IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Thanks ladies... Dr Loh has not get back to me... Maybe he dun intend to do so/dunno Hw to answer ba.

Sometimes it can be quite frustrating tt he is ignoring emails... Looks like I hv to make a trip down this fri to see him...

Rostrum, if he ignores ur email, it implies tt there's nothing to worry. If it's critical or impt, he will reply pretty immediate even when he's on holiday. If u r really tt worried, gv his ofc a call, talk to his PA. Tell her to help u ask dr loh n get her to come back to u. Tt was wat I did when I needed wat I tot was urgent reply prior to my delivery but I guessed dr loh tot otherwise...which was true coz e matter i was askin was already taken care in my earlier encounters.

Panda,
whatever u are facing is normal, just that u hv 3x the probs.
i used to hv to feed my girl every 2hrs. everybody say can train bb to drink more each feed then can drag the timing to 3-4hr interval blah blah....never worked for my girl. we used to joke that she has a measuring cup in her tummy. so how? no choice, just hv to feed more frequently right? i count by feeding start time and she took 30-60mins to finish her milk plus burping, carrying upright etc. so by the time i put her down, wash bottles is time to feed again.

that was my daily schedule for the 1st yr of her life.

errrmmmm r u sure yr elder boy is having reflux? throwing up milk can be due to not burped properly, accumulation of wind or overfeeding. dun think u shd change to anti-reflux FM without PD advise. Anti-reflux FM is very difficult to drink and even harder to digest. It will throw his feeding schedule, vol totally off. Maybe u want to try adjusting his milk vol abit first? Is his tummy bloated/hard? That's an indication of wind.
Is he drinking his milk too fast and hence getting more wind? cos i know Avent bottle flow is quite fast.

Pandawife maybe can try NUK bottle? Do far no issue with throwing out milk for my gal. I m using the wide neck premium Anti colic bottle

rostrum,
yes, usually dr loh will reply in 2 days time but i guess if he finds it hard to reply via email or whatever other reasons he may have, there will b no reply fr him.

so far i had emailed him 4 times throughout my pregnancy, only one got reply.

Gan,
dun need to press very hard one. dun do it after a feed cos obviously tummy will be a bit hard cos full mah. the best time to feel is when they're relaxed, either during bath (if yr bb likes bathing) or when sleeping just before the next feed.
just use yr hand to cup her tummy, below the belly button area. and sort of just feel/press gently with yr fingers. if got wind, the tummy will feel bloated and sticking out. if no wind, tummy will be very soft one.

errr, dunno how else to describe leh...the other way is use yr hands to tap and listen to the sound. but i could never tell the difference in the sounds so i always use the feel method

Thanks soon to be n rose, I think I will make a trip down to see him this Friday... See what he say... I need to see him to calm my nerves...though I hv decided to go to Camden...

I hope I can survive the week without going bonkers... Calm calm...

grumpus,

i seem to be getting all the problems together...

we also cannot do 3 hrly feeds now... bbs wake up average 2-2.5hrs to be fed. smtimes even hourly....which i know is obviously becoz the last feed wasnt enuff...

we always burp the bbs after feeds..but the boy who throw up his milk does drink very fast...we are also concerned about tht...

hmm..hv to go feel his tummy before the next feed...

now i m worried tht aft throwing up, he dun hv enuff milk, will get constipation too....

Panda
U are worrying too much gal... Relax abit ya...
Some hicups here and there is normal.. Dont be so stress up
After feeding.. Try not to burp immediately cos bb is still swallowing their last mouth of milk.. If u move the bb too soon and fast.. They will throw out milk.. Try to stay in position abt 1min or so.. Then burp the bb...

I understand with 3 bbs.. Problems are x3... Esp with two mothers around x2 the problems also.. But we must try to relax.. Else we will get too emotional and fed up.. Then we cant take care of our bbs well..

I just took my first bath with normal warm tap water.. Shiok mann... Finally my confinement is over... Yeah!

Panda,
hmmmm only one time burping after feed? Try burping in between as well?
I used to think my girl was drinking every 3hrs, poo after every feed and burp after every feed so she was ok. until one day my mum showed me how bloated her tummy was. she massaged my girl's tummy and used ru yi oil and a short while later.....a very long and loud poooootttttt....accompanied by a huuuuuuge diaper of poo. i never even knew that was something i had to look out for. my girl was throwing up milk so frequently but i tot as long as it's just a bit it's normal, turned out she had reflux.
these are things they dun teach in pre-natal class...hehehe

dun worry too much abt the boy who threw up. so far only twice right? he should still be fine

u are doing fine

Soon to be,

Waaa..no more Carter's, other brand can?

Rostrum,

Yeah Dr Loh only reply urgent emails. He replied mine while he was in Switzerland for holiday.

grumpus, baby..thanks...

first time mummy and w 3 of them...cant help to be worried.. my mum n mil already confused n blur by 3 bbs most of time.. so i hv to be on my toes to keep an eye on the bbs...

just now i ask if they can remember if the elder boy who throw up milk poo today.. nobody can remember leh... they only remember the other one who has constipation..

singapoh, yeah.. so far 1x big amt.. 1x small amt. will monitor..

we just did 1 feed of 45ml.... will observe and see if he is alright....

Panda
Did u keep a notebook to write down their feeding time and how much milk they drink? And also write down what time they poo? This way its easier...

Grumpus
u very knowlegable !!! Seems that ftm really got a lot to learn

baby
my cl is doing 6 weeks so I got more time to learn from her n enjoy her cooking more. Wa I can't wait for my normal shower like u ... Few more days must ren

I also like u care for bb alone with help of a maid after cl leaves. Like u said, cl can't stay forever so somehow in one way or another got to learn the ropes.

Panda,
even with one bb i sometimes could not remember whether she had pooed or not cos whole day just feed, carry, wash bottles, pump and lack of sleep. brain totally not working already.
i also had a notebook to jot down last feed how many ml and if poo i just put a tick. very simple but at least at one glance i know when to expect the next feed and whether she is pooing or not.

singapoh.. cant assign coz now when bb cry, whoever is free will go attend to them. mum n mil spend alot of time in the kitchen cooking everyday. my parents r vegetarians..so my mum hv to cook their own meals.. my mil will make my confinement foods ....

my dad is day care only..at night he will sleep thru even when bb is screaming..hehe... i realised he cant be full time care giver...he only likes to play w bbes n occasionally will help w feeds n diaper changes...

at night..all the bbs slp in bb room w my mil... my mum is sleeping in the guest cum study room next door.. the spare cot is in my room which we will take whichever bb who is fussing n refused to sleep at night.. somehow we noticed they like it in our room...

baby, yes..hv log book...bt its mess up.. coz they always forget to record....n when i ask, nobody can remember. iniitally got record pee n poo..but only couple of days...

now its just feed time n feed amt also cant be complete...will always miss out one or two bb every feed coz the timings all different...n amt also different.. plus they always combine unfinished milk for the next bb..so make it even more confusing n harder to remember.

i tink i got to be sitting in the living room 24x7 to do the recording...

Nancy
Haha.. U will feel so shiok when u can take normal bath..

U engage 6 weeks for cl ah.. So how much u pay?
I aldy so sick of the confinement food so i wont miss cl cooking hehe.. But when cl leave.. My mum will do simple cooking and i will try my best to handle my two girls myself.. Cant rely on my mum forever..

Panda
I can imagine the chaos at yr home with 3 bbs and two mothers... I guess now its the intial phase.. Everyone is adjusting and getting used to having 3 bbs at home.. Once more settled.. Things will get better..
Now bbs are more managable.. Once they start to crawl and walk.. Thats when the nightmare begins... So enjoy their bb stage now hehe...

Panda,

I also get confuse with just 2 babies. Sometimes got to dig the dustbin for evidence! They r wearing different size.

Yr MIL is strong! My dad also like yrs but He never change diaper for my bbs before, just help to feed them. Btw he is very old Liao. He is 74 today

Pandawife guess it's adjustment stage now for everyone in ur family, after all been sometime since ur parents and mil take care of babies, 3 babies not easy ar and u r first time mummy

Though I have CL now but i find myself still tired coz pumping milk round the clock and daytime I have baby with me in my room so when she fuss I will try look after her. The lack of sleep has cause me bad memory that I will also sometimes forget how much ebm I put in the bottle for her feed, record when she poo.... I gave up recording pee le coz too often .
But I guess when we slowly get into the routine, hopefully things will get better.
But babies also got their own mind so they change their routine .... Like now my gal is American time. Night time fuss and eye big big dun sleep. No wonder after delivery, pple congrats me for having a new boss!

Hi mummies... Need ur advise... Had my 1st fresh cycle... Positive hcg test on mon... Had brown discharge in the evening which became brownish pink... Very slight cramp... Anyone had exp before?

Girls,

First day home... Already no sleep. Where do u find time to sleep esp since we suppose to be resting after delivery/op?

Ask a ques, lactation consultant told me that feeding w bottle and teat will cause nipple confusion and she suggested cup feeding. Anyone doing that? Do u find it true abt the nipple confusion thing? We are trying cup feeding but it takes so long, by the time I latch, then move on to FM, already almost 2 hrs, then in an hour's time supposed to start all over again.

I keep asking TMC, they said 3 hrs shld count from starting time. How ah? Like that they are constantly drinking, wld that be too much?

Working wife it's true abt nipple confusion coz my girl is confused now coz I have been bottle feeding her since back from hospital. I tried cup feeding once but made a mess think more milk pour on her shirt than what she drank. So now my gal is being bottle fed with EBM. If u read breastfeeding books for exclusive BF babies, bottle shld only be intro after babies are 1 mth old.

Happybb have u seen ur gynae regarding the brownish discharge and cramps? Ask for additional support and rest more.

Working wife I think it's also the teats I bot .... I had silicon teats which are harder.... Maybe I shld have bot latex teats which r softer and closer to the feel of our nipples. The NUK bottle I bot indicates support breast feeding on the box so I tot shld be ok...

Happybb, I believe u r on oral - duphaston support now. I m Nt sure who Yr gynae is. Dr Loh actually ask me to tk 2 tabs in the morning n another 2 tabs in the evening every day. Must bedrest, stay horizontal most of the time. This works v well. Else, injection support is also v good. Ask for proluton jabs as if is more lasting and effective.

If spotting still persists, dice 2 slices of lotus root n grab a handful of glutonious rice n cook it into porridge. This is for 1 serving - abt a rice bowl n tk it morning n night. A remedy from the TCM to stop spotting. V effective too but must tk for 3-5 days n it tastes Yucky... Bt for the sake of the precious. It is nothing..

Meanwhile, rest well. Minimize movement n dun do any hsewk...

Rose, u hv a big baby!!!!

I was catching up the post here n reading abt the cup feeding vs bottle feeding. Anyone tried syringe feeding? I've not delivered yet but this was told to me by a friend. Her baby was delivered at Mt A n they did syringe feeding at the hospital. So when she went back, to avoid nipple confusion, she continued with this method. Even till now that her son is 3.5yrs, he still uses the syringe most of the time for this FM. she swears by it saying it's fast n can know exactly how much they r drinking. Just thought to share this info. Hope it's useful.

Happybb,
You should go see your gynae to get oral support and injections. The spotting should stop in a few days. Take care!

Should latch on as much as possible in 1st mth or so to stimulate the supply. After that, can switch to nuk teats for bottle feeding.

i was using avent for fm cos i do not have enough bm and i didn't latch on due to discomfort of c-sect. In the end, my bb couldn't latch on properly. I had to switch all the teats to nuk silicon and then do latch on more frequently and eventually my boy mastered it.

baby
r u bringing ur twins for the 2nd dose of hepB jab with yy yip? i still deciding leh

any idea if bb will get fever/sick after 2nd dose of hepB jab, the one taken at 1 mth?
just want to be more prepared.

gan,
my boy has nipple confusion as well becos i also introduced bottle right in the beginning. so i always have problem latching my boy ..one day i decided to go for lactation consultation ..and its quite gd i must say..im trained how to breastfeed properly, but my boy still doesnt like to be latched because he wants a faster milk flow although he sucked. in the end i gave up and i gave ebm most of the time. u noe wat, at wk8, he can latch very well out of a sudden! i have a fren who encounter the same thing.. i read online, some babies sucking gets matured at a certain age, and can adapt to both nipple and teats at the same with no problem.. so jiayou!

Singapoh, both my mil n mum will take turns to attend to bb when they cry at night.. unless more than 1 needs to be fed, then both will get up. mil slp in bb room coz i can only feed a single bed in there.. guest room has queen bed for my parents.

and usually the feed at 1plus am..i will also get up to help... left 1 more feed in the wee hours before my hb wakes up at 6plus to help out....

i must try not to be stressed ... yesterday so upset.. immediately this morning the 2 pumps milk supply suffer already.

luckily last night hb came back and got things back in order... my boy drinking his normal amt of 70-80ml per feed...and pooing well too....

baby, we are planning to do the 1st mth celebration on 23 Jan.. will be at home.. for some close frens n relatives.

gan, yes..everyone's trying to get the hang of things... and adjust to each other's way of doing things. hopefully things will get better soon..

Happy
My appt with yy yip is on mon.. Doing the 2nd hep jap.. Cos he arrange eye check for us also.. I think i will just go to him for the 2nd jap.. Afterwhich i may consider changing pd..

Gals, btw.. How to use baby bonus for the bb injection?

working wife,
yes, feeding with bottle and latching will cause nipple confusion. some bbs are ok though and can switch back and forth with no probs. thing is u won't know until it's too late.

some precautions u can take if u want to do both:
- try NUK latex teats, the shape and texture is supposed to be closest to breastfeeding.
- when bottle feeding, get someone else to do it and u can't be around. so bb associates mummy = breast and other ppl = bottle. some bbs are ok with that.
- u can try syringe feeding, it's less messy than cup feeding. the nurses syringe fed my girl when she was in nicu.

in the beginning the schedule will be like that. abt one hr to latch, then someone else to top up with FM while u pump to stimulate supply. then by the time u're done, wash pump, sterilise bottles it's time to start again

dun worry abt them drinking too much cos in the beginning they actually drink very little and need to be fed frequently cos their tummies are so small.

Working wife I cld initially get 100 to 120ml of ebm after discharge but last Sunday and monday dropped ..... No matter how long I pumped only abt 70ml. Only when Grumpus reminded me abt fluid intake , I drank more fluid yesterday, mAnaged to get abt 90 to 100 ml each pump. I pump every 3 to 4 hrs. I didn't sleep much since deliver ... So guess resting more will help too. If ur baby can latch, latching is actually best to simulate breast milk .. So try to latch if possible. I was worried abt my gal's jaundice so I did bottle feed so that I know how much ml she is taking each feed.

Sunflower ya will Try latching her now and then coz just seen doc , her jaundice is on down trend, though not cleared but better... Hopefully she can be like ur son latched well!=) my gal is impatient when she is hungry and wants go drink fast, so she gets frustrated when I latched n flow is slow.

Panda,

I find that pumping out to feed is stressful. Must see how much I hv. Btw pumping won't get all the milk out. After pumping I use hand to express still can get 20 ml or more.

When my gal is back for good, I will direct latch both. She is a fast drinker, only takes 5 mins or so.

Before I discharged wz my boy, the nurse taught me how to cup feed. She also told me since that he suckles well, I can give bottle when I get home. I did that plus direct latch. Both my twins accept both ways of feeding even now. I always find it amazing that my gal who is away for 5 days a week still wanna latch on when she is back. She went to live with my MIL since she was 11.5 weeks old. Now 7 months old.

My big son was ok too but when he was few weeks old, he rejected my breast! I had to start all over again. Keep latching him till he accept my breast again. He preferred my right side!

Hearing u gals talk abt bf i feel so bad i didnt continue to bf my girls... Thou i feel much better physically and mentally after i stop my bf.. I have more energy attending to them.. I still feel bm is the best for bbs.. Too bad i dont have the determination to continue giving them.. So i try my best to trial and error to find the best fm for them.. Tried similac.. Too thick and heaty... Tried nan1.. More watery but abit lose out to those bigger brands interms of those additional nutrients.. Going to try enfalac soon after i finish my 2nd tin of nan1...

Salute to mummies who continue to bf!!

Btw those who has bb girls... I notice after they poo.. Sometimes the poo will get into their labia folds.. Must pull their labia aside to clean.. Is that normal and necessary?

Baby how do y know nan1 has less nutrients? U compared the contents? I am feeding my gal s26 for a few feeds last 2 days .... Can see more curds in the poo.... Different from 100% bm. Seems like enflac is good coz Pandawife, just faith also using that

Gan
Ya i compare the additional add ons.. Different brands of fm has different kind of add ons.. Eg like dha.. Prebiotics.. Etc..
And cos nan1 is much cheaper.. Its at $32.. Whereas those bigger brands like similac or enfalac.. Its over $40... So im not sure it is due to the additional nutrients added...

S26 has been around for donkey years.. Its aldy there when we are bbs.. Its a trusted fm... I did consider s26 also... How u find s26? After mixing with water.. It is thick or watery?
Im sure individual fm has their strengths.. Its a matter of finding one that suits our bb...

Yr bm is not enough to feed yr girl? Must supplement with fm? Maybe u wana eat more fish and payaya fish soup to build yr supply cos that time when im still bf.. I eat alot of fish and the soup.. My supply went up.. Its enough to feed one bb.. But cos i have twins.. I got to supplement with fm..

Singapoh, i agree pumping is stressful... but only 1 of my boy latch well...the other boy takes v long to latch...ger ger cant latch at all... even if all 3 can latch, its also quite impossible for me to bf all 3 now... so end up its easier to pump out and rotate to feed the bbs w bm....

i would love to just latch n do away w the washing and sterilising of d pump .... but doesnt seem feasible...

hand express..hmmm... i shld try doing tht after pumping too.... any tips for doing tht? never try before..

baby.. i can understand why u giv up bf... i m struggling to keep up w it..

esp the wee hours of morning pumps.. i m so tired tht i can doze of holding the pump n spill the milk :S

Panda,

Can slowly build yr supply la but dun force yrself if too tired. Bf 1 bb is already challenging, u got 3 lei. U should give yrself a big pat for bf them.

Hand express like milking a cow. Haha.. I just hand expressed 25 ml after pumping for 20 mins