IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hahaha...singapoh..u wanna conduct live demo class? I m sure many of us will b keen!

I m still getting startled by my babies sudden movements now leh.. Is it normal huh? Smtimes I will jump from sofa when kicked n scare myself!

Panda,

Aiyo not too many people la. U will soon find yr own bathing style. Trial and error. Just make sure u support their neck.

Wah yr bbs are kicking u like a ball. I hv never jump up like u but also can't compare coz u hv extra 1 bb.

Gan
Hmm... I also scare husk will have bugs... Cos its not normal kind of mattress... Aiyo now i abit regret.. Maybe i call to ask whether can change to latex instead..
That time when u buy the cot... U got the free mattress right? So if u buy latex or husk.. U will have two mattress??

Panda
Did u see mrs wong water thermometer? Like a flower toy... I find it quite cute.. If its not exp.. I dont mind getting one.. Hee.. But during confinement.. It will be my cl who will bathe my bbs.. So i dont thk she will use the thermometer.. Ask her to use also werid.. Haha

Singapoh.. i dunno if its getting too cramp for them .. smtimes the movements so violent lor... or its my 1st time pregnancy..tht i m not used to it.. now only 25wks, i m sure the actions will get more obvious in the wks/mths to come!

baby, mrs wong din show us her thermometer..bt i saw it in her book. i surf amazon, no flower design, only pooh bear, tortise, yellow duck etc.. i went BHG and saw the piegon one.. quite bulky looking....

come to tink of it..she teach so many things, smtimes i also wonder how much of it we can really apply.... was discussing with hb last night too.. tht my bb sitting team might tink i hv post natal blues if i ask them to do everything mrs wong taught us! we had a gd laugh over it...keke...

Panda,
I finally found my pureen maternity pads on fri le. But then I went OG, Robinsons and cant find the klorane dry shampoo that u mention leh. Where did u say u bought it from? Which section to look for? Infant section right? I also bought J&J top to toe wash yday le. Bought from kiddy palace as they are having promo on this 2 for $12plus.. Wanted to get Pampers newborn but didnt see it on the rack in Giant yday.. So didnt buy in the end..

Thanks Singapoh and JustFaith for the info...

Singapoh, yah...i know water cant flush out the glucose in bodies...my urine was also detected glucose in last visit, so muz do the glucose test next visit
that was the first time detected...

sianz, must fast overnite without water some more and drink that sweet drink...

BabyHopeful - hope your test results turn out well. Fasting overnite without water and drinking that sweet drink is nothing. Pricking your finger 7 times a day, having to keep a diary of everything you need and cutting out dessert and sweets for the next few months is sianz...
I hope your results better than mine.

Panda,

Most likely too cramp inside Liao.

I find that latex mattress is good. It WON'T sink down so easily as bbs are not as heavy as us.

My twin boy is zzz on his kor kor's latex mattress now. I bought in 2007.

Baby, Gan - my hb read on those doctor or medical websites which say that husk is good for bb cuz its firm and hard. Let me try to find those websites. Understand your concerns abt bugs... I have same concern
I will probably go get the cots this week, then see both mattresses before deciding.

Babyhopeful,

U can hv small sips of water. But when I did my OGTT post delivery, I was allowed to drink any amount of water, just no food.

At first I was told by a nurse from other clinic(KKH) that I can only hv small sips of water. I was worried how am I gonna produce milk without drinking any water. I called the GD consultant and she said can drink but no food.

Singapoh,
can drink plain water? i tot the nurse told me durign overnite fasting, no food and drink allowed? or after the 1st blood test then can drink water? duno how to tahan without water for so long...

Babyhopeful ,

Taking sweet stuffs has nothing to do in GD. It's our body that can't break down sugar by itself so need to control by either diet or insulin jab.

Pricking finger is nothing compared to all the jabs in IVF. really like ant bite.

Babyhopeful,

I did the OGTT during pregnancy with overnight fasting but with sips of water.

Do u want to call GD consultant to ask if it's ok to drink water?

After the glucose drink, u still need to fast for 2 hours. After blood test, u can eat and drink. U won't feel hungry or thirsty after that glucose drink.

Singapoh,
oic...coz the doc asked me if i took something vv sweet before my urine test last visit...coz the previous tests were normal...lol...
i tot its the soft drink i took..

Singapoh,
did the nurse mention u can drink sips of water while u did the OGTT during pregnancy?
the nurse kept emphasizing no food and no drink..

Babyhopeful,

during my ogtt fasting, I still continue to take plain water. Strictly no other food or drinks. I fasted from last night's dinner at abt 7pm. I asked you to take more water not because your glucose test result will be better but I really think water is needed in every part of our body n we need to maintain enough fluid in our body.

As what singapoh has explained, it's the sugar that cannot break down in our body. My gf was once hospitalized for high glucose in her body. She was 31 then n expecting singleton.

Babyhopeful

before u hv yr first blood test, u r still allowed to drink plain water. After first blood has been drawn, you will be asked to take the glucose drink. N no plain water, food during yr nx two hours. You will have to return to the same room to take yr 2nd blood test.

Results will be out on the same day.

Babyhopeful

It's a quick test. Dun worry. Go shopping lah. I passed time by window shopping there. Lol. So dun end up in macdonald or kopitiam can Liao. Lol

Working wife
Most likely i will go change to latex instead of husk... Scare will have insects haha.. But the husk mattress put anti dust mite...

When i did my glucose test i was also told no food and drink after midnite.. Even after the first blood draw and after drinking the glucose drink... That 2hrs also cannot eat and drink before the 2nd blood draw...

Tickles
The dry shampoo can get from guardian...
I saw before... In a form of spray... I hvt go buy it thou...
Dont know how many bottles to buy... One enuff?

i called KKH clinic D...the nurse said strictly no plain water also as it will affect the test results...only can wet the lips if needed...

baby,
did u do ur OGTT at KKH?...yah the nurse also told me no intake after midnite...can only intake after 2nd blood test for accurate results...

babyhopeful, when u did ur routine test, u mentioned that ur glucous was detected...did it exceed alot based on test strip?

I also detected some, 1 level above normal colour but dr loh didn't mention anything abt the OGTT. He was only talking abt high blood to me.

I'm eating 1 large egg white (fully cooked) alt day now .. is it ok ?
I also alt btw kampung chicken (where i will eat the yolk also)

cos i read that protein is impt now since we are 'building' humans during this period.
= )

Babyhopeful
Nope.. I did my test at glen e...
The nurse also say no plain water.. Can only drink and eat after the 2nd blood test... She even say after glucose drink cannot walk too much...

Tickles, the dry shampoo is at the normal beauty/skincare section leh.. but if i m not wrong, guardian also carry this brand.... u can check it out there ...

today went to talk to Angela.. i hv been officially issued house arrest.... she says no more shopping, rest at home.. n dun eat out too.. coz coming to end of year, flu virus will be rampant and with the increase number of HFMD, she dun want me to catch smthing when i m outside ...

other then this, she says i m doing well.. continue to do my jabs.. n have plenty of rest, all shld b fine...

singapore, i asked angela too about the violent movements...hehe..she says the babies are playing kick kick with each other ! LOL

baby, panda,
alright. will check out guardian then... aiyo.. guardian everywhere have. I still went orcahrd OG, robinsons etc. walk till I tired man..

Went swimming yday.. erm.. actually a dip in the water while watching my girl play only. But shiok..

Panda,
btw, how many bottles u buy? 1 bottle enug? dunno how big the bottle is thou. Shall go check it out and see how. But I think maybe 1 bottle is enug right. Cos towards the end of confinement. would have bath a few times liao. So only use it when never bath the hair ma. Hopefully I can tahan not bathing, thou i think its not possible la.. But I shall endure..

Wa. Now u only 26 weeks right? Already house arrest arh? aiyo.. How to survive the boredom till 37 weeks? Me 30 weeks this week liao.. Another 8 weeks more cos I think my girl will come out ard that time.. Looking forward but getting excited too..

tickles, i bought 2 bottles...but u r right, 1 bottle shld b enuff.. i tink i wanna wash hair too... tht time the sales lady says dun wash hair for the whole mth, need 2 bottles..then i silly silly buy 2.

yeah..this week is 26wks..... ok lah..anyway.. i also hv difficulty walking to much already... yesterday sneak out to BHG..bought my nursing bra liao.. but i still need to go out to CARE, TMC and KKH visits lah...

angela ask me to wear the support belt everyday even at home..coz tummy will start to grow bigger very fast.. she dun want my tummy to "drop" too low when babies get bigger...

Babyhopeful ,

I dunno if the same practice apply to OGTT in pregnancy and post pregnancy test but u can call ODAC department. They are the expert for GD cases. 6394 1724

I wanted to do my post pregnancy OGTT in a Polyclinic near my home but it's only available during weekdays.

singapoh, my mum already gave permission to wash hair n bath once home from hospital! hahaahahah....

tht time i bought the dry shampoo coz mil says cannot wash hair for 1 mth....:p

Panda,
I forget to wear the belt today. In fact I always forget the wear it.. Wahaha! Then that day someone comment that my tummy getting low liao. Forgot who told me le.. U buy your nursing bra so early not scare later the size dun fit arh? I intend to wear back my old one which I bought from mothercare the last time. I got 4 piece in total.. should be enug..

Trying to clear as much work now liao.. Then must start to type out the work plan for the rest to follow up when I'm not around. Another 8 weeks more only.. Think I'll start clearing leave 6.12.10.

Gan,
that time when glucose was detected on the test strip, it seemed quite a lot according to the nurse...coz usu my glucose test is nil...hence the nurse, doc and me were surprised and they asked whether i took sweet stuff...i did take soft drink a couple of times before that...

Singapoh,
Thanks for the ODAC contact.
I called them and enquired. Yah, plain water can be consumed b4 and during OGTT.
Duno why clinic D said cannot drink water...coz i tot plain water will not affect the glucose outcome...exercise will affect though.

Panda
So fast kena house arrest ah... When is yr visit to dr paul? Im sure dr paul will not warrant house arrest so early... U check with him... But if u already done all yr shopping then also no need to go out lah... Esp u get tired easily...

I also think whether i should wear the support belt even at home.. Cos tummy get bigger each day.. But sometimes wear support belt abit warm... Im still tightening at my hubby improvise velco there.. Hmm.. Maybe i should have bout medium size that time.. Kaisu me.. Hee

Baby
Thanks. Actually I called parentcraft to ask which are the topics dr will be covering. The lady said she is not sure, will depends on the dr that night. Cause my hubby may be out of town so thinking if it's worth the effort taking cab to and fro the venue.

If it's repeat of what was taught then no point. And she said only water will be served. Did someone mention kk's workshop serves proper food? Haha......

nancy i am also thinking if shld go for the talk on 12 oct coz hubby just started a new job that week, so i wld be going alone as his work usually require OT.
Last week tmc instructor also says topic depend on the dr presenting that night. If not going, there's another session on 16 nov
no sure if u can get 10% off for avent product if u have og card leh...can save some $. I forgot to buy the avent bum cream at robinson

Gan
If I am also going alone on 12 Oct, we can meet up
Hee.....16 Nov think by then I should be resting at home already

I didnt buy the liquid talc think it's too ex. I also forgot to buy some other stuff. Everytime reach the baby dept totally forgot what i need to buy. \

I am more keen to look at baby clothes. Cant imagine if i having 2 girls think i will go crazy with all the cute lovely girls' clothes and accessories

And always forget to bring the list Sigh.....Did u see the instructor using the tong to pick up the items after sterilizing? Is it necessary to buy a tong? Didnt see in robinsons yesterday

HOw is ur BP now? Did u see the GP over the weekend?

singapoh, coz mil says cannot wash.. so i need "permission" from mum..otherwise mil will make noise...hahah..if my mum says ok..she hv to zip.. coz i m first time mummy...mil will say i dunno wht is gd for me! :p

tickles, i ask the auntie to measure..she says i can get their largest size since i hv another few mths to pop..so i bought 3 pieces..30% off only $36.. dun wanna wait until the mth b4 coz also no mood to go out liao.... u must get into the habit of using the belt..aiyoh.. angela told me can prevent stretchmarks too..coz bigger tummy will "drag" the skin ....

baby, Dr Paul will say everything can ! haahah.. i dun feel secure..thts y went to chat w angela today..she is flying off next week and when i m in my 28weeks, she will be out of town.....

i asked both dr paul n angela the same qn, "what shld i take note of from wk 28-32" and got different answers..LOL...

angela more careful n kiasu..but she meant well and hv alot of experiene...so i will listen to her.. she is right tht i hv come this far, dun wanna put myself at risk....

ohhh.. she mentioned about breathlessness leh... she says usually about my tummy size...very common for the mummies to feel out of breath easily...but she see i m doing ok.. must be eating the right kinds of food...

i also dun feel comfortable to wear the belt at home... esp sitting down.. always wanna take it off...haha...but it also helps to protect our back.. will try to wear it as much as i can tahan..

nancy, u can join the kiddy palace membership..n get 10% for the avent items... $10 for a year..i find it a useful place for hb to go pick up baby items in future as well...coz all under one roof.. alternative is u wait for the next sales, smtimes they hv 20% storewide sales..then send hb there with a list to buy...

the tongs in the sterilizer set is quite small, i bought a bigger one, so tht easier to use. pigeon brand has..n more durable..

hmm.. i dunno whts the topic for Dr's talk.. most likely will try to go... wkday evening abit challenging coz hb hv to rush home to pick me, have dinner before we go for the class....

if we all go, can have a mini gathering there!