IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

working wife,
if it's just that particular day they happen to sleep through and miss a feed, it's ok, dun need to worry that they drank less. if everyday they're sleeping through then theoretically they shd be drinking more during the day to make up for the lost feed.
but u know, at the end of the day, if they're happy and putting on weight then let them set the amt to drink. anyway, after 3 mths old, their weight gain starts to slow down so they may not need to drink as much.

are u trying to put the twins down to sleep after every feed? how many hrs do they sleep at night? at this age they need abt 15-16hrs of sleep only, so if they're sleeping abt 11-12 hrs at night, then during the day they'll sleep abt 4-5 hrs only.
this will usually be broken up into 2 naps of abt 2 hrs each. so there will be some feeds where they will not sleep at all.
having said that, my elder girl was like that. she would catnap and wake up crying after 10-15mins. it's not because she's had enough sleep but it's cos she doesn't know how to go back to sleep herself because i carried and rocked her to sleep in the first place, so that's they only way she knows how to go back to sleep. so what i would do is watch over her while she slept and when she stirred i would immediately carry and rock her back to sleep. definitely not the recommended method, but that's wat i did.
slowly, she learnt to go back to sleep herself.

some bbs learn early on how to sleep by themselves, some take time. my 2nd girl is so different from my elder, she can sleep by herself.

Happyhippo my gal is 57cm at 11 weeks, not Sure what's height now. Ya 80cm not very high but I think when baby swim, their legs are not straightened? I will bring my gal to the baby spa at plaza singapore n let her try the tub swimming n see if she likes before buying.

Grumpus,

Yes, that's precisely why my boy catnaps... He is rocked to sleep. We also do the same... Watch over him when he sleeps... The min he stirs, we pat and rock him again. Just so that he can get some decent sleep. Not good at all... How did yr girl finally learn to sleep on her own? Now at nights, they sleep abt 12 hrs but some days i doubt they sleep 4 hrs during the day. We try to put them to sleep after every feed cuz they sleep so little... But if they dun fall asleep for a while, then we give up n just let them sit there or play with them.

Panda,

Ya, my bbs also like that... Like stock market. Some feeds drink like normal, some feeds like war, theybcry n drink at the same time, some feeds they r nicely drinking then at the halfway mark start crying and refuse to continue. We will wait awhile and try tonfeed the remaining within the hour... Sometimes this works. If I feel they really drank very littleeg. 50-60ml, then I will latch them on... So far that's the only thing they don't reject and will happily drink. But because I pump, sometimes boobs not enuf leh... Stressed!

So what reflux meds do u have for yr boy?

Today we brought twins to Taka... Very nice outing. We went early around 10.30 so avoid the crowd. Shopped for clothes for them to wear during their first trip back to Malaysia end Apr
also bought the fisher price play gym for them at the baby fair. Managed to even have lunch at coffee club without them crying! Woohoo! I noticed they sleep more when we push them around in stroller... Think next timeif they are not sleeping at home, just bring them shopping so they will sleep!

Panda,

Wanted to check, u let yr bbs sleep on their tummy (while supervised?) did yr pd say that's ok? I read on Internet that of course sleeping on tummy without supervision could have risk of SIDS but some actually say it increases risk cuz when they sleep on tummy, they fall into deep sleep and can stop breathing... Nothing to do with being supervised or not. Hmm... My boy sleeps so much better on his tummy during the day but I'm not sure if I should let him do that while I watch him. U think it's ok?

working wife, my PD gave motilium too.. but i hv not given to him.. still observing his reflux. today seems better....

my PD says thru out his career..he has never encountered any accidents from sleeping on tummy..usually there are other factors involved ..not just tummy sleep. my 3 bbs all sleep on their tummy day or night. i check on them occasionally during the day via bb monitor.. night time i hav them in the same room..

so nice to hv family outing! its v hard for us to get out unless we bring the whole family gang along....

working wife,

i tried to let my gal sleep on her tummy for 4 to 5 days... it was all well, until i found her head got stuck while turning her head. Very scary lor.... while she can have good sleep, poor mummy having panda eyes loh... so i gave up finally. she was 3 weeks old then.

back to yr earlier question, i find that my gal have more milk feeds during day time, compared to evening/night time. Usually after 730am, she will demand for milk every 3.5 to 4hrs. But after I give her last feed, can range from 5pm to 8pm, she can sleep all the way till 5am to 730am. Then, it depends on her last feed for the night before. Eg, I fed my gal at 810pm last evening, she only asked for milk at 730am this morning!! but from 4am onwards, she start to fidget!!! Since she didn't cry for milk, I will continue to pat her until she fall asleep, wake up, pat again.....

Gan,

It really depends. Below are her feeding times and amt taken.

26/3 - 830pm (130ml)
27/3 - 730am (130ml) - 11hrs apart
27/3 - 11am (130ml) - 3.5hrs apart
27/3 - 230pm (130ml) - 3.5hrs apart

She has been napping in her room since we came home at 330pm. We brought her to hougang mall and my aunt's place in sengkang. all nearby. we left home at 11am+, and came back at 330pm. In other words, she is super tired now. I reckon she will miss her evening feed and wake up for supper at around 8 to 9pm later. On other days when we have no outings, she should have her "dinner" between 530pm to 630pm.

Usually after her tea break, she don't go to sleep immediately. So, her daddy will entertain her on on our bed for at least an hr. Talk to her, play some music or show flash cards application on his iphone.

My gal seemed to have those "tai-tai" feeding times. Breakfast, lunch, tea break, dinner, supper (sometimes). By now, the roller blinds in her room is wind down. And I DON'T turn on the lights in the room when feeding her. I will make use of the lights in the kitchen or walkway to give some lightings in the room.

We try to make it a point to play with her during day time so that she feels tired easily and sleep longer at night.

Just faith ur girl really can tahan 11hrs without milk! My gal's feed normally last her 2 hrs only during the day. The last feed at night will last her 5 hrs n she will cry for milk. I tried giving more so that her feeding time is drag longer but she will refuse to take either by playing with the teats, or close her lips tight or give a vomiting action if I put the teat in her mouth. This morning we brought her to bishan park for brunch n she simply refuse to drink when. I try feed her the balance milk in
the car, I kept trying till I think she got pissed with me. Her
next feed, when I feed she cried n drink but when hubby took
over, she happily finished her milk.=s

I will feed her enfalac when I return to work coz likely more fm than bm. Bot from. Ntuc few days ago coz no time go carrefour ... Ex ar!! $44 plus

Gan. she is quite good.. so far can feed my fussy younger boy..even when he cries half way thru feed, she also very steady..will pacify him..n try again....

n when she hear bb cries..she will run faster than my hb into the room to check on bb....

only downside is she is very petite.. only 146 n v slim.. dunno how long she can sustain carrying my bbs...keke...

just faith, i super envy.. wished my bbs can sleep thru for 11hours! but i hv difficulty keeping them awake during the day... i dunno if its became a habit.. usually after milk they will fuss to wanna sleep... so far only my little gal can stay up longer hrs during the day n self entertain.. she will lie in the cot, n talk to the cartoon decals on the wall..

Working wife,
I trained my girl to sleep by herself when she was 10mths although I could prob hv done it earlier.
Basically once she was very mobile, able to roll around and sit up by herself, I felt she was ready.
I started off with carrying and rocking as usual, but once she was calm and drowsy, I would put her on my bed and lie down beside her. She would roll around toss and turn and try to sleep. I would shush her and tell her to go to sleep. Eventually she would get frustrated cos she can't sleep, then I would carry and calm her down again then try again. In the beginning it could take an hr of carry and put down until she fell asleep. But slowly the no. of times I had to pick her up again reduced until I could just put her on the bed after last feed and she would roll around and go to sleep. Once she was in deep sleep, I would carry her back to her own bed.
Now at 3 that's still how she sleeps. I'm ok with it cos I take it as my bonding time with her. She will tell me abt her day at school, teach me the songs she learnt in school, then wind down and sleep.

Oh, although when she was younger she would catnap 15mins, slowly that time extended to half hr, 45 mins. I would still watch over her so that she would get a decent 2-3hr nap but at least I didn't hv to watch over her so closely.

pandawife, good to hear you have a good helper, can have some breathing time. so her role is to help take care of babies? maybe can ask her teach your first maid on how to take care of babies since they speak same language.

Keeping my fingers cross my helper is good...looking forward to take a breather before returning to work.

pandawife
was it u who started potty training and bought walker already?
can u share which one u bought and if it was good? am looking for these 2 items too.
oh ya, how soon did u potty train and start using the walker?

Panda,

My maid is shorter than yrs! Agent said mine is the tiniest especially stand beside me and my hub. Haha..

She can carry all my kids without any problem. My big son is 16 kg +

Gan
U also use huggies ultra before? Got smell meh?? I didnt notice wor... U know when is the taka baby fair ending?

Just faith
Same as panda.. Im so envious that yr bb can sleep thru the night leh.. I still need to wake up 2 times in the night to feed them... How old is yr bb? U train the bb to sleep thru?

Panda
Any reason why u put yr bbs on tummy to sleep? I dont dare to let my girls sleep on their tummy at night.. Only dare during the day when im watching them.. Cos i have a few encounters my girl has her face down on the bed.. So scary..

Working wife
How much u buy yr fisher price play gym? Got picture of it to share here? The gym got revolving elements on top?
I just bought a one at carrefour recommended by Bing at $39.90.. My bbs love it!

Anytin at taka fair worth buying?

Pandawife, dun envy lah!!! You have 3 precious, thats why no time to train your babies!! After you settle one, the other two wake up already! If you want your babies to sleep longer at night, the best is to keep them awake during day time. Find something that will interest them. My gf told me she weaned off her baby's night feed at 2 months, I was also very envious! So was very determined to train my gal too.

Gan, I miscalculated the time. My gal woke up at 7pm just now. She was so "teh" when crying for milk. As if she knows mummy short change her feeding.
She finished 130ml of milk and asked for 35 to 40ml more. She finished milk before 730pm and I put her on my lap until 815pm. Then I wipe her, changed into PJ. By 830pm, she slept liao.

Frankly, we went through alot of trials and errors. Initially, we find our next door neighbour's kids making alot of noise. So, we moved her cot to our room (as our room is furthest from the main door), put her to sleep with us, drag her feeding time, rock her till she sleep in my arms... At last, we realised that my gal can sleep better when we shut the windows and roll down the blinds (we using black out blinds). So thats how we "train" her to sleep better at night. So during day time, we reverse. We open all the windows and blinds. So she kinda differentiate between day and night. LOL.

baby,

same like you. i caught my girl once, her face facing down. so scary... btw, i didnt tell my hubby.. i scared he will nag at me.

my gal turning 3 months in 2 days time.
btw, do you let your gals sleep in aircon room?

Gan, my side here selling enfalac $40.80. Buy 3 tins, less $1. So works out to be $40.50 per tin.

If you need to give her full FM, better stock up more at home.

Just Faith,

Wow yr baby can sleep 11 hours! How did u train her to sleep so long? How did u drag her feed?

Looking at yr schedule, seems like her daily intake is about 130ml x 5 times = 650ml... Is that right? Before yr girl could sleep thru the night, did the amount use to be more ie. 130ml x 6 times = 780ml? how heavy is your girl now?

Btw, mummies feeding Enfalac, how does the milk taste? I'm currently using Similac. The milk is a little thick and it has a sort of fishy smell. Compared the nutrients and Enfalac seem better so we want to try it out. does the milk taste sweet and smell nice?

Baby79,

Wow yr play gym v cheap! The one I bought cost $90 plus. It has hanging things on top and music. I bought one only, they will have to take turns to play
bought some clothes too at the fair. Didn't really look at other things cuz it was quite crowded so didn't wanna stay there too long,

Panda,
When we go for family outing especially for meals, whole gang must go also ie my mom and maid, so 4 adults, two kids. Yesterday hb and me tried to bring the bbs out for lunch, end up both of us couldn't really eat cuz he had to pacify one and I had to pacify the other!

Baby, just faith,

I tried to put my boy to sleep on his tummy during the day, noticed he sleeps much better that way. But I also saw him turn his head down so quite scary. I never do it at night, only daytime and I lie down beside him and watch movies on my iPad, dun even dare to sleep.

working wife,

like what my hubby says, after she slept for 8hrs, she start to fidget, my hubby gave her pacifier. suck suck, then spit out... put back pacifier, pat her.. she sleep. spit out. the whole process repeats at least 3 to 4 times until 730am. At 6am plus, i already woke up, so my turn to take over, when she start to cry for milk, i roll up the blinds and let her know it is already morning time.

Today is sunday outing day, my girl didnt take proper nap after her 11am feed. On and off, she dozed off in her stroller or in the car. In my aunt's house, she only napped for 30mins as many aunties and uncles were crowding around her.

on other days, her normal intake should be 130ml x 5 times, plus 40ml (sure got one feed, she will ask for more!!). Which is almost 700ml. Yes, you are right, her amount used to be more. But it used to be more feeding times with smaller amounts. I don't have her updated weight now. I will know it on 1st April when GUSTO staff (from KKH) come and visit her.

i personally think it is very important to create an ambience to let her differentiate day and night. Eg. During day time, we "interact" more. I won't play with her at night, I dont turn on the lights, I won't play music at night.

I also tried to dreamfeed her... waste my milk only! when she wants to sleep, means she wants to sleep. she bo chap how much per tin of enfalac cost now, she wants to sleep, means she wants to sleep. she will probably take 30mls and dozed off.

Working wife,
U'll eventually master the art of carrying n eating
but yes hb n I always hv to take turns to eat. I think we haven't eaten together in 3 yrs! Hahaha.....

My younger girl sleeps on her tummy too. She sleeps much better n startles less easily. But I also do it during the day n early morning only when I'm awake.

Just faith
Yes i let my girls sleep in aircon room at night... Cos i will close the room windows and draw down the curtains.. Close the door too to make the whole room dark.. If i dont on aircon.. The room will be too stuffy liao..

How u train yr girl to sleep thru? She didnt wake up in the middle of night for milk initially? Or she auto sleep thru no need to train?

Working wife
Ya i also find the gym v cheap.. It has music and lights too..
My hb say buy two.. But i also buy one only.. I let them lie beside each other in the gym.. Let them have some bonding time also.. Haha..
U can refer the link Bing gave me on the picture of the playgym if u are interested in getting it..

Im giving enfa to my girls.. Tried similac before but i find the milk too thick.. And also i dont like the smell thou my girls didnt reject it... Enfa smell ok.. Dont knw whether it taste sweet not cos i never try myself...

I also find my girl sleep longer if she sleep on he tummy.. I also dont dare to sleep if they are sleeping that way..

working wife,

i find enfalac milk fishy smell also. sometimes, when i spill some on my hands, i find it very sticky.

btw, i think my gal is one day older than your twins.

grumpus, hahaha u r right, when we go out now, hubby and i takes turn to eat because somehow my baby milk time coincide with our makan. so i feed, hubby eat, then he burp, i eat. yesterday we saw this ang moh hubby, he one hand feed and carry the baby and the other hand eat his lunch! cool

Just faith, dun want to stock up too much coz dunno can finish 1 900g FM in 1 month when i return to work coz intend to supplement with bm. now the 400g similac takes abt 4 weeks to finish.

baby, i bot a play gym for my gal, she doesn't really know how to play leh, i.e. still dunno how to grab the toys. she will stare at the overhanged toys and talk to them.

Baby,

The reason why I am asking is, since u dont let anyone sleep with your gals, and you turn on aircon, how do you know your gals cry in their room?

for me, i also shut the windows. but i get natural wind from the other end. but i will also turn on the fan to ventilate the room.

Gan,
hahaha....next time when yr gal is older, u can follow the ang mo guy. i used to do that too....can feed and surf net. feed and eat. feed and pump.

RE: milk intake
i just checked back my elder girl's feeding records. Feeding amts also all over the place. At 3.5mths (weight taken on 14/04 - 5.2kg):

26/04
7.30am -- 100ml
10.30am -- 65ml
12.50pm -- 100ml
3.50pm -- 75ml
6.00pm -- 70ml
8.00pm -- 60ml
12.15am -- 90ml
4.10am -- 80ml

Total: 640ml

29/04
8.00am -- 100ml
11.00am -- 60ml
1.30pm -- 80ml
3.30pm -- 100ml
6.15pm -- 120ml
9.30pm -- 70ml
1.20am -- 30ml
5.00am -- 60ml

Total: 620ml

Baby,
My babies love the play gym too. I let them play together on the gym but as they like to flip now, it will be too small for both of them to play together.
We also bought 8 tins of Enfa at Carrefour last Sun. Oh you should have requested for the free delivery so that you don't have to carry yourself. It's really quite heavy.

Just faith,
Wow! your girl can last for 11hr without drinking anything? I wish my babies can sleep thru the night too! My boy used to wake up at 5am fo milk after the last feed at 10pm but he suddenly 'changed pattern' and woke up twice for milk at night now. My girl also wakes up twice for milk. How I wish that I can wean them off the night feed.

Working wife,
Both my babies rejected similac. I tried tasting it and found that it has a really fishy taste. Even I find it awful to drink. I let them try Enfa and they like it. I find that they poo very well on Enfa too. Creamy yellow poo and right texture.

Grumpus,

Thx for sharing the feed record... Looks like my bbs! Makes me feel better that it's normal.

Just faith,

Yah, yr gal one day older
my boy is now 5.8kg, gal is 4.6kg at almost 3 mths. Thx for input on Enfalac.

Baby,

I try everything that I put in my baby's mouth

Grumpus,

Pandawife is from another spaceship. thats why i always compare notes with yours and Gan. Lolz.

Bing,

No choice leh! My maid going to leave end of this month. No one help me to do housework (especially ironing!!!) So I start training my girl early. I will ask PD when I see her next month - to see if her feeding schedule is normal.

How much are you paying your new maids now? The news says that Indo maid's pay will soon be increased to $450. I wonder if it has taken effect. My maid saw the section on Straits Times yesterday which reports that alot of Indo maids prefer to go other countries like Taiwan and HK for higher salary. She was telling me that many of her friends prefer to go Taiwan now cos got higher pay.
I think I have to slowly increase her pay otherwise she won't feel happy if others are getting $450.

Just faith,
Aren't you getting another maid? Otherwise you will do the housework and take care of G yourself? Anyone else helping you?
I want to train my babies to wean off the night feed also cannot. If they wake up crying for milk I can't decline them right? I think your PD will probably tell you that as long as your baby is gaining weight well and taking enough milk everyday (based on total intake) ,it should be fine.

baby, my PD recommends to put them on tummy 1hr after feed to reduce wind in the tummy.. and also i find tht they can sleep longer n better ..ever since they are 1 mth old until now.. been sleeping on tummy..

i dunno if sleep on tummy will help them learn how to crawl earlier too..keke.. i find tht they will move forward even in their sleep...

just faith, i told my hb abt ur princess..he says i can probably only find time to keep 1 bb awake during the day.. very challenging coz they will take turns to fuss.. so i will be carrying one bb after another... LOL...

singapoh, i m not used to having maid care for bb leh! hahaha.. jia lat.. last night i din wake up the maid for night feeds... i just finished the midnight feeds alone too :S tmr my mum sure nag at me one....

bing, depends on agency leh...my two maids..one is $400, the other is $450.

gan, my bbs also dunno how to grab or touch the playgym yet.. will just talk or stare at it...

ok.. me the alien from another spaceship going to zzzzzzz..

Bing,

Hahahaha. Thanks for PD's replies. Ya, she will probably reply me that. No la, I hv not taken my G's weight for long time. I really dunno what's her weight now. She has potential of taking 150ml milk for her feed. But I really dunno if it is too much for a going-to-be 3 months old baby. I will feel better after talking to PD.

Re : maid. Sometimes I really dunno if I should hire a maid again aft current one leaves. Current maid is not helping me with babysitting. Like any other maids, she help me to prepare the morning bath, wash laundry, sterilizing the bottles, preparing the ingredients for lunch/dinner (but I do the cooking). Plus all the housework lor. I seldom ask her to make milk - i will try to handle everything by myself. I should be able to manage after current maid leaves...... In the morning, my MIL can help me until she leaves for her shop at 12pm. Hubby and I are in the same trade (you know la). He will help me when he is not busy. So far he has been a great daddy!

Btw, how did your twins react to fitti? Okay?

gan,

saw d sample tub. well, frankly speaking i dun really like. its a 80 by 80cm one tat i saw, got 6 poles supporting, material is kinda like waterproof plastic canvas. i think bb may not be used initially due to d confined space n u may not be able to help ur bb kick water unless u bend really down especially if u dun intend to fill up alot of water.

i have used d float on my ger during her bathing time today. my bath tub not very deep type n like wat grumpus mentioned, wont hit her head one. my hubby oso in d bath tub, so can help to move her legs n calm her down should she cries. meanwhile i was busy snapping photos of her...super kawaii lor, she looks puzzled initially n only cries aft 5mins coz my hubby turned her around to face him...

forgot to mention, d rim of d tub is kinda like a float, can blow air in. it is meant to support d round shape of d tub, if u want to keep d tub at a corner, can let some air out n fold d tub into half. but i think likely ppl may just leave d tub as it is, so you will have one big tub lying at a corner of ur hse or toilet ba. how much does d swimming session cost? does ur ger likes bathing n will she cries if in water during bathing? if she is ok with bathing, likely she will enjoy d float...

Rose thanks for the feedback on the tub. If not wrong, each session of the swimming session is $20 plus. My gal enjoys bathing time, she is always kicking the water n smiling when in the tub. We bath her in those plastic baby tub.

Ur bath tub is the standard type like those on hotels right ? When u let ur gal swim in the tub , how much water do you fill it up? N how long can baby swim before water turns cold?

Ur gal must be super cute la!! How often u intend to let baby swim in the tub?

Check with u girls... Can we bring the bbs to swimming pool? I see that you are using bath tub now, is it because bb cannot swim in swimming pool yet or chlorine water? Or just that u wanna try bb out in bath tub first? Sorry ah, I'm mountain tortoise in this area :S

Gan,

Were u the one who used California calendula cream? Effective for eczema? Where did u buy it?

Panda,

U mentioned buying your Enfa milk from supplier? How much each tin? Can give me the contact?

Panda,

U dun hv 1 or 2 bbs but 3 hor, better let yr maid help la. If not u end up more tired then what's the point of hiring a 2nd maid?