IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

tickles, yeah lor.. my mum n her sisters..everyday talk on phone to gossip abt tht cousin's wife confinement behaviour......

but i tink when its my turn, she dun hv time to talk to them! coz 3 babies to keep her busy..hahahahaahah.....

i will call for get together w mum n mil before dec... n tell them what r the do's n dont's... so tht can reduce the conflicts n stress during confinement...

now everytime my mum accompany me for my jabs.. angela tells her during my confinement, dont stress me, n must let me hv plenty of rest.. i will bring my mil go see angela too.. so tht she can help me convey message too :p

Prayhard,
Wahaha~ So cute leh. But i know la.. when the craving comes, u'll feel that u die die must eat it de lor.. keke~ When I had my #1, I rem I dreamt of rojak and woke up craving for it. Then my hub slp and slp like a pig. refuse to wake up from his afternoon nap and go buy for me. Then I was so pek cek that I sat in the room and cried. And when I finally gt my rojak, I dun feel like eating le. Then he say i attitude..

Panda,
Then now ur hub still eating those that u dun wanna eat? keke~ Pregnant Dad~ Saw that u tested ur pump arh? I hope u didnt test on your breast leh. It will cause your tummy to contract de leh.. No good u kn.. My #1, I didnt kn, i tested on my breast. Then my cousin scolded me and tell me cannot. Then I know. Lucky nothing happen.

tickles, no no..i tested on my thighs! hahahaah....

now my appetite is more "normal" haha.. i dun really crave for much foods liao.. i try to eat healthy...so tht babies get the nutrients n i dun put on too much weight.....

the only challenge i hv now is drinking water...dun like room temp plain water..everyday hv to force myself to drink.....:S

hb no more pregnant...after 1st tri, he stopped eating my food, n went jogging to lose the tummy!hahahaah...

Tickles,

Ya lor...I am now staring at the prawn crackers & dun feel like having it anymore...

I like fried chicken wings leh...I have craving when I just BFP...but recently when I think of fried chicken wings I feel very oily and dun feel like having them anymore leh...

Panda,
erm.. with all the sisters talk this talk that.. also difficult. During confinement just tell them straight, Don't stress me! Luckily my mom and MIL is those open minded one. Never restrict me this and that. Only that 1st 10 days my mom insist that I cannot bath. Then after that every few days then can wash hair. But I kinda understand what she meant. Cos I dunno why, everytime I wash my head, I 'll get a very bad headache for the rest of the day. Very terrible de lor. So I hope this time round I can be more guai on washing hair. Maybe my CL can show me some light on washing hair with special stuff in the water.. Cos that time I was allegic to the herbs then cannot bath with it. I only bath with hot water only.

tickles, my hairdresser taught me a way to maintain hair hygenie n comfort during confinement..

she says go n buy some very fine bandages and a wooden comb.. then put the bandage thru the comb..n use it to comb ur hair n scalp everyday.. the bandage will pick up the oil and sweat from our scalp.. she says her customer followed her instructions... 1 mth never wash hair.. n immediate after confinement, go to her salon for her 1st hair wash... no smell no oil...very clean ...

did u blow dry ur hair after washing tht time huh?

prayhard.. appetite will change drastically during pregnancy...... hehe.. it is also possible tht u will suddenly like or crave for things tht u never wanna eat before!

for me, most of the things tht i used to like, now i cannot eat leh..makes me sick....with the exception of potatos n chicken wings...... i cannot even take any form of chinese soups!

Panda
V chim leh... How to wrap bandage in the comb?? Haha...
I think wash hair must blow dry.. Else can get head wind??

My mum cooking barley fuzhu with chestnut dessert for me.. She say eat this often bbs will have v good complexion.. All my aunties swear by it! At first i scare barley too cooling.. But my mum say its not v cooling.. Somemore now later stage in pregnancy must eat some cool things.. Else body gets too heaty and warm.. No good...

Vi4n,
i didn take beef cos my mum says not good for skin and she scares that my bb will get allergy as i have history of sensitive skin. Tofu is due to the coagulation agent which is cooling so i didn't eat loh.

Bing,
C-sect wound will have a waterproof bandage so can shower as normal. But i did wipe down for 5-6 days cos I was in pain and couldn't really shower. But i didn wash my hair until the 4th day. Cannot take it cos it was oily and flat. Super ugly. Haha..

Working wife,
The pump mrs wong talked about is it "pump in style"? I know is alot heavier and more pwoerful than freestyle. But it's cheaper than freestyle.

baby..the bandage will hv little holes..u poke the spikes of the comb into the holes....so when u comb ur hair...the bandage will "catch" the oil n sweat

Panda,
haha! erm.. ya.. best is just drink plain water so wont take in extra sugar. I also try to do that. Else make fresh fruit juices for urself. Not the packets ones..

Prayhard,
keke~ just leave it there. The cravings will come back de.. Erm, when iBFP, i also feel that fried stuff is disgustig.. Like so much oil like that. My all time fav is still sushi and jap food like soupy ramen.. Yums~

tickles, i can drink alot alot of cold plain water..hahaahhah.. but the room temp one..just cannot stomach leh...:X

i switch to package berries juice liao..coz dr paul says the berries sugars are better n less fattening.. so far so good..coz i m monitoring my weight..... 3weeks, i put on 1.5kg....compared to last mth, put on 6kg..keke....

Tickles,
after u wash hair must hide in the room blow dry before going outside, dun let the wind blow yr wet hair.
my great grandma swears by rubbing brandy on yr scalp after washing hair, she says most impt is must keep the head warm. she lived till 100yrs old so maybe she knows what she's talking abt :p

Panda,
wa.. okok.. must try...

bakaholic,
Oh.. Its pump in style.. I heard that one suction very strong wor. Pain pain.. keke~

Baby,
Barley with fuzhu arh.. erm.. can eat at later stage of pregnancy. Me now 27 weeks can eat? Maybe I can start eating liao. Want my girl to have good complexion..
I think as long as eat in moderation should be ok. I have been drinking birdnest too.. That time when preggie with #1, I drink it almost daily. Then now, everyone will ask me is it I drink a lot of birdnest when preggie cos my girl very fair.. I guess it helps..

Prayhard, u can call up n change ur next appointment to TPS or tell the nurse to book TPS at next visit for subsequent appointments.

KKH AMC wun tell u hb rates or EDD at first scan. Too early. In your next visit, scan is in dr loh's room. He will give u a photo, on it, u can see ur bb CRL measurement n he will tell u ur EDD too. As pregnancy is deemed more stable.

You will also be converted to O&G case next visit, given the blue booklet to track all ur visits n checks. Dr loh will write ur edd in that book too. You will be asked to go ADC to book your oscars tests.

Panda,
haha! ya.. better control abit by eating healthy. else later gain too much. I have not weigh myself yet. Hopefully my weight gain is alright..

Grumpus,
I did leh. I come out of the bathroom, immediately blow dry my hair le. But after that cfm still headache de. Dunno why also. Never wash hair, no prob, wash hair, cfm headache.. so I think really gt wind inside.

PandaWife & Tickles,

In the past, I take Dr Zou's medicines very faithfully and I am ok with chinese medicines leh...but now, when I think of drinking Dr Zou's medicines, I feel like vomiting...

prayhard.. u taking an tai med from Dr Zou?

Tickles..yeah..i super healthy now..hahaah.. no more white rice...change all to brown rice.. n bread also wholemeal.. n every morning bf is either oatmeal or wholemeal cereals! LOL.never eat so healthy in my life b4......

i m oso taking birdnest every morning now... hopeing tht the babies come out have nice nice complexion.. coz hor, the birdnest is not working on me..LOL.. so far i never see my complexion improve :p

PandaWife,

I think your babies are absorbing your bird's nest.... I still put on less than 2kg so far..... Doctor says baby absorbing well...

Prayhard,

Waiting time at TPS is shorter. So far, my waiting time is not more than 30mins.. But Gan has different experience there.

TPS waiting area is more cosy. Like hotel lobby... also serve hot beverages like milo etc.

Of cos, charges are slightly more ex. i think $15 more.. but i think it is worth it. At TPS, they will dispense the medicines/supplements when you are making arrangement to book nx appt. No need to go pharmacy to collect medicine.

Grumpus,
erm.. will be pain pain or not? keke~ Later I get drunk from the alcohol sipping into my brains arh... keke~

Panda,
haha! The last time when I was preggie, my comlexion was also very jialat till I cry when I look into the mirror. But this time so far ok.. *touchwood* Nvm la, as long as baby absorbs the protein and gets good complexion can liao.
You really super healthy now leh... Keke~

Tickles
Can lah.. Im only 23 weeks now i already eating leh...

Panda
Haha.. I same as u.. Cant take room temp water.. Even plain water i need ice in it... Love cold desserts.. Anytin that is cold will please me... Dont know is it due to we need to avoid cold tins when we did ivf.. So now its pay back time.. Haha..

babay,
okok... heheh~ now can drink the dessert at my office le.. They at times will cook barley with fu zhu and gingko nuts de. But I very long never eat le..

just faith..wah.. very gd leh! ur weight gain so little...tht means after delivery.... u will go back to ur original size very soon!!!

my total weight gain sure very scary one..hahahaha... the few triplets mummies at CARE all average betw 15-18kg for the entire pregnancy....

my babies very smart..haahah.. absorb the "good" food.. the not gd ones let mummy hv it! hahahahaaha

baby, got one day i buay tahan..i ask hb go buy ice kachang leh!!! LOL..n i ate half the container of it... after tht he scared... so now he buys me healthy sweet treats.. like low fat yogurt ice cream.. yogurt smoothie in different flavours......so tht i dun tink of the ice kachang...:p

tickles..yeah lor.. hv to eat healthy..coz the 6kg last mth freaked me out! hahahaaha....

i had outbreak during 1st tri... but 2nd tri skin back to normal... i dont hv the "pregnancy glow" tht magazines already talk about lor.. haaha.. the only places thts glowing are my stretched tummy n my calves! :p

Just faith,
How many weeks are u in now? 2kg very little le.. So good.. Initially I put on ard 0.3kg every 3 weeks. Then my last visit I suddenly shoot up to puting on 2plus kg in 4 weeks. So total weight gain is now 6kg.. That was 2 weeks ago.. Hopefully this month end when I go for my next visit, I wont get a shock. Aiming to put on a max of 12kg for this pregnancy. Cos my 1st pregnancy put on too much le, then nearly required csect cos baby too big.

PandaWife,

Ya, I am taking Dr Zou's an tai medicines but recently I can't bring myself to drink it leh...I have vomitted out twice after drinking it so far...now, from twice per day, I cut down to once per day...

Btw, can I take bird's nest & "pao sheng" now?

Prayhard, TPS has a much nicer environment than clinic D. Consultation is abt 10 bucks more ex. Blood tests n urine tests r all done there. Medicine also collected there. U only need to go pharmacy if TPS dun hv the medicine.

When u transferred to O&G case next visit, you need to pay first consullation fees again. But subsequent visits will be cheaper already.

Panda,
Haha! I also dun have the pregnancy glow. Some preggie ladies I see pretty pretty de. But i simply look haggard all the time.. Cos very tired ma..

That day I saw Angela at Paragon. She say my tummy very small. But then Dr Tan say my baby weight is above ave. Then angela ask me to cook chix essence to drink leh..

prayhard...

if the an tai med is making u throw up, stop first.. the med can take up to 16weeks...so later when u feel better than continue.....

so long as u r on the support pills from kkh, its alright de.....

i started bird nest from 2nd tri... pao sheng maybe grumpus can share..hee... i din take any other tonic apart from the an tai med and bird nest

Prayhard
dunno abt pao sheng leh. Cos my FIL usually cook the birdnest with rock sugar only. Then will cook alot at one go. Then put cups of it into the fridge then can last for 2-3 days.

PandaWife,

It is good to pamper ourselves with cold stuff sometimes. Just give excuse to hubby that your hubbies asking for it, not you. It usually works for me. Just booked my hubby for lunch at Jack's Place - he is coming over to pick me up later. Good hor? Ask what, got what! hehe.

Prayhard - sorry, i usually read recent posts to older post. Didnt know you have a few questions on TPS. There you go.

1. Suggest that you go ahead with your wed appt nx week. after seeing dr loh, when at cashier/counter, when making arrangements for nx appt, just let the nurse/clerk know you want to see him in TPS moving forward.

2. Frankly, I cant remember exactly when I did my first scan. Was it 6 or 8 weeks? I believe during your nx appt with Dr Loh, as long as there are no scans at AMC, then Dr Loh will scan you. Please remember to ask questions for the things you want to know. Sometimes, our dear Dr Loh is so busy that he forgot these details. Hopefully, by nx wed, your the other baby can catch up and let u listen to his/her heartbeat. Stay positive and must faith.

3. They will issue the pink/blue booklet on your 1st scan. This will replace your pink appt card. It will also reflect your EDD.

Hope these answers helps...

tickles,

i m taking the chix essence once a week lor...coz angela says good calcium supply for the babies.. its abit oily though..even after taking away the layer of oil on top.. n i even ask my mil to remove all the chix skin!

both angie n angela also says my tummy not very big yet..LOL.. compared to the other 2 triplets mtb there...

but to me, i feel like big fat hippo already!

Tickles,
not pain lah, just hv that hot hot feeling. body also can use, u know sometimes during confinement wind blow u suddenly get this chill feeling, all the goosebumps come out? can use brandy to rub on the skin also.

Prayhard,
i took black chicken with cordyceps/pao sheng and bird's nest with pao sheng alternate once a wk since i started ivf.
that's my an tai med...hehee

Jus Faith,

KKH didn't issue me any booklet on my 1st scan leh...I also dun know when is my EDD...wonder is it bcos they are also not sure whether is singleton or twins so nothing for me yet???

Prayhard, it depends on your CSC coverage. But if I m not wrong, consultation charges u can claim. Scans n BTs may not. Anyhow, no harm showing the nurse the card at pt of payment. She will check n u will know.

1st trimester dun anyhow take herbs unless is prescribed by a tcm dr u trust. Pao sheng is American ginseng n is cooling.

Thanks, grumpus.

My dh cooked black chicken with pao sheng for me last Sun..ended up, I was unsure whether can take or not...so he finished off everything..hahaha...

Prayhard, u will get it at next visit. Is the practise at KKH. First scan at 6/7 wks. 2nd scan at 8/9 wks everything ok, u are converted to O&G case n given a booklet with EDD

Baby,

here is the avent dual pump offered by "first few years". website says $699, but if u buy from their shop, it is $599.

Contents can be seen on link below. i also spoke to serene of "first few years". no idea when promo will end. while stocks last.

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BFBP-6

also copy n paste, in case others cannot follow the link.

Includes:
*One Manual pump parts for when power is not available
*Spare parts
*Breast milk container (260 ml/9 oz)
*Four Cool packs
*Two Extra soft, Newborn Flow Nipples
*One Power cord
*Two Teat travel packs
*One ISIS iQ DUO Twin Electronic Breast Pump
*Two Thinsulate carriers
*One Microfiber travel bag

Panda,
Haha! I cant imagine how big u are right now. Cos usually now reach home very tired le. Haven gone in to see fb yet... I rem seeing a triplets mummy at CARE b4.. Super huge..
The essence hor, how u do it? Maybe I teach my maid to do for me. I never cook myself de leh. I always drink bottle ones. Currently taking the EYS one with wolfberries.. Can share the receipe with me and tell me the detailed instructions on how to do it?

Grumpus,
Ya.. I get those chill feeling too. okok.. shall try that when doing my confinement. Thanks for the tip. You also cook soup arh. Share the receipe with me can? Instructions too hor, then I can get my maid to cook for me..