IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Tickles ha ha ya very Tiring to wake up to pump that I didn't hear alarm that went off this morning after only sleeping for 4 hrs plus last night. =s

I m thinking if dual pumps help in cutting down the time to pump but like very wasteful if u buy coz when back to work not possible to pump as my workplace no nursing room.

Tickles u delivered by c section too?

Baby I m also thinking of doing massage 1mth after birth.

Gan,
That's my concern too. I scared I find it too tiring then waste money if I fet a dual pump now. Dunno leh. I set target for myself to pump till at least 6m. My office got storeroom which only me n another coll has keys to it. So I can pump there. Only that no aircon n also stuffy.

I delivered naturally. But cos my girl was in NICU then very busy so never really look for a massage lady. Then when she us back, I was busy with planning of the baby shower so only after the full month then I started looking ard for massage lady. Wanted to do it b4 my cl leaves that time. So that I can massage in peace. But then thou massage is relaxing n nice but I hate that oily feeling after the massage. So I only took the 5 day session n didn't continue after that. ThInk next tine I'll just opt for 3 days can le. Just to push back my womb. Ha. Imagine dO confinement already cannot bath le. Then still so oily. Cannot stand it.

Gan, baby,
Best to do the massage when cl still ard. At least can massage in peace. U know sOmeone us helping u look after the baby when u are doing massage.

baby, i m doing the massage after my next gynae checkup.. nurse told me not to do any tummy area massage until dr says ok after the checkup leh.

tht shld b the 6 week after delivery...

Pandawife my gynae checkup on 19 Jan.... 1 mth after delivery.

Tickles at least u have the storeroom ..... I got the toilet only leh.

bottle washing with detergent
thanks for ur sharing. My gf told me she only wash only In the morning with detergent n the rest of the day just water n brush. Am afriaid ask maid wash w detergent and she didn't do a proper job.

Almost one month n I still can't close my fingers fully on the left hand. Dr says water retention but still worried if will get well. Cl says better go see tcm.. She hasn't met cases like mine. Anyone same experience as me ?

nancy
i had swollen feet few days after delivery, lasted abt a wk or so.. cant rembr exactly. my gynae said not unusual, it will go away.

can i check when u all go for the malay massage, what is the benefit? is it to relax the body or sthg to do with the womb? sorry i blur blur ... coz deciding if need to get massage or not.

Baby, I started my first post natal massage y'day. 10 sessions $500, no need to pay separately for wrapping etc. I really dozed off while she massaged... it was really good. After massage lady left, I took lunch and continued with my sleep. I took out the wrap 6 hrs later. Supposedly to massage everyday, but told her I want to do it alternate day.

Nancy, I think you "touched" too much water liao... thats why you cant close your fingers properly. Did you sweat alot during your confinement? Actually sweating can also help to clear water retention. But make sure the fan dun blow directly at you after you sweat.

My maid usually wash with detergent and sterilise in microwave oven for 2 mins.

justfaith
oh dear.. both my wrist are very painful...could it also be becoz i touch too much water...but cant really help it coz got to water bb bottles and take care baby.my confinement is almost over liao...does it mean the pain will never go away?

HappyHippo, u r not supposed to touch unboiled water during confinement. U shld always have a pail of boiled water standby to wash ur hands. If not, women who r weaker will hv joint aches as wind has gotten in.. Something which u r experiencing now.., n u will get the aches next time when the weather is cooling.. The only way to resolve is wait for next confinement & make sure u follow the rules then. Wat u can do now to reduce the aches Is to take alcohol, eg Dome or hard liquor in ur food or take a tiny cup.. Supposed to warm ur body.,

I had joint aches almost immediately when I touched unboiled water too...

Hi mummies... Went to gynae... She said my brown discharge could be implantation bleeding... Din do scan for me cos said too early, if cannot locate sac, will be disappointed... Gave me pregnyl jab & 2 days mc... Next mon gg for pregnyl jab again... Now feel more 安心....

When did u first scan for sac? I'm 4w6d based on et date... Gynae say next thu shld be able to scan...

Rostrum colleague also asked me used meeting room but the meeting rooms are always booked during office hrs n I also got meetings to attend so can't pump regularly when I m home now ... Supply will definitely dropped. Won't be 100% breast milk then . Most prob only night feeds when back at work.

Happyhippo I have also been touching water since delivery... My wrists are ok but can feel my fingers stiffer

Happyhippo,
Post natal massage is to help u to push your womb back to the original position. If I'm not wrong it's supposed to help in water retention too. Of cos muscle relaxation too.

Gan,
Ya, use the meeting room. Just do a quick one. Pump a while better than not pumping at all.

Tickles
I bought the pump thru amazon.. Its frm US.. So no warranty locally... Cos the price alot of difference.. If i recall.. Here selling at almost $800... Maybe u wana check out different brands of pump before u decide.. Cos i dont know whether its the avent pump or its all pump.. Cant fully empty the breast.. I will get blocked ducts even with regular pumping.. I thk panda also experience the same thing and she is also using avent..
Dont know is it latching then can fully empty the breast or what...

Its due to the constant painful blocked ducts and the fatigue that make me stop bf.. If i dont have the painful lumps maybe i will bf for a longer period...

Just faith
U doing 10 sessions? I tot of only doing 5 sessions..
So far i only done one session?
Cos i read the origins jamu website.. They uses hot stone also.. And reading the testimonials.. Like quite good reviews.. But price abit steep...

happyhippo

i know where u r coming from... sometimes we still have to help out washing the bottles or whatever. cant really rest like what most people will tell us. i think your body still very "han"... must try to take more bu, like what hazel mentioned, dome etc.

intially, i was still very active at home. walking around, like very clever like that. now, i just have to close one eyes or sometimes both eyes. delegated more work to hubby, including fetching drinks for me.

baby,

yeah, i doing 10 sessions. my cousin who used the same massage lady, did 20 sessions with her as she has more fats to shed. cos i knew her for long time, thats why engaged the same massage lady for post natal massage also.

Pandawife, did you mention u have blocked ducts? try using cold cabbage, it worked for me.... i put on cold cabbage for 2hrs. While pumping, continue to massage the blocked ducts. i know its painful... but better clear now then to wait for later. So far, the blocked ducts never come back again.

Happybb, when I first cfm bfp, I also hv spottings... Went a&e ard week 4 n detect sacs. However, a pregnancy is consider viable when heartbeats are detected. Best to scan ard week 6-7. Rmb to keep a full bladder when u go for Yr 1st scheduled scan so tt easier to do tummy scan. Meanwhile, pls bedrest.

Gan, then no choice le... Daytime fm, night time bm when u goes back to work... My working area same as u...no rooms for pumping de...

Just faith
haizzz.. How not to touch water after we visit the toilet n change dispers for bb? My confinement coming to an end but will try n use warm water instead

hazel
Thanks will take some dom soon. No more future confinement .. After this round, close shop already so no chance to " retake "

Thx, gan & rostrum...

Rostrum... When u go a&e, did they give u any other support? Tat means when we go for heartbeat scan, it will be tummy scan from then onwards?

Nancy, can touch boiled water. The fussy one will tell cl to boil water first thing in the morning & place a pail in the toilet for ur usage. Boil again n replenish during the day when boiled water is running low. Washing bottles ask cl to do. U dun do. That is why some will standby many bottles so tt no immediate washing is needed after feeding. Bb sleep tt time then cl wash. Actually, experienced cl all know cannot touch unboiled water during confinement. But they wun auto boil water for u to use as it is Alot of work

Wear socks & slippers all times too to retain body heat. We got to take care of health too. If not old already Alot of problems & hard on the children too

Happybb, yes they give me progesterone jab bt I insist on proluton jabs cos more effective n lasting...so far I hv jabbed abt 3-4 proluton jabs and will be going for another one this week due to my bleeding last week. This is prescribed by dr Loh.

I did a v scan on my 6th week as I did Nt keep a full bladder. Thereafter Shd b tummy scans.

Thanks ladies for your well wishes.

Happyhippo, Nancy
Don't worry about all this joint issues, they are common after delivery and will go away. My hands and feet were swollen also after delivery and I showered as soon as I got down of bed and touch water everyday when washing hands etc. The swelling in my hands have disappeared, the feet is still abit swollen but not as bad.

I don't think its 'touching water' that caused it. But rather, the amount of fluid pumped into the body to keep me hydrated, so it naturally will take time to expel from the body.

Some wind will get into the body also during delivery, so to get rid of it, take confinement food with liquor and ginger. My mum put lots of those but if u afraid it will affect bf, don't take everyday or every meal. I find ginger is the best, to get rid of wind.

happybb
I first scan was around 7wks, cos by then should be able to see sac and heartbeat.

Just faith
I just call origins jamu.. Promo package $415 for 5 sessions..
Exp hor.. Hmm.. But its nett price.. No transport fee and gst..
Got some free gifts too...
Hope to start next week.. Waiting for them to let me know whether any available slots not...

Baby I am also planning to go with origins, they had a promo last year which I wanted to book but coz I delivered early ... So forgot all abt booking. Will ask dr loh ok with the massage when I see him on 19 Jan.

Gan
U mean the promo that ends in dec last yr?
I called just now.. She say can honor the promo price for me.. U can try to call... Actually the promo price and original price not much difference...
U got any friends that try originsjamu before? How come u will want to try them? U heard good reviews abt them it is?

Just faith
Ya lor price abit exp.. I also considering.. Hmm.. But i dont feel like trying those free lance one.. Cos dont good not.. At least origins featured in mag n papers.. So tot they wont flare too badly.. Hehe..
I wonder now the lohia has stop.. Doing massage will make it come bk not?? Hmm...

hazel
oh i dun hv cl, only hubby & mum to help out first mth. i cant ask them to do too much esp my mum is quite elderly also. i got take brandy/ginger in chicken soup. tried dom but very hard to drink.
i wont hv chance for next confinement liao,this bb is a miracle for us ardi...too old ardi.

is there anythg else we can still do to rectify all the joint aches? worst still, hubby just back to work, now i go to full time handle baby and wash bottles myself..even harder not to touch water now
carry baby, wrist also pain

tickles
oh ok so massage is to push womb back to original position. is that why these days when i pass urine, the sensation is different. it was worst immediately after delivery, coz like cant feel bladder full, pass urine also extreme unreal feeling.

justfaith
ya.. really very hard to just lie in bed and see hubby & mum busy. how many days u post delivery ardi?
all along i also wear shorts, coz warm at home.. now getting worried abt joint pain, so just only started wearing long pants but guess too late.

rostrum
ya only these few days i try to wear slippers but my one mth confinement ending this wk. guess too late liao.. probably not gonna help?

bubbybear
u so lucky no joint pains. but now that i kena it, can't help but believe abit about all these talk abt not touching water,etc. but confinement over soon..help help what else can i do to rectify?

Happyhippo, e joint ache will slowly go away. Like u, I didnt engage a cl, mil did confinement, so I did a lot of washin on my own too.....Wrist pain cld b e way u carry ur bb. So u wan to readjust ur way of carrying him/her. N can wear wrist guard which works for me

Happyhippo, take more alcohol then. Every meal. U can pour Dom into your food & cooked. eg, steam chicken with Dom, your soup noodle also can pour 1-2 spoons in. If bb no jaundice, add more Ginger to food during cooking. This Is what those without cl will do. It helps.

Happyhippo, avoid cold n liang stuff till the aching goes away? Hope it helps...some mummies say it will go away but tk some time... U monitor... If still persists, tink u need to seek TCM help le.

Dom can continue to take after confinement. Is nv too late to build up ur health. FYI, I still wear my socks, long pants every night In aircon room. I still wear those slippers that can keep warm on top pf socks. Not those normal slippers

Baby,
As long as u enjoy the massage n your womb is bring push back can le. Anyway u also dun get to do post natal massage often ma. ;)

Regarding the pump, I feel that avent pumps are the cause of your blocked ducts arh. Erm.. I too have a few episodes of block ducts in my 1st month. But it cleared off quite soon.

Hsppyhippo,
Ya, it's to push back your womb n strengthen it. After my 1st preg I didnt do massage as I felt I'm not that fat so no need to do. Then that time when I went for womb massage before my fet, the auntie told me that my womb is very low. Not good, cos womb is weak.

Tickles,
dun worry, the meds will help to control the vomitting so that yr girl's tummy will hv time to settle down. do try to manage by feeding small feeds frequently. And remember to elevate her when she's sleeping. unfortunately small/early bbs tend to to get more gastro-intestinal probs

my girl had reflux and colic as well. i carried her ALOT. sometime afternoon nap i let her sleep on her tummy while on my tummy cos she slept better that way.
Hang in there, she will eventually grow out of it.

Panda,
Ask hubby to help u massage the blocked ducts. Fill up a small milk bottle with hot water and use as hot compress by rolling it on the lumps, more effective than hot towel. Sometimes the blocked ducts can't be cleared totally in one pump session, so just hang in there and keep massaging at every session till it goes away. Dun use cold cabbage!! it will reduce yr supply!

Nancy,
i only wash the bottles with water and scrub with the bottle brush then sterilize. Never used detergent.

happyhippo,

huh? u wear shorts ah? i cant leh... when i wear too little at home, I feel cold, and worst, i get goosebumps when i m in living rm or kitchen area. i wear t-shirt with cotton pants, socks and slippers at home. but i will break out in sweat when I drink longan tea or after my meals. Then change t-shirt again.

I guess most of the women have weak or cold wombs, that is why we ended up doing IVF. And each individual's body is made up differently. Try to understand your own body and give the right treatment.

Ya cold cabbage will reduce supply.

Mummies with babies about 1 mth or younger does your babies sometimes suddenly screAM or cry when sleeping? My gal been doing that past few days... Wonder whether she is not well

Grumpus how's gynae visit ?

Just Faith,

http://www.natural-homeremedies.com/blog/how-to-reduce-your-supply-of-breast-milk/
"Place cabbage leaves on your breasts and keep them there until they wilt. Replace them and continue to do so till you're all dried of your milk production"

http://www.ivillage.com/weaning-5-tips-help-stop-your-milk-production/6-n-137218
"5 Tips to Help You Feel Better
(And Reduce Your Milk Supply)
2. Apply cold cabbage compresses. Placing "compresses" inside each cup of your bra will also help to make you more comfortable. Reapply refrigerated cabbage leaves about every two hours, or as they wilt, until your milk supply slows. This is a good treatment for severe engorgement. Often moms feel relief in as little as two hours (Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, Ruth Lawrence, MD, 1994). You can continue this treatment as needed."

http://www.babycenter.com/404_im-weaning-my-baby-is-there-anything-i-can-do-to-help-dry-up_8921.bc
"Some clinicians believe that applying raw cabbage to the breasts helps ease discomfort and reduce milk production. (First get the cabbage leaves nice and cold in the refrigerator or freezer.) It's safe and worth a try."

Gan,
my bb has stopped growing (minimal growing). Cervix only abt 1cm dilated, not totally soft yet. Gynae helped to do cervix stretching today hopefully can help trigger labour. Monday check again to see if any more dilated, if yes, will admit to insert the pill to help dilation and hopefully contractions will follow. If not further dilated or contractions fail to start after inserting pill then will hv to go for c-section liao.

Either way, seems like bb will be born on 11/1/11 hehehehe

grumpus, yeah..i hv been using hot water bottle... i latched bbs twice, n pump 2x w massage.. now the lumps are smaller... will continue it until all are gone....

gan, one of my boy was like tht... coz he had hard stools... and ever since tht day...everytime poo..even though is v soft, he will scream.... i tink he got scared by the hard stools episode...