IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Mummies!!! I need help! Hv been asking ard for divider to separate a baby cot for 2 babies to slp together. But was told by a few tt there is no such thing.. Must get 2 cots... I dun intend to get 2 cots yet. Can anyone share with me where to get d divider? Thanks!!

JJ,
Oh they can still switch positions? The sonographer told me they won't when I asked her @20weeks.

Rostrum,
Meaning when I wake up, I can find a big lump in the middle of my chest n lower rt side of belly quite normal looking. Baby shifted all the way up while I was asleep. Then as the day passes, the distribution gets more even.

Imp,
Well u can use this break to observe your belly more now
no need to rush. I saw my boy kicking real hard & manage to capture a short video of it!

Rostrum, i was told there's no such thing too. Still thinking how to DIY something. If u can find a solution do share.

Pandawife, is your boy fussing coz of his teething?
My gal didn't fuss but she cried real bad this afternoon, whole face red coz she was hungry and i was slow in making the fm but when i feed her, she just took abt 50ml and reject the bottle. =S tot she was super hungry since she cried so badly.

congrats on new mtbs - Leor.

mummies, now latest topic is teething ah? is it too early for me to worry now? my gal is not even 3 months yet. aiyo... why mummies have never ending worries

syrah, oh...I din really go observe...maybe now still early..

Thanks soon-to-be!!! I will chk there...syrah,will share with u once I chked.

Grumpus,

This one I agree with you. Mum is calling me every few hours to check on me and baby. And see if hubby and myself are coping well. I always tell her, I dont have experience babysitting my nieces and nephew, but dunno when I act like so experience when handling my own gal - guess mummies really have the natural instincts.. LOLs.

grumpus
oh u mean rubbing ears is a teething symptom? my boy has been rubbing his right ear quite often and sucking his fingers alot lately. oh dear does tat mean he is teething soon? now got to worry how he will cope.

u mentioned adding cereal to bb milk. wat type of cereal are u referring to? can advise? thanks!

happyhippo,
yup, some bbs get a slight ear ache when their gums r hurting so they keep digging and rubbing at their ears.

actually most bbs deal with teething symptoms quite well. and the gum pain is off n on. it won't be consistently pain for mths.

i got this off a website:
The symptoms of teething can be and usually are seen without actually cutting a tooth.
The lower front 2 teeth almost always come in first. When a tooth erupts, the gums become inflamed and feel boggy or swollen and squishy. One easy way to tell when a tooth is erupting is to compare the upper and lower front gums. If the lower gum is just as firm as the top gum, then the tooth is not erupting. If the lower gum is swollen and squishy compared to the top, then that lower front tooth is probably coming through.

r u refering to cereal added to bb milk at 4mths? usually it's white or brown rice cereal.

grumpus
thks for the info. wow how come u up so early?
about the cereal- do u mean can buy the white/brown rice cereal? or do u mean we boil the white/brown rice? if the shops are selling, any idea what brands are good? sorry me quite blurr... have absolutely no idea what white/brown rice cereal look like.

happyhippo,
haha...i woke up to feed my bb then surfed for awhile cos couldn't go back to sleep immediately.

yes u can buy rice cereal (which will be white rice) and brown rice cereal from the supermarket. just add into water or milk. how much water/milk u add will determine how thick the cereal is. u can actually also cook white/brown rice until very 'lan' then puree it and add to milk. but i think nowadays nobody does it tat way already :p

go check out the baby food section at ntuc. there are many many brands -- heinz, dumex etc etc
if u're planning to give to yr bb from 4mths onwards then make sure u choose one which says 4mths onwards (if i remember correctly, the heinz one says that) cos the cereal will be much finer than those for 6 mths onwards.

Day, u mean durians help ease constipation meh? I wanted to eat durians at this stage but dare not liao since its heaty. I will get prune juice or fybogel to try out.
btw hw many weeks are u now?

Syrah, hehe thats wat I m trying to do whilst at home resting. When the boy moves, I try to catch him on video.

Rostrum & Syrah, I tot jus separate them by pillows n bolsters in the cot should be gd enuf hehe... :p anyway the cot is long enough leh. I was tinking if worse case, I put one of them in the sleeper to "box" one up.

Imp,
Yes, I cleared my system with ease after eating just 3-4 seeds of durian n I only eat them when I found it hard to clear my bowels. Went to child birth course n the instructor mentioned that durian is a v nutritious fruit but ppl tend to indulge in it n they become too heaty n fall sick. if u r worried, just pass this heaty fruit

R u having a boy-girl twin ? I m 22 weeks now ....

Mummies, anyone know how much ntuc is selling huggies dry? I saw here 80pcs $14.90. Abt 18cts per pce. At night, she is still wearing mamy poko.

Imp, separating them by pillows and bolsters will cause hazard to babies when we are not ard? For example suffocation? Or maybe I tink too much...cos I read tt NBs dun nd any bolsters and pillows...U also get one cot for the time being?

Did u get clearance from Dr Loh on durians since u hv piles? I worried it might aggravate the condition. U might want to tk note. I still tink lots of water n fibre is good enuff..

Day, I just got a bottle of prune juice to try out
Yes m expecting a boy-gal twin. How abt u?

Rostrum, hmm dont know leh cos I alw tink wen they r still able to fit into one cot is the time we will all be around, with CL/maid etc. so should be on constant supervision all the time. Until they are bigger probably one zzz in the sarong whilst the other in cot. I m totally clueless too!

If you check out the divider let me know ya!

Yes I only got one cot. the room is already cramped with the big cupboard and single bed (with pull out) for maid+CL n the cot. For now the cot is temporarily at my living room so to make the weekly cleaning for the room easier.

Rostrum,

I saw the cot divider in Mothercare, Harbourfront before.

Just faith,

I just ordered 10 packets of huggies pullups from Taka Bb fair. Much cheaper there.

Imp, even if with constant supervision, there are times or by split minutes our eyes are not on babies...so I tink its quite dangerous personally...

I will chk out on the divider and let u gals kw....

I also intend to get a single bed with pull out for both CL and maid.. not sure getting a cupboard so soon cos might just get those toyogo drawers first, then decide later.

I dun intend to get 2 cots at one go cos not sure the babies wanted to sleep in cots or not though I v much want to train them to sleep there...but sometimes easier said than done...

Thanks Singapoh, will chk it out...

Singapoh,
when u latch ur bb, how long does it take?
at 2mth old, my bb latches each side for ard 45min to 1h. I oso supplement abt 60-70ml fm after latching.
is this too much for bb?

Rostrum,

Why dun u give them a call to reserve for u b4 going down?

Babyhopeful,

After 2 months, latching is very short. My boy abt 15 mins and my gal less than 10 mins. Each nurse at 1 side only and can last for few hrs before the next feed.

Now at close to 10 months, my gal latch on for less than 3 mins during the day. I give 1 to 2 fm a day now. They are also on solid now. Eating well and very interested in all food..

Singapoh, grumpus,
My twins will be 5 months next month. I want to start feeding them solid food soon. Will probably start with cereal followed by puree. What do I need to prepare for the weaning? Is it necessary to get the special weaning spoons and bowls? Also I heard that some mummies bought the Philips Avent combined steamer blender? Is it really necessary or can just steam the food and use spoon to mesh like what my nanny said? I'm afraid that it will become white elephant cos my nanny had never used such blender to prepare food for the babies she took care before.

Happyhippo,
There's a shop at harbourfront next to mothercare which does shaving for babies. They also sell special shavers for babies. I just borrowed the shaver from my brother and shaved my boy's hair last Sunday. His hair was growing too slowly so I decided to shave for him.

Bing,
U shd get some spoons for yr twins cos the weaning spoons hv soft tips which will not hurt the bbs gums. Our normal plastic or metal spoons will be too hard n may hurt their gums.
Other than that everything else is not essential. I did buy a set of bowls cos when they first start out they eat very small portions, like one tbls of cereal so the bowl has to be quite small otherwise the cereal gets cold very fast. N it's cute.....haha

I steamed all the food the traditional way over the stove n then mash with a fork. If u hv a very fine sieve, u can also just push the food through the sieve. Those steamer/blender r just for added convenience.

Rose,

Actually any clipper can do. U can choose the length to trim instead of shaving all. I went to Phillips office in TPY during their sales and saw a clipper for kids so I got 1 set. I use it to trim my big son's hair too. It can be used for adult as well.

Can't remember the price anymore but I think it's less than $100 during sale

Yeah Bing get bb spoons that are gentle to their gums. Ntuc is having 20% discount on Tollyjoy and Pigeon products now.

I use Braun Handheld processor to make purée. If u hv an iPhone/iPad u can download Braun Babymeals app.

I use a mini electric steamer from Stylux. Fast to boil and super easy to wash. Saw this in a store in Harbourfront level 3. A big store opposite Creative living. Click the linkto see the pix.

http://ltsgroup.com.sg/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=18_70&products_id=64

I have a new tin of Similac Mum Maternal Supplement (700g) to give away. Exp. Date: 06/05/2013.

Self-collect at Seng Kang please. Anyone interested please PM me by this week, ok? Or else, I will pass it to my gynae's clinic to let those mum-to-be to take.

Hi all the ladies here

Want to check if I can drink HL milk during first three mths of pregnancy? Or what kind of milk I should drink. I do not have the habit of drinking milk

Re : babycot divider

Mtbs, I hv called up Mothercare at harbourfront n they say only left 1 pc on display... They say will trf over one pc fm marina sq n reserve for me..I hv yet to go down n tk a look at d divider.. But it's costly at $90.. So not sure getting it or not... I can't seem to find it anywhere except Mothercare..

Thanks Singapoh n soon to be for the info..

Panda
Yr boys so fast teething liao ah...
Must be v uncomfy for yr boys...

Yday for the first time i use the pouch to bring my girl out.. I use front carry.. Bb still small so abit too loose.. I let my hb try.. Also too loose.. Hmm..

Grumpus, I m also not too sure.. Was told it is made of plastic n it's adjustable according to d cot size.. Will share Foto here once I hv it..but it's definitely v expensive!

Rostrum why do u need a divider? In the initial months the babies can't turn n dun think they will kick each other? U can put them at both ends of the cot right?

baby..only my younger boy seem to be teething.. i m not too sure.. he does hv the symptoms though..going to check w PD when we go for their development check this Fri.

he fussed so much last night.. from 7pm-midnight..kept rubbing his face n ears.. like very uncomfortable.. n the 3 night feeds, only take 40ml of milk n start screaming.. nearly drove me n hb bonkers.. in the end my hb hv to hug him to bed... finally at midnight, he fell asleep.....

front carry meaning carrying bb facing front? i still using cradle carry for my little gal..

bing
thks for the info. do u mean the shop is in vivocity, next to mothercare?
the shaver u used is an adult shaver or baby shaver?

singapoh
what is a clipper?

anyone has used those baby neck float and swimming tub before? wondering if the float is uncomfortable for baby's neck. also whether those tub are big enough for baby to move around.

rostum, during 1st mth, i can fit 3 bbs into 1 cot... they slept together..until we noticed tht they are disturbing each other when one cries.. so we split them into different rooms. didnt use divider..

Rostrum,

That's the one. I wanted to get but at the end I didn't. I put them side by side and their cot is long (Mothercare) Even when I put them far from each other, soon I find 1 move nearer to the other twin.

Singapoh, grumpus,
Thanks for your advice! I'll go and get the weaning spoons and bowls this weekend since alot places are having bb fair now. The steamer and hand held blender look gd. Will check it out.

Rose,
My bro got the baby shaver in china. The hair length is adjustable. Either 0cm, 2cm or 3cm. I'm not sure about the shavers selling at the shop at harbourfront. They sell 3 types of shavers ranging from $20-30+. The shop is called Hwa Xia International. U can check out the link below:

http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_classifieds&task=details&cid=2043

Pandawife,
You are right. That's the rainforest play gym I have been searching for. I checked all the bb stores like cheong choon, baby hypermart and departmental stores. Everywhere is out of stock cos they stop production in china. My hubby wants to buy a new one so we ordered from amazon.com Anne got vpost to ship over but the shipping charges is 300sgd! We returned to amazon in the end. We bought a Playskool play gym instead last weekend. I guess my babies are not fated to have the rainforest gym.

Happyhippo,
Pls refer to the msg i just sent addressed to Rose.

Rostrum,
Pls reconsider about getting the divider. Very soon 1 cot won't be able to fit 2 babies. And just like what other mummies said, when 1 baby cry, it will disturb another so I usually separate my twins when they are sleeping.

Happyhippo,
I bought a neck float for my elder girl but didn't get the tub. I let her swim in th bath tub instead. The neck float is very comfortable for bb. I've seen the tub before. Personally I think the tub and float r only good for bb until abt 8mths. Beyond tat the tub will be too small cos they can kick and move very well already. And they also won't want to hv this thing around their neck anymore.