IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Tickles, u are working leh, of coz tired! i not working already cannot sustain the energy :S

i just woke up from nap and dun feel recharged at all...crawl out of bed becoz hungry leh.....

Gan, tickles,

i washed the bb clothes 2x..but i din hang dry the first time.. 1st cycle i use detergent, 2nd cycle is just water..so make sure the detergent is all cleaned from the clothes...heheh... after tht sun them n keep liao.

baby, ur gynae also very experienced...dont worry too much...must hv faith in him n your babies
You r doing well so far...jia you!

Angela also spoke to me briefly about incompetent cervix..but she said i m pass the stage already...no need to worry about that...
r u wearing the belt at home? i was reminded to wear it again, to prevent tummy from weighing down on the body too much....

Just Faith, i never wash the drum leh..also dunno that it can be washed....

Just Faith,
Me too didnt know need to wash the drum de.. Haha! I also just make sure I separate the washing and use bb detergent only.

Thanks for the info on the rental rates..

Just faith
She didnt mention whether she working or not...
I did ask her some qns.. Will wait for her to reply...

Panda
U mean now we are 27 weeks means already pass the incompetent cervix stage??
The lady tell me not to walk too much and dont squat.. Try to rest in bed as much as possible...

Panda,
How I wish I'm not working now too. Can slp.. This morn was so slpy. I drink chix essence and drink a cup of tea yet still feel slpy.. I need my bed...

Rose,
OGTT = Oral Glucose Tolerance Test
this is to test for gestational diabetes (GD) in our bodies during pregnancy
ODAC = outpatient diet centre where advice on diet and nutrition will be given on how to control GD.
i was asked to do OGTT when one of the urine tests showed excess glucose.

just faith i didn't know machine drum can wash leh.....am using a front loaded machine...how to wash?

Pandawife, u did the same for bedsheets etc? Wash 2 times? Think i will wash 2 times...initially tot 1 time can le.

Rose, that's quite a good deal for the avent products. U are going to expo fair for the rest of items?

baby, i was told by angela tht if i had incompetent cervix, by 24weeks, would hv found out... i m not sure if its in relation to the tummy weight i m carrying then or it applies to all leh...

for high risk pregnancies like ours..i would also tink its good to minimise walking too much and dont squat or bend down...

i dun wanna bed rest so early..but i seem to be sleeping alot! hahah...so its my body's way of telling me to stay horizontal..keke.....

tickles, if too tired, start ur ML earlier? dont stress the body..... nothing can make me stay awake.... apart from hungry..LOL...

Gan, yes...washing the beddings twice too... coz the new fabrics always hv a layer of wax on them de....so better to clean twice...

Pandawife i think staying home made me feel more sleepy...i never felt the need to sleep when i am working, though i could feel a little tired.
But this morning, after breakfast, i was lying on bed reading and the next thing, i doze off! just woke up. But dun feel refreshed at all after the nap

Yes, Gan. Likely going to the expo. Left the bigger items havent buy. Cot, stroller and car seat.

Btw, I read that need to sanitize the cot? Did anyone do that? How to sanitize?

Gan, after 1st tri, i was back to normal.. no need to nap during day time even if whole day at home....

can watch tv, n surf net the whole day... but now cannot leh.. lately the need for sleep is very high... hahaha...

my hb says babies are bigger, so sucking more of my energy...of course also partly we suspect is due to my low food intake...

i m going to increase my milk intake... see if it helps... last night i needed 2 cups before going to bed to feel "full".......

Rose,

I only air the cot frame... and sun the mattress... thts all... since its brand new...

i hv heard of this mattress cleaning vaccuum tht can clean n sanitize mattresses... quite a number of my frens whose babies hv skin problems bought it.....but we are not getting it unless there is a need in future....

Panda,
Cant leh.. Cos oct is the busy month. Then maybe in nov I will start to do my work plan and plan ahead for work to be done during my ML> Probably can only start clearing AL in end Nov.. Then I predict early dec will deliver le.. So scary.. Time flies...

Yesterday went for my appt. Bb now weight 2.4kg at week 34 plus. Dr loh is very happy with my bb weight.

For those who have low placenta previa like me don't be discourage. Yesterday miracle surprised me n dr loh. My
placenta actually go up a bit but still consider low. Dr loh
comment that may have a chance for natural birth . He
schedule me for a detail scan at adc 2 weeks from now to
determine my placenta location.

But I a bit scared n confused now cos I already mentally prepare that I can't nature birth n must go through csect. Now with this surprise, I have to plan again.

I have did my pre admission already yesterday n tentatively fix my csect date on 3 nov with him. Cos if after the scan the placenta still blocked the o/s I will straight go according to csect on the 3 nov.

Those mummies looking for Braun thermometer u can get it at amazon. Cheaper including shipping is about $70-80. I think sin sell about $143. U gals can consider buying from there.

Gan,

You rest more and don't stress urself . I think my placenta move slightly up also due to my bed rest for mths. As long as u have enough rest n not to be bother by work . Think u will be more relax.

i m half way thru my lunch n suddenly crave for cinema sweet pop corn.....diao...:S

tickles, wow, sounds like u hv busy months ahead... yeah.. time really flies! now we are talking about ur delivery..n tink shortly later, u will be planning for number 3 liao!

Fashion spree, your bb is putting on good weight.
If can go natural would be good, what is your EDD? If C section on 3rd nov, it's just another 3 weeks you will meet your bb leh.

I am going for my bb growth scan on 26 Oct at ADC. Trying to relax now, will see how's thing during my next appt with Dr Loh on 27 Oct. I guess if necessary, i will take no pay leave till i deliver. Dunno why i have this silly guilty feeling of taking too many hospitalisation leave.

PandaWife, I am feeling good and energetic during my 2nd tri. So far, I dun feel sleepy during day time. Like today, I woke up at 5am+ to pee, cant get back to sleep, but I still feel energetic now. Eyes still big big.

Now, doing as much bed rest as possible. And hope to finish all shopping by end November.. but then hor, I worry by end Nov, I will be like you now leh.

For those mummies who asked me abt washing the drum... this is what it is written outside the box.

"POWERMAX WASH DRUM CLEANER works like magic to remove trapped residues from the inside of your washing machine. It :

~ Effectively loosens and eliminates build up of lime scale, soap scum, lint, dirt and grime, which taints washed clothes.

~ Kill germs and sanitises inner surfaces for a hygenic wash.

~ Prolongs machine life by improving its performance.

Suitable for all types of washing machine, as it is powder-based. One box has 2 packs, which can be used for two times. Cost around $5 per box. I usually wash the drum every 6 months. But maid says I only washed it 3 months back. Wait for another 2 to 3 months before washing again.

For those who have not used before, you will be surprised to see the residues trapped inside yr washing machine. Very yucky.

Rose, since you stay in bukit batok, do you know the shop that sells COSWAY products? I bought this box from there. Otherwise, can get from NTUC, which my mum is using.

Gan, how come you didnt arrange baby growth and Dr Loh's appt on the same day? I did baby growth on 30 sep, aft that, i was at Dr Loh's clinic.

My nx growth scan is scheduled on 10th nov. after that, see Dr Loh in TPS.

Gan
U are a very responsible employee. Understand this guilty feeling. But u have come so far to this stage. Work is impt but our main objective at this stage is to deliver healthy babies

During my very bad MS in first tri, i had to quit my job to rest. The feeling was like i feel like an invalid person. Been working for so many years and suddenly no income, no job, no security etc. After a while, I came to realised that why i wanted to do IVF in the very first place == To become a mummy.

Can always find a new job next time but this maybe my only chance to become a mum

Just Faith,

I tink u shld b alright in 3rd tri... i see most of my gfs can work thru out....until they are almost popping..can go shopping etc....

mine abit extreme...since there are 3 of them in there......

Just faith,

Mine is a singleton. Ya so far weight is ok. I think partly due to no stress at work. Cos been on hospitalization leave for 2 mth plus. Do nothing at home just eat sleep and watch tv. Maybe of the ample rest I have on bedrest. That y my placenta had moved up slightly.

Gan ,
Don't feel guilty on that. If doc need u to rest more there must be a reason. I have finished utilized my hl so now on unpaid leave at home resting till I deliver.

Dont forget we go through a tough way to have this bb. So please rest well to take care of urself n bb too. I also feel guilty too for mc so long but come to think of it. If I continue to work with my low placenta. I think I would have admitted to hospital more than one for bleeding.

Just relax. Once u relax ur bb will feel the same. My next appt is on the 27 oct with dr loh too but before that need to go to adc to scan my placenta . How come dr loh never schedule me for growth scan?

lately seem to feel abit dizzy for a split second or 2. scary.. any ladies here get this also?
this morn, noticed my right hand fingers look a bit swollen, oh no, don't tell me is water retention. these days, morning wake up like whole body ache, fingers feel numb. don't know why like that. any one experience the same thg?

Nancy i guess i was initially not keen to stay home all day because of all the complications that i was going through. i was afraid i would be crying daily at home when i am doing nothing and thinking about the negative stuff. I remembered during my 2 weeks HL in late august for the borderline water level, i was crying quite alot coz i was scared after reading the internet and also worried because of the short nasal bone which the doc made it sound not good. But yesterday night I was lying in bed and thinking, i am already in my last stretch and like u said we just want to deliver a happy and healthy bb, nothing is more impt than her. So i must really give my best to bb, make sure she continue to grow well in my tummy and i dun stress her. I am adopting a more zen attitude now coz want my gal to be a happy bb.
so told my hubby if necessary, will take no pay till i deliver, already asked him give me more allowance.

Just Faith, the appt was arranged by kkh, but i guess ok coz both appts are quite late, would be tired if i have to wait for adc scan and dr loh's appt.

Fashion Spree, I think i have almost utilised my HL too. Dr Loh scheduled me for my growth scan because he is monitoring my bb growth, i think he wants to make sure she is back to the 50% growth. My appt with Dr Loh on 27 Oct is at 5.10pm leh....if yours about the same time, can see u there.

Just faith,

I dont stay in Bukit Batok, my inlaws do, not sure of the shop that sells cosway product.

Happyhippo,

I also experienced dizzyness on and off, think becoz of low blood sugar. Usually I will quickly find bed to lie down or drink some beverages or biscuits. There was once I felt like fainting at KKH, quickly went to find a sofa to rest and took hot milo. It went back to normal after like an hour rest.

Gan,

Mine is 5.50pm but need to be there earlier for scanning at adc. After that need to bring the report to him. Ok I will see u there.

Good that u are applying unpaid leave to rest. Me current mth also on unpaid leave. I fully agreed with wat Nancy said. We come so far already and all of us wanna deliver a health bb too. Maybe after resting at home u could have miracle Luke me too. Jia you. Don't think so much the more u think the more u get worried. Think of the happiness n joy u will be having when bb is out cos we all long for a bb for years that y we choose ivf.

Gan,
No stress, no stress. Meet me at J8 for kopi
(figuratively cos no real kopi for u)
U can meet my girl for inspiration, cos looking at her now u won't be able to tell she was tat small at birth

Gan
Zen attitude is good. Happy muummy equals happy baby
I believe u are in good hands with dr loh since he is monitoring u closely. He issued u MC for a reason - To REST

Sometimes i tell my hubby abt the negative things on the net i read and he will say " Last time pple dun even have pre natal checks during the whole pregnancy and have to do tons of housework plus care for younger children. These mums also deliver healthy babies. Dun think too much"

At first i get pissed off with what he said but after thinking abt it, quite true. Too much info sometimes not healthy for us.

Grumpus, kekeke i am not staying at bishan now, staying at novena area. can meet at shaw plaza coz u staying at whampoa right? I think ur breastfeeding has beefed up your gal.

Talking abt kopi, there is this list of food/drinks i want to take after i delivered! kopi, butter crabs, ice cream.....

Gan,
Keke can meet at united square or novena square also can

Eh if u breastfeed then there r some foods u'll still hv to keep away from, so stop drooling :p

Gan, i just bought ice cream just now. Just want to pamper myself with some nice food. Was too stressed for the past few days. This is the 2nd tub of icecream that i bought since BFP.. LOL

Gan, can take ice cream lah.. buy the premium ones.. the ang mohs eat ice cream as a source of their calcium

i also take ice cream and frozen yogurt...

read somewhere that babies absorb better when we take sweet foods ! hee...

Just faith/Pandawife, i do take ice cream but only like 1 or 2 spoons which i "steal" from my hubby. But i am imagining myself eating 1 tub of ice cream watching tv, dun think we can do that when we are preggy ar. =P

Grumpus, only raw food we keep away during breastfeeding right? kopi shld be ok right? I used to drink a cup of coffee every morning before preggy.

Gan, cannot eat whole tub in one day lah..haha.. one scoop is ok...keke..

i even went swensens to eat the brownie with ice cream...and can eat 1 container of ice kachang myself :p

i ask Dr Paul if i can take ice cream / cold drinks, he laugh leh.. he says by the time goes into the body...everything is body temp already...why not?

Gan,
Kopi hv caffeine lei, u want to feed yr bb caffeine thro yr bm ah? Some mummies stay away from seafood n peanuts when bf-ing too cos they're worried abt allergies in bb.

Haha... I think most gyneas will find us funny when we asked whether we can take ice cream or cold drinks not.. Cos when i ask my dr.. He laugh and say he dont see why not... He has no problem with it unless our own mother have issue hee..

I'm back home. Breasts r engorged now. Going to borrow an electronic pump first b4 I buy. Manual pump really sucks to me.

Trying to cope w breast feeding first b4 anything else. Wish me luck ya.