up to walk, or if u walked for longer? I'm always experiencing this inside vagina pain on the left side, making my left leg limping as I walk. the pain comes fr the left bone inside the vagina I cant quite describe wat area is that...

Rostrum, no phobia this time for growth scan wont have bad news de... rmbr to ask for bbs weight as the growth scan report will not state. all will be fine

Maybe i know where can i get the neck float? How much is it? Can wear till how old?

Panda
My pd says my big girl is faster in development.. She has stronger muscels.. When pd lift her up.. She straighten her legs like wana stand.. But my small girl legs when soft when lift her up...
Pd also says some bbs will skip the flip and crawl stage and go to sit and walk...
I forgot to ask her abt bringing the bbs to pool.. Im wondering should i bring them to the commercial spa before bringing them to the public pool.. Scare they not used to it..

Imp,

My glucose level was under controlled by dieting until the last few weeks, my reading after dinner was on the high side. GD told me maybe hv to take insulin jab. But Dr Loh said no need, just continue what I was doing. His wife also had GD twice.

I only had pelvic bone pain for 1 week after I moved house @ 34 weeks, like knife cut pain. Every step was so painful.

Panda, Gan,

Now it's my Gal's turn to go on milk strike. Past two feeds refuse to even drink. The min the bottle goes in, she cries.

How did you eventually resolve yr baby's refusal to drink milk?

working wife..i finally found a way to make my boy drink his milk!! aiyoh.. he wanna drink in the rocker leh.. dont want to be carried... faintz... everytime carry him he drink 40-60ml, after tht cry n cry.. sit in rocker he can drink 100-130ml!

Pandawife drink in rocker? Maybe I shld try that !

Working wife my gal still drink small quantity but I realize she prefers fm?! When we feed her fm last 2 days she drinks 120 to 130ml, bm only take 60, push out the teats or use hand push away the bottle.=s

Grumpus my gal alwAys have milk leaking from sides... But already use NUK 0 to 6 mths thin liquid. Not sure what to do...

Gan,
Maybe u want to try a different brand? Cos nuk teats very 'special' shape. Might not be suitable for her to suck on. If her hold on the teat is not tight can also hv milk leak out the sides cos the suction seal keeps getting broken.

Was there anything different in yr diet these few days? Sometimes bb reacts to something u ate cos it can change the taste of yr BM.

my baby also like drinking less lately. could it be they are 'xian' of the milk powder? shd we try changing milk powder brand? i'm using enfalac now.

Grumpus hmmm maybe I try the pigeon bottles I have tomorrow. No change in my diet leh, she had been taking 60ml for sometime le, just that last 2 days, when we feed fm she drank more. Just now I fed her fm again, she drank 100ml. Hmm maybe fm taste better??

My small girl also cries whenever the teats goes into her mouth... I ask the pd abt it.. She says its due to the sensitive gums cos of teething.. The teats touches the gums and make them uncomfy so will cry whenever its feeding time..

gan , u can try... tmr i m trying to see if he wanna drink while in stroller..the rocker height v bad for my back..i got to sit on floor and bend to feed ..but definitely works..coz whole of today his milk intake all above 100ml per feed n best of all, fuss free feeds!

Panda
Wahhh.. Idea leh.. Feed in the rocker..
Now my small girl needs coaxing for every feed.. Must carry her till she calm down and distract her while i put the teats into her mouth... Feed halfway she keeping fidgeting and cry while still sucking her milk... Sigh.. Every feed like a war...

Panda, gan..
When are u all planning to intro solids? Some say can give at 4-5mths.. Some say must wait till 6mths..
I heard my mil say can add brown rice powder to the milk.. Hear of it before?

baby, i just attended a weaning talk conducted by my PD. the window period to intro solid is from 4-6 mths. it depends on individual bbs.

brown rice is not suitable if bb is still taking milk. the outer layer of the rice will actually affect the nutrients that bb is getting from fm. it is only good when bb is almost fully on solids. best is white rice when beginning to wean.

Imp n day, had my growth scan ytd n glad to say tt my placentas has shifted up. One Bb head dw n the other one in breech. Dr Loh say can try natural as of yesterday but still early to pass d verdict as we never kw till d very last min.

Dr Loh wun keep twins beyond 37 weeks, so I will pop latest by ard end jun.. Time is running fast!!!

But one of my twin seems to b smaller in size but dr Loh says it is still within d range just tt he is on d slightly small scale. Hopefully he can catch up!!

Dr Loh also forbids me to eat durians. He says if babies becomes too big they will lack of oxygen inside. So there goes my durians!!!

Rostrum,
Gld ur scan went on well.. i think now baby's position don't matter bcos u r in 25th week. i feel so many somesaults inside me.. hopefully the last one he do before delivery is head down...hehe..

syrah,
ur check up during this week rite ? if for twins not more than 37 weeks .. urs will be end of may....

panda,

think 10kg shld b ard 1yrs old...

baby,
still got waist float, arm float n bigger size neck float if bb outgrow the weight.
hmm...actually if bb too small bring to public pool mayb a bit ma fan...

my bb ger fuss aft 5mins in bath tub, but it depends on individual bb. u can oso do some stretchin exercise on ur bb bef gettin in water, saw at babyspa they hold bb left hand n bring it to touch right leg...beri cute...

oso panda, when wearing d float, bb faces u n let bb looks up n quickly put float in. float must b only 90percent filled so tat can open up sideway to put bb neck in. i was at d seller house n she demo to me, she said some customers even wear d float wrong side d clip should b at d back instead of d front of bb.

Rostrum, ya stil mus wait til later stage to c if bbs move around... But with twins usually quite difficult as theres limited space. Dr Loh said ala one of them head down, he can do natural liao.
Gd that all went well for ur scan, hows bbs weight?
My turn to c him this evening, not really looking fwd as theres no detailed scan. all the scans so far done by dr Loh all sloppy, we cant figure out wat he scanning haha... n the pix he printed out for us also the same!

Singapoh, u r good, stil can move house!
ya the pain is badd... at times really makes me frustrated.

Rose, ur gal has thick hair! i like!!
chubby face hehe.. hw heavy is she?

Fancy,
Yes read the post by Rostrum. I was still hoping to make it till June at least. Seems like I'll be delivering end May now. My next growth scan and appt with him is next week. Will ask him then.

Imp,
Totally agree that the scan with Dr Loh is very sloppy. He'll just go... heartbeat gd...babies good... ok. And that's done. Hey gal, u r ahead of me by 2 weeks. Packed your hospital bag and all ready? I'm already feeling slightly nervous although hb and I cant wait to hold them in our arms.

Rostrum,
What Dr Loh said as long as the first baby coming out in head first then it's ok to go natural. Also dunno how they can tell which baby will engage first.

anyone here boil brown rice and use the water to make formula milk? jus wondering if we shd reduce the amount of milk powder or do we keep to the same amt of milk powder still?
tks

imp22,
didnt weigh lately, last weight at clinic was ard 4.6kg. she is ard 2mths plus 1wk old now. ya, she got a lot of hair, even got a tail at d back...lol.

if bb fuss durin bath, better wait till comfortable with water den swim...dun wanna scare bb. i bought hairclipper n trim my bb hair, but mistake, i did when she awake end up she keeps cryin n fussin tat day...think scare her. bad mummy. :p

Rose love ur gal's hair n very cute!! My gal's hair is dropping!!! She is getting alittle bald!

Panda the rocker feeding doesn't work for my gal... In fact she took 40ml only!! Been fussing today. Was crying and drinking when she took her morning milk. After 2 hrs nap woke up drank alittle start fussing Again ... N now napping in my arms. Hmmmm ... Thinking of bringing to PD tonite to check if she is ok

Rose,
ur gal is so cute....
how old was she when she weighed 4.6kg?

my gal is ard same age as yours. what is her birthdate? mine is born on 25 Jan.

Gan, Grumpus,
My gal's head seems to hv cradle cap again even i cleaned it off. Will cradle cap recurr even after cleaning? Any solution to remove it totally?

Gan,
when yr gal is fussing, u put yr finger into her mouth and gently rub over her gums. see if she quietens down. if she does, could be teething gums pain/itchy.

babyhopeful,
yes cradle cap will recur after cleaning off. everyday i hv to check my girl's scalp for new patches. slowly it will go away on it's own as they get older.

Babyhopeful I read it can reappear... I changed my gal bathing stuff too... Maybe u try it helps. She wAs originally using Avent baby bath n had cradle cap, so besides applying olive oil to soften, I changed tp johnsons top to toe baby bath. Since clearing the cradle cap, never appears. So I guess sometimes the product use may have an impact

Thanks, Gan and Grumpus.
i noticed only some areas of cradle cap recur.
I'm using J&J top to toe bb bath too. Btw, do we need to wash bb hair with shampoo daily, as in put drops of shampoo on her head and wash like adult does? or juz wash daily with bath water will do?

Baby hopeful,
I'm using J&J top to toe too. I do shampoo my girls hair daily cos if I dun it will get very oily by the end of the day.

Fancy, Ya, I also tink its too early to talk abt positions but glad tt placentas shift up...My fren hving singleton n now in week 37, bb's position also keep changing....think inside too spacious already.

Rose, yr girl is soooooooooo CHUBBY! I feel like kissing her...hehe..

Imp, one twin is abt 650g, the other one is abt 830g....so quite a lot of difference...start to worry for the small one...We will hv 2 growth scan in week 25 and week 30 ma..after tt no more le...Gynae's clinic printouts are blur blur one, really cannot figure out what is what?

Syrah, my right bb happens to be lower....so is head down for him...for the upper left is still in breech...But we never kw till last min..now can only finish all the shopping fast fast and settle all the things and rest well during tri3.

Blissful I think I know why my gal fuss coz she is hungry but she doesn't want to drink bm.=s just fed her fm, initially she struggle when the teat goes to her mouth... But later she taste it's fm she happily drank 80ml. Guess now instead of 1feed of fm a day, will change to 1 feed bm a day else she is not drinking. Will dreamfeed her bm

Seems like alot using j&j top to toe bath wash... I should give it a try too! No need to rinse off right.. Just put a few drops into bath water... No need to rinse off? Use like avent bath wash? Can buy from ntuc? How much?

Grumpus
U use j&j top to toe to shampoo yr girl hair? Apply directly to the hair and use water to rinse off?

baby,
yup i use j&j top to toe to shampoo her hair. squeeze abit onto my hand, rub over her hair then use water to rinse off. i do the same for her body too.
i bath her exactly like how adults bath. soap and rinse off.
sometimes ntuc will hv offer, abt $4.50 for 500ml.