IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Vi4n,
Yes, I remember that you are having pupps that time but I wasn't very sure what are the symptoms. I did some readings and realize that mine could be pupps as well. I'm having an U/S scan before seeing my gynae this thur. I think it's quite tough to change appt date for both now. I shall just bear with the itch until this thur and see what my doc says.

Bb rabbit,
I stopped my hormone pills at the end of 1st tri since I had light spotting. However, different ivf ctr has different practice for individual patient. The best is to check with your ivf doc who knows your condition the best esp when you have spotting now. Take care!

bb rabit..
I also gt bleeding problems and I took utrogeston till I was ard wk 18.. Do call and check with your doc if u shld continue. I initially was asked to stop earlier on. Then spotting came back. So was asked to continue taking.

Bing/ Tickles- THKS. Me waiting for the nurse to ask the dr. Yest i did call the emergency number, he said me to take 1 pill for the nite onli. If today still got spotting, then call back. Now i regretted walking/taking MRT/bus to work, shld have just take cab.

Hi Des, congratulations!! I hope that all goes well with your boy and you will soon be able to take him home.

Pandawife, Baby - wah, you gals really loading up on the goodies! My head also spinning already reading all the stuff you're shopping for! When I start my shopping later on, must consult you girls leh...

Nancy - I also experienced a really sharp back pain yesterday. But I believe its because I bend over to unpack stuff from my bag... stupid me. Need to remind myself not to do that. So hard to sleep the whole night

Nancy, Baby - have you felt your bb movements yet? I still don't think I can feel... sometimes feel something confused whether its them moving of what. Since I have to wait a couple of weeks more till scan, I hope I can feel the movements and see my belly continue to grow as a reassurance!

Gan - don't worry about and rest more. I'm sure you're in good hands and that the doc will monitor you closely.

I have not been in the forum for a long time cos have been working more around 12 hours mon-fri cos of major project this week.

I have quite a lot of bleeding suddenly on Sat. It was my 10 th week. Went straight to KK 24 hours. My DH and I were quite disappointed cos they did not attend to me and asked me to sit and wait for doctor after registration. Only when DH made noise then they got me to lay on the bed to rest. After a while doctor examined me and luckily my 2 darlings are ok.

I am giving 3 days MC till today. But there is still slight bleeding. Should I extend my MC? Anyone can advise?

Emailed Dr SF Loh yesterday and yet to receive any reply.

Also any advice on how to stop the bleeding? The doctor at 24 HR said there is nothing that I can do :-(

Actually I am quite worried. Esp my MIL is also hospitalised for stroke (1st attack) on Sat. She was v disturbed when I told her what happened. Hope that does not trigger off the attack.

clercler- If u can, extend yr HL. For me, i m in office today. Think will take leave tom to rest and wed i should be on MC. I do take lotus root porridge as advised by Dr Zou the other time which i got spotting. Guess that help. me as well. Did they give u any injection support? U can request for that.

BB Rabbit-- Thanks. They did not give me any injection support. I was not aware of that I can ask.

I am quite worried and stressed. Esp when there is still slight bleeding today. Keep telling babies to stay strong :) Have been praying hard.

Told my boss about my problem. She is quite sympathetic but told me she would appreciate me going back on Wed for the presentation as I was in charge. But guess babies are more important. I will take more days off to rest.

For the lotus root porridge, just cook the lotus in the porridge? Any other ingredients?

NM- Mine varies from brown to fresh blood. I am on prog injection and hormone support until last Sat. The moment i stop, it come the next day.

Clercler- Ya, if cannot extend, just take own leave to rest. As for the lotus root, i take it with glutinous rice, boil it like normal porridge and take it.

NM-- Mine is like BB Rabbit now-- From brown to fresh red. More after I go toilet. I will email Dr Soh again to ask about the prog jab.

BB Rabbit-- My aunt is cooking for me these few days. I will ask her to cook the porridge then. Thanks.

BB Rabit,

The practice at CARE is that hormone support shld not b stopped suddenly. For me, it was reduced gradually.. from 3 times a day to 2 times a day..then to alternate days before eventually stopping.

if there is fresh blood, u shld try to get jab support and also bed rest.. don't walk too much.

bing
How much are u paying ur CL? I have confirmed one that did for my cousin last yr but will only discuss $$ when we meet next 2 weeks when she comes sin. Thanks. I also hope to bf the twins but guess needs the fm on standby just in case.

working wife
Which week are u in? My boys are very active inside kicks very intensly at night. I started feeling like bubbbles bursting around week 18-19. Dun worry u will feel them kicking very soon.

My tummy grows bigger. Cant stand and wear the panty like last time. Need to sit down and wear if u know what i mean. I am limiting my going out/walking now. Guess i have walked too much that day that my back " chou jing" at night. Be careful of u posture when u pick up things too.
I

nancy, me too leh... i hv to sit down to wear my bottoms...

do u find that 2nd half of the day, tummy feels bigger n heavier? usually by night time, i sit on chair, have difficulty getting up! hahaha.....

Pandawife
U did any shopping over the weekend?
The tummy feels okay when i wake up, once i start to eat, it feels tight. Like a hard ball at night after all the meals hee...........

Working wife
Very soon, start feeling small bubbles bursting. And then bigger bubbles
Are u working?

PanadaWife- THKS. Me taking my support again, reducing it slowly. Think stop too sudden as well. Now mth end closing, cannot take MC, not nice. So back in office today. Tom will take leave and Wed will be on MC for DS test. Hope the spotting will stop soon. Hubby also gg down to buy injection to inject me tonite.

nancy, i din shop over the wkend.. my body still trying to recover from being anemic... energy level is low.....

i hv to pop iron tablets, and it makes me merlion more often....:S it looks like i hv to take the tablets all the way until babies r ready to come out.

des, yeah lor.. bo bian, i hv to guai guai pop the pills.. the smell of the iron tablets always makes me nausea... and followed by throwing up.

nurse ask me to take them at night, just before i go to bed... initially she says separate morning n night dose coz very heaty... now seems like no choice..... hv to pop 2 together.

calcium + iron pills = major constipation too...... i cannot poo without the help of lactulose... whole body system haywire liao...hahhaah...:p

nancy, i cant drink plain water leh...makes me wanna throw up too! unless its taken cold... i can still drink a little bit.. most of the time i drink milk, and eat lotsa fruits n juices.... but still constipated one..... :S

Panda
I also have difficulty in pooing these few days.. Need some strength to push the poo out.. Shack mann..
Iron tablets will cause constipation... And calcium med and iron med needs to take few hrs apart.. Else will hender calcium absorption...

Nancy/working wife
I also have not really feel kicks yet.. But do feel some kind of movement.. Not sure is it bubbles bursting.. Hee..
I also hope to bf bbs totally.. Duno i can do it not..
Will u be getting breast pump before u deliver in case bbs cant latch? And i heard other than latching.. Pumping frequently will promotes milk supply..

Panda, do u feel breathless now? I do leh..
After meals.. My tummy feel tight and big.. I also have hard time wearing my panty and bottoms standing up.. But still can manage.. I didnt tot of sitting down to wear.. Haha..
My gums still bleed everytime i brush my teeth.. My nose is blocked and runny every morning i wake up..

baby, do u drink alot of water??
pooing is a struggle for me if i dont take lactulose... lactulose soften the stools..makes the whole biz easier...

yeah..i take the calcium tablets hours apart....

r u also taking iron tablets??

i only felt breathlessness since last week..when my blood count went haywire.... since then, i hv been having giddy spells, breathlessness and also very low energy level.... feels exhausted all the time...but not sleepy....weird weird....

i sit down to wear bottoms, even shower oso i sit down..hahahaah......

u wanna go see dentist about the gums problem..mine ok liao.... bleed a couple of times n stopped... i dun hv blocked nose leh..but i hv blocked ears! keke..Dr Paul told me its normal....

Baby
My cousin passing me her breast pump
I may not do bf i cant cope so dun intend to buy a new pump. Bad mum hor?

Pandawife
During my bad MS days, i cant drink plain water too. The taste just "yucks". So i drank with ribena and 100 plus.

Panda
I dont drink alot of water.. But i try to drink more.. Prefer flavoured drinks...
Yes im taking iron med.. One tab a day..
Visit dentist ah.. Pregnant can see meh? I think i will ask my dr next wk when i see him..

Nancy
Dont say that.. Alot mummies also didnt bf.. In fact most of my frds nvr bf.. Cos they wana rest during confinement..
But i wana try bf.. Something that cant try again once u nvr start..

baby, my dentist ever told me pregnant liao oso must go see him...coz we will be more prone to some teeth problem thingy.... they will only do whts pregnancy safe...

i only like cold flavoured drinks...which is bad...i try to take more juices n fruits...if not later overdose of sugar ...

HI Gan2973 and Vi4n, thanks for the advice

I was so gan cheong at the 24hrs clinic that I forgot to ask for jab to support. The duty doctor did a scan and luckily my two darlings are still growing n has heartbeat. Also my spotting have stop since last night. Now I'm on 5 days MC till this friday.

BB rabbit & clercler, hope ur spotting is getting better. Must rest more

I went for my bt last Sat and my HCG reading was 400.8 on day12

Does anyone reveal this good news to anyone right after BFP? Or wait till 3 months later?

I decided to only inform my parents after the 1st scan, and the rest after 3 months.

But just now, my KPO colleague asked me whether am I preg cos I walked very slowly. I smiled and said I was sick last week, now still weak so walk slowly lor...arggg....

Nancy - I'm on leave of absence now til I deliver in Jan and then followed by maternity leave after that. Will be almost one year off work by that time. Hee... Must change my nickname already, not working wife for now

Nancy, panda, baby - I also experience breathlessness... After walking, find it hard to talk without panting... Even if talk longer also breathless. Same thing with my tummy... Morning it's flatter, then by evening it's hard and round as a ball. I think it's wind, I always hv issue with that. Ieven measure... Evening time tummy sure bigger by 2 cm!

Baby - yr detailed scan this week? Can find out gender... So exciting! Keep us updated.

Btw, I have Ben feeling this area in my upper abdomen quite painful when I press...it's like muscle pain or like I hurt that area. It's just below the breast area. I,m thinking shld I see GP or see my gynae? Does anyone know good GP in novena or newton area? I used to go near my office but find they are not so good. Pls let me know if u know of any. Thanks!

Panda
I also like cold flavoured drinks..So i just take whatever i like hehe.. I take cold drinks straight frm the fridge.. But i try not to take so much those with ice ones.. Only cold without ice drinks..
When u go care or tcm.. Will they ask u to test urine and blood pressure? I need to do these two tests everytime..

Kitty
My dr told me for initial stage.. Its normal to have spotting.. Cos the cervix is softening now and any friction will cause it to bleed.. He say as long as its not alot of fresh blood its ok.. So u dont worry too much ok... Everything will stablised once u pass the first tri..

Working wife
Yup im gng for my detailed scan on wed... Abit anxious..
Just hope my two bbs are growing well.. Healthy and normal..
Then i can go shop for bb clothes once i confirm their gender..

baby, care dun do urine/blood pressure tests. TMC i only went once, n nurse took my weight, height and blood pressure. no urine test too..... but i see the other preggie ladies who go there...many of them do urine test..maybe next visit i see if need to do. whts the urine test for???

detailed scan is 3D leh..keke.. nurse just told me today..now i m very excited oso...hee.....

Panda, Baby,
After 16-20wks, usually every visit will do urine test and blood pressure test. Blood pressure test to monitor blood pressure trend for any increase and urine test is not monitor for presence of sugar or proteins in the urine.
if there's sugar present, need to do further test to check for gestational diabetes.
if there's proteins present, need to do further test and monitor for pre-eclampsia.
these are 2 fairly common pregnancy probs

Can i check anyone have encounter this before.Last week im hospitalised cos of contraction at week 27. My contraction is at a interval of 5 min.

I almost freak up when they put me in delivery ward to standby. my bb is only 27 weeks.I cried as i dont wanna deliver my bb then as it still early for her to see the world. Luckily contraction stop after 3 hr plus of observation.

Till now i still dont know the reason why i have contraction as in this early stage.

I can only check with Dr Loh this wed when i see him.

grumpus, thanks for the advise!

so if urine test ok, no need to do GD test? or at some point, all preggie ladies hv to do GD test?

just now nurse at CARE says i can do GD test at week 21...but i hv never done urine tests there..

Prayhard,

I kept my pregnancy sssshhhh for 3 months... most of my relatives knew/guessed it when the saw me at 4mths+. So besides DH, mum and maid knew during my first 3 mths. MIL knew it at later stage.

I know you cant wait to share your excitement. hehe.. maybe because i have 1 m/c last year, thats why really want to wait for my pregnancy to stabilise before breaking the news to outsiders.

Baby rabbit,

I also stopped my hormone support gradually. From 3 to 2 tablets a day, then became none. By 15weeks or so, i was not on hormone support. Two times, I experience orange/brown spotting, I emailed Dr Loh and he replied on the same day. Was ordered bed rest, cut down walking and 2 duphaston daily until spotting stop. For fresh bleeding, better go down to 24hrs clinic immediately for additional hormone support (like progesterone jab etc).

Fashion spree,

Did anyone at KKH explain to you why you experience contraction at week 27?? Did Dr Loh attend to you?

Just Faith,

No one can give me the reasons. I did not see Dr Loh at all during my stay. It is the delivery suit who warded me for observation after they detect my contraction.

i will definately ask Dr Loh on wed when i see him for appt.

Just Faith,

No leh...I am not excited to share with anyone now cos I very patang lah...somemore very difficult then get BFP so must be very careful now...I did not even tell my mum..told my dh to wait till the 1st scan see the bb heartbeat then say...the rest wait till 3 mths later...

But if KPO pple keep asking, how to reply huh?

Just Faith,

Can I check how many days did you get MC when you have the spotting at that time?

I still have some spotting now. Emailed Dr Loh yesterday and today again. However he has yet to reply. I thought of going to GP to ask for MC. But not sure how many days are sufficient.

Fashion spree,

Contraction at week 27 sounds scary. If it happened to me, i sure freak out... lucky it was only 3 hrs scare.

Prayhard,

Good to be pan-tang sometimes. I even waited for 3 months before I started shopping for maternity clothes. Usually, I would reply, "if got good news, i sure share with you guys...".... usually they ask one time, and never ask again.

Clercler,

I didn't get any MC, since I am self-employed. I think you should be given at least 3 days MC. Any improvement on your spotting? the patch gets bigger n more or what?? Did 24hrs ask u to increase your duphaston intake?

Clercler,

If i were you, I will go down to 24hrs clinic today. Insist on progesterone support. Staining is no laughing matter. Do you get any cramps also?

Panda,
depends on dr. some dr still ask all preggie ladies to do the GD test on top of the regular urine test.
but some like my gynae dun ask us to do GD test unless the urine test show signs of sugar in the urine.

Bing,

Now I truly understand why some mummies asked me to enjoy my pregnancy that time. I really miss those days when I carried them in my stomach. At least I am free of cries and not so tired compared to current. I stay with in-laws so sometimes MIL can help a bit to carry but not on taking care of bbs. She has very different view from me when handling bbs thus sometimes I bo chap her and do it my own way. If you are living with elderly, you will know what I mean. My bb are taking 70ml each at 2 hourly and though I try to keep to the time to pump every 3 hourly also not enough to supply them till night time. Thus I give them FM at night. At the initial start, I did not wake up in the middle of the night to express milk at all. After hearing from Sunflower and my sis, I started to wake up few times at night to express milk...hoping can have more supply for them. Haiz..during day time, my bbs making noise and I have to see to them also no rest time for me. That explain why I am so tired now. This morning I just brought my boy to see PD as he got quite bad nappy rash from KKH SCN when he discharged. Spent a bomb there.

Despondent, I can understand your situation now. When both of my twins at SCN, I went to see them several times everyday. Even when I have discharged and my boy still in SCN, I also went there everyday to see him and deliver bm. Dun worry, your bb will be under good care at SCN.

Just Faith,

I did not get any cramps. My spotting has reduced since last Sat. In fact it is mostly when I go to the toilet that the spotting occurs. I went to 24 hr last Sat. They only gave me 3 days MC till today. I was told to increase duphaston intake to 3 times a day. They told me to go back only if the bleeding and spotting gets worse or the spotting lasts more than 5 days.

Quite disappointed with the support of KK. I heard Dr Loh is quite fast in replying the email. But has yet to get any reply. Have been checking my email every half an hour.

Panda
My clinic practise testing urine and blood pressure once u bfp.. So i do these two tests since 6 weeks... And also check on weight.. The urine test is v simple one.. Just to pee on a test strip.. Its to check for glucose and protein..

Whats yr last bp reading? My last two visits is high over 150 mann.. Dr test two times also high but he didnt say anytin.. But i did have bp reader at home.. I test everytime only around 120.. So i believe i am too anxious when i see dr so reading v high haha...