IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

working_wife,

I also went robinson today. Didnt see the bb clothing, bought breast pump, steriliser etc instead...

working wife, u are back!

wanna ask u .. u bought the nappy rash cream right? what brand is it huh? my hb thought its avent...

Hi Panda - you mean the one sold at the class? Its Avent Baby Bottom Balm. Its not nappy rash cream, more like lotion. cuz Mrs Wong said don't use nappy rash unless bb has nappy rash. Normal times can use the bottom balm lotion.

Working wife,

I didn't swim as much as previous pregnancy. Sometimes I will play in the pool with my toddler, take a walk or packed my stuffs. I moved house when I was 34 weeks. I unpacked over 40 boxes and climbed stairs in my new house. After I moved, my GD reading became better. Was very busy. Managed to settle down before I popped 2.5 weeks later. I took mrt till I popped. Ha..

working wife, u only bought the orange cap avent bottom balm? she demo using a smaller tube of blue color cap one....

i already hv the bottom balm.. but hb says wanna buy the nappy rash cream as standby.... we thought its avent too...but when i search on philips website, dun hv ....

Panda - she wasn't selling the nappy rash cream. But from the tube she was using during the demo, it seemed like she was using pink color cap tube. If its pink color, then I think its the brand Drapolene.

Fashion
U having singleton... I tot u also expecting twins.. Wrong info hehe... Full term for singleton is 40weeks.. So dr loh advise c sect at 37 weeks due to yr previa?

Panda
Ya lor i also prefers everything in place and wait for bbs arrival rather than wait till bbs are born...
Else will be v kan cheong... Even now i feel abit anxious with all the set up and washing not done yet...
I wonder how much my bbs have grow since my last visit.. Anxious to know their weight...

With two bbs inside me i already feel uncomfy.. It muc

I went to tangs and bout the 2 cots.. I upgrade to coconut husk.. Cos the latex is too soft... I paid additional $129 each for the husk mattress...

working wife, i thought i saw blue cap..haha.. hb says looks liks avent packaging coz we hv the liquid talc..but the one she is using looking like a smaller tube version..hahahah...

yeah.. next week ask her.. yesterday wanna ask her if its better to use small scissors or nail clipper to cut bb nails..but she was busy end of class and i was too tired...

baby, ur next visit also 3rd week of oct right? mine is on 21 oct.. but 11 oct i will go KKH to check on them....

working wife, did u buy the water temp thermometer? i came back n read her book again, it says temp betw 30-36 is ok to bath baby...but yesterday she says must be 37.. if 36, baby will cry until 3-4 mths? i m confused! hahaha...

panda - yea, thinking of buying the water temp thermometer. Issit like normal thermometer?

Singapoh, just a ques. When u control yr diet, did yr reading go down to normal level or still remain above normal? How much was it at the high level if u remember? I did my test at home this morning, still high

working wife,

i tink its a water proof one specially for measuring water temp... some of the ladies here bought it if i m not wrong...

later i might go BHG check out their sales n see if they sell it there....

need to get a braun ear thermometer too.....

Mrs wong prepare fm with room temp water... She say no need to add warm or hot water at all... This is the first time i hear this... I always tot need to mix with warm water..

baby,
adding warm and hot water to make fm is cos of old chinese belief that no good to drink cold drinks, bb will get wind etc, so even the milk give to bb should be warm.
but if u follow western way they just give fm at room temp. when older they even let the kid hv it cold.

Baby...i visited my gf at tmc before...the hospital feed nb pre prepared FM tht comes in glass bottles..room temp too! Tht time I oso puzzled....

Working wife,

Yr body need time to adjust. U just started yr diet plan right? Maybe need few weeks to stablelize. Also start a food diary. Jot down the food that gives u high reading.

My highest was 8.6 2 hours after main meal. I called and asked. I was told to walk around to bring down the level.

Avoid all hawker food except mixed rice, Yong taufu (non deepfried) , food with thick sauce (cornflour is very high in sugar) Limit yr root veggie. Coke zero is allowed but it gave me high reading so I avoided it. I had soda water instead.

You can drink soup cooked with root vegetables like lotus root, carrots, pumpkin, etc u can only eat thos vegetables in limited amount. Sweet corn clear soup gives high reading too.

If can't control by diet, u need insulin jab.

Working wife/gan
Have u buy the shears cot and mattress?
After buying i read frm motherhood mag saying coconut husk is too hard.. 100% natural latex is the best mattress... Its frm babysafe mattress ad...
So im not sure whether i should change my coconut husk to the latex...
Wat u gals think?

baby, i also saw the latex advert..haha....

hard or soft is very subjective leh... tht advert trying to sell latex.. of coz will say latex is the best

Panda
which brand is the liquid talc u bought ? Today went robinsons didn't see any. Btw the Braun thermometer is something thermoscan got big baby pic on the box. This item I have yet to check out the price.

nancy...the liquid talc is avent brand. blue n white box.

i tink the thermometer is model 4520. saw at a few places $149... kiddy palace has it at $123...

amazon selling USD43..i m wonder if wanna order online..hee...

Panda
True also... Hmm... But of cos the latex feels more comfy cos softer... The husk one more hard.. I will thk abt it..
I hvt buy the water thermometer yet.. I wonder is it necessary.. Cos i believe u will only use it initially.. After which base on experience u will know the right water temp...

BabyHopeful

Sorry for the late reply for the message you posted regarding OGTT the other time. I did OGTT cause I am under GUSTO, not because my glucose reading was high.

Anyway, if your routine test at KKH shows abnormality in your urine test, you will be scheduled to do OGTT.

Lucky my report all came out normal.. all the fasting and yucky drink is all worth it. Remember, at all times, you must have plenty of water.

I am a thirsty hippo.... hehe.

baby, me n hb thought we need the thermometer, coz my parents n mil helping out.. make it easier for them...

u r right..its the initial baths..but its important to get the first few baths right..otherwise babies will fuss alot for future baths.

Baby,

I also agree with Pandawife. Hard or soft is very subjective. And that ad must be pro-latex, so says coconut husk is no good.. personally, I just worry about urine seeping in through the mattress.

PandaWife,

Somewhat I dun think the thermometer is essential. Cause you dont put your baby directly into the tub, you have to clean the eyes, facial, those delicate parts first. And by then, baby would have got into contact with water liao... just try to slowly put baby in. I trust our hands to feel the right temperature.

just faith..

yesterday mrs wong says baby is used to 37degree in our body... so if the temp is not right.. bb will start screaming... i hv no idea how to feel 37degree with my hands! haha.....

i hv heard alot of stories about fren's babies fussing for many mths whenever its bathing time.. dun wanna take the risk when we hv 3 to handle..get it right from the start..our lives will be easier too....

plus hor, i will be doing confinement, wun be bathing the babies...my mum n mil doing it.. lagi worse..coz they both cook everyday..so can handle high temps w their hands one.. i always say they hv "metal hands"..coz dun feel the heat..

Pandawife,

I m also leaving the baby to my helper, mum and MIL... so I must really trust those people who is going to take care of her.. hehe.

Most importantly, I will remind them not to bath in my room, cos it is kinda windy here. Better bathe her behind closed doors & windows in the our toilet.

Most of the NB babies that I have handled before enjoy taking their baths... it is only their cries that I cannot comprehend. LOL

Just Faith.. my mil never touch babies for many yrs.. so i m quite worried for her... my mum still quite alright...

just now my mil told me she never burp all her 4 kids.. just feed them n put them back to bed..she no time to burp them.....:S n smtimes no time to feed, just put a towel on the chest n leave the bottle in their mouth ....diao....

Pandawife,

Your MIL very short cut leh.... I am starting to worry for you.. hehehehehe.

My mum is a pro-nanny.... She handles all her 3 grandchildren.. now age 4 - 15yrs old. I have full confidence in her.. except that she is turning 60yrs old this December, I feel very "xin tong" that I can't let her "xiang fu" at her age. That's also one of the reasons why I hire a maid 2 years old ago to help her with housework, though the kids she is babysitting are not mine.

But now, since I will be having my baby, my maid will move back to stay with me. And go my mum's place when we are not at home. If my mum were to bring my nieces over, my house will be really crowded and I wont have enough rest at home.

Somehow I have to work out something.... and gives everyone a role. LOL

just faith..yeah lor... so i tell my mum must guide my mil along.. and hb will conduct "Training" for her before i m due... coz he learn alot from the classes....

now u know why i wanna buy the thermometer..if not she might put bb under the shower! hahaahah...

baby i haven't bot the mattress yet. Latex does feel better than the husk but when i was at tangs, the salesgirl did tell me another supplier (not the shears one) told her that husk can promote blood circulation and more cooling. And if happen bb urine seep thru u can was the husk mattress. I am still not decided what to get....i worry the husk mattress will have bugs =p

nancy i bot the avent liquid talc at robinson yesterday coz got 20% off and i have robinson card, so further 5%. Also bot the avent nipple cream, coz the tmc instructor mentioned avent and medela nipple creams need not wash off before breastfeeding.

haha..i mentally prepared my mum liao.. she says its ok.. my mil is a great cook..so she can depend on her to feed me good meals... LOL

Babyhopeful,

During one of the routine check, traces of glucose was detected on the urine strip.

Those with multiples, over 35 and a history of diabetes are prone to GD.

Btw water doesn't flush out glucose from our bodies. Need to watch what we eat.

Panda,

My twins screamed whenever my 1st CL bathed them but when another took over, they didn't cry. I suspect that she was very rough to them. When the CL left, they also cry the first few times but now they enjoy bathing time.

singapoh, i feel stressed tinking about bathing babies! hahahaahah... i see mrs wong demo, i see stars abit too.....

When the weather is cooling , I will prepare warmer water. If it's a hot day, I will giver cooler water lo. Dun hv to be the same temperature all the time. My boy can even bathe in room temperature water without fussing.

I wash their backside with room temperature water since they were 3 weeks old coz outside can't find warm water.