IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Skies,
did u get the 5-tier drawers from the warehouse? do they deliver or u cash and carry?
i only saw at carrefour...think ard $89 also..

Panda
Haha.. Then u soak bah.. Maybe wait for a week then soak.. Let the wound heal abit first..

I also becum v lazy to shop leh.. Till now i hvt buy a single maternity wear yet.. Still surviving on sun dresses.. Scare later bump too big sun dresses cant hide.. But maternity wear v limited and exp.. Somemore not v nice.. Hmm

Congrats Working wife for having a boy and a girl! ;)

I just went for blood supply scan and saw Dr Loh this morning. Waited for 2hr+ cos he had deliveries. He's in good mood today and was joking that he's having many deliveries these 2 days as his patients try to hold on until the lunar 7th month is over before they deliver.

My boy is 1.68kg and girl is 1.6kg at 30 weeks now. Dr Loh is quite pleased with the weights. The girl is in engaged position while the boy is in breech position. The boy has been in breech position with the head at my chest for many weeks. I wonder whether he'll still turn around. Anyway, Dr Loh said that if I'm brave enough, I can still go for C-section. I asked him when does he expect me to deliver and he said if everything goes well, he'll probably let me deliver at last week of Oct at 37weeks.

I've put on a total of 18kg so far and feel really clumsy now. I've never been so fat in my life before. To my horror, stretch mark also started to appear at both sides of the tummy near the thigh, the small area below the bump where I miss applying the stretch mark cream. I started to apply the stretch mark cream really deligently now.

baby...i bought a pair of white berms from mum en vouge or smthing...at centerpoint..after discount abt $42...bursting the bottoms tht my gf pass to me... n her tops v soon will b too short as well.....i wish i can go out in karmy pjs! hahahahaha

bing..thts gd news! glad ur little ones r growing well...today is happy day....good updates from u n working wife

skies...at least u r in 3rd tri already.....i m like too early to b this lazy n handicap..haha..i told hb if k ask dr if we can b eligible for handicap car label...hahahahahaa

baby,
yah i really felt like bath already like never bath. cos we're too use to using fresh water to rinse off after soaping and all that. so the herbs water feel like soap never wash off clean like that.
but once dry off is ok lah, the skin doesn't feel slimy anymore.

panda,

But you are carrying triplets!! One more bb..

My coll kept telling me not to keep sitting down n I juz looked at them n continue sitting.. Hehehe

Panda, u can use rice wine instead of herbs for shower. Mix it with warm water n shower. I used that n no yucky stcky feeling from that of herbs. Though rice wine cost more but it saves lots of work n very clean. Can get them at medical shop.

grumpus - thanks, i know i shouldn't wish for MS cos with the spotting it has made me sort of down. I naturally want to seek any other form of assurance (strong MS) to signal that my preg is ok...

I'm feeling cold .. esp when bathing (using warm-hot water) i didn't feel so cold before ... is this one of the preg symptom ?

hi Skies - well, doctor said that as this point, the difference is still acceptable. More importantly is that the baby's weight is within normal range and is active and has enough amnio fluid. But if the difference gets too big, then need to monitor. But the good thing is that since they're not sharing placenta, then no need to worry about TTTS (twin to twin transfusion).

Its still a little worrying to me, but for now since he is not worried, I will try not to worry also.

JJ,
that's not really a preg symptom, but could be cos of all the changes yr body is going through.
i remember during early pregnancy i actually give up cold drinks (not on purpose but dun feel comfortable after drinking), drank more warm drinks, bath warmer water and felt the aircon is too cold even though is set at the same temp all the time.

try to drink more 'bu' stuff lor. can continue the red dates tea also. usually by 2nd/3rd tri u will start to feel hot all the time.

hazel... i hv heard about rice wine too.. seems like there are various options:

1) herbs package from medicine hall (no idea what is in the pack)
2) ginger and lemongrass boiled water
3) rice wine with boiled water

working wife, my babies are also quite different in weights.. ranging from 310 - 360.. smallest is also ger ger..hee.. doc says she is more petite.. has the smallest feet size too

Working wife
My dr says its quite common for one twin to grow better than the other.. Thats y dr will say which one is the leading twin..
But like u say, since they are not sharing the same placenta there is no worries that they are not getting the nutrients...

Hazel
Use rice wine also can? I nvr hear before...
Must mix with boiled water? How to know pour how much to mix? The rice wine is it those that make frm glutinous rice where we use to cook for confinement food?

skies, takes another multiples mummy to understand why we need to sit down so much! haahaha...

do u hv problem sleeping comfortably at night huh? these few days..when i sleep on one side for too long, i get this aching pain at the side bone just beside the bust...abit like too much weight on tht side of the body....

Panda, I find rice wine hassle free. My mum put hot water into pail, pour in rice wine. Let water cool until warm then I shower. But need 2 pails coz I wash hair everyday. I feel hot still after shower.

baby, its white rice wine for bathing.. the one for cooking is red rice wine.. i tink.. coz mil ask her sister to make two different types for my confinement...

Baby, yes rice wine. U go medical shop n ask. Tell them is for confinement bathing. They will tell u how much u need. 1 bottle can use 3x I think.. My mum prepares for me. So I dunno how much she used for mixing each time. She buys for me too.

If I didn't remember wrongly, one bother is $20 plus. My mum will fill the hot water into pail until 3/4 full. Mix with rice wine. Let it cool for at least 1hr. When I want to shower, she will mix with boiled warm water again to full.

Panda,

I realize that I'm more comfortable sleeping on my right rather than left. I'll get breathless when sleeping on my left.

skies, for me, i hv to switch between left n right.. too long on one side, the bone will start aching.. last night was bad..had difficulty turning my body when i need to switch sides! tummy like muscle cramps at the sides :S

eeee... The herba; bath water is slimy de arh? I cannot rem that its slimy de leh. Keke~ But anyway, I'm allegic to it. I rem bathing once with it when I had my #1. Then ended up whole body rashes. Shall see what my CL will do my me this time. Maybe she'll pound ginger and boil water for me??

Panda,
Where did u say u bought the hair powder? I also want to get. Can use during my confinement. How much is it?

Working wife,
Congrats on ur perfect combi..

Prayhard,
Do update us after ur scan.. Curious to kn how many implanted..
Bad MS is good sign that babies growing well. Try to rest more k 1st tri very tiring de. Dun let neg tots control u. U have to be stronger than them so that u wont have depression. U've been thru so much, I believe u can do it de.. Positive vibes k..

tickles, its Klorane brand.. bought from robinsons.. Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk.. just need to spray ..wait for 2 minutes, n comb the hair. $14.60 before 20% discount.

apart robinsons, JL n guardian also hv... u wait for their 20% discount storewide to buy...

Tickles,
before we confirm #2 is a girl, hb and i discussed that if #2 is a boy, most likely we will close shop but if #2 is a girl then likely we will try for #3.
so we can be cycle buddies for #3...hehe

but hor, i was just telling hb that wat if we put 2 embbies for #3 and end up strike twins then we'll hv 4 kids!! and wat if both are girls....ahhhhhhhhhhh
i think abt it already scared....u leh?

Thanks all for your well wishes!

Panda - I experience the same thing. I also have to sleep on my sides, alternate between left and right. When wake up, the sides really pain, hip bone pain and then tummy also like muscle cramps. Every time have to change sides, I cringe cuz its painful... then I keep thinking... if this is bad, wait till we're 7-8 mths along!

working wife, u r using a pregnancy support pillow right?? it doesnt help?

i m using one of those normal full body length bolster...it worked fine until very recently... was tinking of going to buy a pregnancy support pillow.....

Panda - pregnancy pillow does help, its better than the normal bolster. previously when I use normal bolster cannot even fall asleep cuz uncomfortable. But with pregnany pillow, can fall asleep... but wake up still pain cuz sleep too long on the side already. Later on when tummy is very big, can rest the tummy on the pregnancy pillow, cuz its curve shaped (like a boomerang).

Btw, wanted to check with you girls, do you think its worth it going to Baby Kingdom and Baby Hypermart? I haven't been there before so not sure if the shops are big? do they carry big range? Are their staff helpful? Was thinking of going over the weekend, even if don't buy, at least their staff can help explain which brand is good etc.

Are they all the same - should I just go to Baby Kingdom? They have bb fair promotion now.

working wife, i bought quite abig of things from Baby Kingdom.. and i went on a wkday..so the staff were very helpful. i read of bad experiences some mummies hv w the sales pple there. their level 2 where all the small items of bb essentials are sold.. there is a sales auntie call Pauline.. she is very friendly n helpful. but she did tell me wkends she normally not able to provide very personalised advise coz more customers.

i only went bb kingdom n hypermart once.. the rest were from different places, isetan, taka, robinsons, OG when they hv promos or fairs..

grumpus,
Haha~ ya ya.. we can be cycle buddies.. Erm.. I also scared lor. Will PM u what we intend to do for next one.. Keke~

just a funny question - has anyone's belly button popped out yet? I have an innie, so far still ok... wondering if it will pop out and when that will happen. After pop out, wear clothes not so nice already.. heehee

working wife,
Mine already pop out le. Actually ok la. Just dun wear too tight fitting clothes then the belly button wont show so much lor..

when u guys wake up in the morning do u feel all achey all over .. like lying on 1 side for too long.

I'm feeling it super achey all over every morning i wake up ...

JJ,

I only feel aching in my fingers which my gynea said is water retention (if I rem correctly). Maybe do some stretching b4 you get out of bed??

working wife, my one havent pop yet...but its already flatted...no more hole there ...hehe...

JJ, yeah.. i had the same problem during 1st tri.. even until now, sleeping comfortably is a challenge.....

gals, a while ago we were talking about baby powders.. i tried the avent baby liquid talc... its nice.. pleasant smell, cream based from a tube.. after u apply, its very soothing.... can consider using for baby/babies if u wanna use powders....

my belly hole also flatten liao...cant really see the hole... i think in no time...it will pop out...

panda
that time i didnt know not good to use talc on bbs...so already bout two pigeon powders at taka fair... one is normal..the other one is medicated to use when bb have nappy rash...
i think its better to use liquid form.. at least bb wont inhale in the powder... i shall keep the powders when they are older...

baby kingdom having fair ah.. wonder their level 2 bb essentials will have promo not...
hmm... thinking i havent buy bb cot yet... wonder the price is lower for the promo not...

anyone knows when is their promo until?

baby, i remember reading somewhere its until 19sept...if my memory never fail me.....

yeah..u can buy the avent liquid one for infant use..powder ones for when they are older.... i so like the avent bb powder tht i m not using j&j anymore..hahaahhah.. :p

at baby kingdom... is their bb essentials cheaper than outside? like laundry detergent, bb shampoo/shower, etc?

i saw their bb clothes...not very cheap... maybe cos got brand one... i saw pigeon ones...

panda
have u buy disposable diapers and formula milk liao? so many brands dont know which ones to buy... i heard huggies nb not bad... can prevent rashes...

baby, if they hv discount, its the 20%..same as dept stores...just tht the auntie is v helpful...will share which item, which brand is better......

the laundry detergent, if u r buying pureen...kiddy palace has gd price now.. $9.90/bottle..usual price i tink is $12+.. i paid $10 before additional member discount at robinsons warehouse sale....

disposable diapers i hv 1 pack of NB huggies from my cousin coz his bb boy outgrown the size very fast...huggies cutting is smaller.. i m also getting samples from GOON to try.. read some gd reviews... plus will bring back left overs from hospital.. so not buying yet.. since we plan to start w using cloth nappies.

FM hor... can also get small can samples leh...to try before buying.. my gf ask me to get from gynae/PD.... but she recommend similac for NB coz it din cause constipation.. she tried S26 from wyeth..n her boys constipated...

baby, i bought most of bb clothes online leh..haha.. cheaper.. only small portion from amk shop for home wear .. the ones from dept stores i find costly..

haha..those bought from stores mostly were given by my sil coz she cannot resist buying when we went shopping together.....

hey...do u hv FB huh?

panda
ohhh... i always find the baby kingdom sales person always quite pushy and abit attitude... maybe i didnt get to talk to your nice auntie...haha..

for laundry detergent, im thinking to get kodomo.. heard it has very nice fragnant... didnt see it at OG... but i saw it at ntuc...

ya.. huggies cutting is smaller... but cos our bbs are multiples so i tot bbs will be smaller in size... hmm.. i wonder the leftovers from hosp is enough not... cos im not intending to use cloth nappies...

FM, can get samples ones ah..i dint know... hmm..similac sounds not bad... quite a popular choice among mummies...

baby, i hv only been there once, n the experience was good.. keke.. went w my hb n parents.. they entertain the entire family....:p

kodomo kiddy palace n bb kingdom hv...

pureen one, the hv for NB use.. n afer 6 mths use.. different types.. n its detergent n softener 2 in 1.... so i opt for it...

if u r not using cloth nappy.. definitely need to buy more disposables...coz everybody says NB will pee n poo alot..... my gf says during each nappy/diaper change, must use clean boiled water n cotten wool to clean bb.. this will minimise nappy rash too....

this similac brand has some tie up w TMC..coz we were given a small can of similac mum when we register at TMC for the First Born Incentive membership... dunno if they will also giv away NB FM when we deliver..heheh....