IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda,
how many hrs between his milk feeds? maybe he's adjusting to longer hrs between feeds?
my girl has been doing that, cos i latch on demand so i will see her signs before feeding her. sometimes she can last 3+ hrs and still show no signs of hunger.

or he could be like my elder girl. i remember around 4mths she went through a couple of days where she just refuse to drink milk. i kept trying and trying to feed her every 2 hrs but she just drank very little. but other than that she was a happy girl. not uncomfortable or anything. i just continue to keep offering milk and one time she just 'magically' start drinking again. nothing changed, same bottle, same milk etc....

Thanks Day. I guess I howlian as I hv no bowel problems b4 bfp n after. this one time hit me bad. M gg to really ensure I eat more fruits religiously. What's fybogel? So ur piles ok ler ma?

Accu ok for us nw anot? I usually had whole body aches shoulder blades, arms, groin when I zzz one side too long, butt n back sharp pain bla bla. I ask my hb to gently rub me to temp release. I will try massage if I'm getting worse. I used heatpad but didn't relief me alot fr the back n butt aches.

JJ n Rostrum, care to share y not storing cordblood? Im in 2 minds n hence would like to find out more fr the bb fair. What are ur tots abt this vs insurance?

grumpus, the last 3 feeds were like 6 hrs apart.. he woke up crying like hungry..then when we feed...he only take like 20-30ml..n start to refuse to drink.

i also dunno whts the reason... his growth also slow down this mth... last mth he gain like 1kg..this mth only 500gm...

Imp,
Yes, once the stool softens, my piles no longer gave me problems. I was given fybogel when I was hospitalised previously for bleeding as I was told not to use force while pooing. If really can't poo, Dr will give suppository to clear our system. U can buy fybogel at NTUC etc.. Oh yes, my Dr also recommended eating Oats with milk in the morning and that helps alot too.

I did acupressure instead of acupuncture. Its like pre-natal massage. Even massage boobs n the side of the tummy. Spoke to the tcm physician and she mentioned that to fix the pain via acupuncture, she needs to poke deep into the points which may be harmful to the baby. So she recommended acupressure and got in a therapist who specializes in pre & post-natal massage. Sigh... we are all bitten by the pain streaking bugz!...

Halooooo panda wife, I've been looking for u. I've read all tour post in the forum.

I would like to know if you eat coq10 during your 2ww. Coz I'm quite confused.

I would be very grateful if you can advise me with this.

Apple,yes, i took coq10 during 2ww...also during pregnancy until i started on the multi vits at about 12 weeks..then i stop. hope this is helpful.

Yes your answer help me a lot ciz I've already eaten the coq10 for the past one week. Am so worried if I did the right thing.

Thank you very much. I'm glad to find u here!!!

JJ, oh..I tot is on going jabs...wonder how Dr Loh decides on when to administer the jab? Well, will wait for him to inform me then. I kw it shd be v painful but I am willing to do everything for my bunnies

Eh...dun intend to chk with HR tt early...else they might be tinking wat am I up to....

Day, so far touch wood, mine is back aching and leg cramps...just got my calcium pills yesterday as told leg cramps is lack of calcium...haiz..still lack though I hv been eating yoghurt daily...maybe not enuff ba...orh...and my left rib bone hurts sometimes as uterus keep pushing up...initially tot is gastric...then Dr Paul told me is not...ask me dun slouch when sit, must sit straight.
Hope the acu pressure helps in your pains...

Imp, I read tt mutiple pregnancy cordblood is not accepted even if u wanted to donate...so since even donate they also dun wan, then wat is the use of storing? I din really chk in depth on storing cordblood since I hv decided not to store...so I can't advise much...but I will be definitely getting insurances for my babies.

Day, oic.. So e accupressure didnt relieve much of ur pain too isit? Wonder if a pre natal msg would help?

R u intending to sign up for cordblood storage btw?

I'm home finally but can't rest as part time helper cleaning my room. Given 1week HL. This wed review 30weeks growth scan w dr Loh then c hw.

mummies, if bb is teething, will he refuse milk too?? i touch my boy's gum..can feel teeth coming out....i wonder if he is fussing about milk due to this..

Panda,
yes, when teething milk intake will drop also. but it's a bit early for yr bbs to be teething lei. also if teething bb tends to be fussy too, not just reject milk.
other teething symptoms: drooling, frequently rubbing ears

grumpus.. the teeth really coming out...can see n feel it.. and he is fussing more than usual... now u mentioned.. drooling too..which i din really pay attention. no rubbing ears though.

what can i do to make him feel better huh? very worried he not taking enuff milk will dehydrate or constipation leh..

Panda,
there is dentinox teething gel u can get from the pharmacy to rub over his gums. u can try out n see if he's more comfortable tat way.
or try tying a small knot on the corner of a hanky, soak in boiled water, seal in a ziploc bag and put in the freezer. when cold, give it to him to suck/chew on.
not sure if he can do that though cos that's usually for older babies.

Rostrum,

Imp,
The acupressure I had was like pre-natal massage and it did soothe the pain a little. Going back again for the session this wk..hopefully the pain goes away soon. Still considering the cord blood storage! I am off from work and have been resting at home since Wk14!.. Rest well during your HL and if necessary, ask Dr Loh for more ya!..

Day, oh u will rest til birth then? Going on HL? Your boss ok?

Ware is your accu pressure place n hw$?

Rostrum, I c.. I'm also in 2 minds abt cordblood. I asked n was told beta to store both as theres no 100% match. it'll b ex lo. But m worried if they r not full term might develop complications n this prob could come in useful.

Imp22, tink there is another fair in April, perhaps u can get Yr Dh to go dw n chk..

I decided to go last min shopping at expo today.. Grab quite alot of stuff in Nuk booth n some tollyjoy stuff also..

Pandawife,
Your boy is teething now? So early? My boy is also teething. Can see something White on the lower gum. It's quite early for a 4 month+ baby and yours even earlier? My boy fuss alot during feeding now. In fact, both twins fuss. They will only drink like 50-60ml and start to cry and refuse to drink. Seems to be on milk strike now. Then we have to coax them to finish the remaining milk. it's easier to feed them when they are asleep now.

Bing/fashion spree..yeah..younger boy teething...lower gum too. Saw the growth...at first thought it's nt..2 early..but w all d feeding fuss..I went to feel his gums n touched the tooth to confirm.

My little gal oso like tht.. Yest afternoon for 3 feeds in a row..take 40ml n start crying ..only thing tht k calm her down is the pacifier..n after sucking for a while she will slp. Luckily by evening time she was so hungry she gobbled down 140ml!

Panda, bing,

My twins also like that, sometimes drink half then reject their milk and sometimes fussy whole day. I also wonder if it's teething... But the white colour like teeth coming out on the gums I already saw since few weeks ago, in fact just shortly after birth I noticed. Can't be teething rite? How do we see if they r really teething?

Actually when my elder girl was 3mths plus I did ask the pd if she was teething cos I also noticed the white white on her gums. Pd said like tat not considered teething yet.. When the tooth is going to cut out u can really see the edge right on the top surface of the gums. N when the tooth cuts through the gums is the most uncomfortable time for them.
She eventually cut her first tooth at 6mths

Imp,
Yes, I will be resting till I pop. My bosses have been v. supportively and initially I had requested to work from home but they asked me to rest and exhaust all my HLs, Sick Leaves etc.. and just nice everything fits in nicely till I pop.

Did my acupressure at tmc- thomson chinese medicine at tmc. 6 sessions for $648.

Ladies, any idea where we can't read the archives? Seems like they r locked.

Imp, good to know that u have been discharged.
rest more now k.

I'm also not storing the cordblood for my twins.

JJ, Imp, Rostrum,
Do I find that you may wake up to your belly a slightly different shape n then it shifts slowly back to the usual position after a while. I thought they r supposed to be turning within their own waterbags only n won't shift otherwise. But I can wake up with a high lump n think the lump will slowly shift back down to the rt where it's supposed to be.

Syrah - the twins will change position one appartently.. cos mine changed from left to right. But since now I'm abt 34wks i don't think they have the space to change so drastically.

Last 2 scans they have more or less stayed at the same location.

Ya my belly will be pointed cos i sleep on my left & when I get up after some time they will settle downwards .. so funny ...

Panda, Bing and workingwife,

Wow all ur bb really fast in teething. Does it help to give them teething toy to smooth the gum.

btw, anyone can advice me if bb at 4.5 mth can eat cereal mix with milk? My mum is asking me to give bb cereal. But im not sure.

Hi, ladies

Am just graduate from kkhivf. Am now in my 6week le.

Can someone tell me on how many weeks to do Down Syndrome test huh? How does it go abt? Anyone doing it from KKH and what is the esitmate cost?

Fashion spree,
Actually during our parents time is the norm to add cereal to bb milk bottle from abt 4 mths. Esp for the last feed so tat. Bb will be fuller n sleep longer.
But nowadays the recommendation is to introduce only when bb is ready for solid food which is from abt 6 mths onwards. The logic is tat food is meant to be eaten n not drunk from the bottle.

Ultimately it's up to u I guess. We all grew up eating cereal from 4 mths n we're all ok.

Thanks Syrah, I m trying to totally cut myself off fr work mails this week. I think no more working from home if possible for me now.

Spoken to my boss and he advised me to rest 1more week, though he would like me to handover some outstanding to my colleague if possible.

Syrah & JJ
Hehe, the babies are adjusting themselves accordingly to our zzz positions.. I dino they will still change positions leh, I m still feeling most of my movements on my right side, I guess mine didnt change much.

Im unsure if mine is odd shape whenever I wake up. I usually had to rush off to work and did not take notice of my tummy shape.

JJ whats your babies weight nw?

Day, oh its at TMC... I will find time to pamper myself with a massage if possible too, now that I m on HL this week.

Will try the fybogel u mentioning, as the lactrus syrup kk dispensed me, also didnt really soften my stools leh. las9 I poo, still hard n needs some pushing de. I m on alot fruits for past few days liao.

Your HL + MC enough to cover till you pop?

Congrats to Leor!!
expecting singleton or twins?

For KK, then its 9+10weeks take BT, then 12weeks do scan and combine results to derive a ratio of the DS probability.

Thanks imp22

Am expecting singleton.

So do u still remember how much you pay for the BT and scan? They didnt schedule me for any BT in my next appt which is my 9weeks 4days wor.

Leor, I remember dr Loh asked me during my 6weeks scan liao. He gave me a piece of paper whch states FTS (1st tri screening) and then someone called me back fr AMC & ADC to make appts with me accordingly for the BT & scan.

For me is twins, the BT is $150 (b4 gst) & $230 (b4 gst) for the scan. Now I dig back the records I had BT done 10weeks+ & scan at 13weeks.
Singleton will b cheaper, once you get to AMC for initial BT they will explain the costs to you.
So I think you still in time for the DS screening de, but mus ask on ur next visit liao else no time/slots.

Imp,
Hmm... Did u try prune juice ?... Durian works v.well for me too but can't always eat that.
Yes, my HL, MCs will see me through this peroid till I pop.

syrah, sorry, dun quite get wat u mean...but I find my tummy a lil flatter in the morning when I wake up and after a day's meal at night, it is super bloated...I dun observe my tummy's shape except its pointed.

JJ, how do u kw yr twins changed positions?

In my last scan, I was told they are in transverse positions..not sure what tt means?

Leor, congrats and welcome

Based on personal experience, I wld tink a bloodtest carried out on the same day as yr scan wld be more accurate. Week 9/10 to tk BT is too early...

Imp, rest well and dun tink of work la..babies more impt...

Day, Dr Paul dun approve me to tk durians as scared babies too big
So sad lei...

i think there was some mention abt cradle cap in the forum recently. Can't rmb whom though. Was it Gan?
May i know how does cradle cap look like? white flakes like dandruff on head scalp? How to get rid of it?

babyhopeful,
yes when the cradle cap flakes off it will be like dandruff. if u look closely at the scalp u will see certain areas where the skin has thickened and is flaky. these need to be removed.
u can buy cradle cap shampoo, either Dentinox or Mustela brand. or before bath, use some olive oil on those areas to soften the dry skin and then gently rub off with a hanky or cotton pad. then just wash off during bath.
sometimes it can take several days to clear the cradle cap so just continue doing until all gone.

Mummies wondering if this milk strike is something at 3 mths old? My gal starts drinking little today, she is not teething. But her intake is like 50 ml for every 3 hrs. Whether fm or bm is the same.=(
If I force her to drink more she will make this vomitting sound to show she had enuff.

Babyhopeful yes my gal has cradle cap. What I did was apply olive oil at the affected area 10 mins before her bath. This will help loosen the dandruff. I also bought a comb for babies n comb gently after her bath. Cradle cap is line baby dandruff

gan, i goggled and seems like alot of mummies experience this with their bbs at 3-4mths.

my younger boy is drinking better today. each feed average of 100-130ml. but he is fussing alot.. n not sleeping much during the day... hv to carry n walk to pacify him..he is usually not like this.... carry a 6kg bb walk up n down the house.. very tiring!

Grumpus,

Agreed with you that we all grown up that way. Personally i prefer to start solid food when she is 6 mth. I guess i have to tell my mum to wait till she is 6 mth old.

Leor, welcome to this thread!

Grumpus,
I can feel the sharp and white object on the gum and but it's not necessary teething? My boy loves to chew on anything that he can put in the mouth and he's been fussing alot during his feeds so we thought he's teething. How can we tell whether it's really teething?

Fashion spree,
I asked the PD when can my babies start taking solid food. He said as long as it's after 4 months and they show interest when they see adults eating, can slowly start to introduce. I'm a little tempted to start cos my boy also stare at us when we are eating and he will start to drool. But I see that my twins are fussing all the time during feeding so I'm afraid that if I start to introduce solid food now, it will be even more difficult to feed them milk. I'll probably start to feed them cereal when they are 6 months old. Actually my mum did feed my babies apple puree and grape twice and my boy loves it. While my girl is not really interested.

Gan,
I heard from my friends that their babies also had milk strike at 3-4 months so it seems very common for babies.

Bing,
actually until today i can't really tell also. mostly it's in retrospect when a new tooth cuts out then i go, 'oh, no wonder she was fussy/reject milk/drool etc etc'
but i think 4+mths start teething symptoms is abt right. but the thing is it's just the symptoms. the actual tooth can come out many mths later. u wait and see if their first tooth cuts around 6mths.