IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda
Haha... Im easy with food.. Just dont like indian food.. Except prata... Prefers chinese and jap food..

Just now try to nap.. But only for a super short while then wake up liao...

U wont be giving bbs any powder ah.. Yr mum n mil nvr say anytin cos usually its the older people who believe giving to help the bbs... Alot of my friends give their nb pearl powder... And some give ba bao jin feng shan to prevent gas and scare... So im still thinking..

Singapoh
I also abit hestitate to give tcm powder to nb.. But cos alot of my friends give and say its good... So im considering...

baby,

i already brief my mum n mil no tcm powders.. i know alot of CL/ older pple believe in giving such.

Also told them about the things that we learnt in Mrs Wong's class, so we will try to follow that. Hb will help me to guide them during the initial weeks that he is at home.

For gas, can giv bb rid wind solution..which is safe for use with nb.. as for scare, its actually a reflex action...swaddling them would reduce this...n let them feel more secure.

Hi singapoh

I m 7 wks+ n it's my first bb! Really excited about everything now!

Panda
Ya just now i talk to my mum abt it... She say better dont give cos most tcm tins frm china.. Dont know whats the component inside.. May not be pure.. So i think dont take chances...

I just had a toast bun and a glass of milk... Resting in bed again... What u have for tea break today?

Btw u intend to tahan how long before bathing and wash hair during confinement?

baby,

your mum is right.. even for adults, we shld not self prescribe TCM powders.

i hv sugar roll from polar in the fridge.. later hungry will take with milk. still full from the 2plus round 2 lunch.

hmm.. depends on weather..if its rainy and cooling, i will tahan for a week w/o washing hair..but i wanna shower everyday...i dun tink i can tahan breastfeeding and not bathing leh..

mummies, wanna ask what we can use when babies get bitten by bugs/mosquitoe to soothe the skin? aloe vera gel ok?

Panda,

I cut my hair real short before I pop. I washed my hair twice a week during confinement. June was really hot!

Jorubi aloe Vera gel is very good for insect bites and nappy rash.

Singapoh,

I attempted to cut my hair v short..but my hairdresses says no no! hahahaha.. so wht u see on FB is the shortest she is agreeable..n ask me to bun my hair during confinement n use dry shampoo....

thanks for the tip.. will ask hb to go buy the gel over the wkend..

Panda
Me too.. I dont thk i can tahan not bathing.. Even using towel to wipe also like not clean... My friend ask me to tahan for 12 days before washing hair and bathing.. I dont thk i can...

Even during hosp stay i might even bathe lor..4 days stay in hosp dont bathe like v dirty leh... Hmm... But hosp bathe no herbs bath le...

just seen dr loh, was dr marianne who saw me then at the end dr loh came in and told me the ctg scan good. My bp today also ok, 126. Bb's estimated wt is 1.9kg. Will be doing the GD test on monday coz i told dr marianne i wanted to test for peace of mind coz of my age. =p

Panda,

Haha.. I told hairstylist I want my hair as short as his, he was shocked =p

Baby,

I came home from KKH I bathed immediately coz dun wanna pass any germs to my big son. I bathed twice a day with herbs and tap water.

I perspired a lot after bf. Tak boleh than bah..

Gan
Wow yr ger suddenly grow so much!! 1.9kg!! Almost 2kg lo...
U are in yr 31 weeks plus now right?

Singapoh
U mean u boil the herbs and add cold tap water to bathe?
I think i will also bathe two times a day.. Thats wat i always now... Bathe once a day like not shiok leh... If not shiok cant sleep well... Somemore during confinement eat those heaty food... And with bf.. Sure sweat like hell...

thanks baby and panda, was veey happy to hear she put on wt but i didn't ask if the wt is ok. i am 31 weeks 4 days today.

Singapoh, for the gd test i will fast from sunday 12am onwards and no water till after the test right?

Gan, can sip water if you really thirsty.

Glad to hear your bb weight is good! 1.9kg is really good man... I hope my bbs also have good weight at my visit next week.

working wife, so ok for me to sip water in morning before the 1st blood test? Nurse didn't say much just ask me fast from 12am on sunday.
I am sure yr bbs are growing well. =) i think maybe drinking milk twice a day help. I have put on 9kg todate!!

Gan
So u are 2 days ahead of me... Im 31 weeks 2 days today..
I wonder whats my bbs weight... Hmm... So anxious to know... 30 weeks scan my bbs are abt 1.5kg... Next scan at 32 weeks... Hopefully they are 1.9kg too!

Panda
When is yr next visit? Mine is on tue...
Looking at gan bb weight... By 32 weeks her ger will cross 2kg mark lo... But i dont think my bbs can grow 500g in 2 weeks le... Hmm...

baby, my next visit is 23 Nov, 1 week after yours.... i hope after this visit, the frequency of checkups will increase... every 4 weeks is too long... by then i will have popped liao..hahahaha.....

baby i think possible for ur bbs to put on 500g in 2 weeks leh...my bb put on 700g in 2 weeks 3 days time....unless dr marianne didn't measure properly just now... =p hmmmm

Panda
I thk after next visit wont be every 4 weeks liao.. Should be every 2 weeks.. If nt u can request...

Gan
Wow 700g in 2 weeks... I didnt know that is possible...
I usually see the weight myself on the monitor when dr is measuring... Then i will ask dr abt the weight to confirm.. Im sure yr dr wont be so blur to tell u the wrong weight bah.. Somemore the weight u gain can tell that yr bb grows!

Hopefully my bb cross the 2kg mark on my next visit! Hee

baby, yeah.. angela also told me dr paul will see me more frequently after the next visit.

just now i greedy..took some of my hb's tom yam mee hoon kway... after tht heartburn :S

ur babies are of good weight, high chance to cross 2kg next week..

Panda
Wahh... Tom yum mee hoon kuey... I love it mann!!!
U make me crave for it again... Haha...

Hopefully bbs are 2kg next visit.. But dr says usually bb grow 150g per week le... So i tot bb will only be 1.8kg at 32 weeks..

I just had a fried you tiao... Still have one bowl of rochor beancurd waiting for me... Keke..

baby..yes, the tom yum one very nice. but super spicy..and i normally dont take spicy foods...

my supper is four leaves sandwiches.. hb bought a box of their mini assorted sandwiches.

i m feeling sleepy..but need to wait for the sandwiches to go down before i can crawl back to bed.

Gan,

I thought no food after 10 pm?? I was told sips of water ok but when I did my post GD test, I was thinking how to produce milk if I can't drink water??

I called ODAC and they told me can drink water coz it won't affect the reading so I drank like usual.

Panda
Oh u dont take spicy food.. I love spicy food...
I ate four leaves mini sandwiches before also.. Its nice..
I had you tiao and beancurd just now for supper... But now like still abit hungry... Hmm..

Singapoh
Tot they say must use boiled water to bathe... I was thinking to myself like that must boil alot of water le... So i thk i will just use normal tap water to mix with the herbs water..

My friend even add ginger, lemongrass and rice wine to the bath water...

Singapoh, hmmm the nurse said midnight onwards. but nvm normally after 10pm i dun eat and I also dun drink much water coz kept waking up to pee.

Baby i am asking my hubby to go geylang to buy the yonghe soya bean milk and shao bing tomorrow. =)) wow u can eat alot leh...i had 1 deli potato from delifrance and am very full now. didn't even feel like drinking milk tonite.

Baby,

Now we got water heater. Last time dun hv so boil water ma. Btw China people bathe during confinement. All along I thought we follow them. Hmmm...

U can boil shallot instead of herbs for yr bath too..

Gan
Ya sometimes i can eat alot haha... I just had the remaining dnr dish.. Some fish and pork.. Haha... And i had some soft drink.. Lately been craving for soft drinks... Gassy ones..

Singapoh
I think nowadays no one really follow no bathe for the entire mth... Really peifu those who really can dont bathe for a mth...

Baby,

I got a girlfriend who didn't bathe for 40 days. And her hubby did her confinement. She just had her 3rd baby and she delivered without epidural..

Good morning gals
Its wkend.. Gng be deserted here... Hee... U gals will be busy shopping...

Panda, where r u?
Today im having mcdonalds sauage egg mcmuffin meal for bfast... Waiting for hb to buy bk...

Singapoh
U still not sleeping at such late hour?
40 days didnt bathe... Wahh... Can imagine the stench..
But i guess thats makes her body stronger...

Baby, actually i can hardly shop now, walk 15 mins or so, i will have a strain on the upper left of my tummy. I am waiting for my hubby to come visit me later in the evening...this morning got air con pple servicing the air cons at my home so that the air would be clean when bb arrives.

Singapoh, your friend who didn't bather for 40 days....she still carry and breastfeed the baby? I assume she also dun stay in air con room since she is following strict confinement rules? So she would be very sticky?

baby, i just woke up from nap..hahaha....

my lunch just arrived.. later hb will buy yami yogurt... i also ask him to buy a few sticks of the yakitori to try for tea break...

i noticed these few days i cannot stand still for too long leh.. like when i m brushing teeth or when i m cutting orange.. my feet will get pins n needles! but walking its ok...

my crave for gassy drinks over liao.. coz now drink liao will cause heartburn.... hey.. r u taking cranberry juice? i m taking one thts cranberry w grapefruit..florida brand.. quite nice.. n not so sour...

Gan, i cannot imagine myself shopping now..unless got wheelchair...

last night my hb says i m still quite mobile.. i looked at him n i wanna faint..hahaha... i told him i hv to conserve ALL my energy for the week to go out for the checkups..everytime come back drop dead...sleep n sleep...hahahaha...

by the way, hv u bought the playmat? now smallsmall world having xmas promotions.. i m going to order one...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4713107.html?1289549108

Pandawife, thanks for the info on the sale! will go check out, have not bot the mat...since can't go malls will do internet shopping!
But i think in december i would start making myself walk more, coz i heard if i want to do natural, i shld try exercise more for easier birth...so after 34 weeks will start walking in shopping centres. But still need to check with dr loh during my next appt, how is the placenta position, whether i can do natural delivery.

The pins and needles is because of blood circulation? I mean like when we sit cross legged too long, we have pins and needles?

Gan
Talking abt servicing aircon... I also intend to service my aircon soon... So that the bb room aircon will be clean...

Panda
U buying the new A to Z playmat $140? Its more when bb can crAwl is it?

i also dunno if its blood circulation...coz brush teeth n cut orange very short time only.. smtimes only half way thru, i start to feel the pins n needles.. now hb says sit down n brush teeth..hahaha...

baby, most likely buying the 2100x1400x15mm sized one... can be use from 3 mths onwards..for babies to have tummy time

when they know how to crawl, can buy play yard panels and use it together with the mat...

Panda
Which design u getting? U find the A-Z too small is it?
The size u want is at $275? Is it too exp?
U also getting the pinic mat too?

baby, havent decided which design.. later ask hb to choose when he is back...

i hv 3 babies..hehe.. so prefer bigger one.. hb measured the play area we set aside in the living room, can fit the size.. u might wanna consider where u will be putting the mat before deciding the size?

picnic mat yes..i wanna buy.. will be useful next time.. can buy n keep....

Panda
Hmm... Yup shall measure the size first... In terms of design i like the AtoZ... The pinic mat u buying one or two?

What u having for teabreak? Im home alone now.. Hb went to run errands... Nothing to eat at home... Craving for cold desserts... Like ice kachang.. Yami yogurt...

Gers
Got a scare on thursday am. Woke up and found I wet my bed a little. So went to toilet to clear the rest and found the fluid passed out was odourless. Called labour ward they asked me to go down and check just in case.

Detected weak contractions and no more leaks but need to stay for observation just in case it's leak and caused infections. Dr scanned twice to check the aminiotic fluid enough for each placenta so I beg him to let me discharge. Condition is house Arrest at home. Rest as much as I can no more going out except for dr appts. I am week 33 today .

Can be quite scary in the labour ward alone listening to other two patients abt to deliver. But I was quite brave ( hubby out of town ) and thinking if I had to deliver I had to. Was very assured once I see my gynae ....

Now just eat sleep lie on the bed/sofa at mum's place.

baby,

most likely i will buy 2 picnic mats...

i ate very little for lunch just now...still hv balance food.. and i asked hb to buy some yakitori from J8 to try..hehe.. i also craving for my yami yogurt............ ask ur hb to buy food on his way back?

nancy, wow...i read ur post also feel scared...
was it leaking amniotic fluid tht u experience? i was told a simple amnio stick test can be done to determine if it is leh...

did u do alot of walking/movements prior to the leak?

u r indeed very brave leh! glad tht all is well now... u try to bed rest as much as possible...

Nancy
Its really a scary experience... Glad all is well now...
Did dr give u any med to control contractions and the fluid leak?

Panda
Ya later will ask hb to buy dnr bk...
I just cooked a pkt of dry instant noodle to eat.. And a cup of ice root beer... Hee... Unhealthy food... But nvrm la.. Once in a while...