IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Had bought stretch mark cream today le...
tonight can start to apply
Hehe... now tummy alway itchy...

diana - I went for oscar scan at Dr Henry Cheng's clinic & he say just use normal moisturiser will do. he say dun buy palmers cocoa cos 50% of his patients use that end up with rashes. I'll buy clarins when my tummy start to itch

Diana n winniepooh

I didn't use stretchmarks cream throughout my pregnancy. So far can't see any ugly marks yet. Now my waistline is 47.5". N I m expecting singletons, not multiples.

Baby, I go n find out for you. I heard that PD very popular with kids. Just realise my cousin is working there.

For those mummies delivering in kk, u guys heard abt the home nurse service provided by kk nurse? They will visit ur home for 3 mornings abt 1 to 1.5hrs each session. Total $155. Do you think this is useful? My maid keep asking my mum abt "chinese confinement" practice here. I hope this home nurse service will boost her confidence.

Happy
U wana use the cord powder for yr bb cord? Actually no need to use cord powder... Just go pharmacy buy those individual alcohol wipe to clean the area... The cord will drop off by itself... The alcohol wipe is those where hosp use to clean the skin before injection....

Hows yr bf coming along? Bm got increase? Did u see my post on my dr f visit to remove stitch?

Singapoh,
yes please visit. i feel bad now that i kept on avoiding visiting dentist. i get so uncomfortable , always find excuses to avoid..

Justfaith,
How r u ?? r u having contractions ??
KK home nurse service .. wow .. will check on that.

Working wife..I m ur neighbour now... Had v bad tummy pain n came to labour ward. But false alarm again! Hahaha..dr Paul came n says I hv colic..gv me a jab. No more pain now... Nurse says mild contraction ..must monitor until no more then k go home. I m 2cm dilated..dr says normal..can last few more days.

Gals I have delivered at 823pm by emergency c section. Tried natural but pelvic too narrow so dr loh said better do c section. Was surprise to see him coz he suppose to go airport for his hols. Baby is 2.77kg. =) I had bad side effects from epidural kept throwing out and shivering. Coz emergency c, hubby can't go in OT. But as long Bb is well it's ok. Feeling the pain at the wound now.

fancy,

doing great! resting at home... cut down walking. i feel "contractions" on and off nia... but irregular. should be braxton hicks bah.... dunno when the real thing will come. but i m really really excited about seeing my gal.. already dreamt of her a few times liao.

Panda, oh dear hope u feeling better. In a way I'm glad that I'm here, every little pain also can tell doc or nurse. If I m at home, sure worry about this pain n that n then everyday feel like wanna go see doc.

Hope u get to go home tonight. Where r u now? Ward ABC?

U know today nurse told me there was this triplets delivered today. First thing I always ask who is the doctor? Scared is u! Hope u can than till 21 Dec! Then maybe I can visit u. That time I had drips couldn't visit Nancy in her room.

Gan,

Wow yr side effects from epi quite strong huh? I'm quite surprised hubby cannot go into OT when ur on epi. I thot only GA cannot.

But all's well now. rest well!

Working wife..I just left tmc.. Lying on my back w the ctg is killing my back...pelvic oso pain...

Hopefully next visit will b tue!

The triplet mummy who pop today oso under dr Paul...she is full term at 37weeks..n still v active before she popped. All her three babies in normal nursery. V amazing..

Gan! Congrats... Ur gal v smart.. Knows u want dec bb n to b delivered by dr Loh!

Thanks gals, saw my baby even kissed her. =)

Working wife coz it's emergency c so hubby can't come in but scheduled c hubby can be in OT I think. Very drama when I was pushed from labour ward to OT suddenly alot of pple doing all sorts of prep. I was shivering thru out the op. And threw out too.

Nancy will ask hubby go buy the binder tomorrow. Abit disappointed that can't deliver naturally but never mind lah. Experienced contraction pain when I am 6 cm to 10 cm dilated. Really quite pain ar coz midwife ask me not to increase epidural dosage so that got urge to push.

gan
Congrats! me same case as u too. tried natural for many hours then ended up emergency c-sect. like u said, so long baby come out healthy & safe, it doesnt matter.

baby
yes saw ur post re ur visit to dr f. oh i did reply u, maybe u missed it.
my reply was :
baby
i'm seeing dr f last wk dec.
hope it wont be painful for me too, coz sometimes hard to say. did u dare to look at ur scar? was it ok?
my area just above the plaster is starting to feel sore, worst when i touch it. did u feel the same?
will u need to go back to see dr f again? or is this the last time?

yes my BM got increase abit. but my baby feeding schedule is very haywire.. a bit worried if doing the right thing.
how's urs coming along?

as for the cord powder, my baby's cord has dropped off ardi. but now still got blood, not dried up yet. so tot the cord powder will help it dry up, coz if still damp/wet, i scared of infection.

do u all feed ur newborn "on demand" basis or u go by a schedule eg like every 3 hourly for formula milk?
i'm struggling with my feeding, altho we started off trying to keep to 3 hourly. it became "on demand" coz baby is always crying for more and at funny time intervals....sigh...

Gan, missed your Msg earlier. Hey congrats man!!! From natural to epi to c-sect. Very drama leh. Sounds like you have tried everything lol.

Your baby dropped abit of weight after delivery hor? I remember she weigh 2.9kg at weeks 35 leh. Happy that dr loh delivered yr baby.

So did you cry when you kissed her? Must be very touching.

Pandawife

your babies gv u false alarm again ah? Now I m lazy to read all signs. I no longer take note of contractions duration. As long as the pain is bearable I will stay at home.

Now I wonder after I post this MSG, will I be like gan? Experience water bag burst n report to kkh.

Just faith ha ha ya quite drama. I didn't cry coz I was very drowsy and kept shivering .... Haven't carry my gal yet coz nurse said better not as my shivering was very bad. Can't sleep nite coz nurse came in quite often to change drip, antibiotic. I m hungry too as my last meal was Friday dinner. Actually when I was leaking I didn't think it was waterbag, only when I went toilet at 8 plus am yesterday and wipe notice I have sticky pinkish discharge I realize my mucus plug drops and I shouted in the toilet for my hubby saying 'Lao gong wo Yao sheng le!!' LOL

Just Faith,

Yeah lor..but the pain was unbearable..until i cant walk..hb got to push the wheelchair all the way to our bedroom to wheel me out of the house...

turns out its colic n the intestine causing the pain... not contraction pains... :S i actually called dr paul when it started at 4pm..then he ask me to pop carbon tablets..but it din work.. so painful until 9pm..i called him again, he says go labourward...

the labour ward nurses all thot dr will deliver the babies coz 2cm dilated..n asked my hb to do admission AGAIN..hahahaha....

when dr paul came n did the examination.. he told the nurse OUTPATIENT..my hb laugh n laugh..:p

Gan, your gal will b proud of you..
brave mummy... how is ur pain now? managable?

Pandawife colic cause by what? Hey go eat those food u like but can't eat during confinement. Was telling my hubby I sd have eaten my Ben end Jerry ice cream Friday nite! Luckily I had my jap lunch at ion on Friday.

I took 2 panadol so no pain but when I shift my body when nurse change the pad can feel slight pain. Nurse said I will take painkillers for 3 days. Tomorrow afternoon can try getting down the bed to walk

Gan,

Think its the intestine kanna squashed and there is trapped air and foods in there... after popping the carbon tablets yesterday, i started to burp alot.. but it did not relieve the pain.

I can't eat leh... my last meal was yesterday lunch.. after tht until now, don't feel hungry.. just took a glass of milk so tht my stomach don't go empty for too long...

my hb went to buy me the spinelli strawberry cheese tart and the fruit freeze tht i wanted..both sitting in the fridge now.... but not appealing anymore coz lost my appetite from all the tummy pains...

ohh..2 panadol can deal w the pain? sounds quite alright..or u hv high pain threshold?

Pandawife maybe ur stomach no space as bbs took up most of the space, my appetite also smaller last few weeks.

If lie on bed 2 panadols are ok... Will let u know when I try walking tomorrow afternoon. I think contraction pain is very painful, whenever the pain comes every 3 mins, I will groan in pain.

Gan,

I got woke up by contractions again. Very irritating. I can't get to sleep after that. Most angry with my hubby, everytime I complain pain, he will ask if baby got kick. I mean, I m complaining abt pain, why always ask me if baby got kick??

I m now in the toilet as I read yr last few posts. I just used toilet paper to wipe, nothing leh. Guess my girl is still not ready.

Good morning gals..

Just Faith.. hehe..i hv the same kind of problem with hubby... so i figured the man are just clueless.. everytime i tell him smwhere is PAIN, he ask me if its ACHING...haha... as if i dunno how to differentiate between the two...haha....

but also cannot blame him.. he cant do much as well.. like wanna help, but cant.

Gan, i can imagine my internal organs are all badly squashed... i read about the pains baby and nancy are having due to contracting uterus... i tink mine will be worse.. coz expand so much.. when contracting back sure super pain too.........

yesterday when i was having the tummy pains... its really like contractions pains... every 2-5 mins it will come.. n so painful that i will shout in pain n cannot move even though i was lying down.... but when dr paul press my tummy at the sides..he knew straight away its caused by the intestines..not uterus contracting....

PandaWife,

Ya loh, men are clueless. Lucky he got woke up with the at the same time and never get to sleep also. .. haha. I very cruel. When I cant get back to sleep, i will not let him go back to sleep too. He still got "liang xin", went out to boil some hot water. I think the pain reminds him of my menstrual cramps. So, feeding me with "hot drinks" is his antidote. Talking abt him, he just came in to clear my mug and food bag for the bread.

Gan,

Ask you hor. During real contractions, is it true that the pain will come back from behind? In your case, did you feel sharp pain at the back also?

I get so tired trying to read all these signs... really tired.

Just Faith, i asked the labour ward nurse again last night leh.. she says on books, its pain from the front just below the bust tht goes to the back and to the front of the lower tummy....

but in reality, everybody might experience a different form.. can be like menstrual cramps, or tummy ache or just tightness etc etc....

so her advise to me is, if i dont feel right, just go labourward..dont hesitate.. kiasu about nevermind.. to make sure babies are ok. she told me dont worry about it being false alarm....

ur hb very sweet..hee.. at least he is trying to link the possible things that can make u better leh..

PandaWife,

Ya, I know he consider very sweet hubby liao. What to do? Thats how he coax me whenever I experience menstrual cramps. But he know my pain threshold very high, and I never pop painkillers in front of him. I went thru 2 major operations in my life before. Both times, I just bear with the pain, I didnt ask for medical support when the anesthesia went away.

I hope I can do the same when I go for delivery. But 10+hrs of labour pain, plus, I m not getting younger.. Really dunno if I can make it without epi.

Gan
Congrats gal!!!!! Welcome to motherhood!!!!

Looks like alot went to c sect on last min... Esp aft gng thru labour pain for natural... Double pain ah...
And also alot have bad effects from epidural... Hmm.. I went thru ga.. No vomit no shivering le...

Happy
Haha i think i miss yr post...
At first dont dare to look at my wound... But i need to apply scar cream today so must look at the wound somehow.. So i see yday... Actually not too bad leh... Its just a line... Not v obvious...

I dont feel sore around my wound but feels icthy... Cos i think the waterproof plaster put there too long so feels icthy...

Dr f ask me to go see him in one mth time.. Cos im still on bp medicine...

Dr yip pd says for initial stage.. Bb cannot exceed 4hrs without feeding.. Even if bb nvr cry also must feed... I think cos scare bb dehyration ba....

happyhippo,
for the first 1-2 months, feeding shd be on demand. then u can slowly put them on a 3hrly routine. also some bbs hv a very strong need to suck for comfort, so do check if yr bb is really hungry or just looking for comfort.
but if yr bb is not throwing up milk or anything, i think it's ok to feed him more.

Gan,

Congrats!! I also shivered on the OT table. It.s normal. I had a natural assisted deliver, hubby also not allowed inside.

Rest well yeah!

RE: c-sect
actually the pain from the wound is very manageable. my c-sect was 8.30am in the morning, by the next day i was totally off painkillers already. everytime the nurse ask me "any pain" i said i'm ok so they didn't give me anything for the pain.

c-sect supposed to stay 3 days but on the 2nd day i asked my dr to discharge me already cos i cannot sleep/rest properly in hospital! my dr ask the nurses whether i'm still taking any meds, they said "no". he asked whether i'm walking around and they said "yes, all the time"
so my dr let me go home.

contrary to how it sounds, walking around slowly actually helps the healing process more than just lying in bed. that's why they always insist u get up and walk the next day once the drips are removed.

Btw gals, did u all blow fan during confinement?
I still blow fan leh... I heard actually cannot... But really v hot.. Esp when having meals.. Cannot always stay inside aircon room... So i still have the fan blow at me... Is it v bad?
Actually whats the rationale behind can blow aircon but not fan??? Is it a myth?

Thks for all the well wishes. I tried to latch my gal just now and she is sucking! But I was not confident coz first time holding such a young baby. Looks so cute when she suck, she will fall asleep and I will try tickle her cheek and she starts again but I think the way i hold is not comfoe. Guess must practise. The nurse supplement with fm now as her sugar level abit low.

Just faith my contraction is at lower tummy like me
Menstral cramp but maybe 50 times more painful. No back pain but when they check contraction with ctg they will attach to upper tummy.

Grumpus is right the doc also asked me try walking later to help blood circulation. Doc says earliest discharge is Tuesday but I may extend a couple days coz I need to climb 5 levels up my home.

The nurse helped wipe my body just now .... Felt more comfy.

baby,
when u blow fan, the cool wind is blowing directly at u. supposedly will 进风.
but for aircon, there's no wind blowing at u, it is just the ambient temperature is cooler.
that's why aircon can but fan cannot.

Just faith my colleague her mucus plug came off first then couple days later waterbag burst so I guess the labour sign different. I got friends who had contraction but waterbag didn't burst.
Mine actually water bAg not really burst coz later at 1 pm plus dr loh came to check me and then burst the bag with something.

Gan, thanks for sharing. 50times more? I almost fainted. Lol. Ya, extend yr stay lah. You got to climb 5 storeys high. When my hubby heard u went for c-sect, he asked me if u can tahan to climb up the flight of stairs or u going to hv confinement at mums place? Btw, your CL on her way already? How's your milk flow? Managed to get any decent Amt of milk?

I also can't wait to see my baby. But I hope she can stay a little longer inside to grow more fats. Hope she is looking to see us too!!!

Gan, oh i see. So what you experienced was not water bag burst but it was the the mucus plug that came off. Btw, does kkh clear yr bowels before assisting yr delivery? Most of the midwives are local or filipinas?

baby
actually i wonder how dr f tell if the cut in the womb is recovering well. did he advise on any dos & donts?
r u planning to continue seeing dr yip for the one mth jab and more? i'll probably see him for all the major stuff, but hope to find a pd nearer to home also.

grumpus
thks for sharing re feeding. my problem is when my milk supply runs dry & baby is still hungry, he will start rejecting the breast. is this when we hv no chioce but to feed formula milk? otrwise he will keep on crying.
btw r u on 100% breast feed?

Just faith asked for epidural early if u have decided to have epi. As baby gets lower and getting ready to push the pain is really bad!!

I was learning to latch her, so not sure got sufficient but nurse told me they are supplementing her with FM coz of her slightly low blood sugar. The PD said she is slightly preterm but weight is ok.

Gan, btw what did they do to your gal since her sugar level is low? Is she in the normal ward or need special care?

How's the single bedder there? U think it's worth the price paying? I opted for 4bedder but may upgrade before admission since I already hit 37weeks.

Last qn, which doctor is attending to you now? Dr John tee or dr Marianne? Actually I quite like dr veronique. If u still remember the french doc.

Gan, I m quite determined to have natural with no epi. But that is provided I can tahan the pain throughout. If complication arises like yr case, I will have GA, not epi. I already told hubby, no epi for me.