IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda
My hb now cooking hotdog.. Egg.. And baked beans for me... Hahaha... After the supper still have bird nest...

I miss qiulian mee hoon kuey... Hmm... But abit troublesome to buy... I shall see when can hb go buy for me... I also feel like eating roti prata again... :p

baby, me already sleeping by the time u are eating..keke.... my siew mai is frozen ones leh..just pop into steamer ..but ok lah..better than eat cereal/oatmeal again.

i kept harping about yami yogurt, hb says he will bring the ice box and packs go get one this wkend.. dunno if the yougurt can survive by the time it gets home...

i almost had qiulian ban mian for dinner..but changed my mind to mos ..keke..

nancy, must faster start taking...once missed it cannot go back liao..

hmmm... its frozen yogurt, consider as soft serve? keke. opps..i had it quite a number of times already.....

u are up so early too? i m hungry... up to take my milk ..

baby me been having contractions on and off for the past one month... cervix not opened yet. but these few days the cramping is bit different as the below area is totally like super painful...

Yup mine singleton and been told I likely to induce on the week after next (38weeks) for normal birth. But likely I may go admit myself this weekend if I cant stand the pain. My ML too starting from Nov 22nd onwards.

Singapoh, yeah I know certain foods must avoid etc, but for me so far up till now thou some days sugar reading is high, i still eat normal food in small proportions and those main meals.

After makan i am usually on the move so that usually burns off the sugar and reading goes down. I so far seen my dietician just once only since week 28 and till now is own control.

Yesterday night i just drank coconut water. :p

Today will monitor my readings again...

Jei,

How come u only saw dietician once only? Everytime u go bk for doc appointment, u need to drop by ODAC and see dietician (by appointment) so that they can monitor yr reading.

Only few weeks left. Just tahan for yr baby's sake and yourself.

Singapoh, thanks! i m attacking the peach yami yogurt this wkend! heeee.......

smthing to look forward to during my boring stay at home days......

Singapoh,
u mean u saw the dietician for every doc appt? That means every 2 weeks in 3rd trimester?
The dietician arranged to see me only in 4 weeks' time after the first visit.
Btw, which week will be the final dietician appt?

singapoh how do we know we must do the GD? I am getting paranoid if i shld do the GD test...but so far my urine stick test is ok....if ok means no need do GD?
I am seeing dr loh tomorrow, i shld ask him if i shld do?

Panda,
I read that the thing about soft serves is the machine, and not so much the way the ice-cream/yoghurt is made. Cuz the machine used to dispense the ice-cream/yoghurt may be contaminated with bacteria that can cause listerine (especially the nozzle part). I did ask the nurse at my clinic before, she said Singapore usually cleanliness should be fine, but if unsure, then best to avoid. I guess depends on your comfort level.

Yeah, woke up then cannot sleep back
Managed to sleep at 5 plus till 7 plus after that.

Babyhopeful,

I am the extreme case of GD. I see my diabetes specialist every 1-2 weeks since week 24. I'm also on insulin because on my own diet control, the reading is always borderline (6-8) and I felt I wasn't eating enough, so doctor said better go on insulin so can eat more and control sugar levels.

working wife.. now i tink of soft serve, i remember taking the soft ice cream at ikea too! haha... and before attending mrs wong's classes, i always go eat frozen yohgurt! *fainting*

baby, i m so tempted to follow my hb to ikea leh..i told him i will guai guai sit the wheelchair there...he can push me around..LOL...

i also went back to sleep at about 6am and woke up at 9am for 2nd round bf and pop my pills....

Working_wife,
Wah, u need to see the diabetes specialist so often? Upon starting on the GD diet, my readings are fine so far. At most one reading in a day slightly over 7, which both doc and dietician said is ok.
As long as u eat the right proportions of nutritious food, it would be enough for bb and u. That's what the dietician told me.
In fact, after taking on the GD diet, my BP and urine test all back to normal during the last visit.

Babyhopeful,

I went to ODAC and see dietician till I set a date to induce, meaning till I pop la.

Gan,

I was in the high risk group ~ above 35, carrying multiples, family history of diabetes. Also glucose detected on the strip.

Working wife,

My appetite was very poor. Couldn't eat much before the GD thingy. No choice got to follow the diet closely, eat till I wanna puke :s

Singapoh,
did you find it hard to put on weight after you follow GD diet? I find that its so hard to put on weight now... my weight has been like almost stagnant for past few weeks. But bbs weight is increasing, so doctor said bb gaining weight, I'm losing weight, net total is the same.

I am quite concerned I'm not eating enough. Nowadays, I eat the following:

Breakfast - 2 slice multigrain bread, egg and 1 slice cheese
Mid morning - 1 glass milk
Lunch - 1 small bowl brown rice, steam fish/chicken/tofu and alot of green vege
Tea - 1 fruit
Evening snack - Yoghurt (abt 5-6 spoonfuls)
Dinner - same as lunch
2 hrs after dinner - 1 fruit
Before sleep - 1 glass milk

Lunch and dinner I try to eat more meat and vege to compensate for the small rice.

do you think this is enough? Did you eat more in your GD diet?

Panda
I also ate yami yogurt and ikea ice cream a few times... I think should be ok bah...
Actually i bought yami yogurt back hm before... It didnt melt leh... No need ice pack la... Unless really v far frm hm... I bought at bishan j8... Straight away hm i put in the fridge...

I also tempted to follow my hb to ikea yday... But my hb dont allow... So i just stay hm... Better dont do anytin funny haha...

Today lunch.. Mum fry meehoon and cook pork porridge.. Not hungry yet.. Will eat later... Mum also made red dates longan tea...

Jein
Maybe the on off contractions is braxton kicks? Then now u experience really painful ones are real contractions? My dr told me if really v painful must go labour ward for check...
My last visit my dr check my cervix.. Says it soft.. Dont know what it means ... Hmm..
I think frm now he will chk my cervix every visit.. Next visit is tue... Hopefully everything is well...
Now u 34 weeks... Another 4 weeks more? I heard even for singleton... 37 weeks is also consider full term.. Yr bb weight now is how heavy?

Working wife
Yr meals are super healthy mann!
Maybe due to healthy diet yr weight did not increase.. But im sure yr bbs will get the nutrients frm u... When im hospitalised.. I also ate healthy food and my weight also didnt increase... But my bbs are growing well... So u dont worry ok..
It must be not easy for u to follow this diet... But just tahan for a few more mths ya! Jia you!

U got all bb things liao? All settled?

thanks Baby, will think positive and jia you! Today is 29 weeks. i set target by week now!

Bought almost everything, except for extra bedsheets, extra nursing bra and nursing pjs. Really no energy to go out these days. My big items like cot, stroller, car seat etc arriving first week of Dec. in couple of weeks time, i will start washing bb clothes.

Working wife,

My diet is slightly different from yours. I gained more weight with this diet but still fail to meet my target weight. I only gained 12 kg at 36 weeks, 3 days the day I popped.

Bfast: 2 slices of wholegrain bread, 1 cheese, 1 ham (extra protein coz slow weight gain), milk

Mid morning snack: 2 wholemeal biscuit/1 fruit, milk

Lunch: 1.5 palm size protein (twins portion), soup, mixed rice, veggies, fruit

Teabreak: 2 wholemeal biscuit/1 fruit, milk

Dinner: 1.5 palm size protein (twins portion), soup, mixed rice, veggies, fruit

Supper: same as teabreak

Which yoghurt r u taking? There is only 1 type here u can take Yoplait for me Fat free.

Afternoon,

Had yummy lor mee for lunch, very satisfied...
Best part of pregnancy is somehow food tastes so much nicer when you have strong craving for it...

Just like to update baby's weight as of 32 weeks. The little one weighed 1.7kg as of y'day, based on her abdominal circumference. Dr Loh din scan me as I was at ADC earlier for growth scan again. Dr Loh says baby weight is average. Not too big nor small. Blood vessels are good. Despite the numerous siew mai and junk food that I pumped in, I only put on 7kg to-date. Really dunno to be happy or upset. Sigh.

Frankly, I am quite upset over baby's weight. I thought she could be close to the 2kg mark, at least to give me peace of mind. But it seemed like I have to keep eating until I see her in 3 weeks time.

Gan, not sure if u have to read this, I was briefed on the admission package y'day. I will give answer during on week 35 visit. It seemed like the prices for A1 and B1 are only less than 1k difference.

baby, i just woke up from nap.. 1.5hr, i crawl out of bed 5x to pee...gosh...

now my two boys are playing away..and ger having hiccups.. whole tummy shaking cannot sleep liao.

my lunch is black beans huai shan brown rice porriage.. steam fish w minced meat, steam pumpkin and honey dates black bean soup. ate half portion earlier..now going to eat the other half..

my hb also dun wanna let me go with him to ikea... he says if i want, he can bring me out for car ride to J8 though...then he will go n buy me the yogurt..i wait in the car. :S

Thanks Singapoh for sharing... sometimes for breaks in between, I also have oatmeal biscuit or cheese. Meal times I forgot to add... also have mom's boiled soup.

I take Dairy Farmer's fat free yoghurt because I compared across, the carbohydrate g is lowest for that. Maybe I will check Yoplait next time.

I don't take calcium supplement, just a prenatal vit Obimin and the DHA supplement.
To date, I have gained 10 kg, but in the last few weeks... I think only 1 kg.

Just faith
How come u feel sad on yr bb weight? Tot at 32 weeks 1.7kg is normal? To cross 2kg mark i tot must be 34 weeks...
Sometimes bb growth is not really dependent on the food intake... Its just the individual bb growth rate...
Since u having singleton.. There are plenty time left for bb to grow.. So dont worry ya...

Panda
5 pees?? Gosh... Like that how to sleep ah... U drink too much before u sleep is it....

Haha.. Car ride better than nothing...
U make me crave for yami yogurt leh... Hee... But ask my hb all the way go j8 just to buy yogurt abit troublesome le...

I just had my shower... Now lying bk on the bed to watch tv...
I craving for cold stuffs now... Desserts or ice cream... Hmm...

Btw gals... Baby cot mattress need to air not?
Mine is still inside the plastic packaging... Need to remove the plastic and let it air? I scare collect dust thats y i nvr remove the plastic...

Baby, is it? 34weeks to cross over 2kg mark? I dunno leh. I thought I heard dr loh says 32 weeks avg weight is abt 2kg.

Just Faith - My fren told me to choose 4-bedder or B1 cos if u choose A kkh will make u sign a form where it states u can't downgrade even if any complications arise it will be A class charges.

Is that true ?

baby..yeah lor.. very interrupted nap.. din manage to sleep very much.. doze off abit then wake up ...

i had the lunch w black bean soup n a cup of berry juice lor... my body seems to be very efficient in throwing out water...hahaah...

i only crave the the yami one leh.. my hb stock up a few different flavours of ice cream and also choco eclair in the freezer..but i not interested...

yes..need to air the mattress.. got a smell one ...in fact i sun it

JJ,

I have checked with the counter on delivery ward pricing, the lady very friendly, you can go ask if have other doubts.

I also asked about baby class if mummy is A class, she said the rate for NICU the same or something like that. My dh knows better, I listen now forget. She also advised me to go thru polyclinic if baby sick after discharged, as it will be subsidized rate and is not tagged with the delivery ward class or mummy's patient class.

The cost breakdown kept somewhere with my dh, I cant give u the price now, but I recall the price diff between A and B1 not much...will let you know tml after I get the price from my dh tonight.

JJ,

I chose B1. Dr Loh won't deliver if go lower than that. It was very noisy, I couldn't sleep at all and felt so warm whole night even when the nurse gave me an extra standing fan.

My total bill was $8k plus, natural assisted birth. 1 night stay for me and my boy but my gal stayed in SCN for 4 nights.

ya yrs natural already 8K mine I will choose c-sec so the bill will be (O_O)
Hence I will opt for the 4 bedder rather then the 1 bedder my fren adv that $$ difference use for other more useful things

Working wife,
u can try cornflakes and milk as a snack too. Buy Nestle's Cornflakes. Half a medium bowl of cornflakes is the portion. Sometimes I take that as a snack for variety.

Jj,

I have clarified with nurse y'day. Even if you choose a1 now, u can change to b1 on day of delivery. Any changes is allowed before you are admitted.

As you are expecting twins, you may want to consider 4bedder and most imptly, in case of complications.

Who needs the price list? I can send over to you via PDF. The price btwn normal or c-sect is not alot too.

Please pm me.

Singapoh

when you say noisy, do you mean the noise coming from other patients' visitors? I also very scared of noise. Especially those patients with big family visiting them.

Thanks Just faith.

Wah, looks like I got no choice but to stick to B1 then. Don't want any other doc to do c-sect. Plus will feel safer for babies if it's Dr. Loh.

Just faith, pls send me the pdf too. Would like to compare price. Thanks.

just faith, did u ask dr loh when he is away in dec?? I get stressed thinking other doc will deliver my bb if she happens to be early.

Singapoh, am 29 weeks now.

Babyhopeful - cornflakes not high sugar? i thought corn generally high sugar. maybe will try a bit and see how the readings are.

Ladies, can I check something with u?
Do u still rem besides wk 6 & 8 scan, subsequent visits are which wks? I am trying to plan my leave now so I am wondering after the wk 8 scan, is the next one in wk 10 & subsequently wk 12 & so on so forth?

Working wife,
Cornflakes is listed in our GD diet. I checked with dietician and got the approval. But only for Nestle brand. Only half a medium bowl allowed. Usu I take at most once a day.
Oats is a good choice also. I take oats as snack at times too.

Working wife,
U may want to avoid begawan solo soon kueh. I took once as snack and the reading went beyond the range. The dietician mentioned it could be the oil used to make the kueh.

Gan,

My hubby prompted him the question y'day. But he didn't give me us a direct answer leh. He only mentioned he will be going away for a few days. And during his absence, he has other doctors to cover him. He also mentioned half of the doctors will not be around during December.

So when are you seeing Dr Loh again? My nx visit in 3 weeks time - 1st December 2010.

Fruitree,

Can PM me your email address? I will send to your email.

JJ,

Please check your email.

Star Night,

I am trying to recall mine... but really cannot recall anything. Unlikely nx scan to be in week 10, mostly probably is week 12. Think so leh.

Gan,

My bp went up to 14x y'day. Think I was very stressed over hearing baby's weight at ADC. I couldn't cool myself down. Then I started to listen to some relaxatio music which I already download on my iphone.

15 mins later, I retake my bp. Went down to 135. Still high. Kept explaining to Dr Loh I m worried over baby's weight.

Just Faith,

wah, u really sound very stressed over ur bb's weight leh.. aiyoh.. average weight is good leh.. why u want very big baby? later difficult to natural deliver, hv to C sect leh.

unlike those of us w multiple babies, urs will hv more time to grow... so u must relax....