IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Just got the final bill for my delivery.... Abt $8.6k =s

So funny to see one of the kkh bill addressed to my daughter ... Was telling hubby baby so young got bills to pay. =p

Hazel, Wah... U must hv 'stock up' alot of Yr bags... Keke...

Singapoh, w got $$$ buy rolex??? Nw 2 babies otw, everything also v siong ar...

Gan, d 8.5k is in cash? Nt deductable by Cpf?

Haha... Luckily neverfull drop price hehe.. Probably the design too old liao.. No one wants to buy...

Gan
How come yr bill so exp? I tot for single bb c sect delivery only cost abt $3000plus?

Hazel,

I bought 1 rolex watch in Denmark, few hundred dollars cheaper if I remember correctly.

My mum gave me her old rolex watch. Very tiny face with leather strap. She paid RM400 for it. That time can build an atap house with that amount. I saw in Tokyo many years back, selling close to S$3k

Rostrum,

Mine was $8k+. natural assisted delivery. 1 nite stay in B1 ward (4 bedded) Including 4 nites in SCN for my bb gal.

I think Gan tried natural first but ended up c sec and she also had extra days there.

Delivery charge is for the mother only but bb stay is according to the number on babies. Twins x 2, triplets x 3

Ladies, met up with dr Loh... No referral letter to Camden... Hmmm...

I Tot he will advise me go amnio, in d end he say due to my bleeding n spotting history, better dun risk do cvs or amnio... He say he can't reply my mail cos some things cannot b black n white de...

He ask me ignore my bt result wor... He say based on scans everything seems ok... Bt for twins might Nt b so accurate de...

He is agreeable to me going Camden n even ask me do my 20th week scan there wor...

He start telling me a few examples of his patients, bt no good, some even nasal bone not seen, babies also turn out well n healthy.

And he say so what ratio is high, risk is still there... Makes me think of wat Grumpus mention earlier on...

His mood is so good today tt he waive off my consultation charges
the nurse told me he delivers 6 babies today!!!!

Now I pray for good results at camden. Thank u for all advices!!!

At least nw I see dr Loh, I feel more at ease...
Dh really enjoys talking to dr Loh... They everytime can communicate in hokkien cum English n both will laff v loud inside...sometimes I wonder whether I m d patient or Nt??

How do you stop the production of BM? I have been having mastitis since Tue and it's very very painful. At first I thought it's just usual engorgement when I discovered a lump in my left breast. I tried pumping more frequently and massaging but the painful lump just didn't disappeared. I saw the lactation consultant yesterday and she referred me to see the breast surgeon who examined me and did ultrasound for me. Luckily it's just inflammation and not something else. The LC massaged for me to get rid of the lump and it was very very painful!!

I'm on antibiotic now and have to massage, latch on, pump round the clock. It's very tiring! I had never been so tired in my life before. And my BM is not really alot to start off with. I can only produce 60-70ml in 3hr which is definitely not enough to feed my twins. If I have more BM, I may want to BF for a longer time. But for this small amount of BM, what for I make myself so miserable right? Maybe I should just stop breastfeeding now since I'm going to return to work soon..breastfeeding twins is really tough..sigh..

Baby,
I remember u mentioned that u were going to stop breastfeeding some time ago if I'm not wrong? (I've not been following the posts closely recently) How did you do that? I know that we can get a type of medicine from the gynae to reduce the production of prolatin I think. But it seems that it may cause engorgement?

Singapoh, your mum made a gd investment! Ya, some Rolex models appreciate very well. My hubby has very old a double red sea dweller passed down by my deceased fil who bought it 40 yrs ago at S$500. Now, it is worth S$60k coz this model is very rare. It has 2 lines of red words inside. Anyhow, it kept as a memory of my fil. Thus, it doesn't matter how much it cost now.

Err.. Dun think LV neverfull ever drop price.. The medium & bigger one price differential is very marginal, something like S$80 bucks difference. There is nv a price difference in Monogram & daimer range also. In fact this design sells so well that it is always out of stock & many other brands are copying the design. Actually, neverful also comes in full crocodile leather that cost abt 10k.. But very very limited edition.... Researching on bags is my interest.. Keke

Rostrum,

Can't remember. My memory is really bad after 3 babies :s

Wapiang I can imagine yr hb and Dr Loh chatting away and u feel out of place. Haha..

Rostrum/ baby my bill ex coz I tried natural and eventually c section. So there is additional charges for the use of labour ward though my natural delivery not successful. We stayed extra 2 days , normal c section 3 days. Stayed in A1 ward too. Cost if my gal in normal nursery with 2 days of phototheraphy is $1500 plus. Mine is abt $7000.

Rostrum we paid abt $2500 in cash rest cpf.

First time I notice Hazel at ivf centre was becoz of her bag..... Hahaha , only after chat in forum, I knew hazel is hazel.

Rostrum dr loh speaks in Hokkien!? imagine when u r pushing hard during delivery he use Hokkien to ask u jia you .

Bing,

I had mastitis before and the LC "karate" my breast till blue black! I let my bb suckle on that affected breast and massage. Better than pumping.

Yeah bf for twins are tough. Can get med from doc to stop the supply.

Gan, :p I need to destress & make myself happy... Anyway,I plan to pass down my bags & watches next time to my daughter.. No daughter, I will give my niece.. Classic designs will nv go out of fashion. I hv bags bought more than 10 yrs ago but are still sold at the boutiques..

Singapoh, is up on FB. I think I have captured the 2 lines of red words. My auntie sells watches at airport DFS since a young girl. But she told me she had nv seen b4. Hubby said there are only just a few pcs worldwide.

Rostrum
My bill is almost over $40k due to my long hosp stay and bb nicu and hosp stay.. My gynea delivery charge is $4k plus.. Normal is $3000plus.. Cos mine is twins...

Bing
I aldy stop bf.. The process of stopping is painful.. But it will eventually get better..
Let me share my story.. I have painful blocked ducts lumps even before i decide to stop bf.. Its due to the pain and fatigue that i decide to stop bf.. So i call tmc parentcaft.. The lc tell me to stop pumping (i nvr latch my bb)and apply cold
cabbage.. So i did what she told me.. As a result.. My pain got worst as i did not pump my milk out.. My whole breast is hard rock and damm painful till i cant sleep.. So i can imagine yr agony now...

So i went to my gynea for med to stop bf.. Dr told me i got to clear my lumps before i can start the med.. And he gave me antibiotics in case i have mastitis... I was wondering to myself how to clear the lumps away as i was in such pain till i cant massage the lumps away cos a slightest touch will drive me crazy..

So i went to glen e parentcraft.. The lc help me massage my breast.. Immediately i feel instant relieve.. The lumps went away. And the lc ask me to pump to empty my breast.. After i done that.. My both breast turn soft.. Pain went away.. The lc tells me only to pump when i feel engorged.. And only to pump to relieve.. Abt 3-5mins.. Cannot empty the breast as it will make more milk...

But 3-5mins of pump cant relieve the pain... I still continue to feel lumps and pain... But after a few days.. My breast turn soft to touch.. And finally my milk stop..

The med is only to take for 2 days.. Half a tab two times a day.. So in all only 2 tabs given.. Its v exp.. 2 tabs for $47..
It take abt 3 days for the med to take effect.. So meanwhile got to endure the engorgement and pain...

Actually alot people say dont take med.. Stop bf the natural way.. Reduce the milk gradually.. But i dont have the patience to do it slowly and i cant tahan the pain so i choose to take med.. I believe if i didnt take med.. I wont be able to stop the pain and bf in just 3 days... It might take weeks to stop bf the natural way...

Hazel
Wahh u are a expert in bags!
So better sugg to a big bag? Miu miu or prada.. Any nice bags better than neverfull?

Baby, I dun think Miu Miu is suitable for carrying bbs' stuff. Prada.. How abt it's canvas parachute backpack? Hubby can help to carry too.

I actually wanted to get overseas a Gucci messenger diaper bag Beige/ebony GG fabric with dark brown  leather trim that time coz it comes with a changing mat. Abt S$1k+. LV also has canvas diaper bag but it cost a few ks, not very worth in my views.

Katespade also has bb diaper bags & during sale time, there is discount somemore.

BV is launching it's 2011 cruise canvas totes soon. The size is abt 37x29cm & will cost S$1560im SG when launched. I like the colours too. It looks similar to neverful bags. if u have friends going France/Italy, get them to buy for u, easily 30% cheaper.

Check out the link below:
http://bagaholicboy.com/2011/01/cruise-2011-womens-bottega-veneta/

Alternatively, u can call the boutiques overseas if they do overseas delivery via airmail. Some do. I ever calked BV, London & ordered a bag. Export they wun charge u tax Also. With freight charges, I still save 30% & the SG customs forgot to charge me 7% GST somemore

Oh ya, Tods also has a big leather shoulder bag that can put Alot of things. I hv seen an American actress carrying it in the magazine too. It cost s$2k+

Morning ladies, can't get back to slp after pee

Singapoh, ya I feel quit out of place at times de so most of d times I will leave most of d questioning to Dh Lor since they so 'gum'!!! Both of them hv the same surname also... N best part is dr loh car plate no is d reverse of my dh's de...they really got fate!!!

Gan, thanks for clarification... So it's true got to bear costs at both side Shd natural not successful... Bt d bill at kkh seems reasonable la...u dunno d hazel is the hazel we chatted before 2 years back??? Dr Loh even spoken to me in teochew before... I also blur...

Hazel, never give up!!! M sure u will hv d chance to pass down Yr collections in future...it's only a matter of time..The BV canvas tote really Nt bad lei...hmmm.. U Cn b our fashion consultant in future Liao...

Baby, Yr bills is v high... Mayb cos u deliver in glen e? Babies stay in nicu, partial Cn b claimed fm d ivf insurance we bought right?

Seeing all d posts abt BF recently... Seems like BF on twins really Nt easy... I also dunno Cn tahan or Nt since I m d impatient type... My fren also give up on BF v fast... She says it's tiring n she feels painful though she having a singleton...tink hving energy to care abt d babies more impt hor...if cl leaves Liao I will b all alone wif 2 babies...d Tot of it makes me shiver.. Dunno can handle or Nt?

Rostrum I know hazel.... What I meant when I first met hazel in person in kkivf, I noticed her as she was carrying a nice BV bag.... Then I was in forum I mentioned abt seing this gal with s BV bag which I like at kkivf, hazel told me the gal is her!

For me the tough part in bf is waking up to pump.... I m constantly feeling sleepy now coz I m those after woke up can't sleep immediately de. *yawn*

Bing, how long hv u been bf-ing? If u wan to stop bm naturally without med, it needs some hard work n time too. First, u need to clear ur blocked ducts. Then u slowly lengthen e duration between each pump, n aso to reduce e timing of e pump to signal to ur brain tt e demand required is lesser. Eg, instead of pumpin each 3 hrs for 15 mins during each pump, u can either pump every 5-6 hrs n pump for 10mins, or maintain at 15 mins if y r worried of blocked ducts again. When u r comfy w e longer duration, then u can reduce e timing of 15 mins pump to 10 or lesser mins. Go easy on ur breasts....

I took close to 2 mths to end everything. But 1 reason I dragged so long to end it was aso coz I was trying to gv bm to my son as long as possible though I hv decided to stop when he reached 4 mths plus coz my supply was dropping n I was back to work. I managed to stop when he was 5 mths plus....

Gan, ya I rmb u posted before abt seeing a girl wif BV bag n it turns out to b hazel... She must b a fashion queen!!

I m also one who can't sleep bk easily once up n Somemore I m a v light sleeper... Better ask my frens ard for BF advice..so far only seen 2 gfs of mine doing BF. D rest feeds fm.

Rostrum,

It's not easy to bf twins but still possible. A lot of handwork and sacrifice. Btw size of breasts does not matter. I got small breasts but still bf =p

Bing,

I stopped bf the natural way. It took few weeks to stop. I didn't feel a lot of pain , only umcomfortable. I hv never experience engorgement before. Maybe that's why I didn't hv much pain when I wanna stop bf

Soon to be when u try to stop breast feeding do ur breasts leAk? I may have to stop when I return to work ... So the length of pumping will be lengthen since there is no place to pump in office... We have to wear breast pads then? With breast pads will the leak still wet our blouse?

Rostrum,

I m motivating a new mother online now. She was very discourage in bf coz she is lack of knowledge and her country isn't pro bf. She said I m her role model. If I can bf 2 bbs, she can bf 1 bb.

Gan,

Breastpad will absorb yr bm and u need to change them when they are wet.

U can still bf twice a day. Before and after work. Yr brain will read the message and only produce milk at certain hours. U dun hv to stop bf completely.

Gan,
yup, u can slowly train yr breasts. initially i pump every 3 hrs. when my bb was 2mths plus, i drag to every 4 hrs during the day and i dun pump in the middle of the night anymore, only once before i sleep and once abt 6plus in the morning. then as she get older, i only pump 3 times, once in the morning, once in the afternoon when she nap and once before i sleep. then became 2 times only, morning and night. then one time only until i totally stopped.
cos it was so gradual i didn't get any pain at all, just a bit of fullness and discomfort and some leaking.

when my nephew started childcare, my sil also only latched him in the morning and at night. during the day he drank FM and she didn't pump at work.

Bing, i had the same situation.... hard painful lump..went to kkh 24 hrs 1 week ago...just finished my course of curam for mastitis...

i hv been pumping 3hrly round the clock n its really very very tiring.. n i also start to hv block ducts..which r a pain to massage every pump.... supply also not great.. similar to wht u r doing as well..

my hb has been asking me to consider stop bf coz he says if i m so tired from pumping.. how to look after the bbs?? i plan to pump for at least 1 mth n see how it goes..if really cannot take it..i will stop..

now i store all the bm during the night pumps.. feed FM at nights so tht bbs can sleep longer... n every morning feed..take out all the bm.. gives me a great sense of satisfaction tht all 3 can hv bm for breakfast :p

Panda,

I know it's very tiring for u! But u must really learn to relax since u got yr mum and mil to tc of yr bbs. If it's CL then u hv to keep checking coz she is an outsider.

Dun worry abt the ways they handle yr bbs coz bbs can still be trained when they are older!

Now yr "role" is rest, eat, drink, bf, rest, rest, rest! By the time bbs are fullmonth or so, yr supply should be better. U can ask them to help u longer while u build up yr supply. Many mothers give up before supply is established.

Jiayou!

Panda,

I didn't relax during my confinement coz my CL was from hell so got to watch her closely. I was walking up and down the staircase, dun feel like doing confinement at all.

If can't relax, supply also no good. My confinement ended in 3 weeks. From there I slowly build my supply

Singapoh, I kw it's irregardless of size but we will only kw our supply of bm when we delivers right? Wun kw till we try by then.

It is true that being able to relax is very impt to building up bm supply.
my last confinement i actually got a very capable CL. she had conflicts with hb and mil but i just close 2 eyes cos i find her cooking good, she handles bb well, and she is very clean.

so my only job was eat, drink, rest and pump every 3 hrs. i always watch tv while pumping. my hands are massaging and the pump is running and my eyes are glued to the tv. before i know it, bottle full already

actually pumping have technique one, just like latching also got technique. if you hv close gf's who hv successfully pumped, it's worth to ask them to come down to yr hse and check wat u're doing.

Rostrum,
aiyo, make use of her!! i tell u, once u go through delivery with ppl checking u down there all the time, nurses squeezing yr boobs and nipples and trying to help u latch bb etc....there is no such thing as paiseh already....kekeke

Ya rostrum when I was in kkh, I pump and the nurses walk in and out , they even tell me everytime I see u u r pumping...
Once a colleague visit me, I was 1/2 way thru pumping and I was eager to complete as my gal was doing phototheraphy and will be dehydrated, so I want to make sure she had more bm, no choice but continue pumping with my back facing her while she chit chat with me. Hehehe like Singapoh said.... No more paiseh.=p

Grumpus, I m sure she is more than willing to help me, somemore she is due in apr... By then I on ml, she still on ml so can pop over.. Just nice... Ok, will talk to her... Wah... The nurses squeeze our boobs??? Omg!!! I tink i will blush...

Gan, I also bu fang xin abt cl de... So my mum will cm over for the 1st 2 weeks to help.. By d 3rd week I Shd b able to tk over.

Stop breast feeding
hm.. I plan to stop pumping milk in 2 weeks time. Need to see gynae for pill or normal gp ?
Is there side effect for the pill ? Seems that to stop mill production very time consuming ...