IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Baby,
You can try Mamex Gold HA. It's more watery like bm. My boy has been drinking that after switching from similac.

Panda
I can imagine how hard it is for u... With 2 i aldy feel so drained.. U have 3.. I cant imagine how chaotic it is...
Thou i did not doze off while pumping.. I kept yawning.. I can yawn like every few seconds.. And with the painful blocked ducts and the tiredness.. I feel so depressed.. And i become v temperamental... I feel i dont have energy to attend to my bbs.. Thats y i decide to stop bf.. I need the energy to handle two bbs..

But if u have the support and help frm yr family to bf.. U should carry on! If u really cant tahan.. No one will blame u for not bf.. The choice is yrs.. Cos u are the one who is pumping and latching.. No one can do these for u... And no one can understand what u are gg thru... Dont stress yrself too much ok.. Rem its only the first mth.. Maybe after sometime things will get better.. There are still alot mummies who went thru bf! Look at singapoh! Im a bad example.. Hee

Bak
Why u switch frm similac? Is it due to constipation also?
Seems like similac has this constipation problem hor..
U tried nan1 before? Mamex gold ha is like nan1?
U try enfalac before?

Panda/just faith
Enfalac A+.. is it watery or thick? Like is it easy to mix the powder with water? Cos like similac.. Its hard for the powder to dissolve in water cos its too thick.. But like nan1.. Its easy
to dissolve...

Baby I supplement with FM for 2 feeds coz not enuff bm to feed my gal. Now supply back will go back to 100% bm. FM is thicker..... When I gave my gal S26, she actually pause for a while after sucking... We were joking she must be thinking why the. Milk taste different.

Pandawife waking up to pump really not easy .... I have to drag ny body up when the alarm clock goes off.... And try to keep myself awake when pumping by reading mag or surfing... Abit regret not buying a duo pump.
U r doing well with 3 babies, dun stress whether enuff or notz, some bm is better than none . Moreover u mention the feeding times for the 3 babies are different must be even tougher.

Are u buying those full month cakes? I m doing my gal's full month on 15 jan

Panda
U use rm temp to make fm? I still use the old method to add some warm water to make fm.. Sometimes if bb take a long time to drink.. I will warm the milk in a cup of hot water..
Tmc class teach to use rm temp to make fm.. Dont know why i still prefer to add some warm water.. Hee...

Gan
Dont worry im sure yr supply will increase gradually... Then u can feed yr girl on total bm...

My full month baby shower aldy over lo.. Its a joyful event!
Enjoy mummies!

Working Wife and ladies who just gave birth,

For my case for the 1st 2 months, I alternate between breastfeed and FM. After 2 mths, my gal started to reject bottle and will cry and cry if feed her bottle. I tried different FM brands, change bottle and teat from Avent to NUK latex still doesn't help. So from then I have to latch her and she only takes the right side. I also feel that it is easier to latch her in the middle of the night as I have no helper.

So it is possible to breastfeed your baby exclusively and this is something that I never thought of! And breastfed babies will not have constipation problem until they start taking semi-solid food.

This is the website my PD recommends for more info on breastfeeding http://www.breastfeedingonline.com/

Re: Fever after 5-in-1/6-in-1 injection
My baby did not have fever after Hepatitis B 2nd jab. She had higher body temperature of 37.2 under armpit after the 5-in-1 first jab in 3rd mth, and 6-in-1 jab in 6th mth. Your PD will give you liquid Paracetamol to stand by but I did not give. The temperature had subsided after I latched her a few times.

Baby,
I switched to mamex cos my boy was having some phelgm issue and similex was rather sweet so we wanted to switch. Our pd recommended mamex ha and we just try. It's so much easier to dissolve compared to similac. This helps cos my boy can't even wait for 5mins for his milk.
I didn't try the rest cos mamex suits him .
i use lukewarm water cos my boy will reject if not warm.

Baby
did u order from sweetest moments ? They just sent me a copy of the bb card sooo cute !! Am sure u had a great time for your girls full mth party
u shifting to new place soon ?
I paying my cl more than 4k for 6 weeks. I happen to be a fan of confinement food n cl has lots of variety so eat n eat haha ..

just wanted to highlight that those FM with "HA" at the back means it's hypoallergienic. The milk proteins in these FM are partially hydrolysed (broken down into smaller molecule) to reduce allergic reactions, like lactose intolerence. They are also more easily digested because they are already partially broken down.

If u're concerned abt nutrients though, the HA version usually has less added vitamins/minerals like iron, probiotics etc

Grumpus
were u the one that mentioned u pump n give ur girl ebm ? May I ask if supply will drop if I dun latch completely ? Will my breast size go back to pre pregnancy while I still pumping ?
Does pumping also cause sore nipples ? I am one of the few ladies that prefer my small breasts? My hb thinks otherwise haha ...

nancy,
yes i pumped and gave my girl ebm for the first yr. It's all abt supply and demand. while it's true that pumping doesn't stimulate supply as much as direct latching, it doesn't mean u cannot build up sufficient supply to meet yr bbs demands. u do hv to be very hardworking though and religiously pump every 3 hrs, at least for the first 1-2 mths.

Errr, yr breast size will not go back to pre pregnancy size while still pumping. You can still get sore nipples from abrasion from the pump funnels, or if the pump power is too high.
Some ladies breasts went back to pre-pregnancy size after they stop pumping/breastfeeding but some didn't. Mine didn't...

babyhopeful,
ya lor, when dr loh said my bb is fat, i also a bit shock coz my tummy not really big wat, but i do feel its gettiin heavier. he warned me not to eat too much coz fat bb difficult to come out. hahaha.
think i drank too much bottled chix essence lately as i getting more n more tired and feels weaker. have to stop taking liao. didnt realise chix essence so power...other than tat i dun really eat much leh.

Rose,

How come doctor says overweight? i remember at week 35, my gal was 2.9kg IF I RECALL correctly. i dun think 2.5kg is overweight lah.. dun worry too much. you have to buffer +/- 20% difference on actual weight.

Baby,

Dun feel bad abt not feeding your babies bm. Breastfeeding really need alot of determination and most importantly, time! I realised during my first two days, I have no time to even sit down and try pump milk as there were visitors coming to my house... I only started pumping on 2nd night, abt 1am. I had engorgement the following day, I used cold cabbage on both breasts for abt 2 hours before pumping... all these really need time and some quiet moments. Hubby and family support also very important. Now, I can watch tv or surf net as I pump. No need massage. I don't latch cos i really really sweat alot. I already lost 9kg so far.. only 1 more kg to go. But will try to lose more lah.... so that, can wear nice nice clothes during CNY.

I used enflalac A+ cos highly recommended by alot of experienced mummies. I bought at $42.80 at NTUC. I know some medical halls in rivervale plaza selling cheaper. But I dunno how cheap. Like you, i still use traditional method of mixing milk. 60ml of room temp water + 30ml of warm water. So far, it dissolves very quickly. Her poos are smooth, maybe becos I also feed her with water. At night, 100% FM as I standby 3 scoops of milk powder in those milk powder containers. :p

Grumpus,

You are really our milk guru here! Peifu! Peifu! I really learnt alot from posts. Keep reminding myself to pump milk before meals.... hahaahaha

Rose,

Forgot to add, between week 35 to 37, she put on less than 100gms, still have not cross over 3kg. But at 39weeks, when I deliver her, her weight was 3.1kg.

Rose,
Oic..u took chix essence...the only 'bu' stuff i took is bird's nest but only abt once a month..the rest is juz balanced diet. Yah, i heard if bb too big, would be difficult to deliver naturally.
Did Dr Loh do a bacteria culture swap test for u? I did mine today. My next visit will be in 2 wks' time.

Singapoh, i tried hand expressing and got 20ml more! thanks for the tip!!

but hor, abit messy, wht do u use to contain the milk so tht it doesnt drip huh? i use the small avent milk bottle...

babyhopeful,
all along my bb weight also considered average, last visit suddenly shoot up. i didnt do swap coz i already got d bacteria fr past test results. dr will give me antibiotics during delivery.

just faith,
-___-"'

Grumpus
thanks for the reply. Will pump more diligently
oh was thinking how come nipples sore although I didn't really latch much.. So it's the intensity of the pump. I thought pump at the highest intensity so faster complete the job.

Btw how come the pump doesn't empty our breasts ? I see no more milk then I stop already

babyhopeful,
lately i experienced on off mild sharp vaginal pain, u got?
its not UTI, i googled, it seems like it is symptom tat cervix is getting ready to dilate.

Gan, i m getting the cake cards.. dont want the hassle of sending out physical items...n not tht many pple to giv too...

i m not sure if after my confinement i can continue to pump regularly... coz my parents n mil will not all be here 24x7 anymore.. they will take turns to help me out .. so tht they can still hv some time in their own house.

we r looking for a maid now... otherwise i will need to grow more hands like an octupus..hee....

Panda,

Well done! I squeeze into the fennel.

Are u looking for a Indonesia? It's gonna take longer coz now immigration is more strict in checking the age after the 12 year old gal thrown down by an underage maid

Pandawife in that case u definitely need a maid! Get one early so that ur parents n mil can help train her. So after confinement will be 3 adults to look after 3 babies , ie ur mum or mil, maid and urself ?

I just managed to get 30 mins of nap just now.... Waiting for the music to start ie my gal waking up and crying for milk.=p

My relatives not in sg so we ordered sweetest moment for my hubby's relatives and my parents and bro. I haven't order the buffet yet .....

nancy,
hahaha i used to pump at the highest intensity also. just tahan awhile and u'll develop iron nipples :p

actually i dun think u can fully empty yr breasts leh. i remember at anytime, i hand massage or pump can always get some milk one. not alot of cos but it's never zero.

dun stop immediately when u see no more milk, continue pumping awhile to see if u get a second letdown. even if u dun get a second letdown, the extra pumping gives yr brain the signal that u need to produce more.

Grumpus so I shld pump till no milk ? Sometimes I stop when I feel my breast soft or got the amt for my gal coz tired to continue pumping.

U got any sign Bb delivering soon? =) ask u with ur elder child how do u manage ur meals after CL leave? I m thinking of how I can manage 2 weeks later when CL leave on my own. Do u cook?

Wow, you girls have good amount of breast milk. When did it kick in? Now, I am pumping only get about 10ml for 15 min pump. Today is day 6 post delivery.

Gan,
if u're trying to increase yr supply then good to pump until no milk. i did that in the beginning. subsequently i did wat u do, stop once breasts are super soft or hit target already then stop.

i'm getting some menses cramps especially at night and the tightenings are getting more intense. but still nothing consistent. my checkup is tom, so we shall see...hehehe

in the beginning i ate very simple one dish meals for lunch. like noodle soup, everything throw into the pot and cook type. but i always make sure i steam one pc of fish for each meal. i used to wake up before my girl wakes up in the morning to pump and boil red dates tea. for dinner, if hb around he will da bao our dinner. if not, my mum helped out by bringing me food. some days, she will bring me lunch and dinner so i dun hv to cook.

honestly, i didn't do any housework or proper cooking until after my girl was one.

Thx, mummies, for ur advise... Will keep it in mind... Kkivf said brown discharge is normal... As long as not pink or red... Will monitor... Meanwhile, will try not to walk too much... Hope I dun need to take mc/hl again... Cos just back to work for 2 days only...

Gan, yeah..aft confinement will be 3 adults to 3 babies.... not exactly comfortable to hv the maid handle bb...but no choice..

we are tryig to find one w experience in looking after infants.... and we might put babies in our room instead of bb room as wht we initially planned... coz i dun want bbs to sleep w maid alone....

30mins nap is luxury... i wanna catch nap also just now...but din even fall asleep... got to get out of bed coz i heard bb crying real loudly.... mum was wiping bb again....:S

actually i no mood to organise the celebration.... tired.. my frens wanna come n visit.. i declined all of them n say i will invite them for the 1st mth celebration...

Singapoh..dunno if its the hand express tht i did in the earlier pump.. i managed to pump much more in the later pump.... interesting... but hand expressing feels abit like tramutising the boobs..keke...

Rose,
I dun experience sharp vaginal pain. Juz feel heavier at the v area at times. Btw, i can feel more painless braxton hicks contractions recently. Dr Loh said normal and that bb head is still down but not engaged yet. If i were to feel labour pain/painful contractions, then report to delivery ward.

Nancy
Yup i ordered frm sweetest moments... The food so so.. Its more like paying for the box and bb card.. Hehe..
Ya i enjoyed the baby shower party.. Cos saw alot of friends..
With two bbs is like double happiness haha..
When u holding yrs?

Panda
Try to take some rest ya.. Else u wont have energy.. Let yr two mothers handle and u can take a nap.. If not it will take a toll on yr body.. Somemore now is yr confinement period.. Yr body is recovering.. Must rest more.. I knw its hard to ignore bb cries.. But u must learn to let go sometimes.. Else it will be v hard on u..
When im taking my nap.. Even when i hear my bb cry.. I will leave it to my cl... But cl leaving so cant do that anymore hee...

Baby,
I too ordered from sweetest mOments. ;) I ordered extra cards to give to friends.

Panda,
Can imagine how busy you are with 3. I only got 1 n I feel super tired already.

Grumpus,
My girl is indeed having reflux. Now need to control it with med. She's having colic as well. Pd told me not to eat cabbage, french beans n long beans for the time being. These 2 days she has been quite cranky. Wants to be carried. I carry till my arms aching already. Keep fussing lor. At times drink milk le still cry dunno what she wants also.

hi, ladies
I have finally delivered my boy on 4-Jan via elective c-sect as he was 2 days overdue and I had no sign of labour at all, so decided to take him out. He weigh in at 3.5kg.

I'm still in hospital, and he is abit yellow so is 'sun-bathing' now, probably discharge on sunday.

Gals
When u all gg for the malay massage?
Im thinking to start next week.. Its aldy a mth post op liao..
Anyone heard of origins jamu? I tot of engaging them.. Not cheap.. Abt $80 per session...
Or u gals have any good recommedations?

Singapoh, I remember that you recommended a caterer, can let me have the name again? need to start planning for the 1st mth celebration... thanks!

gals..i tink i hv blocked ducts.. can feel hard lump n quite sore..

tried to massage it ...while pumping.. but still there... any tips on resolving this?

thanks thanks!

Baby, I also did my massage 1m after u deliver. Can de. I use this lady called missa noor. Intro by a lady from jen angel. Her charges are quite ok. 3 sessions $200, 5 sessions $300, 10 sessions $500. She'll come to your place to do for you.

As for the breast pump, I still can't decide if I wanna get from u as I can't decide if I should get a dual pump now. Already feeling the strain with pumping le. Very tiring indeed. By the way, u mention yours got no warranty? Yours us export set huh?

Panda,
Block ducts arh? Ouch! Latch on or when u pump, u press hard on the sore area. Will be very pain but just endure n will clear de. Jia you!