IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

baby, i do self checks at home leh...i suppose so long as dun feel anything abnormal, no need to go doctor....

if ur doctor says its better to remove since u r breastfeeding, and no risks involved in doing it now...then shld b ok?

Baby
Is it painful w/o GA? I dun check my breasts at home, the last time gynae checked it at beginning of second tri. Do i need to check at home? Or must ask gynae check?

baby/panda/nancy
actually my gynea also never ask about checking my breast...maybe cos he knows i have my own breast specialist dr for my routine checkup...

i usually dont perform self check cos i dont know how to... and cos our breast are dense due to our young age..its hard to feel lumps... so i go to dr for ultrasound test....

but i know most gynea do perform breast examinations but only use hand...not ultrasound... ultrasound more accurate...

my lump removal will use local anesthesia.. so wont feel pain...

Gan,

The stand does not come with wheels. Huh how come home take bp n clinic taken bp is so diff? But doc did say may due to ur headache. Continue to monitor closely .

fashion
how many weeks are u on yr date of c sect?
by how many weeks yr bbs cross the 2kg mark?
i thought for total previa it is compulsory c sect as the placenta covers the cervix cant do natural?

cos i also have total previa so i wana know by how many weeks will bbs reach 2kg mark...thanks!

Pandawife
Most likely will get the convertible cot from baby kingdom u bought. Can the cot be pushed out the room door? Did u upgrade the mattress or make do with the 4" mattress that comes with it?

I already have a bedding set as a gift not sure if i dun want the free bedding will they give me discount?

nancy,

the cot can fit thru the door nicely..BUT..the corridor leading to my bedrooms quite narrow..so hb has to invert the cot in vertical position to fit the cot into the room... so it depends on the space u hv outside the room.....

i upgraded the mattress to foam one with holes.. add $20...the free one n upgraded one both 4inches... most of my frens who bought this cot only upgraded to the one with holes.. and change the mattress to a thicker one when they convert to toddler bed...

one bedding set enuff? i took the one tht comes w the set..and bought 1 as spare...

for the 1st mth, we will put one cot in my room, and one cot in bb room.. hb says in case i m too tired, put them in bb room.. let my parents n mil help do the feeding.....

Baby,
The Infant Fair is at all metro outlets from 1-10 Oct. The cot comes with a free 2-inch mattress. Seems like for the same price, the bundle at Tangs is better cos it comes with a 4-inch mattress and a travel bed. But I think you will hardly use the travel bed cos it's just a foldable mattress with netting on top.

Gan,
Happy shopping this weekend! Too bad I can't go shopping anymore. I can only do online shopping at home now. Why are you not sleeping well at night? Stressed at work? Try to relax as stress can increase your blood pressure.

Shopping spree,
you we may be ward neighbours later. Then I can go and visit you and your baby

pandawife
Thanks for the info
Good idea to have a spare bedding...Hee

I like the oak colour. Now at $319 and at $339 to upgrade the mattress. Yours was bought before price increase

I plan to buy the cot, one playpen and a single bed for the nursery. So far only narrow down the cot....So many things havent buy yet....Already low energy.

Hi girls, its been a long day today. I went for my oGTT test this morning, had to wait 3 hours to test the blood and urine 3 times. Aiyoh, not good leh... I have borderline gestational diabetes

Doctor said its common especially with multiples, and not to worry... but of course I do worry, especially after reading up on GD. Now I have to do the blood test at home, and then next week I need to see an endocrinologist which Dr Cheng recommended me to. He will help with my dietary changes.

Anyone here had GD during pregnancy... any tips/advice would be appreciated. thanks!

Other than that, bbs doing fine. Dr Cheng did not measure the weight though, he said that more importantly is can see that they are very active. He also measured fundus height, 26-27 cm, which seems normal given Im 23 weeks now. Next appt is in 3 weeks time, that's when he will start tracking their weights. He also said he will be doing more scans frm next appt onwards.

nancy..yeah..spare bedding set to change when u need to wash...

i din know price will really increase..hehe..if not i will buy 3 sets! hahaah...

i hv 3 playpens tht we wanna put in the play corner in the living room... managed to get 2 handmedown from frens and 1 new as gift..

how many weeks r u now? i oso start to feel tired alot.. previously no need nap in the afternoon.. this week i hav been napping everyday....

working wife
borderline GD? what does it means? means u have GD or higher risk of getting GD?
yr test is urine and BT after fasting...then after that drink a glucose drink and wait for 2 hrs later to retake BT and urine right? I also had this test when i was abt 20 weeks...

my dr says if got risk of GD must cut down on carbo like rice and bread... and also sugary food like soft drinks, choc, cakes etc...

GD also makes bb bigger in size... so maybe now u try to alter yr diet... maybe by next GD test, results may return to normal...

dont worry too much ok... i think singapoh also have GD, she also have twins... she and bbs are both fine...

Working Wife
Did u request for the OGTT test? I am in my 27 weeks and dr cheng did not ask me do any OGTT except for the usual urine test at every visit.

Were u asked to buy the glucose testing kit for home use? Ya, can understand we will sure be worried but need to control diet. Avoid fruits like durian, grapes and banana that is high in glucose

Baby - my reading is slightly higher than normal so considered gestional diabetes. But Doc wants me to test at home under normal eating circumstances first before deriving further diagnosis. Yeah, need to change eating habit. I don't mind lah, anything for my bbs... as long as they are healthy and safe.

Yes, its the glucose drink test. The doc could also tell by comparing to my previous urine tests that this is something which just developed very recently so in a way, detected it early.

Singapoh - you had GD during yr twin pregnancy?

singapoh... i not a napping person..hahaa.. makes me feel very lethagic now tht i hv to nap leh... not my normal self....

but i suppose its a luxury now...LOL... when babies are out, i will be sleep deprived!

Nancy - Dr Cheng ordered this test at my last visit. He said that normally multiples have higher risk so maybe that's why he ordered it. Or maybe he saw my levels already looking high? Why don't you call him to ask him?

Yeah, need to cut down. My one weakness now is dessert ie ice-cream, cake. For fruits, I stick to kiwi, apple, orange, plums, peach. I usually drink only plain water. Let's see what the dietician says.

working wife
what is yr reading? mine is abt 4.2...
i believe by changing diet.. GD can be managed... its quite common to have GD during pregnancy...esp with multiples.... so u dont worry ok...

during my last urine test... dr mention i have some protein detected... but he didnt say anything further... i also never ask... also dont know what does protein in urine means....

pandawife
Wow u got 3 playpens all ready, need a lot of space hee......I am looking for a playpen with the bassinet which i plan to use as changing table.

I am in my 27 weeks and feel breathless when i climb stairs too fast. Must do slowly. I have yet to need pm naps as i sleep 12 hrs waking up at 12pm. Actually my tummy not very big yet low enenrgy.

When u moving to ur mum's place?

nancy.. yeah.. its fairly easy to get pre loved playpens..coz most babies outgrown them before they reach 2 yrs old...the two sets i got, both very new..just need to buy the mattress....

wah.. u climb stairs? i avoided stairs since preggie.. hb will find means n ways so tht i dun need to use stairs... i hv to walk super duper slow... i cannot sleep 12 hrs ...very uncomfortable ..coz bodyaches everywhere...

i will go to my mum's house during day time from 28wks... hb will send me there in the morning, n fetch me in the evening...

my mum see my tummy so big, has been nagging me to go over to her place earlier... told her to wait 3 more weeks....

nancy, i oso never do GD test leh... just the usual urine tests.. n since results are normal, no need to do GD test...

i did ask my doc about this...he says he will only order for GD test when the urine tests shows abnormality...

Working wife
My appt is next week and will ask dr cheng if i need to do the test. Thanks. He has never told me abt the urine test results and i also didnt ask. I have 2 mummies in my childbirth class with GD and they are expecting singleton.

Pandawife
No choice cause my unit has no lift landing. Need to climb 2 levels up everytime i go out. One time i climb at my normal speed like b4 pregnant upon reaching my house, i almost fainted. The whole house was spinning, sweating like crazy and panting for air. My hubbby was terrified.

Oh u going ur mum place only day time? I plan to camp at my mum's place( got lift landing hee) once i cant take the stairs anymore
So i need to get all the things ready soon My hubby is not those shopping kind. Ask him go and buy sure buy wrong things back...

nancy, aiyoh..then u shld be going to ur mum's place soon!

i go only day time..coz hb feels more comfortable in our own place... and we hv not washed n packed the bb things yet.. so he will need to help me with tht at night/wkends...

my hb oso not the shopping kind, so i bought like a sample of everything.. n kept all the packaging..so if need to top up supplies, he can just bring the packaging to the shop!

of coz big items like cots, furniture..cannot depend on him too..keke.. thts y we bought the cots super early in July...

u going bb hypermart to buy the infant car seats?
i spoke to a few frens.. most of them only use the car seats when baby are 2-3 mths old..

Baby,

Im 33 week now. The last appt my bb weight is 1.8kg. About 37 week to my csect date.

ya placenta previa 100% csect no way natural unless placenta move up.

I think for placenta previa, ur gynae will have a close monitoring of your placenta during every appt.

Baby, remember not to walk or move too much to prevent contraction and bleeding.

If possible bedrest more. I have been on house arrest since week 27. Most likely will be bedrest till i deliver in early oct.

Pandawife
Actually good idea to go to my mum only day time but i still need to climb stairs when back at night. What's more, i want my hubby to be with me for the next 10 weeks to "feel" the pregnancy . If i go mum's place, he may just pop by 2-3 times a week and leave for our home.

Ya thanks for the tip abt keeping the packaging for the disposables. Why didnt i think of that? hee....

Infant car seat
Still considering, most likely we are not going to bring the babies out the initial months. Even if we are going out, we need help from family members since we dun have a maid. From hospital to home, my mum and MIL can help carry the twins back.
When they are older then can buy those car seat 4 months and above. Mostly likely KIV the infant car seat.

nancy, i tink better for u to be at ur mum's later part of pregnancy...dun climb stairs.. not gd for the knees also with a heavy tummy.....

ur hb not staying there with u? if i go stay overnight at my mum, i will "force" hb to camp with me too! haha. i need "help" to get out of bed for toilet trips....hee...

the keep packaging idea came from my hb..keke.. he says buy a sample..coz everytime we go kiddy palace look at bb things, he feels very lost...hahaha...

oohh..u shld b starting on the med to relax the uterus soon right? i read tht usually doc will prescribe tht from 28-30weeks...

working wife, i m so tempted to go tomorrow..but cannot walk much..need to conserve the energy for class at night...

baby
how did u discover the breast lump? u went for rountine chkup? our gynae dont chk tat for us right?

do u know why we are getting backache? wow today i suddenly kena backache,suddenly whole body feel aching, came all of a sudden. do u know we can do to reduce backache?

Fashion
For total previa its unlikely it will move up... So u r right to say minimise movement at later stage.. In fact, now i already feel uncomfy walking too much... Now im 25 weeks..
I will quickly settle my shopping very soon... Then will rest more at home...
Do u really lie on the bed whole day?

Happyhippo
Cos i always go for my routine check up... So it is pick up during my routine ultrasound.. In fact my dr always do hand examination before ultrasound and always dont feel the lump... Is always pick up during ultrasound..

Pandawife
My hubby dun feel comfortable staying at my mum's. Sigh....
Starting the jab to improve babies lungs and med to relax uterus soon. Cant remember it's week 28 or 30. From week 28, seeing dr twice a week
I think u started the jab some time already right?

Week 32 has another detailed scan at level 4.

I am already counting down...10 more weeks

Happyhippo
Backache partly cause of the weight we are carrying plus our expanding body. My backache was quite bad initially till I do the exercises taught at childbirth class. Are u attending any class? If not there are books that show u what to do to relieve backache.

nancy, my hb too.. not comfortable stay at my mum's... maybe its a guy's thing...

i m on jab to relax uterus.. but not improve bb lungs.. my gynae says the jab to improve bb lungs works within 24 hrs..he will only prescribe when there is a need...

but come 28 weeks..he will giv me oral med to relax uterus too...

very fast leh! i hv 12 more weeks... hb ask me to hv my hospital bag packed by wk28... standby for emergency..*touchwood*...

Pandawife
U also feel it's very fast
I am not alone hee....although I am not working time passes fast. Thinking in 10 weeks' time my life will change.

For years only me and my hubby. Then it's going to be family of 4 soon
For u more overwhelming, from 2 to family of 5

My friend already asking me how to celebrate baby first month. Have u made plans?

Nancy..yeah! Time flies...feels like just bfp not too long ago
..... Hahaha...u r right..I was telling hb next time go out for meals hv to ask for table for 5!

First mth party i will leave it to hb n mum to organize..hb says just hv to giv him my guest list.. My mum will help arrange catering. We will hv it at my hse...to avoid the hassle of having to bring the babies out...

Baby,

After the last admitted to hospital really scare me. Most of the time I lie on the bed. But walking compound also within my hse. I didn't go out at all unless hospital appt.

Try to get all ur bb stuff by tri 2. If not if kanna house arrest like me can't shop at all. Lucky thing is that all my bb stuff already settle in tri 2 . Now can bedrest at ease.

Toward end of tri 2 u will feel more pain as bb is heavier n pressing on ur placenta . Make it more tired n painful for u to walk .

Hello everyone! I just bfp from ivf. Can i join all of you here? I am probably one of the "youngest" in terms of weeks. M waiting for next week before I can see bb 1st scan.

Hello Grumpus!!

Baby -- I too found a lump in my breast recently. It has been there for a while but doc says was ok. But now i felt like it is growing. I previously have a breast specialist doc and also undergone a minor op to remove one lump (size like a fish ball). Now, i m thinking if i shld go for my 1st scan of BB, then let DR SF loh know and see what he says, or shld just go straight to breast specialist doc. I also want to be able to breast feed smoothly. Anyone can advise?

Fashion
Ya yr experience also scare me...
Even now im at 25 weeks.. I already starts to feel discomfort in walking.. I got to support my belly when i walk even when wearing support belt..
I will settle everything by this wkend if possible.. I will settle the baby cot tml.. Then i will left with packing and washing...

But lying on bed whole day also quite tiring and aching esp on the back..

But u can tahan till 37 weeks to c sect encourages me.. Cos i really scare to deliver before that... I hope i can deliver full term...

Yr dr is dr loh frm kkh? Did he give u med or injection to relax uterus? My gynea says no need...

Goofie
U can check with dr loh first...
I also removed breast lumps before... And this lump has been there for years.. But it grew in size probably due to pregnancy so my breast dr advise me to remove it before delivery since i wanted to bf... Cos if bf.. He cant remove the lump...
I read frm the web that existing breast lump will enlarge during pregnancy...

How do u know yr lump has grew? U feel with yr hands?
Maybe u should get it reviewed by yr usual breast specialist.. And see what he/she advise... How many weeks are u now? I believe dr will not perform removal during first 3 mths of pregnancy...

baby, i m also closing shop with shopping. the rest of the items, i m sending hb to the shops..not best of choice, but better than i hv to waddle around with a big tummy! hahahaha.. my mum everyday call n remind me not to go out..esp crowded places etc etc....

there are different type of bedrest leh.. not necessary to be lying in bed.. u should discuss with ur doctor whats best for now..

in fact, dr paul ask me to continue life as per normal ! but i cannot sustain the energy already.... this morning after bf, suddenly felt giddy and had to go lie in bed...n the whole time, my babies were making tsunami waves in my tummy!

Panda
Ya now i can really feel the weight and pressure of my belly if i stand up too long or walk too much...
I only left cot to buy... The rest are small items like maternity pads, hangers etc..
Do u feel breathless? I do sometimes.. Feel so uncomfy..
Now even lying on my sides can give me body aches.. Somemore of the sore boobs.. Makes my whole body aching..
And i have leg cramp these two days...

Yr cot has been installed liao? Its ok that we are at home when the installation takes place right? As long as we not in the same room when the cot is being installed right?

Baby,
Yes my doc is dr loh from kkh. He prescribe me with progesterone to be taken every night n another medicine if I have bad contraction can use the pill to stop it.

Ya now my tummy also very big , walk a little bit feel tired already.

Pandawife,
I carry singleton already so big, I wonder how u can cope with ur triplets in ur tummy. Must be very tough.

Goofie,

Congrats on ur bfp.

baby,

i dun really feel breathless alot.. coz i walk very slowly.. i remember the time i felt unwell n breathless was when my red blood count was low.. now everyday i pop my iron tablets faithfully....

yeah.. lying on sides or back, all uncomfortable..if u can, try to hav more cushions/pillows and get ur body at about 45% half lying.. i find tht position the least uncomfortable...

i get hb to rub my calves and feet everynight before i sleep.. and make sure the legs are covered ... so far no more cramps....

yup.. all the furniture in bb room fixed up.. i was "hiding" in my bedroom while all the action was taking place.... for us, cannot wait until later... hv to prepare in advance..so no choice really....

fashion spree.. i m only 25 weeks now.. i cannot imagine wht size my tummy will be when i m 30+ weeks!

everybody says i look like going to pop size now... hv to tahan 12 more weeks... i tell babies mummy will endure.. they must also be guai and enjoy themselves in there until week 37! hahahaha.....

Baby - I went to Robinsons today, got quite a lot of bb clothing cuz its 20%+20% off. Also got the other odds and ends like breast pads, detergent, baby shampoo & wash etc cuz I have vouchers.

Tangs saleslady called me today, said the fibrelux and latex mattress sample is there already, can go and see anytime. Maybe I'll go during the week... tomorrow must stay at home and do 7 step blood test whole day

Working wife,

I had GD for twins. Was on the high side. I had to follow a strict diet since 20 weeks. It was a healthy pregnancy coz I had to watch what I ate. Keep yourself active after each main meal. I didn't even need bedrest at all.