IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Working wife,

I think it's normal to let go gas a lot in last trimester lei. Hope things improve for u and yr bbs soon. Jiayou!

Hihi ladies, got a qns here. How do u count ur week after u BFP? I went to ivf due date calendar website & it started counting from ER but when I went for scan ytd, I realised Dr Loh counted my week from ET. Quite confused now.
All the websites show I am week 9 today but according to Dr Loh, I am week 8 & 5 days today.

Working wife
Ya lying down make moving bowels difficult... So i been drinking a cup of prune juice every night to help with my bowels the next morning.. So far i can pass motion everyday else v uncomfy...

GD cant drink prune juice ah? Even a small cup also cannot?
Can eat papaya or banana?
I also passing alot of gas... Sometimes abit pai seh... Hee..
Btw if cant pass motion just let it be.. Dont exert too much strength cos it will trigger contractions...

Good that u are down to 8u... So far ctg show no contractions right? Means in no time u can go home lo!
Im still on 25u... Just reduce from 30u...

Singapoh,

wanna ask u how long did u air ur play mat before the smell went away?

mine arrived last night, gosh, the smell super stinko....

Panda
How u find the playmat?
The size v big?
U have plenty of time to air the playmat dont worry...

baby, i cant stand the smell.. asked hb to keep it back into the box... after i pop, i dun tink i want the babies to smell it too..

the playmat is not as big as i thought ..i saw Singapoh's photos on FB n thought it very big.. but gd enuff lah..for 1-2 adults plus the babies...

the pinic mat is nice too....

u not napping? its raining very heavily here.. i just finished my tea break... super full now... ate 1 bowel of red bean sweet potato dessert, 2 bananas, 2 pcs of digestive biscuits and 1 cup of orange juice :p

Panda
Can accomodate two adults plus bbs still not big ah.. Haha..
How many people u wana accomodate ah.. A whole village ah... Hehehe...

Wow u eat quite alot ya.. But good la.. Now its time to eat more so our bbs can grow grow grow!
Just now i nap liao... Just woke up not long.. My friend just came to buy me old chang kee and tori-q bento box... I had one chicken wing and sotong ball...

U make me wana go order the playmat mann! Maybe i order frm the web and ask my hb to do internet transfer... Its delivered to yr doorstep by courier?
Can give me the link again?

PAnda
No lah.. The chickenwing is frm old chang kee...
Abif sick of the hosp food liao... Today is already my 10th day stay here... Miss home badly... Miss my bed too...

Luckliy the nurses here quite good that makes my stay more comfortable... Else it will only add to the misery..

Panda,

I never air the playmat. I took out the mat from the box. Wiped with disposable Dettol wipes and put my bbs there liao. Where u get yours?

Panda
I ask my hb to buy the cranut for me... So exp mann.. One box $35... Gosh.. The healtheries brand one really hard to find.. So werid one...

He also bought florida cranberry juice for me... But i notice the juice only have 10% juice le... Hmm... I think take tablet better..

Btw did u take del monte banana? Cos hosp gives.. I dont know should i take not.. Thou i took before.. Hehe...

Singapoh,

i bought from this BP small small world.. only got the mat.. not sure if wanna get the panels.. seems like will not use for very long..always see mummies selling preloved ones on forum. tht one decide later.....

u din air huh... the smell v strong leh... initially hb put at balcony.. then the whole living room smell ......

baby,

you are doing very well n staying positive even though in hospital.. must salute u too! somemore on drip all the time... must b very uncomfortable..

the healtheries one cost $29.90 for 30tablets.

i dun take del monte..only eat those small bananas... my mum says cannot eat del monte..so she never buy for me

Baby
my mum also said cannot take those del Monte kind of banana but those short not so nice looking ones okay. Not sure why but tmc meals also give those short ones.

Singapoh
just curious. When we do birth registration at hospital for twins, is their birth cert number consecutive ?

Singapoh, my mum also turn her back on me and this time is earlier... She dump me and my elder girl when I'm 20 weeks. After taking her for holiday to hk and Macau, she come back change face already.. Haiz... Very difficult to understand those old people nowasday.. Isn't it better to take care of Own grandchild... They rather rot at hm or gossip in the market... When we need their help most, they turn their back on us.. When they needed help, they expect full service.. Where got so nice one.. It takes alot to build up relationship.. Don't expect your child to be nice just becos you bring them up.. Cos not only people with parents ard will grow up and grow old. So old people better start maintaining relationship or else they only have themselves to blame.
At least your mil is helping so just close one eye lor.. Better than no help. Btw, your boy should be able to take care of himself at home.. I just let my girl run ard or watch tv. Can't bear to put her in childcare.. Maybe the cc at my house here quite bad.. I heard alot of stories from neiighbours..
Now with 2 babies, really cannot afford to let virus into the family.. Alot of work when children are sick. Imagine 3 altogether... No need sleep. You might wanna feed your elder son multi vitamins. I think it helps a little.. But if he can stay at hm, it would be the best solution. When is your maid coming?

Workingwife, great to know you reduce your dosage! It's a good sign and means you will be heading home soon! Good luck..

Baby, cannot eat del Monte banana. Children also cannot eat that. For kids, they only can eat 'pang jiu' and 'ang bak jiu' both in hokkien.. Don't know their other names. I prefer pang jiu' cos it's very sweet... Must go fruit stall then they sell. Very cheap too. $1 can get quite a decent amount.. $2 can eat for 2 weeks! Heee... Ask your hubby go get for you, helps poo poo too.

Panda,

U got 3 babies. Very worth it!!

Nancy,

U need to register within 2 weeks after u pop. We did ours before I discharged. Birth cert no. not in order

WanBB,

I can feel sometimes my mum is relunctant to help me but expect me to buy her things like I used to be. I am out of job many Years Liao. She has never work before so she doesn't know the value of money. She thinks I should pay for her shopping because she raised me. Btw I am still giving her a fixed monthly allowance plus when she comes here, I give her money before she leaves. Also buy small stuffs for her but she thinks it's not enough :s

My big son is taking vitamins and cod liver oil. He is a handful. Everybody who met him commented that he is hyperactive, moving non stop. Lately want to be carried. Already 15 kg +

Singapoh, my mum not only towards money issue.. It's like she is so afraid of being taken advantage of.. But she don't realise, she gain more in the process.. So sad to have such mother right.. Sometimes I see other devoted mothers who help with grandchild then I start to pity myself.. So sad lor.. I vow to be a good mother in future and my girls can have a easier life as a mum themselves.. But why your mum still expect or still take money from you other than the monthly allowances. Don't spoilt her.. After my mum fall out with me, I still fully pay up her new HDB. But I won't give her allowance anymore since she is not helping me and I already lighten their burden by paying their house. My dad is still giving her money so I think she has more than enough. Anyway she has been giving me black face for a long time, why should I give her extra $$.. I think ur mum n mine is same pattern.. So sad!!!
Your elder son should understand already so don't carry him. Tell him mummy is having backache so cannot carry.. Hee.. I tell my girl I carry mei mei then papa backache so after that she seldom request to carry. She ans the question herself.'daddy back pain, mummy carry meimei'...
So with the maid ard, you think you can manage the kids together?? It's really scary for me nw thinking of your situation... I doubt I can cope too.. But die die must face it.. Abit regret having twins nw...

Singapoh..Thts oso true..when i bought the mat I oso thought three of the sharing..so worth it... R the activities on the panels interesting for the babies? Will oso get the six panel if buying... My mat shld b same as urs..yellow bear sch bus and Abc on the reverse.

Wan...dun think tht way..for Ivf mummies..our little ones r precious gifts ..there r still many couples who r cycling n struggling just to have one bb..we r very blessed pple. I always tell myself tht when the thought of being a first time triplet mummy gets abit overwhelming. Honestly i m clueless how we will cope next time...but as parents we will do our best for our babies

Nancy...u going for ur 35wk checkup today right? ;) remember to update us! Wow..u r almost there already... In another 2wks or so..we will be looking at ur babies' photos on fb! So exciting..

Panda, you're lucky to have family support.. Next time just close one eye and things will be easier for you.. Must relax during confinement.. It's nt easy as first time mum to handle so many babies so must really take things slow and easy.. I think I walk out of my elder girl a few times to relax before satisfying her needs. There was once we both cry to sleep.. It's funny to think abt it nw.. But scary too..
I believe singapoh also have times like mine.. Heee..

Panda
u are up at 530am to snack ? Hee ... Ur babies must be hungry
Yes today hope can cross the 2 kg mark and for the first time wrote down a few questions to ask dr

I realized that after dinner time the tummy get more uncomfortable think due to meals after a day. Must tahan for another 14 days ... Oh like super fast

Nancy, so fast 35 weeks! Wish I could fast forward to that time too

U going for doc visit today? Update us ok? Wish u cld come visit me upstairs at labor ward heehee
any distraction for me now will be good.

Baby - dose down to 6u today. There is still tightening occasionally and still some slight crampy feeling. But doc really wanna see if can just reduce the drip and rely on oral meds. Even if its 4 more weeks, I'm prepared to stay here as long as can prevent. The medical bills.. Scary leh to think abt it. I think all in, my bbs will prob cost abt 80k each (frm IVF to them comiing home). Keep tellong myself, work so hard is for all this lah, never mind

Working wife
Lets jiayou together ok!!
My drip is on 20u... Later at 1pm gng to reduce to 15u then 6pm reduce to 10u... Hopefully nothing happens..
Dr increase my nifedphine to 4 tabs 3 times a day... Its giving me headache... But hope the med can take over to control the contractions and i can off the drip and go home!

Wanbb
Since u are already on the twins path, don't think too much about not being able to handle. If God has given you, he must think you are able to handle, you will get through it.

Also don't hold it against your mother for not helping. She is afterall your mum and we don't have a choice. Everyone is different, maybe she just didn't like to handle kids, not everyone can handle or have patience with kids. If she doesn't help you, then think of other alternatives, but there must be a way. Don't pity yourself, as no one else will pity you. Try to be positive and everything will fall into place.

Wanbb
U going to eat ah ?

I delivering in AU, don't know if anyone ask for their plancenta or not here, think if I ask for it, I will be the talk of the whole hospital...hahaha.

Ok Baby, jia you together! After this, we must have gathering to introduce all our fighter babies to each other. Maybe some matchmaking can take place! Hahaah!

wan, yeah, i am glad my parents n mil offered to babysit. otherwise i also dunno how to manage 3 babies.. will really freak out leh...

my doc also told me i must lower my expectations..dont expect everything to be perfect.. like u said, just close an eye.. otherwise life will be very difficult.

nancy, yeah lor.. woke up at 5am hungry.. drank milk n went back to sleep ...after tht 7am hungry again.. had another round of bf..n slept until now. hehe..feels like a sleepaholic!

working wife, u r progressing well... hang in there.. almost down to minimal drip dosage already... hopefully u can go home soon!

baby, glad to see that u are also doing well with reducing dose of drip..hee.. let this be a good wkend tht both u and working wife's condition will stabilise

4 tablets 3times a day is alot! aiyoh..no wonder u hv headache..
remember to drink more water leh... dont pai seh about calling nurse for bed pan ok?

errr... no eating of placenta for me... dun tink i can stomach it...:p

anyone going to the parenthood fair at expo? Saw from other thread, the goon nb diapers selling at $14.
Think i will drop by tomorrow morning to see see look look

bubbybear, ya la.. no choice.. i wasn't born with a motherly mum... got to accept it and get over with it. that's what my hubby says..

i don't mean eating the placenta by itself raw or what.. we can process it into capsules then take 2 pills a day during confinement to build our health.. bubbybear, you can find out if AU has those company which will process for you.

panda, you have 3 placenta!! can eat for 3 months.. heee.. i read abt it during my first pregnancy and it has lots of benefit but during that time nobody in sg process placenta.. and i don't dare to do it myself.. mine is abt 1.5kg for first pregnancy! it's huge.. but too bad just throw away.. this time round i already email the company and ask for quotation for two placenta to be process together..
we human also eat goat's placenta to look young, isn't that worst.. i mean at least it's our own placenta and we know our body well.. I read somewhere if you nv finish your pills then next time can feed your child, they will be stronger and won't fall sick easily..

Wan,

i attended Mrs Wong's class, and she advised against taking placenta leh... i cant remember the reason..but medically not advisable. i also dun wanna eat goat's placenta..hahahahah... :p

wow..u very garang.. seems like u already set on processing ur twins placenta..hehe...

Gan, the goon nb diapers is a steal at $14... can go n buy leh.

Haha.. Match making... Hee... But we have more gals than boys leh... Not enough boys for the gals leh... Hee..

Ya this path to hold our precious in our arms really not easy and cheap... But we are aldy blessed to got pregnant in the first place... So must be positive ya!

Working wife, update me on yr progress ok... Hoepfully both of us can off the drip and go home! Today aldy my 11th day in hosp... Really tired and miss home badly...

Panda, cos placenta also got waste and toxic from baby therefore mrs wong don't advice but I read that there are more benefits.. Good skin, more milk and lesser flow.. They are also more engergise after taking the placenta pills. I'll try and let you all know. So far they haven't give me the quotation. Anyway, not me doing the dirty job.. So just try lor.. Heee...

Baby, you ever try suddenly one day you have no contraction?? Yesterday I still experience like two small and one strong ones in every hr. Then today I woke up and all is calm.. Very scary.. Like tsunami is coming soon... 3 more days to 29 weeks! And you will be 34 weeks too!! Congrate! Ask hubby get a small cake to celebrate with you.. It will be so romantic...

Wanbb
No lah, I'm not going to process and eat the placenta, it looks really gross. I'll accept and age gracefully....

Let us know when you try it, curious to know.

Bubbybear, I can't stand the looks also.. Even the smell of my baby turn me off during the birth.. I wanted to kiss her but just couldn't do it cos she is so bloody and smells like stale blood.. Can imagine how bad the placenta will smell... Eee.. So I won't see it until they put it into pills.

Wanbb
Hmm... I also hope suddenly today no more contractions... Now the drip is at 15u... So far so good... Later at 6pm reduce to 10u... Hope is the uti that is irritating the uterus.. Uti clearing so contractions will also settle away...

But i notice i cant drop the drip dose too fast.. I have to do it slowly and gradually... Tonight will remain at 10u... Then tml maybe reduce again..

just seen dr loh, and discover there is 2 method to cal bb weight. Today dr loh scan me, my bb only 2.1kg at 33 weeks 4 days...i got abit worried and tot bb growth slow down but dr loh said not slow down but because he use the scan machine to cal, will give lower weight whereas dr marianne based on AC. Will see dr loh 2 weeks later. Placenta still low but dr loh said may move up at later stage.

Gan
Yr bb weight is within normal range right? How come u worried?
Scan machine gives lower weight is it? What is AC?

baby got worried coz she only put on 200g in 2 weeks...was worried her growth slows down. AC =abdomen circumference. If based on AC, bb is 2.2kg. Anyway bb is not engaged yet. Dr loh quite amazing....before he scan he touch my tummy and said my bb's head is still high

How r u doing? Did dr F say can go home soon? Today u r 33 weeks 2 days leh!

Baby so how izzit? If 10u can then very soon you can settle for lesser and oral pills. By tomorrow night can go home sleep! I bet you miss your bed.. I miss my smelly pillow so much when I'm in hospital... Hee..

Gan,
yr girl's weight is still good! if she keeps at this rate u have nothing to worry abt, she'll come out 2.5kg and above.
my girl at 31wks 5days only 1.5kg. i doubt she can put on 500g in 2wks!

Grumpus our EDD is almost 2 weeks apart!
I think I am obsessed having a 3kg bb...but I think bb is petite, not like me, fat fat.
But I guess if dr loh is not worried or say anything, should be ok

Are you still on aspirin? Dr Loh asked me to stop today.

Do you know usually which week will bb be engaged?

Gan,
yr girl is definitely ok lah. my dr said most singaporean women deliver 2.8kg or so bbs rather than 3kg+ bbs, so as long as u cross 2kg mark by 34wks is on track liao.

i'm still on aspirin, dr told me to stop only at 35wks lei.
not sure exactly when bb will be engaged but dun worry abt that part too much. cos bb engage very fast one and once bb engage, labour and delivery will come very soon already.

Gan, my boy was 2.1kg at 33th n dr Loh was a bit concerned n commented he wld b a small bb n wld not pass e 3kg mark at delivery (edd) However at my 37th wk scan, his wt was 2.9kg n when I delivered him at 38+ wk, he weighed 3.15kg!!! So if I hv waited till edd to deliver, he might hv been a heavier bb.

went to expo fair today - goon diapers for newborn is selling at $14 per pack, $18 for small size. nepia also $14 for all sizes. fyi if u interested.