IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Dr Loh not pro Camden...though he will not stop you for going.....

I went to Camden for 2nd opinion and the 22nd wk growth scan. Then went back to Dr Loh with the Camden report.

Twin's will be double the price of a singleton.

Don't need referral letter. Just call and make appointment.

gals, my bb boy has hard stools leh. he poo twice today, and both times he scream very very loudly.. my heart v pain.

i called parentcraft n nurse says coz he is not drinking sufficient milk. by his weight and number of weeks old, he shld b drinking 75-90ml per feed. bt recently he is only taking 50-60ml... i also dunno what is wrong, my mum n mil kept saying he doesnt wanna drink after tht amount.. they try to feed, bt bb either wanna throw up or fall asleep n refused to drink anymore.

now all of them stressing me to feed bb water.....

Panda, ask ur MIL and mum try to burp him first then continue to feed....he may be feeling gassy, that's y cannot drink more than 60ml....

Anyway, every baby's intake is different. 75-90ml is jus a guide only.....Some bbies will drink way more than that too....

Panda,
U can try changing FM? Maybe current one not suitable for him? Does he pee enough?
Or u can try feeding him at closer intervals. E.g he's supposed to drink 75-90ml every 3hrs but he's only drinking 50-60ml each time right? So next feed shd be 2.5hrs later instead of 3hrs.

For my girl I used to base on 30ml per hr. So if she drink 60ml, then I will feed her 2hrs later. If she drank 90-100ml then I will feed her 3hrs later.
Bbs tummy size is fixed, u can't force them to drink more. They will either vomit out or push away. So the only thing is feed more frequently.

Panda
Trying burping him when u feel he doesnt want to drink.. Usually after burping.. He will continue to drink..
Its ok to feed bb some water.. A few sips is fine.. My pd says some water is ok to prevent constipation...

hmm, i tot usually after burping will reject milk..

fenugreek, i used to take 3 pills 3 times a day..and i think it works..but then i think the best is to latch and pump regularly..try to pump every 3hrs..it does stimulate more milk.. anyone wants nature brand? i have 1 unopen bottle, can sell at $15..

What grumpus say is right.. I also base on the interval.. If its 2hrs interval i feed them 60ml.. If 3hrs i feed 90ml... So far so good... U can try this panda... Dont stress so much ok.. Bbs need their mummy to stay sane ya...

grumpus, the babies hv been taking the same FM and no problem so far... hmm.. i thot might b the vol of intake as well. coz this boy has been taking 70-80ml last week..only over the wkend the intake start to drop.

we always burp bb after bottle feed and try to feed again.. but smtimes they just refused..so cannot force also.

he pee very often... coz i m using cloth nappy during day...the change of nappy is very frequent.

baby, how much is a few sips? 10ml? or feed a few small spoonfuls? i m very reluctant to feed water unless no choice.

the little boy just had another poo n all came out soft and nice..... phew......

i m going to stop the powder FM for him and feed him the pre mix + bm and observe....

baby, yeah..getting abit stressful.. esp when my mum n mil's views differ from mine. i feel like i m getting bomb by them all the time... already argue a few times over the way we wanna look after the bables.

my mum treat the babies like her own children.. everything she wanna do her way, if not she not happy. n kept telling me the 30 yrs ago way of doing things.. smtimes really very irritating. now bb hard stools due to not enuff milk, she blame me lor..says coz i wanna do schedule feed.. when bbs fuss for milk n time not up yet, she dun dare to feed :S

actually i will also hv problem using the 30ml per hr interval method. coz my mum n mil both will be confused doing the mathematics.

even FM also got problem.. coz the ratio comes in 1 scoop per 30ml of water. so they always just make 60ml for the boys even though they can drink more. they say dont waste.. next step is 90ml, sure cannot finish. and they dunno how to count the ratio to mix more milk.

Panda,
It's only been 2wks? It's possible to get constipated only now. Not necessarily to immediately get constipated if FM is not suitable, can develop over time. Anyway u observe n see how.
Another thing is feel his tummy, is it bloated or hard? Too much poo or wind accumulation will also cause drop in milk intake.

For feeding I dun wake bb if sleeping. I just feed her while she's asleep n let her go right back to sleep. It's called dream feeding. I was always finding ways to get more milk into my girl cos of her size......hahaha.

Anyway if yr boy is putting on weight well then dun worry too much abt the ml part. Just try n solve the constipation.

Panda,

Giving water at this age will affect the milk intake. Give only when yr doc ask u too.

Yeah feed regularly. I remember my gal was drinking only 40ml and boy 60 to 70 ml for quite awhile. My boy gets hungry faster so I fed him like 2 to 2.5 hourly

Panda,

Try this method to make fm.

Make in bulk and store in e fridge. Pour out whatever amount u need and warm it. Or pre poured into bottles and keep in the fridge

Grumpus,

My twins also dream feed a lot! Haha.. Now my boy latch himself. I just need to lie beside him. Expert Liao.

My gal will pull my nipple with her gums when she is done. Ouch!

rostrum,
at first i took the package on scan only, but turned out bb neck skin too thick and then there is this senior prof who came in and started explaining the risks of ds bb n amino test etc...freak me out! after scan, another counsellor came explaining the risks and how calculation is being done etc n i subsequently did blood test...second day, kkh called and said i low risk liao. they then offered to do doppler scan for free...
but that day was indeed frightening esp when its only step 1 that they did to check on ds, but they sounded like end of the world...think more of their SOP, to cover back side n throw back decision to u. at least tats my feeling during then.

Thanks grumpus, I also hope the review from camden wull turn out fine and shun bian kw babies' genders.

Gan/Singapoh, I will email Dr Loh and see what he says...

soon-to-be, can I ask yr oscar result from kkh also not favorable so you go Camden for 2nd review? I am not pro amnio cos of previous spotting/bleeding episodes...I will highlight to Dr Loh about this.

Ladies, I am just curious...if camden is based on scans alone, then what is the purpose of the BT? I am sure there is some purpose right? So ultimately doing amnio is still 100%?
Can anyone advise?

Rose, oh...so u opt for Package A...do u still rmb when yr BT is taken, hw many weeks? I wonder whether my BT can be taken again now? Hmm...

Same lor, the senior prof will come and like end of the world lor...keep telling me is my BT result tt drag me down else all scans are v good...haiz..

I only managed to recover from the shock in evening time from 11+ I gotten the result.

If all these "surprises" does not stop, I will get pre natal blues soon

rostrum,
the bt was done immediately after the scan. think they got slot, so i did bt once the DS scan done. i dun remember the ds was done in wk wat liao...hav to chk record, let u know once i reach home later.

but one thing i remember is that i was feeling really down for the whole day n couldnt sleep at night. but i can tell u, ds is still very rare, dun frighten yourselves.

Rose, I breakdown as soon I reach the car. I still act tough inside the kkh initially...but after long discussions with dh and a friend, we finally decided not to go for amnio test firmly and go for 2nd opinion instead.

I was feeling v v down yesterday that I dun even bother to google much of the results cos I kw it can't change anything...till now I still refuse to google for more information but try to stay +ve for my babies.

If there is a 2nd pregnancy for me, I will go Camden straight instead of causing mental stress for ourselves.

rostrum,
from what i understand, only amnio gives u 100% yes/no ans as to whether bb has DS.
The BT and scan only measures RISK factor.
The scan has 70% accuracy and the BT has 80% accuracy. when combined to compute the risk factor, supposedly it is 90% accurate. (err my actual percentages might be off but u get the picture)

this is for singleton btw. for twins the BT is lower accuracy so yr overall result could get pulled down by the BT. in any case, it is only a measured risk of bb having DS. u could get very good numbers, say 1:30 000, but still yr bb could be that 1 in 30 000 that has DS. u see where i'm coming from?

PAnda
My pd says for the first mth.. Must feed every 3hrs even if bb is sleeping cos they will get dehyrated and cos its the initial mth... Afterwhich can do demand feed.. But try not to cross more than 4-5hrs...
A few sips means u see bb suck a few mouths and swallow.. Then can stop liao...
If on bf.. Actually can no need to feed water cos bm is more watery.. And more easily absorped my bb.. And poo are more soft.. But if on fm.. Milk is more thick and more heaty.. So may hv constipation problem.. So a few sips of water will do the trick..
Thou i read for first 6mths bb no need water if on bm or fm.. But i still will give my girls some water.. Cos im giving total fm..

Panda
With mum n mil help surely will have some conflicts and differences.. Hard to avoid.. To make it easier.. U got to learn not to be so particular.. Have to close one eye.. Else will make it hard on yrself and may affect the relationship..
This is the price to pay when u need mil n mum help.. But look at the brighter side.. They are the next person u can trust to handle ur bbs.. And u r lucky u have them to help u... Not everyone has their mum or mil around to help... And no choice they got to rely on maid.. Thou maid u can ask her to follow yr way but u may not be able to trust her.. So just give and take ya...

So when and where u holding yr baby shower?

grumpus,yes I kw only amnio gives 100% accuracy. I will consider amnio if not for all my bleeding/spotting episodes and twins pregnancy...

My dh tink alike as you. He says so what we have good ratio? It is only probability issue...

Thanks, looks like Camden is still a better choice for me..

Rostrum, yes, my results was pulled down due to blood test too. Dr Lou did kinda of implied tt e current recommended package is too early for BT. He didn't openly said it but said results are usually not accurate for tests tt early, but wld b better at wk 14.

At Camden, prof checked out for physical markers n some organs poor devt which will imply ds. I think it's only 85-90% accurate.

soon-to-be, thanks for the information, I am awaiting reply from Dr Loh and see what he advises.

I believes you have given birth and the results earlier on is a false alarm right?

Mummies who want to buy Goon diapers can order from gmarket, cheaper than buying from diapers.com. I just had 4 packets delivered. If u buy 4 packets NB size is $60. I bot a mix of NB and S,$68

Pandawife, I can forsee the plms that u are facing now for my case too....for my case, I think hiring a maid and let mil or own mother take care of my babies will be more economical. Still considering the options...
If I decided to let them take care of my babies, I tink I hv to close one or two eyes...but I will definitely voice out if it gets out of hand.
But again, it is really more an xin to let them tk care rather than strangers right? Though old ppl always like to use their long long time ago method and always says things like last time u also brought up like tt ma!!!

endure endure...when babies immunitity level improves, u might consider putting them at child care...

Rostrum, yes, my boy is a healthy n active boy, turned 7 mths on last day of 2010. Already standin n cruising in his cot n on e sofa....

Btw, my risk of having a ds baby was 2% n miscarriage or stillborn was 3% if I still e numbers correctly...,

Wahahaha... Another case of mix up like tfc?

I now feel more n more relieved after reading life examples here...I really pray n hope I can deliver healthy n normal babies in 6 mths time...

Soon-to-be, Hw do u get the percentages? I din get it from kkh lei

Soon-to-be, thanks for dropping by to console me. It is really a number game... Look what u hv got for Yr end result? A good n healthy baby!!!! U prove the figures wrong!!

rostrum,
my ds scan n bt was done ard wk 13-14.
now the impt thing for you is to rest well on bed, the kkh ds result is only secondary at tis moment, you have to make sure ur bleeding is well controlled n keep a positive heart. this is a hard moment, but you can pull thru all these false alarm like what many of us here had succeeded goin thru.

think my bb really knw how to bully mummy. today my hubby back to work, so me handle bb with my mum. boy whole day sleep only very short while, few minutes then start crying.. after every feed, he pooed.. changed 4 diapers ardi!
totally no time to do rest or do anythg else.. 100% time on bb... does that happen to any mummies here?

whole day hv to carry/shake/rock/walk bb, tip toe to move bb in and out of cot.. will it affect our c-sect wound? i abit worried leh

Rose, thanks! Till now dr Loh has Nt got back to me...

I m bed resting now...n hope the results at Camden turns out well.

Nw I Cn only pray....

rostrum, make sure to alsi type ivf patient followed by your name at the subject heading and also URGENT in cap.

gals.. how do we count the timing between feeds? count from the time we last start feeding or finish feeding?

coz smtimes bb can take 30mins to finish up the milk.

my boy finished 60ml of bm at 415pm... now coming to 6pm... my dad insist bb not hungry..just fussing.. make 30ml milk to pacify him n let him go sleep. :S super frustrated....

Panda,
i always count from the time start feeding. 60ml at 4.15pm, abt 6.15pm can feed another full feed already wor.

Rostrum must keep positive..... My baby has short nasal bone and during my detailed scan at 20 weeks, prof George yeo spoke to me and said this is a very strong marker for DS ... But my baby is well and healthy. My colleague has a single digit for the Oscar and did amnio, baby is healthy too. So dun stress at this moment. Rest and go for the 2nd opinion at Camden.

Pandawife I take the cue from my gal if she is hungry. If she wakes up crying for milk, I feed her, if she's full she will not open her mouth to suck or she will push the teat out. But if
Not sufficient, u touch ur Bb mouth they will open and ask for milk

Rostrum, no prob. This is where I met a lot wonderful mummies fr my batch n some of e earlier batches. This is aso where I went thru e ups n downs during my pregnancy n my motherhood.

Being a mum is a wonderful, tiring n scary experience as I tries to catch up w e demands of my little rascal n enjoyin every milestones he is going thru

Wat's most impt for u now is to enjoy ur pregnany n every precious moment of couplehood n ur own free time now!

Panda
I use the finish time to count cos sometimes bb take a long time to finish their milk.. If u use the start time then v soon they need to drink again...
Sometimes if u give 30ml... And u see then finish v fast then u can make another round for them...

Singapoh, I said mumm-IES.

U r not wonderful lar! But wonderful, fantastic, lovable, pretty, humorous, superwoman..so do I get more carters rompers fr u?!?!?!....heehee

Enuff of our'nonsense' here. I can gv you more 'praises' offline. Leave e thread to e mummies-to-be n new mummies for their experiences....8P

Pandawife,

I m giving my gal ebm. If nt enough, I will top up with fm. She is taking enflalac A+. Usually after I feed her with ebm, I will not gv her water - as I find ebm is very watery and not as thick as fm. But when I gv fm, I will make sure she takes sips of water like 5 to 10ml to "rinse her mouth". For ebm, her next feed is around 2 to 2.5hrs later. For fm, at least 3hrs interval for her nx feed. She is now taking 80-90ml per feed. Her weight is now 3.5kg. 7 days after birth.

Sometimes no harm giving babies water. We all grow up drinking milk n water too. Dun stress yourself too much. More rest = more milk.

grumpus, singapoh, thanks for the clarification..

baby, i also count from the time they finish drinking... same thing...smtimes take v long to finish...esp when eat half way, need to burp..then fall asleep..hv to try n wake them up to finish the feed....

this feeding thing driving me nuts.. now the boy hard stools ok already..he poo creamy stools once in afternoon n once in evening.

now my elder boy is hving reflux problem... throw up his milk 2x.. i going to change his FM to the anti reflux one...

i wonder if its the way we feed or the milk bottle problem... tht we are having so much issues.....