IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

bbhopeful,

ur ger how many mths liao? yest nite she latches on half an hr on one side, last her 2-3 hrs. think tat time i latch her on for too short period tats why she cried for milk... ;p

my ger oso drinkin 120ml NAN when i not latchin her. d instruction on tin stated 150ml for 2nd month bb...dun noe shld increase or not. esp these 2 days she dint even finish 120ml, smtimes she drinks 80ml only n gives vomitting look if i insisted n push d teat in her mouth.

Rose
U can try to calculate based on yr bb weight... 150ml x weight. That is the total vol for a day.. Then divide by the no of feed per day and u will know how much ml to give yr bb for each feed.

Rose
my gal juz turn 2mth a few days ago.
hv u been latching? i only latch in daytime, nite time fm.

i dun follow the recommendation on the tin coz mine states 180ml from 2nd mth i think. im using similac. Hv been using it since birth and no issues so far.

sometimes at most give 110ml at nite coz she slp longer. usu from 10pm to 4 or 5am. Longest will be till 6am (twice).

so far my gal been drinking watever we gave. nvr gave us the vomit/dun wan drink look.

Help!!
Enfapro keep my boy giving so many waterly stools. PD said babies are like that and continue to give light milk till it improves..
poor boy, anus already RED.

Which milk brand is good? For how long before it returns to normal, then use Enfapro again. My boy turns 11mth next week.

Recommend a good milk formula to me.

Just Faith
Yeah, they are the cutest, even when they grow up and make your blood boil sometimes, u will still love them to bits. I'm enjoying my ML now. With #1, I can take her anywhere I go and with #2 being such a happy and easy bb that I dread going back to work.

BabyHopeful
Usually by 2 mths bb's neck muscles should be quite strong already. However, some bbs take longer.

My little joy
All the formula on the market are more or less the same but must trail and error as not all is suitable. Buy small tin to try and see.

how many hours does ur bb sleep per day based on 24hrs? i realise my bb ger somedays sleep long naps during daytime while somedays she doesnt sleep after feed...

oso my ger tongue got white milk residue n even i used sterile swab to clear oso cannot clean. partly coz its too inner, do u clean till tongue clean clean?

any of ur babies watching tv already?
my boy seem to be attracted to the images/lights. is it too early to let them watch cartoons & stuff on tv? i scared spoil eyesight leh.

Rose
My girls also like that in her early mths... Tcm says its due to indigestion... Nothing to do with cleaning... True enough.. When my girls no longer puke after feed... Means they are digesting well.. The white tin just disappear even without cleaning! Maybe u can try to reduce yr bb milk vol.. Or add more water to the milk so the milk is more dilute.. Eg, add additional 5-10ml of water

Panda
So did yr first maid improve after the talk?
Yr 2nd maid handling yr bbs well?
Are they good helps? So both yr mothers can rest more?

baby..new ,aid is gd. k eed, carry n pacify bbs. when she hear bb cry..she run to them faster than my hb. at night she sleeps 3 rooms away..n i close my door coz use air con.. bb in my room cry she oso will wake up n standby outside to feed bb.

i just told first maid off this morning. v long never lose my cool like this. i hv decided to send her back to agency this wkend. next week onwards..my mum n mil both come half week each. they dun hv to see each other tht way. slowly reduce the frequency of them coming here.

baby,
thz big! i oso not sure if i am overfeedin my ger coz she doesnt sleep after feed so i just top up with fm or bm. i realise my ger very difficult to fall asleep during daytime, today i put her on both my thigh n rock her, she fell asleep straightaway. i remember some of mummies here mention fisher price rocker, can share where to get n how much? is it useful? any picture to see?

grumpus, i reduced my pumps from 4 a day to 3 now.. but ss drop leh..haiz.. dunno if its coz i m too tired or not drinking enuff water...

when i pump, can only pump little..but hand express can get more milk ! faint...

panda,

u still pumpin? very steady leh u, u got 3 still can pump 3 times. i got 1 but no time to pump...tat i tried latchin on but my ger bites my nipple so painful tat i felt like giving up. only has 120ml per 6hrly... supply drop miserably.

panda,

u got fisher price rocker? useful?
my ger these couple of days doesnt sleep on her own unlike when she is younger, have to carry n rock her to sleep even so oso trial n error. today i placed her on my thigh n put a pillow on my kneecap and rock her sideway, she fell asleep. but my legs aching...

panda,
significant drop or only abit? i found tat i had to pump longer everytime i drop pumps cos the pump extracts milk at a std rate. so if need to extract more milk means hv to pump longer.
but u r doing a great job already!!

rose,
as bb get bigger they will sleep less. they get more alert and more distracted too. they only need abt 16hrs +/- of sleep at this age so there will be some feeds where they will not sleep.
try not to make it a habit of rocking if possible.

rose, i m still pumping! wanted to giv up long ago leh..but singapoh kept motivating me.. so here i m ..still at it. my ss when i was pumping 6 hourly still quite decent.. can giv my bbs 2 rounds of bm per day.. now struggling to make the 2 feeds ss...

i hv the rocker.. very useful for me.. bbs like to nap n play in it... but i dun rock them.. they are happy to just sit in it... its the fp infant to toddler rocker.. only 1 such model.

grumpus..ss drop by 1/4.... alamaks.. i din pump longer...ok..let me try pumping longer... i used to pump for like 30mins.. tht means now hv to pump almost like 45mins to an hour liao..diao....

Panda,
Dropping pumps only help save time washing and sterilizing and of cos being able to schedule pumps at more convenient times. Dun save anything on actual pumping time
unless u can accept the drop in ss lah.
I calculated that for the one yr I was bfing, one month was spent attached to e pumps.

Rose,

I agree with grumpus. Babies sleep lesser as they grow older. In fact, I think this is the best time to cut down her night feeds. Try to keep her awake during day time, you will find that she is able to sleep longer at night.

My gal had her milk at 4pm. If she don't wake up between 8pm to 9pm later, she can zzz all the way to 230am. hehe. now her room is dark dark. lol.

grumpus..yeah..i need to schedule pumps such tht i pump when my hb is at home.. middle of day if only me n maid, difficult to pump. i try to see if pumping longer helps..coz it seems like after 30mins..i m pumping air already.. or am i back to square one? hv to pump air to tell the brain to produce more milk? hahaha....faintz......

Panda,
But u said u hand express can get more mah, means breasts haven't empty yet. U try continuing to pump awhile more, may get a second letdown.

Rose
My pd says im overfeeding my bbs.. Thats y they will have wind and dont sleep well and keep crying.. Cos their stomach not feeding well... Even tcm also say this to me.. Ask me to reduce their milk vol... Or make it more dilute.. Tcm told me from the whitish tin on their tougue its due to indigestion of taking too much milk...

The one panda say its the newborn to toddler rocker.. It can be fixed to make it not rockable... And u need to rock it yrself.. Its not automatic.. Its quite useful.. Can put yr bb there after milk as its abt 45degree incline.. Bb also can sleep in it... There is another rocker from fisher price where its a automatic rocker.. Its a life saver for me! Cos i can put a fussing bb in it and it rocks! My bb also sleep it in!
U can go take a look and decide which one is more suitable for me.. I have both! Hee

baby,

but my bb ger wil cry for milk every 3hrly, feed her 120ml fm. am i overfeeding her? i try to see if i can dun give nightfeed.
u bb oso crying at nite? mine doesnt seem to stop, everynight is a nightmare for me...anyone else bb oso cry at night? any remedies, can share? i havent try gripe water, mayb tml night...

u bought d automatic one fr where n how much? i very desperate...at night bb cry till 12am n daytime dun sleep much...i still goto pump n do stuff during daytime. if bb dun take longer naps, i cannot rest...

Happyhippo I brought my gal to swim at the babyspa n she enjoyed it very much! Started kicking once in water. I sign the package without any persuation coz see that my gal enjoy. I think buy the tub or swim in bath tub is more worth. For 10 session I paid $258

Gan,
hahahaha, in the end u signed the package ah.
10 session $258. Each session $26. you buy the tub and float do yrself at home, in 4 sessions u make back the cost of the float/tub already :p

Grumpus it's those impulsive spending.. Coz my gal really so happy in the water.... He hehe after the 10 sessions n 6 mtgs jab think can bring her to the pool

Rose,
My gal oso dun slp much in daytime. But at nite after 10pm feed, she will sleep within 30min, until next feed at abt 5am.
Usu daytime, i tried to engage her, but only allow short naps of 30min to 1h. 2h is the most but not often.

my gal oso feed every 2.5 to 3h if on fm, but only ard 90-100ml.

If she really cannot nap in daytime, i put in baby sling and she will sleep.

Rose
How old is yr bb? Maybe she has colic?
My girl also have colic.. Pd says overfeeding will make it worst.. The wind will make her v uncomfy and cant sleep well.. U can see whether 120ml is too much for her by calculate how much milk she requires base on her weight. 150mlxher weight.. Thats make the total vol she need a day.. Then u divide by her no of feeds a day... U will know how much she requires per feed.

Dont worry so much.. Colic will go away by 3 mths.. My girl colic went away... U can try gripe water or ridwind drops.. Can get it from pharmacy...

I dont know where to get the automatic rocker.. Its a gift from my friend... U can try to see whether robinson carry... Btw my small girl is happily sleeping in the rocker now since an hr ago... Can free me to do my chores... I hvt eat my lunch yet!

gan
wow so fast u bring ur gal to babyspa liao. so good so enjoys it! btw did u see if they sell the tub there? i still deciding which one to buy ...hhahaha... need to convince my hubby coz he not keen leh, say tub so small where got room for baby to kick kick move ard.

Gan
U brought her to the one at plaza sin is it? How long is per session? U let her wear swimming attire? Or naked?

Happyhippo they didn't have the sample tub but they do sell. Ur hubby is right the tub cld be small , coz even in the shop my baby is swimming around but good exercise as she was kicking her legs n enjoying. I let her play for abt 10mins. If got bath tub shld be better coz more area to move.

Baby she is wearing the Huggies swimming diapers only. Yes went to the one at plaza sing.

Baby u can let ur girls play longer if they r not tired but coz first time she is trying I dun want her to be too tired. The lady said some babies swim for 1 hr! Next session I will let her swim longer.

Grumpus baby at 3 mths, their weight gain will slow down? At almost 15weeks, her weight is 6.7kg only 700g in 4 weeks

Gan,
yes after the 1st 3 months weight gain will slow down abit. no more 1kg a mth already. 700-800g is abt right.
i remember i checked back my elder girl's health booklet and at 3 mths she was 5.2kg and pd put there 50th percentile.
if u look at the graph in the health booklet the line is not linear.

Gan
Huggies got swimming diaper!??? I nvr hear it before!

U mean the swimming session no time limit? Bb can swim as long as they want?

Yes baby got swimming diaper, they sell each piece $1.50, I think buy ourselves cheaper.

I think no limit but Bb so young also can't swim too long lint 2 hrs. I was the one who tell the lady enuff

Hi ladies! It's been a really long time since I came onboard. How are you ladies and your little ones?

I have been super busy since my last one came back. My trio are fine and are slowly packing on the weight. My girls are ok but my boy is underweight by about 1%. So dietician has advised to start giving him fm.

Panda, how are you coping with your 3. Seems like you have taken a helper. I have been so deprived of time cos my kids take damn long to feed. Now they are better but initially they used to take more than an hour to finish their milk and burp. So i had to really find time to pump and feed and do all the other things.

My MIL is helping me now but I wonder how it will be this month once I need to start work again.

Have you ladies started weaning your bbs and started giving them rice cereal?

topic of the day seems to be swimming for babies

i just ordered 3 neckfloats..plan to let the babies swim at home in the bath tub first...

gan, i check w the nurse, forgot to ask PD. she told me only concern is water temp might be too cold for the babies now... she says if go, limit to 10-15mins.

fruitree!! welcome back!

hey..wanna ask u if u also used the same massage lady? OG? she was telling me about another triplet mummy tht she did massage..n i was wondering if its u.

i hv 2 helpers at home now.. plus my mil and parents! its really tiring .. i m deprived of sleep everyday...

how many of u looking after the bbs? u going back to work so soon?? i cant bear to leave the bbs at home.. so plan to be sahm until they r 18mths.. everyday is a joy to watch them learn n grow...simply love snapping lots n lots of photos for them..keke....

my bbs only 3mths+...not weaning yet.. hopefully can do it when they are 6 mths old.

Pandawife I have also bought the neck float... Ha ha but no bathtub at home. Thinking of buying a thermal wear for my gal when she is 6 mths to swim in pool.

Hi Fruitree how r u? Think u going back to work on 11 apr since we deliver on same day.=) I dun intend tp introduce solids to my gal till she is 6 mths

Panda, yes! Ogy was my massage lady too! She told me about another triplet mummy, then I guessed it must have been you. What a small world.

I was supposed to get back to work this month, but like you said I just don;t have the heart to leave them behind. Plus I think I'm a bit over protective la. I keep wanting to do everything for my babies. So far I'm ok with my MIL and mom to do feeding and bathing. BUt I am still reluctant to let my maid to the feeding and all. BUt once I start going to work I got no choice but to allow my maid to do stuff for my children. I know I have to learn to let go, but finding it so hard.

For now, it's mainly me and my MIL. The maid does the cooking and all the housework. But during times when all are crying or if I'm alone, then got no choice, she will feed, change diaper and make them sleep.

Gan, heard you also did massage with Ogy.

I also want to wait till they are 6 mths, but MIL keep talking about introducing cereal although we told her that doc advised not to.

Do your babies wake up every 3 hours at night?

Fruitree
Glad that u r back ! I plan to introduce solids at 4mths. bb already sleeping through the night since 7wks, so no more night feeds for me.

fruitree, yes..very small world! and u also know nicole at kkh..keke..she msg me on fb n says i m celebrity mum :p

i wonder if its becoz ours is ivf bbs...we are more protective. i hv many frens who just leave the bb w maid after their maternity leave leh... i cant bear to do it.

i know how u feel abt the maid... my first maid i din allow her to touch bbs at all... until now she still doing housework only..2nd maid i got no choice..coz need the help..so hv to let her feed, carry bbs.. luckily she is experienced..now she is a v gd help during night feeds...

u r total breastfeeding ur bbs??

out of 3 bbs..2 of them wake up betw 4-5hourly at night.. the other one smtimes 3-4hrly. i usually dreamfeed all 3 at around midnight or 1am... then next feed will be like 5-6am on most nights...

Gan, ur maid hiring issue resolved? I called madeline yesterday to ask her look for backup for me..,most likely sending first maid bk. Hb says giv her one more chance. He see her making effort after I gave her a gd scolding.