IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

baby, my dinner today will be subway ham sandwich and yami peach yogurt!!!!

ok thx Babyhopeful. Will try cornflakes

I hardly eat outside food now... All my snacks are bought frm supermarket eg. oatmeal biscuits, milk, yoghurt etc...

Just Faith, i just pm you. Thanks!

Aiyoh, I really hope I will deliver in Jan. Now I'm worried that half the docs in KK not gonna be around in Dec. I must endure till Jan!!!

Fruitree, you can do it! lets all jia you together

how have u been lately? you shld hv started the uterus relaxing medication too right?

just faith, i know what u mean, when dr loh said my bb smaller than average, i also got worried. But guess we can only eat and talk to bb to grow. No need keep thinking abt he numbers coz not accurate one....bb wt when deliver cld be higher/lower than what was estimated.

I m seeing dr loh tomorrow, will be doing a ctg scan before seeing him.

I asked him 2 weeks back when he is away, he also gave me same response to u....said 1/2 singapore gynae will be on hols. =s he said either dr john tee or dr hh tan will deliver if he is not around....i got no idea who is dr hh tan. If he is away for a few days, hopefully he can still deliver my bb if she is early.
I think i most prob choosing A1 ward

Gan,

If I do CTG scan, think I will fail the bp test again.

We just want to know when he will be away, so that w are mentally prepared. Since we are his patients, thought he should be "honest" with his vacation dates.
I feel like calling IVF centre and ask when he is going away leh. I think their lips are not so tight there.. LOL.

Hopefully, my little one can endure after 1st Jan... better dun give me unnecessary stress.

Hubby asked me to opt for A1, so that he can stay over and accompany me. Then I ask him, what if I need to deliver early, due to high bp? he shook his head and says I worry unnecessarily.

Pandawife, I am not zai leh... even affected today's mood. I ate little. Hubby offered to feed me, then I agreed.

Fruitree, already sent you the prices. Note, this is for Singaporean only. Premier package. I didnt ask for Classic package.

Startnight,
after 8 weeks scan it will be 13th week and then detail scan in 19th week . Inbetween if u opt for Down syndrome test then u will have bT and blood test. info i got from syrah sis. iam visiting this sat 8th week scan, so will know whether it is same or difffers from case tocase basis.
Which week u r ?

there will be dietician who will tell us what to eat in KKH hospital? is it optional or they automatically send it to them for advice.
at what stage do we need to take the advise.
iam with Dr.Loh.

Just Faith, Gan,

dun stress over bb weight. weight is only one aspect, more importantly bb is healthy and well developed.
health complications are much harder to correct than weight.

My last checkup at 28 wks, my bb also fall below average weight liao. Given my past history, dr now wants to see me every 2 wks until i deliver.

grumpus,

thanks for the assurance. hope i can get over quickly...
so how are u getting on?

i cant wait for november to pass quickly leh.

Just Faith, stress will affect baby leh.... must quickly snap out of it.

grumpus is right, weight is only one aspect. besides your girl is average weight, which is within normal range. nothing to worry about lah.
Chill ok....

Just Faith,
I'm ok
Getting very tired everyday from running after my elder girl with a big tummy.
No time to think of anything, every night so tired just knock out...hahaha

Just faith
Ya lor... The food all looks so yummy... Esp those crab dishes... Long time nvr eat crab liao... Miss it.. I wonder after giving birth bf can eat crab not...

My hb switch channel when he saw the foods leh! Hahaha ..he says cannot eat dun watch.

Baby, u r rite..the yogurt survived the journey back. Hb bought medium cup..Hee..he says wkend he go buy a large cup for me.. So looking forward!

Grumpus,

Good that you are busy.... easier to kill time. Better than me. Stay at home, watch tv, surf net, listen to music... really nothing much to do at home.

Baby,

Ya, I already found out where's the place. It is next to Jin Pin Xiang at Changi Road. During CNY, I always queue at JPX for bak kwa. Din know nx door's crabs so happening. Ya, long time no eat crabs liao.

PandaWife,

After watching, told my hubby I am hungry. He is now making me sandwich. I asked for scrambled eggs with mayo... greedy me.

Working wife,
I dun really like biscuits, so I only take occasionally. I'm taking the Instant Quaker Oats (red tin). 3 tablespoons of oats stirred with hot water is considered a snack. If u dun mind the trouble of cooking, the blue tin one is also ok.

Just faith..hee..ur appetite coming back..gd! I going to eat polar chicken pie later.. Just did my proluton jab..now resting in bed.

Just faith,

Not only visitors, everyone is trying to bf every 3 hours and u can imagine 4 patients in 1 place and some babies cry. I couldn't wait to get out from there!

working wife

Thank you. Finally so- called finish confinement but need to plus another 10 days before can eat anything except seafood, nuts. They are not girlie at all. LOL. The younger one will cry like we did not feed her for days.

I did not give them any routine coz my MIL is the main caretaker. But she will bathe them in the morning and wipe their body in the evening.

My girls have been puking their feed recently so trying to burp them 2- 3 times during each feed. My MIL is taking care of them at night so I juz wake up to express milk but sometimes will oversleep.

Singapoh
Can eat crabs while pregnant? I tot cannot.. Heard will cause bb allergy? I eat prawns thou... Hmm...

Panda
U eat the medium cup all by yrself? What toppings u have? I usually eat peach plain or add strawberry... I dont like nuts..

Just now after dnr my mouth like bitter.. I told my hb i want to drink gassy drink... So he went to buy coke, root beer etc... Haha... I had one glass of root beer and a pkt of chezzy rings... Shiok...

Tml headache again dont know what to have for lunch and dnr.... Sianz... Maybe ask my hb to buy quilian mee hoon kuey for lunch...

Let me vent out abit here. Coz not sure if I can stay sane if I did not say it out. And it will be a very long post..

I actualy quarrelled w my mum twice (or more) during my confinement. Reason is she feels that my hb and MIL are not taking good care of me for the past month.

Initially when I came home, I couldnt lie down to sleep and I couldnt get to sleep also. So she sees me sitting in front of pc to surf net, watch drama. She always tell me to lie on bed but d problem is I feel so pek chek lying on bed and not sleeping! Plus I need to wake up every 3 hours to express milk and since I have problem lying down and getting up so I might as well sit on armchair and sleep there. Throughout this one month, I did not take alot of naps in the daytime and only took them when I'm really tired. Hence, the dark circles..

During the first month party, ppl asked her why I look so bad coz of my dark circles. What do you expect me to do? I dont even have the mood to put on my concealer! They keep telling me they feel so heart pain to see my dark circles. What do you expect me to do when I cant sleep? Eat sleeping pills??

I feel that she is biased towards my hb. Whatever I tell her, she say is my hb teach me to say. Say I got no mind of my own, etc. This is not the first time lor. In fact, she called to say all these during my confinement and I got so upset that I cried which is a no- no during confinement. She keep telling me dont tell my hb everything. But if I dont tell him, who can I tell esp when he sees me so moody. I admit that my hb did not do alot during my confinement but when he did, she did not see. She keep compare other ppl's hb w mine but he is not them. His character is like that and how do you expect him to change?

Say I nv eat bu food during this one month. Nv eat wine, chicken, eggs, etc coz of c- SECT. And I always eat very little. I told her I eat 5 meals everyday and yet she tell me bread not considered. But I'm used to eating small but frequent meals alr and I will look for food whenever I'm hungry.

My mum said when bbs cried, my hb still can continue to play game. But the thing is both her and MIL is around and they will rush to carry them even thou he is d nearest. She keep complaining he did not do anything when he is at home and my MIL spoilt him.

Next she tell me I did not pick up her calls. I admit that sometime I really dont feel like returning her calls coz I really dont know what she is going to say next. Says her children are not concerned about her. While other people's kids are v filial to their mothers, etc..

Thirdly is the AP money from the party. She kkep asking how much we giving MIL coz she helping w confinement. I told we split into 4 parts. BBs shared one, me one, hb one and MIL one. Ahe also got things to say. She said when my hb's big aunt came and give AP, my MIL kept it. So not all APs we take. Since we alr give one portion to her liao, then be it lor.

More than once, she told me do I know she bought me alot of food to eat. I know she is concerned about me but her concern is too over for me. I cant do confinement like the way last time ppl do. No bathing, no washing hair, no touching of water, always lie on bed, etc.

She also mention whenever she comes, I will hide inside the room. But whenever she calls me, I will say d hp is inside the room and I'm outside. Does she really think I like to be inside the room?? I have been hiding inside the room for a month alr. But whenever she comes, she will do alot of thijgs like household chores, play w bbs, I alr feel v redundant when my MIL is ard. PLus her, even more redundant! This Wed she came coz MIL needs to attend wedding lunch and my girl cried. I was carrying her and she said "pass to me, I carry." I know I cant pacify my girls now but she said like that so what you expect me to do. If I dont pass her, she might think I dont want her to carry/ touch d bbs.

She feels she is the one getting hurt all d time. But I'm also getting hurt. I'm like sandwiched b/w my hb and her. When I told my hb the 1st quarrel, he told me not to think what she says. But how not to think??? She is my mum leh. I know my hb doesnt like her alot and vice versa. Everytime after quarrel she will say she is not scolding me but juz want to let me know how she feels. BUt can I tell her how I feel anot. If I tell her frankly, the r/s is really over lor. Sometimes I really dont feel like seeing her. She asked my hb, me and my SIL, which one we dote d most. I mean we dont understand why she ask this question lor. Both came out from my tummy, both I carried to full term. Maybe really will have preference but wont be alot lor. They are both girls leh, not a boy and a girl. I really dont know what she is thinking. I alr feel v dread not going out and sometimes her attitude really pissed me off. I really dont know what to do.

If I were to have a third bb, I def hire a confinement lady. Then everything d lady do including washing d bottles after pumping, etc.

Skies
It must be hard on u... Esp when u need the most support during the confinement period...
Try to look on the brighter side... Dont think negatively.. Maybe yr mum is not too good with her words.. U know sometimes elders are abit stubord and naggy... Just listen and dont take it too hard...

Or u try to have a good talk with yr hb... Let yr hb be yr emotional support... Dont be too hard on yrself ok.. With a new pair of twins.. After c sect.. All the crying and feeding.. Im sure its not a easy period for anyone.. Rest more and be happy ok...

Baby,

sometimes I will think if I had know that such problems will arise, maybe I won't want to have bbs. Or I will hire cl.

I even resort to tell my hb to tell my mil to lie to my mum bout d ap money in case she ask her. To them, they feel that this is v personal as in who give how much. But my mum will want to know coz she knows how much to give back if other ppl got such things. I know she is v good to me. Buying food, cooking soup, etc. But sometimes I really hope she will stop doing all these coz it is like a burden to me, like I'm owing her. Am I v bad to think like this?

baby,

hee..i eat it plain leh. no toppings. and yes! i ate the entire medium cup myself...:p

skies, wow! it seems like u had a very challenging confinement period. but i see ur gals are well taken care off.. their photos show 2 adorable happy babies
well done!

hmmm... you r right, your mum is very concern about you, which is very natural and she also has certain expectations of your husband. this is in fact quite a common problem, and magnified in times like this.

but look on the brighter side, you have completed your confinement! try your best not to dwell on the issues too much, as ur emotional well being is very important. there is nothing much you can do to change your mum's views as baby mentioned, they can be stubborn about what they think is right.

who is helping you to babysit after confinement?

Just Faith, fancy, thanks for the info.

fancy, I am in my wk 7 this wk, next Thurs will be wk 8. Ohh I still thought need to go back for scan every 2 wks. At least, I am relieved since dun need to waste my leave. Hee.

Skies,

Hugs~

Try to take it positively. Yr mum is doing so much for u and maybe she thinks she can be direct to u. And yes we owe them in a way lo.

Hey I wish I hv so much help but not as lucky.

As a 2nd time mother, I too felt overwhelmed with the arrival of my twins. This time I try to relax. U must jiayou coz yr family needs u.

U can PM me if u need to talk. :D

Baby,

My MIL said can't eat crab coz next time the baby will be very active so I didn't eat. Now my son is very hyperactive!! Those who met him will know :s

This twin pregnancy I had pepper crab in 1st trimester. Let's see if they will be hyperactive in future. Ha...

Singapoh,

she can b direct to me. But can't I b direct to her? But if I b direct to her, she will feel my hb is trying to bad mouth her. I appreciate all d help I was given but she is influencing my mood even thou she is not on purpose. Maybe like my mum, I'm thinking too much. But I really hate it when she bring past up again.

She keep telling me to keep money for myself, muz think for myself, etc. I reAlly don't like to talk bout this issue with her.

Skies,

Can u try to talk to her when u both are not arguing? Sounds like she cares a lot for u for asking u to save up.

My mum always hint to me to buy things for her even when I hv not been working for years. Few hundred dollars kind of shopping. I will give her few hundred RM whenever she come and help me plus buying her stuffs. And I still give her a fixed allowance every month. It's never enough!

skies, i guess ur mum cares for u, just the way she brought up the subject matter didn't make u feel happy or good. i guess all mums have certain expectation of son in laws becoz they want to know their daughters are well taken care of by the son in laws.

My mum also at times asked me to think for myself and keep money for myself. Initially i also got upset coz i felt the way she brought the subject up was like my hubby never provide for me or he is going to have a mistress someday so i need to fend for myself etc. But really matters between ourselves and hubby, only we know best, others can only see on surface, we wld know best whether our hubby is treating us well. So recently my mum brings up the $ issue especially now we r expecting a baby, i told her everything has been taken care of by my hubby (which is the truth) and i have savings for the bb and myself since the cash we got from selling our flat was deposited under my name. So i guess they r just concerned abt is and want us to be well taken care of.

Dun stress urself over such remarks...enjoy the bonding time u have with ur princesses.

Skies
Its natural to feel mum is a trouble sometimes... I will feel it myself too... Then i will talk to my mum in a pek sek tone... Afterwards i will feel v bad... Hmm... I guess cos they are our closest ones.. So without knowing.. We will be more direct in our emotions and our words...

One way to feel better... Focus more on yr gers.. Dont think too much on yr mil or mum... If they offer help.. Appreciate them.. Otherwise do whatever u can yrself...
Be happy ok! There are alot others trying so hard to conceive.. U are blessed to have a pair of beautiful twins!!

Panda
I just woke up not long... My hb went to tabao qiulian mee hoon kuey for me.. Hehe... Have to trouble him to go frm sengkang to amk to help me buy...

I also wana eat yami yogurt!!!! Hee... The nearest is j8 for me... Hmm... Maybe pester hb go buy during wkends...
U got try other flavour before? I nvr... I always eat peach...
U can ask yr hb to buy the yakitori rice for u too at j8... Not bad one... Or the fei shiong bak chor mee.. All around the same area...

What u having for lunch later?

Panda
If buy the big tub yami yogurt... How to store? In the freezer? Will the yogurt become too frozen and hard? Can keep how long?

Btw u know the coffeeshop s11 opp j8 have a qiulian ban mian stall? There is also a prawn mee stall not bad...

baby,

i also just woke up at 11am...

i already eating lunch round 1..hahaha..

brown rice huai shan porriage, baked chicken wings, fried egg with tomato and steam potatoes..tink my mum made black bean honey date soup agai

nearest yami for me also J8 leh.. i tried the blackcurrent one before too.. still find peach flavour nicer..

i dont like yakitori rice nor bak chor mee leh..hehehe.... also dun take prawn mee! LOL...
fussy eater one... :p i hope next time babies dont be like me.....

yeah..if buy big tub store in freezer... dun tink i will keep it many days..haha.. buy on sat, finish by sun?

Skies - don't worry abt letting out your frustrations here... this is one place where you can share your experience with similar ppl.

Sounds like your mom does genuinely care for you, but the way she choose to say things and show it may not seem like it. I think everyone would have had same problem with their moms. There's something about mothers and daughters... when they are close, they are very close, when they fight, its like all hell break loose!

You could try talking to her about your feelings, and how you feel hurt sometimes at what she says esp about your hubby. But if she is not the receptive type, then the other option is to turn a deaf ear. Meaning, just listen to what she say, and say what she want to hear then forget about it... just try not to let these things affect you.

As your confinement is over now and as you feel better later on, maybe spend some time alone with hubby to just relax and pamper yourself. Maybe that will help you feel better and refreshed. Just a day at the spa or something.

Hope you feel better soon. Hugz

Panda
I also just had my mee hoon kuey... Had my shower too...
Now lying on the bed resting...

Wahh... U quite picky on food... Hee...
Hmm... I must really go get yami yogurt... Kept thinking abt it... Kekeke...

My hb just called... The maid is arriving in spore on 18th nov... V soon we will have a stranger in our hse liao...

Must quickly train her on hsewk... Then can relieve my mum n hb on doing hsewk...

Skies,

Think of the good that your mum has done for you, without her, you wouldnt even be here. Praise her, instead of finding faults with her. Once she sees you happy and comfortable, she will not nag on your MIL and dh. Regarding the AP, after you have calmed down, treat her to a good dinner or give her a token, say good words, like how you n your dh appreciate her help and now you know how difficult it is to be a mother...she will be touched.

After delivery, we may get tempermental and depressed over stuff. Do not let it develop into postpartum depression, best is not to think and hear too deep. She is your own mother. Not someone who will harm you.

Act blur. Act naive. Learn to see everyone as angels and they will turn into angels.

Bottomline:
Say good words, do good deeds, think good stuff.

Hope you can get rid of the negative thoughts in your mind and be happy. When you are happy, people around you will feel the happiness and in turn, they will also be happy.

Gals
Will u be giving any tcm med to nbs? Eg pearl powder... Jin feng shan etc?
I heard also abt certain powder to give to prevent plelgm..
By how many days old we can give the bb eat?

baby, i crawl back to bed after my lunch n nap until now. hehe.. going to eat lunch round 2.

yeah..i m fussy eater.. alot of foods i dun take..but if i like smthing, i can keep eating it... heheh.. good n bad...

wow.. 18nov.. hope tht ur maid can pick up fast..coz not alot of time left for her to learn. is this her first time in sg? or she is experienced?

i will not be giving any tcm med to babies.

Baby,

If possible try not to give any kind of med to baby under the age of 1 year. Western doc usually give nasal drop for blocked nose. Some med only if necessary.