IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Sorry, just woke up from my nap.... getting tired easily. Super grouchy today.

Nancy, yeap, $199 include the 4" foam mattress. I didnt upgrade to latex as i intend to put this 4" mattress at my mum's place. My helper and baby gal will hardly stay over there, only occasionally when both hubby and i need to be out the whole day to "work" or run errands.

I saw a few 24 by 48 children mattress in ikea... prices are reasonable. from $20 - $90. I will buy more mattress there.

Just faith
Thanks for the cot info
Will check it out. Still considering if i should get one can convert to toddler bed or a normal size cot.

My bedroom has not much space to put the bigger conversion cot if babies were to sleep with me after confinement period. Dun know what to expect

juz came back from my week 34 checkup. I gained around 200g despite of 2 buffets for the past 2 weeks. Gynea did not measure d weight of babies, only check d heartbeat n blood flow. Isit norm to have little weight gain at this time? Anyway my gynea asked me if I can tahan for 3 more weeks so I suppose I will deliver around 3 weeks time if nothing goes wrong ba.

pandawife,

I'm still working. Planning to tell my boss to find someone to take over my duties soon so that I can clear my leave by end Sept. Still need time to pack my things..

Just faith: I think the miss out the important details about the cit which you share.
Do you mind sharing with me where did you get the cot, mattress and the padding?

Just faith
I went kiddy palace to chk out their latex mattress.. I find its as soft as the foam mattress le.. And its v exp.. $200 for one.. So i will just stick with the foam one..

Initially i tot latex are harder.. But no le.. Its still soft..
Maybe i go chk out ikea mattress.. Also chk out their drawers to put my bb clothes..

Hi mums,
Will ginseng affect bm supply or it's not safe for breastfeeding? My mil bought alot for me but somehow i kinda feel my bm supply going down but not sure if it's due to that.

bakaholic, we were told during the class by mrs wong to take minimal ginseng during confinement... but she did not mention if it will affect bm supply.

Thanks pandawife,
I think i will stop for a while and monitor. I didn't want to take any herbal stuff but becos my mil went to buy for me and it's was ex, i paisay so i have to take it.

Skies
U are doing very well
Dr cheng also told me to hang on till 37 weeks if i can although i only 25 weeks now.

Have u got all the baby stuff? Discussed the delivery mode? Kudos to u still able to go to work. Cheers

baby, she told us the good ginseng to take is wild ginseng leh...which is rarely available here.... those tht we normally buy best to minimise taking... cant remember if she mentioned the reason.......

and also alcohol ...to minimise if breastfeeding.. told us one CL put so much alcohol in the tonic for a mummy tht the poor lady got alcohol intoxication and was hospitalised.

Nancy,
Yeah both vaginal birth and c-section sound painful to me. And I'm quite scared to be put on the operating theatre. But it seems that c-section is not as painful as the labour pain afterall. Well, like what u said, we'll probably be too engrossed in receiving the little precious ones and will be able to bear any pain.
Try to get the essential items earlier so that you can rest more in 3rd Tri. I'm glad that I started buying early cos I'm really clumsy with the big tummy now.

Working wife,
Yes I told myself we can do it, especially we have gone thru so much to conceive. ;)

BB rabbit,
Your maid sounds really horrible. My maid agency is not too bad. I can pm you if you want the contact.

Skies,
Wow! You are carrying twins and still can continue to work at 34 weeks and even a few more weeks? I'm finding it quite tough to move around now and will probably start to rest at home from 33weeks onwards. Are u having vaginal delivery or C-section?

Vi4n,
You are right! Mother must be happy so that baby can be happy and won't fuss so much. I shall learn more from you..haha..

Panda
Did mrs wong say we can eat alcohol confinement food if we bf? I heard the alcohol content will be evaporated after cooking.. And also bf 2hrs after eating..

Also heard cannot eat too much ginger if u bfing.. And first week cant eat chicken if c sect..

Avoid Ginger n alcohol if bb has jaundice. Best is not to take if u can convince ur mum or mil if they r doing confinement for u

U gals all sleep so early... Once hit abt 10pm.. No one post here.. Im still wide awake now.. Hard to fall asleep nowadays.. :p

Baby,

I went kiddy palace to check out their mattresses before. Ya, their latex matttress is really ex and disappointing. Somemore the quality like so-so. So far, I have not bought any stuff from Kiddy Palace before.

I was at Ikea just now. Bought a mid-price 24 by 48 mattress @ $69. Think Ikea's latex costs around $169. I find both not much different in terms of quality. But definitely better than the 4" FOC mattress given by tangs.. LOL. Also bought the following and price as follows :

* Bumper (col : white) $15 (another design is $25)
* fitted bedsheet (pack of 2) $12
* Hangers (pack of 8) $1.80

Nancy, forgot to answer yr the other question. Yes, I ordered from Tangs and instruct them to deliver in December. Hope I dun lose the receipt by then.

Pink-D, I have placed order for white baby cot 24" by 48" at tangs during their 1 day sale this month. They are still selling at $199 now. It comes with the cot, 4" foam mattress and travel bed. Think this is the smallest I can find locally. The baby cot can definitely fit between doors, as there are times when I may wheel the bed between my room and baby's room, depending on who she will be sleeping with for the night.

Over at supplier website, it is selling at $269 (includes 4 " Foam Mattress, Fan Fan Musical Mobile, 7pcs Bedding Set - Consist of Fitted Sheet, Pillow, Pillow Case, 2 x Bolster, 2 x Bolster case.

Here's the link :

http://www.palmax.biz/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=126

Baby,

She shared with us that if bf, best to avoid alcohol..no mentioned of cooked or not. If really want to, have small amounts of it at night before bedtime...

Go easy on the ginger too.... can take, but not in massive amounts of it...

You can make a list of qns, and ask her when u go for class

I also have problems sleeping...the side bones aching so much.. but now i m hungry.. wide awake after taking a cup of milk.

hello ladies, morning..
Hubby was saying we need to buy perforated mattress...aids baby to breathe and lessen risks of suffocation...
Did you buy such mattresses?

Just faith: thanks for the info!

Skies,

good to hear that you're doing well! Wow... 34 weeks and still working! Really admire you! Did you discuss with Dr Cheng on whether to go natural or c-sect yet?

Singapoh, Panda

the breast pump that you're using/bought, is it single or dual? I am wondering if we should get dual breast pump or just single would do? I saw in the papers that Avent has sale in most major stores now till 30 Sept. But they only advertised the single pump.

Btw, anyone felt BH contractions before? Sometimes I feel a tightening at my abdomen area... not sure if that is it? Is it just tightening, or will it be like tighten then loosen, tighten then loosen, like how contractions should be?

Just faith
U also sleep late like me...

I didnt know ikea sells bumper as well... Shall go chk it out soon... U went to the tampines outlet? Is it at the kids section? The hangers is for baby clothes type?

Singapoh
Did u separate the timing when u eat alcohol food and breastfeeding? Or since the alcohol evaporated after 10mins of cooking, we can bf after we eat?

Just faith,
The cot you bought looks good. Can the Ikea mattress fit nicely? Cos I know there only one standard size for their cot mattress and it can't fit many cots.

working wife,

I'm still thinking if I want to go for natural/ C- sect.

My concern is I'm scared won't have energy to push d 2nd bb out n have to go for emergency c- sect (Will I have to pay more?). As for C- sect, d recovery time is slower and according to my MIL cant eat too much ginger and chicken for d 1st week.. How ah?? I think I have to discuss d birth plans next week le.

Dont admire me of still being able to work at this timing now. I hate to be at home esp alone. I juz dont like d feeling of waiting at home.. Hahaha... I will have my lz days too. Now trying to clear as much as possible.

Working wife,

height is adjustable. Think there are total 3 heights if I recall correctly. I didn't ask can sleep until how many years old. In ikea, 24 by 48 is a common size. Can even buy quilt cover to match with. So I guess for toddlers age, should not be a problem.

I felt "cobtractions" at 21/22 weeks. In kk when you are 22 weeks preggy, u will be treated at delivery suite. Sounds scary. So I waited till the following morning to see dr loh. He said the pain I experienced the night before could be "early contractions" which is no good or just ligaments pain. He peescribed utrogeston 2 times daily, 2 months supply. So far, the pain din come back again. Or else I hv to report at delivery suite straightaway.

Ya, got all the stuff from tampines kids outlet. Try not to go on weekends, it is very crowded. Ya, the hangers for kids. Bought 4 pkts of hangers. Hehehe. Cos aft washing, helper will iron nicely n hang in her new wardrobe. Looking fwd to her arrival. But for mattress protector and mattress, u hv to self pick up. You better decide quickly on the baby cot size, easier to move fwd from there.

Have you decide on the pump already? I m buying some stuff online. Will consolidate my orders n deliver via vpost.

Bing, it should fit nicely since it was a 24 by 48 size. Before deciding on the cot, we also went ard to chk if 25 by 48 is a common size.

I didn't eat chix throughout my confinement cos i am allergic to it since teenager. It's ok not to eat cos you can still get your "bu" from meat like fish, pork.

Skies,
I find c-sect recovery is slow. I am almost at the end of my confinement but sometimes still feel the pain if i walk too fast. The first few days was bad and had to be on painkillers and can still feel the pain. Movement is bad and i can't carry my baby for first few days.
If possible, just go for natural.

Only good thing is that if constipation, it woudn't hurt the bottom.

tickles, i woke up at 4am...felt hungry..and also side bone pain..cannot go back to sleep after tht...

so at 7am, i went to the nearby polyclinic to get my referral for going KKH... until now still wide awake.. tink i m turning into panda soon...LOL....

workingwife, i bought the dual one. save time leh... n the hassle tht one side will leak if single pump....

smtimes i also feel tht my tummy v tight leh... i asked dr paul, he says most likely its becoz after meals, intestine is packed..esp if constipated as well..... so will experience tightness in the tummy.....

i know mine is not contractions coz i m on regular jabs now....

Mummies staying at home, Channel 832 showing a Taiwanese repeated show. Today's topic on ivf. 3 couples sharing their experiences.

Saw on papers there is promo on avent bp.. Featured single electronic pump.. Not sure if there is promo on dual pump..
Maybe later i go chk it out at bhg bishan...

Btw, panda... Saw on today papers ob.. I saw dr paul tseng name.. His mother passed away.. I dont know whether is it yr gynea not...

baby, u read ob page too? haha.. hmm.. i oso dunno if its him.. next week i ask the nurse at CARE...my next appt to see him is next Friday...

u hav a checkup this week right?

Panda
Ya i usually will glance thru the ob section.. Cos the ad v big and saw alot of dr names.. So i pay more attention to it..

My next appt is on 20th.. Monday.. Will be abt 24 weeks by then.. Btw, how many weeks is 3rd tri?

3rd tri shld be from 28 weeks i tink.....

ooohh... family of doctors... sounds like its Dr Paul... coz his brother also Dr...

working wife.. i m on proluton jabs..which is suppose to relax the uterus... so tht i dun hv cramps/contractions..

i m jabbing at CARE...2x a week... Dr Paul says from 24wks onwards, he will prescribe me oral med for the same purpose....

Panda - oh I see... for me, I stopped the proluton jabs after first trimester. Wonder why there is a different protocol.

Skies, Nancy - are you on any jabs or special meds from Dr Cheng (before wk 28)?

working wife,

the jabs are not must have... dr paul told me i can stop the jabs during the last appt...

however, angela says its better to continue.... most of her patients who faithfully did the jabs thru out... were able to carry their triplets full term... so i guai guai listen to her...