IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda yr info on cord blood is extracted from the Singapore Cord blood website ? (public one?)

cos from what I read in Panda posting it seems the cord blood we store can't be used for ourselves or just for our own family members

"Donated cord blood is not reserved for the specific family’s usage"

seems like its 'shared' to whoever matches ...

If its stored with private cordblood banks (there is 2 i think) the cord blood is specifically for the family to be used.

If twins can't store cord blood then really no choice liao ... cos i'm still undecided on whether to store cord blood

JJ,
donated cord blood means is the public one donated to singapore cord blood. there are no charges if u donate bb cord blood and anybody who is a match can use it.

if u store privately, then it is reserved for yr family but there are yearly charges.

JJ, yeah...the info i extracted is from public cord bank.. coz we were also exploring if we want to donate in the event we are not storing with pte bank. yes..in public bank, it is not meant for pte use.. and it doesnt seem like there is high chance for own use from the information. we were tinking it would be meaningful if can save a life.

grumpus, on the same SCBB site, it also says research now says the cordblood is only useful for up to 15yrs....

so in the end did you store your gal's cordblood?

tickles, my babies are very early ...4plus kick n kick me liao.. i got awakened by their activities..n felt hungry... i took milk n went back to sleep at 630am... just woke up now..

gan, cordlife will store all the cordblood in one location... whereas stemcord split up the cordblood into two parts..n have them stored in different locations.... this is one of the key differences between the two pte banks.

Panda,
icic.. I'm a total zombie today. Feel so tired now. Just drank a bottle of chix essence. Hopefully it'll help to perk me up a bit...\(@_@)zzzzz

Ok - understand liao .... so many yearly things to pay for .. i still got embryo storage...

Panda - I saw a special doc on giving birth to triplets lei.. last night on discovery hm & health channel. the triplets combi are 2boys 1girl or 2girls 1boy, got 1 set is all boys.. but all very cute!!

JJ, yeah.. i recorded that documentary and watched a few times! LOL... very very adorable babies...

how are u feeling? much better already?

Panda,
in the end i didn't store my girl's cord blood. did think of donating but mine was high risk pregnancy so rejected also

Panda,
oh but anyway, the info u get on the public cord blood website is geared more towards telling u that it is unlikely that u'll be able to use own cordblood etc etc cos they want to encourage ppl to donate for public use mah. if they say high chance u can use for yrself then nobody will want to donate liao. u know wat i mean? if u talk to stemcord and cordlife, they will hv different argument and statistics.

so ultimately is wat u yrself believe and decide to do.

Tickles, u woke up many times last night?

i managed to sleep on my sides more comfortably..or maybe too tired last night..coz evening time i went out for a while...so super exhausted when i got home... but this morning woke up, the back very aching.. use a heat pack half sitting, n fell asleep again...

Me feeling better, at least now I know my MS got timing one .. by 5pm everyday will feel the effect until night time sleep at 11pm ... So far morning & afternoon I'm almost like normal (some occasion dry vomit feeling still occurs)

I watched the doc last night & also the 19 kids & counting .. then start to relate back cos the main topic on last night's documentary was abt high blood pressure in preg & how bad it can be for bb & mum

Last visit to kkh my BP is 132 lei .... its already so high .. now thinking how to make it go down ... I only know reduce salt intake

grumpus, agree with u.. hehe.. coz wanted to see from different perspectives...

i hv also read some discussions on the other mtb threads on some of their gynae's views on cord blood banking....

i m also pondering, if we are not allowed to donate due to twin/triplets/high risk, isn't it also not advisable to store...coz the process for whether u donate/pte bank is the same.... will check with my gynae too the next time i see him....

Pandawife n Gan,

I think pricing wise stemcord is cheaper than cordlife. But I still choose cordlife. I didn't really do a comparison between the 2 just that most of my friends are with cordlife.

Skies,
I'm glad that you have made the decision to go for C-section. I went to see my doc yesterday and he asked me whether I want to go for natural delivery. He's really quite pro natural delivery. If I want to go for C-section, it will be on 29 Oct which is 4 weeks from now. Getting excited and nervous at the same time. Aren't you excited when you only have 10 more days to go?

Fashion spree,
I saw Dr Loh yesterday and asked him when should I go for the admission planning since I haven't decided on natural/ C-section delivery. He said just go ahead and take up any plan first. We signed up for the premier A1 package for natural delivery. Have you booked your C-section date?
My babies weigh 2.1kg & 2.2kg for the girl & boy respectively at 33weeks. I'll be seeing Dr Loh in 2 weeks time. I hope they can gain another 0.5kg before they are delivered.

Pandawife,
We have the same thinking as you so we decided not to store the cord blood. Since we are not allowed to donate as there could be transfusion/ contamination of blood between multiples, we thought it's not advisable to store as well.

Panda,
I think I didnt wake up many time last night leh. But still tired.. Maybe I need 12hours of slp now.. Slpt too late yday le..

I also never keep my #1's cord blood. Dunno who told me the last time that if eg: the child gt some genetic defects in the body even if u save the cord blood, u use back the prob will still be there. But also must see if gt any family history on this area too. If gt history of cancer and stuff, better the keep for security. If dun have, then can consider if want or not.. Its up to individual de..

Hmm... Looks like most here feels not many benefits to store bb cord blood... I did heard that if bb have problem which need stem cells frm cord blood... Most of the time.. Cant use own cord blood due to the already problem genetic link...
But maybe it will be useful for siblings or other family members...

But if can use baby bonus without using own cash.. Maybe can consider storing.. Maybe in future medical advances will allow one to use own stem cells for own medical problems...

Bing,
Wow really fast n u are counting down. I plan to confirm the date with him on my next appt which is on 13 oct on my csect date. U mean I can just go str to the admission counter to register. Don need get letter from doc loh. Good that both bb have hit 2 kg mark. Think mine also more than 2 kg from last appt.

Btw what the diff between premier A class n A class ward?

I thought of csect on the 1 nov. Now it like counting down for us.

Just to share, I understand from a friend that for cordlife, if u recommend new clients, u will get some incentives. Not sure how it works, but for those who intend to get Cordlife and has friends who had signed up, no harm benefit your friend by asking them to recommend u so that they will earn some incentives.

Hey ladies,
I saw from Straits times that Robinsons having nursery fair leh. Got some budle deals. Medela mini electric set is $309, avent steriliser set bundle is $180plus, and pigeon steriliser bundle set is $108/9. Gt baby stroller and baby cot also leh. From now till 3 oct.

baby/working wife if u going down tangs for the mattress this weekend, call and check if the samples are here. I was there just now, mattress samples not in, the bedsheet to fit the mattress also not in yet.

Hi gan,
No, Dr Loh not yet reply me...maybe he busy...
My spotting stopped liao, but got backache, cannot walk too much, even at home. Also dun feel safe, worry that the spotting or bleeding may suddenly comes back...

Planning to start buying baby stuff, but not likely got strength to compare products, just wanna go one place, grab and go...

I was thinking to buy infant car seat higher priority since baby needs to be transported from hospital to home...or convertible car seat...

rose i also didn't do much comparison but i guess normally baby fair the price shld be ok.

I bot the pigeon rapid steriliser for $199 at taka fair, bundle with food warmer, 2 big and 2 small milk bottles, detergent....

rose, my hubby's good friend said they r buying the stroller as a gift.....we bot the cot at tangs $199, a few of us, just faith, bing, baby and working wife are getting this cot.
We have yet been to baby kingdom or hypermart, maybe will go later this mth bah. I want to buy a bath tub with stand

Tickles,
yes yes, got yr email. sorry no time to reply properly

hehehe thanks for the gynae contact, yes going holiday with my girl before i deliver. hope can survive all the walking and carrying :p

Fashion spree,
Yeah, starting to count down now since it's only a few weeks away. I've washed all the bb clothes and packed the hospital bag already. If I'm going for C-section, Dr Loh will want to arrange it on 29Oct. So our delivery may be around the same time eventually.

You can go to the admission department at level 1 on your own and need not get any letter from Dr Loh. Dr Loh will deliver for you if you opt for premier package. But if you opt for classic package, you can't choose the doc for your delivery. Any doc on duty will deliver for you. Of course the premier plan is more ex than the classic plan.

Gan, Baby, Working wife,
Metro is having the Infant Fair from 1-10 Oct. They are also selling the same Shears cot at $199.

gan
huh..the samples not here yet ah.. i tot of gng down tml to check out the samples le... u have the no to call? better check before gng down else wasted trip...

Bing
u know what is the bundle for the shears cot at metro? which metro outlet u saw this cot?

gals
anyone experience breast lump grow bigger in size during pregnancy?
i just went for my routine breast check by my dr.... a breast lump that is in my breast for many years without changes in size...suddenly increases from 7mm to 11mm... dr says may be due to hormones changes during pregnancy that makes it grow bigger but suggest to remove it since it grew bigger....
i will go for removal probably next week... cos i intend to breast feed..so cant wait till i deliver then remove... so dr suggest to perform the removal before delivery....

Metro having infant fair at all their metro branch ??

Rose the guy's blog very informative ... such a dedicated husband, can't see my dh doing this type of blog

Baby cot from Metro
From the papers today, shears baby cot $199 free 2 inch mattress. I think the deal from Tangs is better. Comes with travel bed is it?

JJ,

yes, the blog pretty useful even after the baby is borned, the daddy still updates it regularly. Just read his latest post on his confinement lady, quite a bad experience. I also booked mine liao, hope will be a good one. When is ur edd?

baby, it shld b in all metro outlets..i saw it at metro cozway point yesterday.

hmm.. the free mattress very thin leh.. the one i got, free mattress is 4inches.. both me n hb feels its alright in terms of firmness.. not too soft, not too hard..

Rose - just read finish the CL horror story .. makes me think twice abt getting a CL lei ... i only hear bad stories for CL's ...

honestly i think my mum cooks better then any CL cos I'm use to my mum's cooking liao...

I'm expecting twins, EDD 3 May but likely to move to earlier like late April

I going vivo later will drop to see the cot

Bing,

Tks for the info, I will check it up next visit. Since I have low placenta praevia major , it better for dr loh to perform the csect for me. Likely will arrange the premier package same as yours.

Most likely we may be neighbour too cos date very close.
Haha.

Gan,
I bought the bath tub with stand too. Can't remember I bought from baby hypermart or kingdom. Either one. Bathtub abt $22 and the stand is costly. Think abt $ 49 for stand if I'm not wrong.

Hubby say better buy with stand since mine is a csect n can't squat.

Rose the cot link, can't be converted to a toddler bed. This cot quote is about 60cm x 120cm, think smaller than standard cot but good for me coz our bedroom quite small. Will buy another bed for my daughter when she is older.

http://www.palmax.biz/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=126

Bing seems like i can do alot of shoppint this weekend! metro and robinson.

Fashion_spree, i also think the stand is useful...does it comes with wheels? thinking of bathing our gal in our bedroom, then can push the bathtub to the bathroom to pour away the water.

JJ - Wow, twins! That's wonderful.
Do take more rest during the 1st few months.

My EDD is in Feb. Its a girl.

Baby, 67375500.
u mean u are going for an operation to remove the lump in ur breast?

Just went to see GP...my blood pressure is 150/70
. the GP said the higher pressure cld be due to the slight headache i am having as i have not been sleeping well. She said the low is good..as long not exceeding 90...so she doesn't think is high blood. this weekend will check with another GP again. Seems like home pressure monitor maynot be so accurate.

babyhopeful, yea..i was hopping i can don't take the BP med that Dr Loh prescribed me....will have my pressure taken again this weekend with a GP. If really high, guess have to take the med

gan
not really an operation...its a simple procedure call mammotome... no need GA... just regional.. 10mins procedure to suck out the lump... can do it at the clinic... i did this before many years back... cos if i bf after i deliver..cannot do this procedure so dr suggest to do it before i deliver.... cos pregnancy or breastfeeding my enlarge the lump further...
but i still abit scare lah...

gan
how come u say home bp monitor is not accurate? cos my gynea clinic reader is also like the one at my home type... its those electronic not those traditional pump type...
bp reading always higher during dr visit cos we abit anxious.... home reading more accurate i think... but of cos those traditional pump type may be more accurate than the electronic type...

gals
do u gals have yr breast checked during pregnancy to check for lumps that may be trigger due to pregnancy?