IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Pandawife
Besides the heat pack, do u know anything else we can apply for the back pain? Last night I had a scare. My back was so painful i think the whole back is like "cramped" for a while. It lasted for abt 15mins then it was okay....but was so painful/ache. Luckily this am woke up okay

baby/pandawife/nancy, dr loh just said rest more...i also tot eat or drink can increase. He said mine is borderline but prefer more water. Actually dun feel stress at work...but i do alot of walking...i mean walk home after work , climb stairs etc but dun think such activity will cause decrease in water level leh.
But will check with dr loh more next wed. Today he didn't charge me consultation coz we spoke briefly only

nancy, i use olive oil n ask my hb to gently rub my back... dun dare to use any other forms of medicated stuff leh...

which part of ur back is painful? did u walk alot the last few days?

Gan, in that case just rest more. this wkend dun go out bah... rest n relax at home
spend quality time w little princess....

nancy
i think im at higher risk cos of my low placenta.. mine is a total previa.. meaning the placenta cover the cervix.. so its unlikely it will shift up...
like u.. i also aim for 37 weeks.. even 36 weeks im also happy liao... most imptly is bbs are healthy enough to go home with us... and also we can go into labour smoothly without any complications.... i can go for GA c sect without any bleeding or labour pain...

ya if bbs need nicu.. cost will be very high in pte hosp.. dr did say if i deliver very early...he wil refer me to kkh for delivery... but i hope it will not happen... i really hope my gynea can deliver for me... so i think i will mostly bed rest when i hit 28 weeks... that is 2 mths from now...

panda
i doubt this cot can covert into toddler bed... cos i think the side railing cannot be removed completely..
ikea drawers no good ah... i didint know... ok ok i shall not buy then... but u intend to buy changing area like a cupboard or table for us to help bbs change or bath?

gan
hmm like that ah... then u rest more.. or ask yr mum to cook black chicken soup for u to bu?
did dr loh mention abt yr blood cot? is it gone for good?
i heard ladies with low water level, dr ask them to drink more fluids... so maybe u can try that as well... drink more water no harm too...

Just Faith,
actually yr sis never use breast pump cos no milk is wrong (sorry), it is the other way round. u need to use breast pump then will hv milk. u dun use of cos hv no milk unless yr bb can suck very well.

my girl is one of those never use stroller and slept in her cot only for 8 mths. but we still bought stroller and cot. why? cos that it is the way we intended to train her, to sit quietly in her stroller and sleep in her own cot. of cos reality turned out differently but that is another story.

if u dun buy a breast pump means u've decided u definitely won't breastfeed unless yr bb can suckle very well. and how abt when u go back to work?
if u dun buy a stroller means u've decided yr bb will definitely be those carry in arms type even if she may actually be able to sit well in stroller.......etc etc
u get the picture.

so i'm not saying u MUST buy all these things but u just need to consider how u want yr bb to be brought up.

baby, my gf pass me a mobile bathing n changing unit...so we will be using tht...not buying changing table.

but definitely need a big enuff wardrobe plus chest of drawers to keep all the babies stuff.....

i very practical mummy..haha.. want to try and buy things tht can last for a while and cost efficient..

baby for ur low placenta, minimise walking at later stage of pregnancy.
U r right, i shld also drink more water. Didn't drink much lor. I think my blood clot is gone le coz at 14 weeks, i did detailed scan at camden, prof did scan and check my womb, he did 't mention abt the clot, he only said i have 2 or 3 flobriods (dunno the spelling but that won't affect bb). Which i knew before preggy coz dr loh also saw that but said no need surgery in case hurt the womb

Baby
U mean u went to the scan today and they told u low placenta? I know it's easy to say but dun worry too much. Ur gynae will monitor u closely

pandawife
ya hor, didnt think of the stetch mark oil i have. I also didnt dare to use those yoko-yoko medicated ones. I did go out for few hrs yesterday guess i cannot Tahan though i only 21 weeks...sigh. The backache was the whole back so quite scary ....Hope to learn some exercises at the childbirth class

Des
CONGRATS!!!
enjoy the motherhood and rest well

Gan
Eat some "bu" like cordyceps with pao sheng. Or black chicken soup also good

stb thanks, will keep positive atitude though must admit my heart dropped when dr loh said he didn't like what he see as he scan. But i was more assured when i see my girl moving around.

nancy.. its probably the walking.. try to sit down n rest every 1 hr when u r out... u wearing support belt ?

i am abit concern tht by the time i attend the class, i m too heavy to do exercise liao....plan to check w my gyane next week....

nancy, the support belt helps when u plan to be walking quite abit... i went shopping wearing it, n was able to walk for longer period of time minus the discomfort.

my 1st class is 11 Sept. the whole duration is roughly my week 22 - 27/28 ....

Nancy
I know of my low placenta during my oscar test scan..
But its usually not a problem during early stage pregnancy.. But may be a problem at later stage..

Panda
Ya need quite abit of storage space to store all bb tins.. Tats y i tot of ikea cupboard and drawers.. Else duno where else to get..

Gan
Glad yr blood cot is gone for good.. For now drink more water.. I also hv nt been drinking enough water.. Must remind myself to drink more..

Baby,

I was carrying double the weight in my 3rd trimester. Over 5 kg of baby weight excluding placenta, water, etc.

Thought I was going to topple over when I walk. Kakaka..

baby, there are alot of furniture stores tht u can check out leh...just do a google u will hv a good list..hehe...

unless u r looking at matching kiddo furniture...tht i m not sure where else to go....

i probably get a sliding door wardrobe for the room, save space....

baby for bb clothes, i m planning to buy those plastic drawers from muji, can stack up too to put her stuff. She wld be sleeping with us. When she is bigger and has her own room, will buy new wardrope for her then.

Singapoh i also surprise he waived the consultation but the whole scan was very fast! His nurse told me he is bad mood today and scolded them. =p wonder if he is tired after delivering des's bb. Kekeke

pandawife sliding door is definitely space saving, when we renovate our current home, we bot a sliding door wardrobe as we r expecting so that have space for bb cot. we bot from vive....$900 for a 2m long one.

Gan, yeah lor. coz eventually i will hv 3 cots in the room...so must fully maximise the space usage...

r the plastic drawers from muji better than those toyogo ones?

panda, i never check out toyogo ones, but i find muji ones good. Been using that for my bags....so buying for bb, when she grew up, i got excuse tell hubby i buy more bags to fill those drawers. =p if i dun remember wrongly the size i m looking at is $20 plus

panda
I also have those muji ones. They can stack on top of one another. It's clear so can see what's inside. Slightly more ex then toyogo. I find the latter if filled very hard to open

nancy,
me only get to see babies 1 hr after the op when i wake up. infact i wanted epi too so that can see babies once they are out but when i was being pushed into the OT, im relieved that i choose GA. the environment is so cold, all metal including the OT bed im lying on. and yes, i heard my colleagues who had c-sect with epi commented that they felt being cut up alive and they can feel the cutting and stretching of tummy to pull babies out and the sound of the metal tools and they will shiver due to epi. sounds scary right.

but i believe it will still be a great feeling and touching to see and hear babies the moment they are out. that will make you forget abt the fear. not sure whether i will still have another chance.

Des,
Congrats! You can finally hold your baby!

Gan,
Do rest more and don't worry too much. I think Dr Loh is really stressed everyday. Imagine he has delivery, ER and ET almost everyday, and still has to see so many patients.

BBhp,
I hope you are feeling better now. I can imagine how tough it is to be a first time mummy and having twins at the same time. Besides your maid and CL, is there anyone else helping you? Do try to relax and get as much rest as possible so that you can recover faster.
I start to worry whether I can cope with the twins for the initial few months. For the first month when the CL is around, it should be fine. After confinement, I'm just left with the maid and my mum has to work and can't help.
I'm trying to enjoy the remaining 2 months as much as possible. Cos I know that I'll probably lose my freedom once the 2 babies pop. But problems like insomnia, nausea, swollen feet, leg cramp and rashes just started to surfaced once I step into 3rd trimester.

Bing
Oh u are making me nervous with the 3rd tri symptoms. I better get ready all my stuff before week 28
May i know what is the market rate for twins CL ?

nancy,

Dont worry too much on d 3rd tri symptoms. Juz relax yourself n enjoy d pregnancy.

Bing,

My coll told me if hav leg cramp, is lack of calcium. So maybe try to drink more milk, water n cover d feet w blanket/ wear socks to keep your feet warm.

Nancy,

Not everyone will get the same symptoms in 3rd tri. I only get swollen feet and pelvic bone pain for 1 week @ 34 weeks. I got them on the day I moved house. I think I was too exhausted.

I experienced leg cramp for less than 5 times. This pregnancy my energy level was super low.

Nancy,
Don't worry about the symptoms. Everyone is different. Some lucky ladies may not experience any discomfort at all or the symptoms will only last for a short while. Just enjoy your pregnancy ;)
Are you expecting twins? If you are, try to get the baby stuff earlier before 3rd tri. My gynae asked me to get the important things done earlier so that I can rest more in 3rd tri.

Skies,
I asked my gynae whether my leg cramp is due to calcium deficiency but he doesn't agree. Anyway, I'm practicing the streching exercise for the calf I learnt in antenatal class and it helps in reducing the frequency of leg cramp. I'm also drinking more milk and taking calcium pills now.

Nancy,
Regarding the CL rate for twins, if you are engaging thru agencies, it should be around 2400-2800, depending on how big is your house and how many family members are there. On top of that, you still need to pay levy to the government. Around 100 if I'm not wrong.
Freelance CL should be slightly cheaper. Mine is a freelance CL.

Grumpus,

Yea, I know where you are coming from. My sister has bought the breast pump but couldnt use, cause she has "涨奶". The harder it gets, the more painful she gets. Though she has seen her gynae as she wanted very badly to BF her son. FYI, my nephew was only 2550gms when he was born. And for stroller, she bought one for her son, and another one, a gift from ex-colleauge. She didn't use both as my nephew couldnt sleep long in the stroller. He woke up frequently and made lota noise easily. They hardly carry him around. And he enjoyed sleeping on the bed. Luckily, he started walking when he was only 10+ months old.

Both hubby and I are self-employed. We are always at home. We have no plans to get a full time job for the time being. Just hope my little one can suckle well... if really need one, my hubby will know where to get for me. For stroller, we only plan to get one after I deliver. Maybe when she is two or three months old. But we reckon we will hardly use stroller, cause we are both who dun enjoy shopping. Who knows? My cousins/friends may get it as a gift for me. hehe...

PandaWife,

Thanks for adding me in FB.

Gan,

I am curious. How does Dr Loh find out that the fluid in your waterbag is insufficient?? hmmm..... so your detailed scan has been rescheduled to nx wed? seeing him in clinic D? I will be seeing him in Clinic D for my next visit, as I have glucose test in the same morning, and TPS is not available for that day.

Bing, I agree with yr doc.

My singleton pregnancy, I only kena cramp once and I only drank 2 cups of milk and calcium pills daily.

This twin pregnancy, kena few times even when I drank 4 cups of milk a day and calcium rich food.

I engaged CL from an agency. Not very good. Plus $168 levy it's close to $3k. If u hv any personal friends who has engaged a CL THEMSELVES before and it's good, better to hire her.

Just faith dr loh said that when he scan me. The moment I saw my bb on screen he said 'i dun like what I see.' gave me a shock.... Then I saw my girl moving around dr loh point at the water level N said shld have more water. Not sure is it my water bag not big or what but didn't hAve a chance to ask more as he was in a rush. He asked if I have been busy at work and said give me 1 week mc to rest. Told him I want to c him after detailed scan on wed so mc take till wed first. Hmmm my last scan 4 weeks plus ago dr Marianne never say anything, I did detailed scan at 14 weeks plus, dr also never mention. So not sure what happen. Will drink mire water and rest these few days. Planning to stay at parents home next weekend till birth to minimise walking n climbing
next wed see him at tps.
When u next c dr loh how many weeks r u? The glucous test is a test all of us must do?

Gan,

I see I see... If I were you, I will be in a shock to ask him anything too. If drinking more water will help, please guai-guai and do so okay? Maybe you have "over-worked" during your house-moving. Dun worry too much and have a good rest. Our little ones are brave warriors.

By the way, can recall my memory when is TPS available? I am thinking of changing my nx appt date, so that I can see him in TPS instead of Clinic D.

If i calculate correctly, and assuming my detailed scan was 20 weeks, my coming appt with him will be week 27. For coming appt, I have total 2 tests to be done : OGTT (Oral Glucose tolerance test) and Fetal Growth test, followed by appt with Dr Loh after that.

I have heard about Glucose test from one of my gfs, but am not sure about the Fetal Growth test that I was telling you.

Maybe I should go through my GUSTO file and see it is required by GUSTO or what.. hehe.

Fetal growth test is usually for multiples pregnancy. But if under GUSTO program it Is compulsory even for singleton. Same foe glucose test, also required under this program.

For non-GUSTO, if the routine check saw high sugar in the urine dip, then will hv to do the glusose test.

Dr loh does not have clinics on monday. He runs TPS clinic from Tuesday onwards.

I was supposed to be in GUSTO program. But I opted out when the person In charged called me to register. After tt, I told dr loh, these tests are too stressful. Also, it does not end upon delivery, they will also visit the bb n his/her family after birth to monitor bbs' growth, that means, time need to be set aside too. So I decided not to join. The savings that dr loh mentioned from joining this program is not material also.

Hi Hazel,

Thanks. GUSTO is voluntary and no direct benefits. One may stop participating in GUSTO study anytime.

We are not looking at savings. If really want to save $, we wouldnt have opt for ARTS in the first place. Both hubby and I just want to support KK, just our little way of repaying kindness to Dr Loh since he is also in the panel of study. Also, it is not easy to gather 150 pregnant women who conceived through ARTS.

just faith tps is wed and fri afternoon if i m not wrong,

hazel, thanks been googling and reading but the more i read, the more stress i become. This pregnancy has not been easy from the start. Just hope everything will turn out fine in the end and my girl is well.