IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda
U use pet pet liao? Is it good? Fitti better or pet pet better?
Fitti is stick on right? Not velco hor?

Btw i chk with polyclinic on the vacinations.. The price also not cheap lor.. Its non subsidised.. Their 5in1 is $90.. No rotavirus.. Prenumoccol is $165... Abt the same as my pd pricing... Gan prices at kkh cheaper than polyclinic lor..

baby, i havent use pet pet yet..coz i bought L size.. i still hv alot of pampers M size to clear. fitti is stick on.

yeah..my PD explained to me..tht the polyclinic prices are similar to his clinic..the only $ i will save at the polyclinic is doc's consult fee..but since i plan to bring bbs for review w him every mth..it makes better sense to continue the jabs there. my bbs did their penummococus jab today... i took up package from 2mth-6mths..each bb $850.

Panda
Im taking care of my girls with my maid only.. My parents went bk.. The night feeds also done with me and my maid.. So far its managable.. So with yr two maids im sure u manage alone with yr two maids without the mothers ard.. Can end the war liao.. Hehe..
Cos with only u go report to.. Instructions will be given by u only.. Tins will be more managable this way..

Gan,

I m gonna double lock my door!! She is also a great cook! Everyday We hv Hong Kong homecooked meals. Hehe..

Feedback from my massage lady that ex Arab maids worked in a big house and big family. Not sure if 1 household has many maids there.

Panda,

U mean yr agent has spoken to her before? Then can remind her that.

At the same time tell yr papa to refer her to u if she asks questions.

U need to let her to hands on a bit. No chance to handle yr bb, won't hv experience ma. Start by changing diapers.

singapoh if i take ex arab, i will have arab meals every day...or since she worked for american, maybe burgers everyday. =S

Panda, the review with PD is development assessment of the babies? For 3 month olds what do the PD check? KKH didn't arrange for PD review next month....will wait till 16 May then go kkh. Will go walk in clinic at kkh to do the 4th month vacci. Did you ask the PD regarding ur younger son taking less milk?

Gan,
Hahaha.. Provided if she can cook la. Tell u first she worked for American before she might expect the same treatment here. Caucasian give a lot of freedom to their maid's hor

singapoh, no choice for me le coz the ex sg passport got problem, i may need to settle with this one lor. hmm ya i know ang mohs maids got more freedom. keep my finger crossed. madeline said wait till next week see if indo can settle the ex sg passport.

Pink d the ex arab ar? How r u doing with baby? Wld be good if u get a maid to help u though only 1 Bb. For the last 2 months I took care of my gal myself really no joke... Coz u need to cook, wash, carry Bb etc... Can be overwhelming for a new mummy .

My maid dont know how to cook at all.. But we teach her a few simple dishes.. So far she is coping well.. Thou i wont say its very tasty but ok la! At least she can cook a simple dnr for us.. Now she has to do hsewk.. Take care bbs.. Help me with night feeds twice a night.. Cook sometimes.. So far so good la.. Hehe..
I dont thk i can survive now without her ard! Imagine i hate to get a maid before hahaha..
Somemore she has a good command of english.. She always entertain my girls.. At least my girls can hear good english.. Hee.. Thats also one of the reason why i employ a philipino.. She is a university grad leh..

Gan im fretting already...coz CL leaving on 10Apr and i will extend her max 2-3 more weeks... im having a tough time coz very very stressed...
my baby does not wanna latch...called the LC to do home visit etc, tried many ways and every time BF is a nightmare...so now I have to pump...from pumping to feeding etc im already very very tired...hence thinking if getting a maid lor...
so have u found one?

Pink d has decided on a maid with 6 yrs exp in sg but today found that she has lost her passport n applying takes time. So may take the ex arab maid. Will see how next weekon the outcome

Gan u need the maid urgently ah?
madeline said she has some new ones coming in...not sure if they match wat I want coz i want proficiency in taking care of BB and hsehold chores...

Pink
My maid is from philipine.. First time working abroad..
No experience in cooking and handling bbs..
She learn from scratch... Initially she only do hsewk and wash bb clothes and bottles... I didnt let her touch my girls.. Slowly i train her to carry, make milk and feed bbs... Then i teach her a few simple dishes.. She will make her own notes and will refer to it when cooking.. Not very good at the start.. Vege overcook.. Garlic burnt.. But now slowly its getting better..

It will be easier to get a experienced maid but i dont like cos i scare they will be harder to control and manipulate.. Its pros and cons.. I rather teach them myself.. Cos expereinced maid will have their own style and way.. And may not be what i like so i do the hard way is to get a non experience maid and train her from scratch..

My maid has no kids herself and never carry a baby before.. And she also never cook in her country.. So u can imagine how much i have to teach her.. But for now i have no complains cos she is doing well so far.. Her feeding.. Her coaxing is all what i expect frm her..

aiyoyo, help... my bb has been crying non stop since 9pm, n she has a very high pitched voice makes her cry super irritating. no choice but to feed her fm in only 2hrs interval n she managed to stop for a while. n cry d moment i put her on bed!!! no choice i am carrying her with a pacifier in her mouth, waiting for her to fall into deep sleep before i can try to put her on bed.

Rose
How old is yr bb? Is it colic?
My small girl also has colic before and her cries also high pitched and very annoying... Nothing can pacify her..
U will thank god if pacifier can work...

gan, yup..its development assessment. today he checked if they show interest to stand when we hold them in standing position.. also when bb lying down.. he pull their arms to see if bb can partial lift themselves up..

the usual checks will b to open their diapers to check if everything ok.. look at their skin too..

my younger boy has enzema leh... gosh..i din know.. his face is itchy...no wonder always rubbing his face on me or bedsheet when he sleeps.. hv to apply a cream for 6 mths to try n clear it.

he also gav me medication for my eldest boy reflux. ask me to try for 2 weeks see if it helps..

ohh..regarding teething.. he says the white growth in the gums is not teething..its "pearls" and they will drop out on their own... suddenly my bb's mouth become oyster..got pearls inside LOL...

i also asked him regarding the drop of milk intake of my boy... he says its coz he is sick of drinking milk..thts y drink lesser.. n no concern becoz growing well n seems happy.. ask me not to be overly concerned w the numbers on the bottle :p

baby,
how do i know if its colic? her tummy is not hard...last time ever saw pd, he said not colic but gave med drops that wrote healthy tummy...
last nite was chaotic, she screamed n cried like someone is breaking her hands off...aiyoyo.

Pandawife eczema? Ur Bb face is reddish at affected area? Pearls?? First time hear ! But when dropped baby will swallow? Did PD suggest feeding cereals as Bb is sick of milk?

Btw mummies who dreamfeed, do u burp hr babies? If burp will wake babies up?

Rose I think babies with colic tend to cry at abt the same time everyday.

Pandwife, that time when my girl got eczema it affect her feeding, not sure if you boy having the same problem. But Dr said it shouldn't after applying cream for a few dats she back to her normal feed.

Gan, now I never burp my girl like you said will wake her up :p

Pandawife, this is the first time I heard of "pearls". Very interesting! Btw does applying of cream thin the baby's skin? I thought G has milk rashes last time. I rushed her to PD. PD says those creams that she will prescribed contains steroid and will thin the skin. She asked me to leave as it is. Lucky the milk rashes disappear aft two days.

Baby, how does your maid help you with night feeds? Is she sleeping with your babies? My maid who has been with me for two yrs plus is leaving on 31st. Sigh..... I dunno if I should get a maid.... Filipino or indonesian.

Pink-d, I saw yr msgs in fb. Will reply when I log in my lappy tomorrow. I hv been staying in my mums hse for the last few days. Hehe.

Gan,
Dreamfeed still need to burp, usually bb won't wake up unless it's a particularly explosive burp. Unless yr girl is ok with keeping the air inside. Otherwise can be quite uncomfortable for her to continue sleeping too?

Rose,
Colic and wind is always associated together but is not always necessarily the case. Tummy can be soft but bb can still be colicky..
Or maybe she's really still hungry? Could be growth spurt?
Or she could just be fussy. Fussiness in the evenings is extremely common for young bbs.

Going to do 8hrly pump starting from today for next couple weeks so that I can reduce to 12 hrly pump like what Grumpus tot when I return to work.

But somehow I felt disheartened abt pumping n felt like stopping coz every feed I m pouring away 20 or 30ml of bm coz my gal doesn't want to finish drinking. Maybe like Pandawife PD said lost interest in milk... Felt very tired pumping n yet pouring away every feed. If it's fm I dun feel bad abt pouring but bm it's like the effort spent pumping not appreciated. Dunno how I can motivate myself to continue

Gan,
according to kellymom.com
"If baby does not finish milk at one feeding, it may be refrigerated and offered at the next feeding before it is discarded."

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkstorage.html
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/reusing-expressedmilk.html

Depends on yr own comfort level but i used to do that cos like u say very sayang to keep pouring away unfinished milk.
at the next feeding, i will offer the balance milk from the previous feeding in a separate bottle and make sure she finish tat first. then offer more fresh milk in another bottle. so if she still leaves behind 20-30ml i can still save again for the next feeding.

my girl was like tat off and on also and i also got very disheartened and angry that she doesn't like my milk anymore. even thought of just giving fm. but hang in there, she's not rejecting u and yr milk. there could be many other reasons why she's drinking less milk.

I dont let anyone sleep with my bbs.. Cos u wana train them frm the start to sleep in their own cot in their room without anyone sleeping with them.. I dont like co sleeping..
But not enough rooms so my maid sleep in the living hall.. She will wake up with me when we hear bb cry.. She will then go prepare milk while i go change my girls diaper.. Then we will feed one bb each... After finish milk.. Burp.. Then put both bbs bk to sleep.. Then my maid will go prepare the premix powder and water for the next feed.. Then we go bk to sleep.. Hee..

gan, yeah..its reddish..n itchy too...

just faith, my PD says no gd to use steroids cream..it doesnt resolve the root problem. he prescribe this cream tht will let bb's own immunity get rid of the enzema. he says if dont cure it now, it might be for life. hv to use the cream for 6 mths..even if recovered..hv to continue using...little tube of cream cost $50.
more costly than my skincare pdts..keke..

bliss ful, yes yes, his appetite is no good.. drinks little leh..but he is happy..everytime after he pushes out the bottle teat, he will smile at me! even though he only took like 40ml after 3 hrs! PD says so long as he is happy n putting on weight...ask me not to worry. at 3mths 1 week, he is 6.4kg..n 60cm tall..

Gan, i always underestimate the bm needed...then top up with fm leh.. so dun waste bm. like u said..not so sayang if cant finish fm.. bm is our hard work n effort...

RE: burping after dreamfeed
i always burp bbs after feed.. otherwise they might wake up later from the discomfort of wind in the tummy n start crying loudly....

baby, i m not sure if my bbs are ready to be sleeping alone in their room.. for now i plan to sleep w them...maybe observe for another 1-2mths..now they all sleep on their tummy ...so i feel more secure to be watching over them ... until now i still will sleep n suddenly wake up to wanna check on my bbs to make sure all are sleeping soundly...:S

Pandawife, glad that yours is not steroid cream. Yea,$50 is very maintenance leh. Lolz! Dun worry abt your boy taking nt enough milk. As long as he is happy n not fussing, I think it is really ok. His weight is very good too! I dunno how much weight is G putting on now.

grumpus,
thz. if its colic, is there anythin i can do? gripe water wil helps? very very loud scream n cry...neighbours dun noe, may think i am torturing my bb. lol. hope it will go away.

Grumpus my ebm usually is heated one, so tot must drink within 1 hr. Very upset at times when she doesn't drink much coz there seemed to be no increase in Amount since she is 2 or3 weeks old. Her thighs also seemed to be less chubby but mum and hubby said coz her legs longer now.

Pandawife I notice my gal won't cry for more milk if not enuff
she wld just ask to drink at less than 2 hrs. Her feeding amt
is quite erratic , sometimes 60, 70 n sometimes can finish 90.
So I tend to give more hoping she will drink all. Tell u ar, i throw my emb away do often until ma mu but sometimes I
just feel frustrated n disheartened like this morning. But i see my gal smile I told myself ren just continue to give

Baby giant got promo for mamy poko. $20.65

Gan,
Same, mine also the heated one. Before one hr up, if haven't finish I quickly put back in the fridge.
That's wat I used to do lah. But really up to yr own comfort level lor.

My girl drank the same amt, no increase until she was 10mths old. After 6mths, the additional calories came from solid food.

Rose,
Colic can only manage, soothe n wait for them to outgrow. U can try gripe water, some ppl says it works but I never tried.
Pacifier, rocker all these may help to soothe.
For my elder girl only carrying works. I used to carry her for hours in the evenings.

Pandawife,
What's the name of the cream which your PD prescribed for your boy? It's good that the cream can cure your boy's ezema without using steroid cream.
My boy is having very bad rashes around the neck and chin area. Brought him to see PD and was told that it's a combination of rashes and bacteria infection. She said must use steroid to clear and Was prescribed steroid cream but I only used 3 times cos I'm worried that it will make my boy's skin very thin. The skin got worse again today cos the weather's very hot.
Can u share with me your PD's contact? I may want to bring my boy there for second opinion.

Gan
I went to carrefour today to stock up enfalac.. Bought 8 tins! So heavy mann!!! Wana buy the mamy poko to try but no promo price.. And i also dont know which one.. Is it the blue packaging? Wana buy fitti but no promo also.. In the end i buy huggies ultra.. Purple packaging.. Cos i have the samples when i bought the huggies small size.. Not bad.. No leakage..

Bing
I bought the playmat u recommend today! Hvt unwrap yet.. Shall update u when i use it!

Baby many poko is blue packaging. Huggies ultra not bad but cutting abit small n I find there is a smell in the diaper?? If u like Huggies shld go Taka baby Fair n buy leh Got promo for Huggies, saw alot of mummies buying

grumpus,

thz. i finally know my ger pattern liao. last nite i held her for 2 hours before can put her down on bed...daytime she can just drift off to sleep on bed after feed.

i just managed to latch on my ger aft 2 mths of expressing breastmilk. but how many hours apart should i latch on my bb ger? or wait for her to ask for milk? i realise that she doesnt suckle both breast at one feed, one breast seems to satisfy her but i suspect one breast probably only 60ml ba... she used to bottlefeed 140ml bm... why huh? issit due to exhaustion tat she doesnt want to suck the 2nd breast?

gan,

i oso using purple huggies, u noe what promo taka is offering? a bit sianz to chong there if not much promo...
i hav bought d neckfloat, self collect. quite interesting, d seller hav sample tub at her house too, but i only got d float, tryin out my ger in bath tub first.

Rose,
That's good, at least u manage to calm yr girl down. No choice la, bb will go through this fussy period.

If u latch yr girl then shd be feed on demand, so wait for her to show signs of hunger then latch again.
My girl also latch on one side only. I never pump out so I dunno how much she's taking but what bb can draw out from yr breast is much more than what u can pump so hard to say how much she actually drank. As long as u feed on demand and she's peeing, pooing well and putting on weight then dun think so much on the numbers

Wah, never come here for few days, topics already revolve so much! One thing though I noticed is that we are all facing the same problems one way or another so don't be too disheartened.

Rose, my boy also had colic. When he was 3 weeks old, crying time was between 5pm to 9pm. Then when he was 6 weeks old, it suddenly became throughout the day... If don't carry sure cry. Now he is 12 weeks old, a little better... But still must carry to sleep before putting him down.

Panda, yr boy has reflux? What r the symptoms? What med did pd give? My twins were on Zantac and motilium but after 1 month I hv stopped now. Want to see if without meds still so bad or not.

My girl also has eczema on her face. What cream did yr pd prescribe? Im just using a lotion now and there r days when her face clears up beautifully and days when the eczema flares up. But I'm thinking if I should apply medication cream so that it doesn't become long term problem.

Your boy still drinking half his feed? Sometimes both my twins are like that. In a day there would be one or two feeds where they drink half then stop and refuse to continue. Also their sleeping time at night is like what u mentioned. Last feed 7pm then they sleep till 12-1am. Yest night they slept right thru till 3am! But when they sleep thru like this, do u realize they are one feed short for the day and the total consumed will be less than usual? Is this ok, should we not be concerned with the numbers or must we ensure that if they sleep thru the night, they must drink more during the day to make p the daily requirement?

Other mums whose babies sleep long hours at night... Do your bbs feed more during the day to make it up for it or just miss that feed for the day?

I also noticed my twins catnap during the day. We keep putting them down to sleep but max they can sleep for 10 mins then they wake up and cry. And the whole 2 hours between feeds will be spent like this... Carry or rock them to sleep, they wakeup 10 mins later, same process again etc until next feed. I'm worried they r not getting enuf sleep during the day. Any tips? Should I start training them with cry it out method for daytime naps?

Rose sorry can't remember the offer price, only remembered buy 4 packets get a free toy. I m thinking buying the tub coz my mum disagree me letting my gal swim in the bath tub in her house coz scared she knocked her head.=s how do u find the tub when u saw the sample tub

Gan,
Yr girl's head will be right in the middle of the float. Will be impossible for her to knock her head. Possible for her to knock her legs/knees though

bing/working wife, the cream for enzema is Elidel Cream. my PD is Dr Ang Poon Liat @ TMC.

gan, out of my 3 bbs..2 of them have erratic drinking amts.. only my eldest faithfully takes 140ml every feed.. the other 2 like stock mkt.. up n down.. i usually will look at the amt took last feed n the duration betw the feeds..if last feed drank little n it has been 3 hrs or more..i will make more milk... smtimes this works..smtimes it doesnt.

working wife, my boy still not drinking alot.. 60-100ml..most of the time 60ml, then fuss or knock out. hv to coax to drink..n not always he will wanna drink.. i try to feed him more often.. day time if he cries for milk earlier than 3hrs..i will just giv.. i also dun wanna force feed him ..later end up milk phobia even worse.. taking some milk is better than no milk.

gan
like u, i'm also considering buying the tub, coz i dont think i will bring baby out to public pool so soon.
but i find 80cm by 80cm is quite small leh. not much width for baby to move around. how tall is your baby now?